19th June – Halo Reach Daily Challenges & Commentary

Today’s challenges are listed below, click Read More for the commentary:

  1. One Spartan Army – Kill 250 enemies in Firefight Matchmaking – 1875 cR
  2. The Love of the Game – Complete 17 games in multiplayer Matchmaking – 1850 cR
  3. Overlook’s Overwatch – Kill 1000 enemies on Overlook in Firefight Matchmaking – 3000 cR
  4. The Little Guys – Kill 125 Grunts in Campaign today on Normal or harder – 1000 cR

Commentary follows after the break…

One Spartan Army – Kill 250 enemies in Firefight Matchmaking – 1875 cR

You get 120 Grunts in Gruntpocalypse, about 100 enemies in Score Attack and something like 330 in a Firefight Matchmaking game (although split between up to 4 people). So jump into some sort of Score Attack variant to get this really quickly, especially an easy one like 2X Score Attack or Gruntpoc. But if you’re even vaguely thinking about getting the third challenge then pick ANYTHING that turns up on Overlook.

The Love of the Game – Complete 17 games in multiplayer Matchmaking – 1850 cR

Check out the weekly challenge post for lots of detail on getting through games quickly. It might take a bit of time but there’s no limitation on winning or weapons etc. Fastest games are often Infection as they go really quickly I find. Equally, it’s a good chance to try out different variants you might not have played, so jump in BTB, Rumble Pit and Arena to see what they’re like. And of course you can win 3 rounds of Grifball in 30 seconds if you’re just going for the bomb and the score.

Overlook’s Overwatch – Kill 1000 enemies on Overlook in Firefight Matchmaking – 3000 cR

A new challenge. And a bit of a grind to boot. So as above you can work through Score Attack game types expecting to get 100-120 enemies per game, expecting to play 8 or 9 games over a couple of hours. Or you can go through Firefight Arcade, where you get 330 ish enemies, with some exciting variants thrown in too. However that’s split between several people, and takes 20-30 minutes a time. It’s up to you what you choose. There’s no limitation on what enemies you kill or weapons you use to complete this. I’ll mix and match so that I get to play some Firefight Arcade variants for a change.

The Little Guys – Kill 125 Grunts in Campaign today on Normal or harder – 1000 cR

Winter Contingency, Exodus or The Package are excellent for Grunts – read through this post for more information on them. The opening of ONI Sword Base has one useful trick – go straight to the Target Designator, turn around and blast some Grunts, then reset to checkpoint. It’s a quick way of doing it, although I prefer playing through levels to up various commendations. Ryan suggested something similar on The Package, throwing a grenade just before the checkpoint so that every time you reset it goes off and takes out a few Grunts. ONI: Sword Base can also be good by just taking out the few who are in front of you at the start then restarting the mission.

44 Responses to 19th June – Halo Reach Daily Challenges & Commentary

  1. HalfEvilHomer says:

    I think ill be going for all of them except the 17 games! I hate those challenges!

  2. Braythor says:

    Hurray for firefight. Fingers crossed these challenges are precursors to a ff weekly. Arcade now has more enemies to compensate for the extended time, I think it’s closer to 400 or so. If you’re lucky you’ll get quitters or people will lag out (I’ve been getting some real lag issues recently with ff, which is odd as it’s never been a problem before) so you can net yourself well over 200 if that happens. Otherwise 150 per match is perfectly attainable. It’s just a matter of getting Overlook. Heavy weapons modes are best for it. Shame I maxed Get Loud so long ago.

    17 games is a bit much. I’ll be doing some team objective for the jackpot though so maybe get a few through that. It took about 10 games to show up yesterday, thought it wouldn’t but then !bam! 27K. Promotion today me thinks.

  3. Edward (Marshy 40) says:

    I’ll certainly go for 17 games, most of them in team objective, in a bid for the super jackpot. Even without that, 17 games should get me at least 30k, which I need for my next level up.

    Not a big fan of Overlook, but if time permits, I’ll probably give it a go. Or I might pass on the FF all together. Anyone else find FF getting a bit stale?

  4. michael (DR HIGGLESTEIN) says:

    The best gametype for the Firefight challenge is Firefight Doubles Arcade. Im pretty sure you get the same amount of enemies as you do regular FF Arcade except its just for 2 people, so thats better than splitting it up with 4. I usually play this with my girlfriend so i almost always get close to 200 kills or more per game. I just wish it was on a map that i liked. Oh well, atleast its not crappy Waterfront. LoL. 😉

    • John says:

      But how is the map rotation? On FF Arcade/Ltd you only get three choices whereas on Score Attack is eight or nine, even on the latter there’s no guarantee the map will come up.

