21st June – Halo Reach Daily Challenges & Commentary

Today’s challenges are listed below, click Read More to view the commentary:

  1. One Spartan Army – Kill 400 enemies in Firefight Matchmaking – 2000 cR
  2. Support Structure – Earn 30 assists in Firefight Matchmaking – 2250 cR
  3. The Little Guys – Kill 125 Grunts in Campaign today on Normal or harder – 1000 cR
  4. Put Your Quarter Up – Complete 12 games in multiplayer Matchmaking – 1600 cR

Commentary follows after the break…

One Spartan Army – Kill 400 enemies in Firefight Matchmaking – 2000 cR

You get 120 Grunts in Gruntpocalypse, about 100 enemies in Score Attack and something like 330 in a Firefight Matchmaking game (although split between up to 4 people). I recommend 3 Score Attack and one Gruntpocalypse, since you don’t always get the full amount in each game (usually Grunts and Brutes kill each other by accident with grenades), and Score Attack gives you a good way to up various commendations with the variety of weapons and enemy kills. This type of challenge is exactly why you don’t do the weekly straight away… since just working on that will get you this pretty simply.

Support Structure – Earn 30 assists in Firefight Matchmaking – 2250 cR

Assists are slightly harder on Firefight I think (you have to deal 40% damage and someone else kills them within 4 seconds). My recommendation is normally to play Courtyard, as you tend to stick together in the entrance to the spawn room so you’re more likely to help assist and get assists from your team mates, whereas you spread out on other maps. However now we have FF Doubles that will be really good for this – one of you arms the Plasma Pistol to over load, the other takes out the enemy. Particularly the Brutes and Elites are easiest to get this on, and communicate with your team that you’re doing this so they can get the kills and you get the assists.

The Little Guys – Kill 125 Grunts in Campaign today on Normal or harder – 1000 cR

Winter Contingency, Exodus or The Package are excellent for Grunts – read through this post for more information on them. The opening of ONI Sword Base has one useful trick – go straight to the Target Designator, turn around and blast some Grunts, then reset to checkpoint. It’s a quick way of doing it, although I prefer playing through levels to up various commendations. Ryan suggested something similar on The Package, throwing a grenade just before the checkpoint so that every time you reset it goes off and takes out a few Grunts. ONI: Sword Base can also be good by just taking out the few who are in front of you at the start then restarting the mission, but if you go for the TD you get lots of big commendations too.

Put Your Quarter Up – Complete 12 games in multiplayer Matchmaking – 1600 cR

Complete 12 games. Don’t drop out. Get to the end of each. Just play through them. Doesn’t matter if you win or lose. Sorry, I can’t drag out this explanation any further. Is there a way of doing this quickly? Infection is a very fast game type so you’ll probably get it done in 45-60 minutes using that, and Grifball can be very quick depending on if someone goes for the score straight away!

As ever, check out the Game Night hub page for information on what we’re doing this week – main parties so far are Reach achievement hunting and Firefight Arcade for the Weekly Challenge. I’d like to get 12 together for the ‘cheevos if possible since there are so many that we can get in Invasion.

 

103 Responses to 21st June – Halo Reach Daily Challenges & Commentary

  1. HalfEvilHomer says:

    i think the 1st 3 are a definate, thr last one, not so much, i hate those challenges! Hopefully with the help of these and the weekly I can rank up to Hero today! =)

    • John says:

      Yeah, same here – my progress bar is into the ‘hero’ bit so hoping to make it to the end today…the progress bar seems to move so slowly and going to go slower yet when I hit hero.

      John

      • michael (DR HIGGLESTEIN) says:

        I know what you guys mean. It feels like me and my son have been a Mythic forever, but today hopefully we will get to Noble. Only 29,117 Cr. and were there.

      • t-rOY says:

        Almost any rank after Hero takes at least 3 weeks to attain. Unless you earn close to the maximum daily credits allowed 2 or 3 times a week. Sounds like you should get you and your son should get your Noble today. When I was that far away from Noble it took about a 3 hour Reach session with a good majority of games being FF.

