Halo Reach Weekly Challenge & Commentary – w/c 20th June

This week’s challenge is below, click Read More to view the commentary:

Ride the Wave – Complete 150 Waves in Firefight Matchmaking – 12000 cR

Commentary follows after the break…

The key here is that this is waves, not rounds or sets. There are 5 waves to every round, and 3 rounds to every set. In the bottom right by the score and the lives is a dot counter to show you which wave and a number for the round you’re on.

So… Gruntpocalypse and Score Attack are 5 waves. In Corvette I can do either in about 7-10 mins (less for Gruntpoc), this means a little bit of grinding and you’ve got the challenge, plus a bucketload of credits – be careful you don’t hit the daily cap when you get this if you’ve played a lot that day.

Firefight proper (including Rocketfight, Sniperfight etc) has 16 waves, as the bonus is counted as 1. That means up to 12 games of Firefight and you’re there (depending if you can get them finished or not).

My recommendation – this is a weekly challenge so take the week to do it. We usually get Firefight Thursday challenges so hopefully that will help hugely. Do any Firefight challenges during the week, plus maybe the ‘any game mode’ types as well and you’ll pick this up without having to do an excess of additional games.

Don’t forget there are all the lots of various game types in Firefight Arcade and Score Attack – the beloved Skirmageddon, FRG Fight, Fist Fight, Rocket Attack… so many to try out if you’re going to be playing a lot. I still love Fiesta Attack just for the random weapons. Last night I got the Sword and Shotgun when I died during the Skirmisher round.  Useful.

Check out the Game Night hub page to view details on the plans for this week (to be updated soon but use that as your central page to check). Also put 7/7 in your diaries instead of 6/7 (that’s 6th July). We’ll be having Game Night on the Thursday that week instead of Wednesday, primarily because I’m at a gig on the Wednesday, but there’s also the small matter of Bungie Day, when we want to take the chance to battle Bungie employees (see point 6 on the link).

Do you want to know how to get notifications of these challenge commentaries? Well it’s easy… you can follow me on Twitter, join the Facebook group or just subscribe to the site using the email option on the right to receive the challenges and a link to the commentary straight into your inbox.

63 Responses to Halo Reach Weekly Challenge & Commentary – w/c 20th June

  1. Braythor says:

    Woohoo, at last a FF weekly. And not a bad one either; I had worries they’d give us some sort of extended Flat Tyre challenge. So 150 waves = 10 games of Arcade (not 12 Matthew, but I understand where that came from:) ). Does the bonus round count? I think this was discussed last time this challenge came up and suspect maybe it didn’t count, but can’t remember for sure. It was sooooo long ago. Either way, 12K for 10 games of FF is great compared to last week.

    I wonder if there’d be interest in FF during game night? I don’t imagine people would need much help with the weekly but it’s something different…

    • Matthew Vose says:

      I knew you’d be excited for this Bray, you were the first person to comment last time we had it I think and loved it then too 😀

      Yeah I didn’t define that well did I? Changed it now, my issue is if you end up with only 1 or 2 in FFA you can’t always get through every round.

      An FF party on game night could be popular… are you offering to lead a 4 person party for this weekly?

      • Braythor says:

        Was I? Haha, yep I love firefight.

        I see your point, even with the recent banning there’s still a bit of quitting/AFKing going on, and it is tough to finish with less than 3 playing.

        I am indeed offering to lead a party in it if there’s the interest. Even if only one other person wants to do it I’ll happily go through some doubles attack (not tried that yet), but if we can get a party of 4 up it’d be better and guarantees full games (ie no quitting/AFK).

      • Matthew Vose says:

        Nice one, thanks. I think we’ll get at least 4 if not 8 for this, chances are you’ll see your group changing through the evening.

        I’ve updated the hub page with you as PL. I’ll leave off the achievement hunting from your party and do some Firefight Invincible customs in mine to get the points type cheevos. But if you want to have at it. Might also be worth asking if anyone needs the weapon specific ones when playing though?