      Outpost is one of my favourite FF maps 🙂

      • michael (DR HIGGLESTEIN) says:

        The map rotation in Firefight Doubles Arcade/Limited is the same as Score Attack. It goes through around 8 maps or so before you get stuck with one you cant veto. Its not like the 4 player FF Arcade where you get like 1 veto and then stuck with a map.

      • John says:

        Ah, that’s good – will see if I can rope someone into it.

        I see it’s Overlook not Outpost sadly so I quite agree with you as Overlook is a terrible FF map, not really any better than Waterfront for me.

  5. mickoboy90 says:

    well,im gonna think about firefight challenges. maube i will do them if i get the jackpot today. yesterday i played team objective for two hours and didnt get it at all 😦

  6. Scruff UK says:

    1000 enemies? Haha no. It’s a map-specific challenge, so you’re bound to find that it now never comes up as an option 😉

    Super Jackpot tips:
    – Keep an eye on how many credits you’ve got in the bank before each game. Yesterday I hit the Super Jackpot – I saw it in the bottom left of my screen immediately as the game finished – yet it didn’t show in my cR report after the game; my slot machine reward was only a few hundred apparently. So despite the supposed total 2,500 cR I got from that game, my banked cR went from 75,000 to over 100,000. So you might hit it without realising.
    – I’ve heard that one person gets the Jackpot every game, though I can’t verify that. In theory, if 8 people went in as a group then it would take 8 games for everyone to get it. So go in as big a group as possible; it’ll also make the games more fun. Worth reporting back on as well, if you find that it works / doesn’t work.
    – I’ve also heard you’re guaranteed to get it within 20 games, but again I can’t verify it. Stick to quick games such as 2 flag CTF on Countdown, or any form of Territories, and you’ll likely get it quicker.
    – The ‘day’ in terms of the Super Jackpot lasts until midnight PST, which is earlier than when the challenges reset.

    • Edward (Marshy 40) says:

      I got the jackpot yesterday and today both within 5 or 6 games. Must have been lucky; last time I tried for the jackpots I never got it. I think the key is to stay in the playlist until you get.

  7. Brightside says:

    Great challenges for today. 😛

    Best to do the 17 matches in Infection, shouldn’t take too long.

    These Firefight challenges are good but are really going to be a grind and the same with the grunt Campaign Challenge but seeing as I have little else planned for today I try to get them all done.

  8. Brightside says:

    … Wait how the f*** did they screw up infection ? :S Switch the running back to the evasion roll and remove the motion sensor/tracker. It’s just broken now -_-

    • Scruff UK says:

      Not played in a while huh? That happened like two months ago…

      You can always play ‘classic’ Infection in Custom Games. I hear that some of the community maps for it are awesome.

  9. Mister X says:

    Medium. Easy. Hard. Easy

  10. Tom says:

    Overlook will not come up for the life of me, as predicted. Don’t think I’ll be doing that or the 17 games challenges… we’ll see what happens.

  11. SlimEel94 says:

    Sooo… If you haven’t got the weekly yet and you want to do all the challenges that means no sleep right? Only 1 challenge today that will aid the weekly and the 1000 kills in a map that will have probably gone down to about a 1 in 20 chance of coming up seems a bit like I might be getting an achy feeling in my nether regions! Oh well, this game is becoming like a marriage- there are good times and bad but I keep coming back for the good!!

  12. HalfEvilHomer says:

    I think today has been my worst day in Reach since it came out, every game ive played ive been macthed against a full party of people who have proceded to rape my team as were all singles, i think out of 10 matches today ive won 1 game and at least 6 of the games have been against full parties……absolutly horrible! >=(

    • disturbeddaddy says:

      I’ve done really poorly today too; almost all negative on the k/d scale . . .

  13. chrisllama says:

    Uhhh I’ve been following this site for a while and its really helped, so umm, for the grunt challenge I’ve always done the last rally point of the package, because if you run down to the bridge and wait for a checkpoint you get about 9 grunts, and if you were thinking that outpost would never appear, do doubles, because it cycles through every map with the same 3 D: so yeah…. and plus you get to go crazy with a fuel rod 😀

  14. SapEE says:

    Yesterday i played about 25 rounds of team objective and nothing :O and today almost 20 and NOTHING ! any ideas ?

    • John says:

      Same here and quite frankly screw Team Objective, I don’t care about the jackpot anymore….it’s such a terrible playlist it’s not worth it. Ok to be fair there’s nothing wrong with the playlist, just most of the people playing it – had a good few games with Braythor/snickerdoodle earlier but back with randoms it’s the same crap as always. After one flag CTF with no team to play with (they all quit as clearly didn’t want that map/gametype) I really can’t be bothered with it.