      • John says:

        That’s me up to Hero, my team-mate abandoned me from the start on an FF limited game but finishing that (well 11 waves in, not sure if you can finish FF limited on your own?) was enough to get the weekly and push me *just* onto Hero. I’ll be surprised if I rank up any further although I thought that of Field marshall

        John

  2. Scruff UK says:

    I really don’t see how 12 games is only worth 1600 cR. Ah well.

    I’d actually go into FF Arcade / Doubles for the ‘400 enemies in Firefight’ challenge. For starters, the number of enemies has increased now and is around 400 per game, which means that most people should average 100 kills per game. This Weekly is also giving us a huge amount of people going AFK (Remember to submit complaints on these folk btw! I saw one Legend the other day who should be a Recruit again before long…) which just means all the more kills for the people who are actually playing it! Also a full game of Arcade / Doubles contributes 15 or 16 towards the Weekly as opposed to the 5 that you’ll get from Score Attack.

    Sniperfight (or the sniper loadout in Arcadefight) is really, really good for assists. Bodyshot and de-shield every Elite and Brute possible and move on.

    And Grunts = my final solo Campaign commendation farming checkpoint.

    Only another 540,000 cR to my next promotion :/

    • MadAmericanTaco says:

      What is your next rank? Legend?

      • John says:

        Hero I think, as he’s Field Marshall at the moment?

      • Scruff UK says:

        John speaks the truth. Hit Field Marshall last Game Night. Which means it’ll likely be another month or two before I get my next promotion. Although I’m out of a job as of next week, so maybe I’ll start going through these ranks quicker than I have been doing!

    • Niisama Broham says:

      Scruff, in your experience, sniper rifle is best for “assisting” or an overcharged plasma pistol?

      I usually try the plasma pistol but its pretty “hit or miss” (no pun intended!). Sometimes I get the assist other times, nope.

      • Scruff UK says:

        Sniper rifle is way better for me than a plasma pistol. The plasma pistol has a tendency to only hit anything right up close, whereas the sniper is an instant-hit and has the added benefit of hitting pretty much anything across the whole length of the map.

        You can’t get Grunts or Skirmishers or Jackals, but you should be able to get an assist on pretty much every Elite, Brute, Hunter and vehicle using a sniper, providing you have a team-mate or three who know what you’re doing and are willing to play along, or who don’t notice that you’re deliberately not killing stuff.

      • ‘nade launcher is good for assists too.

      • Niisama Broham says:

        @Scruff – I see. Good point on the instant-hit.

        @snickerdoodle – Forgot all about the grenade launcher! I actually enjoy that weapon a great deal, I just hate the AA. I’m not the type to sneak around the map. lol

      • t-rOY says:

        Sorry to butt in, but I have a friend who used the focus rifle to rack up assists. He also used a hologram so that he could distract the enemies while he took down their shields and allowed the rest of us to finish them off.

      • Niisama Broham says:

        @t-rOY – Hey, helpful advice is always welcome! Thanks.

        Focus Rifle, Grenade Launcher and Sniper Rifle = Assist Heaven

        Definitely like the idea of the Focus Rifle. They are more readily available on any map with skirmishers, allow you to keep distance, and you can better control the power of the shot/damage for each target.

    • ZaganZee says:

      You’re campaign boosting got me inspired, I’ve decided to do it as well, starting with the obvious, the target locator trick and the grunt checkpoint on the package. How’d you boost assists so fast though?

      • Scruff UK says:

        Ooh 🙂 Make friends with a roll of sticky tape, make sure you’re ALWAYS playing with free-for-all scoring on, and preferably use a wired controller:

        Target Designator – use Heroic with as many ‘extra damage’ skulls as you feel comfortable with. After setting the target, turn around and run at the huge double doors that will eventually open up to the two Wraiths. Crouch and move as far forward as you can; this should trigger a checkpoint just before the bombs start falling. Sticky tape your left trigger down. All being well, you’ll blow yourself up with a grenade after getting a load of kills (and a killing spree). Save and quit (otherwise you’ll revert to a previous checkpoint after 5 deaths), then reload. Come back in a few hours and you’ll have done thousands of kills.