  2. i was really hoping for something exciting like “Kill 3000 Skirmishers on Waterfront” myself. :mrgreen:

    • Matthew Vose says:

      Using a golf club.

    • Braythor says:

      Yeah Snicks that’d be really pleasant. Why not add on ‘with the sniper rifle’ as well? Haha.

    • John says:

      While I am a little disappointed this is a challenge you can get just by idling (last week challenge conclusively proved many people will idle despite Bungie banning/resetting 15,000 people for idling) *but* on the other hand I’m glad it’s not something like killing skirmishers or killing lots of vehicles!

      On an unrelated note this is the guy I went to see last night when I abandoned Team Objective, amongst other videos this is one he was showing which I was fantastic:

      John

      • John says:

        Oops, didn’t realise it would embed the video – please delete if needed

      • t-rOY says:

        I’m relieved to see a finally see a different weekly. Hopefully I can earn the credits when I complete the challenge. Unfortunately I counted as 2 bans amongst those 15,000. My 1st ban was understandable as I used a guest in Grifball, but the 2nd ban (I’m currently serving-but I don’t know when it will end) occurred after I got matched up with a couple random people and after a couple of us got some hammer kills in the games. The only reason I could think of, was we didn’t touch the bomb carrier and we usually let that team go in for 3 straight scores 99% of the time. Did anyone get banned last week for scoring too fast in Grifball? I know there’s nothing I can do at this point, but I’d like to know if there were any others. Going forward I’m never going to use Grifball to get a games completed challenge anymore. I would urge others to use SWAT as an alternative, since most games are kill based and its basically one-shot kills.

      • John says:

        I can’t see that being the reason for the ban as I’ve seen that happen plenty of times unintentionally but never a ban for it, I lost two rounds that way on Griffball today as my team-mates betrayed me then died allowing the enemy team to pick up the bomb and run straight for the target.

        John

    • Garr Komtaree says:

      Dear Lord.

      Skirmishers?
      of all the bottom feeders skirmishers?
      I’d prefer Heratics. Skirmishers make me sosadface.

  3. Don says:

    Just in case no one has done the math, that is 50 games over 17 hours of gaming if you play nothing but a full 20 minute Arcade Fight back to back to back. For those at the higher ranks (Colonel of higher) who get around 3000cR or more per game of Firefight that figures out to be 150,000cR just for playing. So spread this challenge over a three day period at least so you can hit that 120,000cR daily limit twice and still complete the dailies for the first two days before you get the weekly. That and get off your couch a little more often.

    • i think your math on the games is wrong sweets…each game is 15 waves. it’s only 10 games, not 50. 🙂

      • Don says:

        My mind switched waves and rounds for whatever reason. It’s 7 AM here and I still need to get myself breakfast to think clearly.

    • Matthew Vose says:

      I’m confused Don. Did you read the post correct that it’s 150 WAVES to be completed, and there are 16 waves to a game? It’d be 50 games if this was complete 150 rounds, since there are only 3 rounds (depends how bonus is counted of course) in FF proper. But as it’s Waves this is pretty easy.

    • Don says:

      Oups, my mind switched waves and rounds. 3 rounds per game (bonus doesn’t count) which is 15 waves, so 10 games, so just under 4 hours. And as for my revised 3000cR per game average that is 12,000 cR for playing. So you can get this done today and still complete all the dailies. We should start seeing people complete this no more than 2 to 3 hours from when I posted this correction.

  4. mickoboy90 says:

    hi. my best option would be firefight arcade and go after rocket fight. if you get corvette, game may last about 7-10 mins for 16 waves. but really easy and good firefight weekly challenge finally 🙂

  5. HalfEvilHomer says:

    Yes! A firefight weekly, i was hoping there would be one! Ill get started after i do Tip of the Spear on Legendary!

  6. mickoboy90 says:

    sorry for posting a second comment right after the previous one, but could someone help me somehow?? i got the 24k super jackpot last night, and when i logged on today to complete yesterdays challenges, my 24k were gone.