      John

      • SapEE says:

        At last finally i get it !! Over 60 rounds team objective -.- never play that gametype anymore….

  15. SapEE says:

    And secondly after 24:00 can you still get super jackpot like challenges ?

    • i’m not sure i understand this one?

      • SapEE says:

        I mean that you can do daily challenges after clock is 00:00 but what about superjackpots ?

    • Shane says:

      It depends on your time zone. Challenges get reset at 3AM PST. The super jackpots.. I’m not sure about. I got two last Friday before 3AM PST. Stephen and Scruff posted yesterday that they think it gets reset at 12AM PST and I’m inclined to agree. I’ve seen a Bungie posting to this effect as well (but also a contradicting post).

      Short story, they probably get reset at 12AM PST.

      • SapEE says:

        Wtf ? my challenges change about 14:30 and im from finland o:

  16. Cheborneck says:

    Ok. You didn’t like the language so you axed my last comment. Let me rephrase… These are crap challenges and bungie are dorks to put this kind of crap out. Better

    • no one axed anything…no need to get grumpy. it’s just that cursing like a sailor in comments gets them caught by the spam filter.

      • Simmons9552 says:

        Lol if you cant handle swearing then you shouldn’t even be playing halo

      • …..please show me where in my statement i said that. seriously. 😯

        sooooooo not what i said! i said that cursing IN THE COMMENTS isn’t appreciated. don’t put words in my mouth or read more into what i write.

        if you seriously think i can’t handle the swearing….well, i don’t know what to tell you.

      • Scruff UK says:

        Hahaha Snickerdoodle “can’t handle swearing”.

        Not according to my ears every Wednesday evening.

      • Matthew Vose says:

        If she couldn’t handle swearing she wouldn’t have handled the rant I just had about my gym. We just don’t do swearing (often) here on RDC. It’s a friendly place see.

    • Matthew Vose says:

      And we’ve got nowt to do with Bungie, go to their site if you want to have a go at them.

  17. Cheborneck says:

    It’s just a comment, not a question. Get over it!

  18. OMGBBQWTFLOL says:

    Bungie why did you forsake me? Why do you release map-specific challenges but yet do everything in your power to not let us play that map?

    There I was, grinding away in score attack, ff doubles, and ff limited towards the 1000 kills on overlook. I played through a doubles and a limited not on the map, which was fine, but then I got a score attack with 114 kills. I guess suicide grunts took out all my enemies. So there i was, 125 kills left to go. I prayed to the bungie gods to grant me a score attack with 125. What do they give me? 122.

    3 kills to go and bungie forsakes me. 4 score attacks in a row with no Overlook as an option. All I wanted was to finish the challenge and watch a movie, but 4x8ish long votes of “none of the above” and no luck. Finally I get a 2x score attack on Overlook. Pop 3 grunts with my pistol, Challenge Completed. Pop another 4 grunts with my pistol, Trigger Man advanced to bronze. Turn off xbox.
    Damn you for all of that stress bungie. /End rant.

    But in other news, I would love a firefight weekly challenge. But if its going to be map specific, make it like 300 kills on every firefight map. I enjoy long firefight grinds, but when its 1000 kills on one map, and going into ff limited/arcade theres a high chance you won’t get the map it is not as fun. Or possibly a complete X rounds of firefight or X games of 4 person FF.

  19. Vast Archangel says:

    Havnt been able to do any of the daily or the weekly challenges(s) because my internet hjas been out for 4 days! 😦 (Italy!) but now it looks like its ok and i can finely get back to using these excellent tips to complete some of the more gruesome challenges. Keep up the good work!
    -Vast Archangel
    (Previously Knappspartin)

    • yeah….we’re getting keys to our new place in Lago Patria today and i’m super curious how long it’ll take to get the ‘net transferred over there. 😕

      • Vast Archangel says:

        hope it dosent take too long… but i did enjoy playing the campaign games from the beginning, trying to get in on the story line made not dying on a mission that much more epic. but, as always, internet is not something the Italians are, lets say, ‘good at’. Hope your net gets up quickly though! still waiting to see the ‘legendary snickerdoodle’ in action in a game! 🙂 good luck

      • other than pizza, i have yet to figure out what the Neapolitans are good at, really….

        oh wait, trash fires. there have been a couple nice ones here. so good that the fire department showed up to admire them, even!

        i’ll be on this week for game night at least…no worries! 😀

  20. Vast Archangel says:

    haha, true true. they are good at the trash fires

    ok, awesome, its always on wednesdays right? good luck with moving, and your ‘net.

Leave a Reply