        Assists – it helps that you only need 6,000 to max it, but you’ll need two controllers. Nightfall on Normal – your account runs up the hill, points at the Elite’s back. Your spare controller runs up the hill, off the left hand edge, and towards the tree on the left side of the cliff. Turn around and aim at the Elite’s head, and then slowly start walking backwards. You should get a checkpoint, but you might have to try this a few times; sometimes Jun ruins it by firing. If you get it, press Start, sticky tape both right triggers, then revert to saved. Your main account should get an assist. Then either repeatedly revert to saved whilst watching a movie or something, or sticky tape your left stick in a direction so you’re falling off a cliff. Be careful with that though – you have to die a while after getting the kill, otherwise you’ll revert to the start of the mission after five deaths.

      • Shane says:

        I could never get the Nightfall assist thing to work so I did mine of The Package, rally point bravo with two controllers. See I3utteRzZzZ’s guide for details on where to find the 8 grunts for farming:
        http://www.bungie.net/Forums/posts.aspx?postID=50684727&postRepeater1-p=1

        Get both spartans close to these grunts and aimed for a grenade strike just as you hit the checkpoint. Toss a grenade from your primary controller and then another from your secondary controller to get the assists. If you set this up right, you can get 3-6 assists most throws. I can’t remember what skulls I used but I probably used Mythic or something similar so that the grunts could survive the first grenade blast (otherwise you’re getting grenade kills, not assists).

        I think the spot I used was at the right edge of the rocks opposite the bridge that the grunts come across. Get them to cluster up for maximum kills – it’s worth spending 5 minutes setting it up properly to save an hour of reloads.

        I had everything lined up for minimal hand movement while I watched TV on my other monitor :-). If you are a sticky tape maestro like Scruff, you could automate the second controller!

      • ZaganZee says:

        Yeah those sound like a bit of work there. I’ll give a shot to the grenade one, but I can typically get 15 to 20 assists with my brother in about 3 minutes by deshielding elites on lone wolves while he headshots them. Simple really, and they just keep coming so it’s nice and steady.

      • Shane says:

        Lone Wolves sounds more fun – the Nightfall and grenade setups are “basically for a man who is alone in his life” [Achewood] :-D.

  3. Woody says:

    I’m so jealous of the rankings that I’m reading. lol

    Anyway, I thought to get an assist, the player had to dish out 60 percent of damage to someone else before another person finishes him off. Can anyone confirm that?

    • Matthew Vose says:

      No it’s definitely 40%, that’s what it’s always been on Reach. Perhaps you mixed up that the person getting the kill itself needs to do up to 60%.

    • Sir Galahad 63 says:

      What rank are you woody? I’m a Colonel Grade 3, almost Brigadier (MJOLNIR MK VI here I come!!)

      • Woody says:

        I’m a General. I got the rank about 4-5 days ago.
        I was just like you when it came to getting the MJOLNIR MK VI. lol

      • that’s not too bad!

        don’t read too much into ranks. more often than not it just means some of the people have no life. like me. :mrgreen:

      • Matthew Vose says:

        Those of us who spend our time doing blogs and the like are ‘only’ a Colonel (remember John being surprised at that?). 😆

      • Sir Galahad 63 says:

        Who was John? And my excuse for not being Inheritor yt is that I have life, and school, and people to be with… But you guys are just as awesome, and I do not personally know any of you!

      • Matthew Vose says:

        Look up, John comments fairly often. First game night he commented he was surprised at my lowly rank. XD

        And yeah, life kinda takes priority over games (hence why I’ll probably be missing next week’s game night for the first time).