  7. Scruff UK says:

    10 games? Sweet. This is much more sensible than 150 games 😉 Will hopefully get a couple of commendations up this week as well 🙂

  8. Woody says:

    FINALLY!!! It is about time Bungie gives me a firefight weekly challenge. Firefight is something I do more than any other mode. With only 150 waves though, I will probably be done with the challenge sometime tomorrow afternoon.

  9. matt a says:

    Yeah I honestly love it when the weekly is like this. You could just wait until ff Thursday rolls around and knock this out along with 4 dailies. Or just do it today and get your ff doke for the week. Yay freedom from overly consuming weekly challenges!

  10. onza says:

    FINALLY

  11. Niisama Broham says:

    Very exciting weekly; and it’s about time the weekly is a FF. A lot of people called it.

    I’m looking forward to more in the future from here onward.

    Just hope I’ll be able to get it done. My wife bought Hunted yesterday so I’m sure we’ll be busy on that for the next few days.

    • Scruff UK says:

      It sounds a lot worse than it is; it’s only 10 games of Arcade. Easily done within a few hours 🙂

      • John says:

        Yep, much faster than I realised particularly on Arcade where you’re racing through the waves in seconds at times.

        John

      • Niisama Broham says:

        Good point both of you. I’ll sneak some in here and there then.

  12. Scruff UK says:

    Also, +1 to Matthew for the little Super Jackpot box on the right 🙂

  13. NightRaven45 says:

    Fnally! I’ve missed a firefight weekly. These always seem more achievable. Matthew, you mentioned something about a credit limit for the day? I’ve heard about that, but I’ve never encountered it. Do you have a rough idea of what that is per day?

    • Matthew Vose says:

      Last thing I knew it was about 120,000 a day. Whether it’s still the same now I’m not sure, but I’ve not heard of it going up or down.

      • NightRaven45 says:

        Oh ok. For some reason I thought it was less. Yeah I don’t think I’ll have to worry about hitting that. Thanks for letting me know.

      • John says:

        I thought it was 120K a day as well although it’s not something I have to worry about 😦

      • NightRaven45 says:

        What a day it would be if one actually hit that limit. By actually playing games. I don’t know if I would be impressed, or just laugh. No offense to anyone on here who has actually done it.

      • MadAmericanTaco says:

        I hit my daily limit once when I was off sick a few weeks ago, a message popped up on my screen and said that I had reached my online daily limit during a game. After I completed the round I got full credit and played again but when I was taken to the cR screen it just threw up zeros 😦 I took that as my cue to play some campaign on legendary for the rest of the day lol.

      • t-rOY says:

        Be careful when u do that Taco. I think u might miss out on some credits for campaign commendations. There is also an offline credit cap, but I forgot what it was.

  14. The Fired Goon says:

    I was all prepared to grind this one out. But upon finishing a wave of GruntPoc on Glacier and noticing the 5 of 150. I smiled a little inside. By the end of Firefight Thursday no one playing for challenges should not have this one. Huzzah for a little less all consuming weekly.
    Also it pays to just roll with a buddy in Doubles Attack. Playing arcadefight gets you the 15 waves and no room for those jerk idlers.

  15. Connor Owns says:

    Very easy weekly for once! Should only take around 2 and a half hours if you do firefight arcade and do every round

  16. Clone 066 says:

    Yeah, this isa geat weekly. Not one that us needed to be grinded out, like last week’s, but certainly doable in a day. I wish it was just 300 for 15,000 to make it not so easily donin a day, making it a more”weekly” challange.

    • John says:

      Yeah, I think more waves may be better as 150 really isn’t much at all as I’m almost done already and not spent that much time at it. Then again I guess it takes a bit of the grind element out of it and gives you a bit of choice in what you play, I’ve had enough of FF Arcade for now with the idlers, quitters and the increasing amount that just go to the cheat spots which I’d probably have to stick with if the challenge was more waves but as it is, no problem.

      John

  17. Mister X says:

    Well, LASOisn’t here,so we have good weekly challenges.

  18. Scruff UK says:

    Btw, bonus rounds DO count towards the 150 (maybe you have to survive them until the end though?)

  19. Mister Shhhhhhh says:

    I really LOVE you guys and gals! Even the slower ones!

    Love,
    MS

  20. michael (DR HIGGLESTEIN) says:

    I would definately recommend FF Doubles Arcade for the challenge. In theory you could get through them faster if you do the 4 player Arcade, but you also have to look at the idlers. I play a lot of Doubles Arcade with my girlfriend and we seldom get through a game before the time runs out. Oh well, myself i think its a lot more fun doing the Doubles gametype instead of the 4 player regular. I guess its really just up to preference. Either way i like this challenge! 😉

    • John says:

      I’d recommend smaller maps for FF Arcade on Doubles Attack to give yourself a better chance at finishing. The large maps like Waterfront, Overlook, Outpost, Beachhead and Unearthed I find tricky with two people as there’s a lot of ground to cover whereas small maps such as Corvette and Courtyard make it very easy to quickly kill the enemies as they spawn.

      I’m a big fan of Doubles Attack as well although I wish we’d had it earlier in the year when my brother was home or a week or so when I was playing FF with him and sick of having to play with third and fourth players that were frequently just an annoyance.

      John

      • michael (DR HIGGLESTEIN) says:

        Yeah i know what you mean. Me and my girlfriend always try to get a game on Corvette, its alot easier than the other maps to take out all the enemies. I like Beachhead but it is a hard map to finish before time runs out.

      • John says:

        I’m not a big fan of Holdout but I find it’s quite a good one as well if one player goes on the lower platform and the other player stakes out the other side, you can quickly nail the new spawns then converge on the middle.

        I like Beachhead as well particularly in FF Limited but as you say it needs a good set of players, so many times I’ve ended up cowering in the building being hammered by mortar shots while I try to clear enough enemies to be able to get down to the beach side to take out the wraiths.

        John

      • t-rOY says:

        Beachhead is a lot easier when you have Rockets or FRGs in hand, but other than that its challenging to complete the entire set. If flat tire is out of the mix then we usually avoid it.

        One thing thats true for almost all the FF maps is that if you select a gametype that will spawn Elites with Human weapons, then you can expect the game to take longer. They are ridiculously accurate with the sniper and rockets can quickly overwhelm your spawnpoints if you get killed early in the wave. I don’t know which I hate more, being overwhelmed by skirmishers or Elites with Rockets and Snipers.

  21. Woody says:

    Wow…. as long as I’ve had and played Halo Reach, I had no idea that there was a daily credit limit. With that being said though, I guess it really doesn’t matter to me, because I’m lucky if I reach a total of 25,000 credits for a day.

  22. Will says:

    Got mine done. I love having Mondays off.

  23. crazybydefault says:

    Unfortunately I tend to have a lot of FF lag whenever I play it in Co-Op, so I’m stuck doing this via Score Attack. Just a recommendation, don’t do it all at once if you have to do it this way! But I’m 1/3 of the way through it and it only took me two hours! 😉

  24. Pingback: 21st June – Halo Reach Daily Challenges & Commentary « Halo Reach Daily Challenges

  25. fso520 says:

    My progress on this challenge has reset to zero! How that can happen I have no idea!

  26. Pingback: June 23rd Challenges and Commentary « Halo Reach Daily Challenges

  27. Garr Komtaree says:

    One of the most fun ways of doing this challenge imo

    is Doubles firefight, Arcade fight on Unearthed.

    its amazing. and the map is litterally made for firefight.

  28. Shawn (Gamertag: txmade1986) says:

    Easy Weekly… One good sitting got me through. Has anyone else been seeing Inheritors around? I’ve seen 2 in the past week or so

  29. Shawn (Gamertag: txmade1986) says:

    Easy Weekly… One good sitting got me through. Has anyone else been seeing Inheritors around? I’ve seen 2 in the past week or so

    • Vast Archangel says:

      ya, iv seen a couple, one played pretty decent, but some played as well as some majors… i dont know whats goin on.

  30. Pingback: 26th June – Halo Reach Daily Challenges & Commentary « Halo Reach Daily Challenges

Leave a Reply