      • HalfEvilHomer says:

        I hit Field Marshall about 2 weeks ago and im 100,000 from Hero, so hopefully with the game bonuses, the weekly and todays challenges i can either get close today or maybe rank up! The only another 900,000 to hit legend……..oh well! =P

      • Scruff UK says:

        I am a Field Marshall.
        I only play on my Xbox for around 5-10 hours on an average week.
        With the exception of two weeks to hammer Dead Space over Christmas and a tiny bit of Halo 3, I have played nothing but Reach since release day. I keep saying I’ll go back to other games, but never quite manage it. Even though I was all excited about Portal 2 and MK9 coming out and already don’t care about getting either of them.
        So don’t be too impressed 😉

        In terms of other player’s ranks, I’ve found that *generally speaking* (i.e. don’t be offended if the following statement includes you), you generally get people acting like douchebags (quitting, going AFK, betraying when you get the sniper, etc) at Hero and above, and Captain and below. Although regardless of rank, the worst is ALWAYS when you get 2 – 4 people on the same console as each other on the same team as you. It’s just a race against time to see when they’re going to quit out of the game.

      • Sir Galahad 63 says:

        Let’s just be happy with what we have, Matt 🙂 where I live it is pretty good to be a Colonel, as my other friends that play are Lt Colonels and the like… So I feel pretty good 😀

        I preordered Halo CE Anniversary today… I’m pumped

      • Woody says:

        Well, Snickerdoodle, since you claim you have no life, on curious to know what rank are you? lol

      • Sir Galahad 63 says:

        Ooh she’s a Field Marshall.

      • HalfEvilHomer says:

        I think ive probably got a bit more time to play than most people as ive just finished my 2nd year of university and am pretty much free untill september lol….apart from working at the weekends!

      • Sir Galahad is right….i’m a Field Marshall. 🙂 just over 1/4th of the way to Hero! bahahaha. the bar moves SOOOOOO SLOW.

      • Sir Galahad 63 says:

        To HalfEvilHomer:
        Don’t you have some friends to go party with, or some girls to drink with? Or even get a dog and walk it? I know I’m bring very hipocritical but that’s not the point lol 🙂

      • halfevilhomer says:

        hahah, indeed i do yes but at the moment most people have gone home for a couple weeks untill we get our results then everyone coems back for a bit longer, have some parties ect! Untill then im glad to be able to relax for a bit, has been one hell of a busy year!

      • Sir Galahad 63 says:

        Well in that case… 😀

      • Starmage008 says:

        Nice, I fit into Scruff’s “nice guy” range: almost a General.

        I recommend all take a break to play through Portal 2 if you haven’t already. I found it very funny. Plus Stephen Merchant does the voice for Wheatley. Very well done.

      • michael (DR HIGGLESTEIN) says:

        Im happy to say that even though me and my son are a Mythic, we have never quit a game. We did get booted once for an accidental betrayal and once my internet crapped out on me but other than that, never. I do see what you mean Scruff because almost all of the higher ranks we play with either AFK, betray, or quit.

      • Niisama Broham says:

        So… whats to happen if Halo 4 effectively “resets” everyone’s rank by having an entirely different rank system?

      • same thing that happened when we went from H3 to Reach, everyone starts over. part of the fun of the game.

      • SensoryFour34 says:

        I see a lot of Field Marshalls and Heroes and such, but lately I’ve seen a lot of Majors and Captains. I’m only a Brigadier right now, almost Grade 1, though.

      • John says:

        Ugh…I really hated Stephen Merchant in Portal 2, he went from extremely annoying to almost ruining the game for me. Later on I had to turn off the audio as his voice was doing my head in, nothing against the actor himself it’s just I thought his character was completely out of place with the Portal universe.

        I would expect Halo 4 to start with a new ranking system as once you reach the higher levels there’s not the same thrill of ranking up. Field Marshall has been very slow and Hero is going to be slower yet although my aim was to get Field Marshall so I’m happy to have reached it. Yes I was surprised at Matt’s rank although not in a negative way, just not what I expected. I can’t be bothered grinding the game or doing any of the boring challenges so I tend to pick and choose, as I work 12 hour shifts (minimum, can almost double that at times plus on call) I don’t have that much time to play the game but usually try and manage an hour a day but as it’s been consistent since day of release I’m a reasonable rank. Unless there’s much new content though I’ll be surprised if I get much into Hero as I’m finding the game isn’t so addictive any more.

        That said I’m looking forward to the Game night which is much better than playing with randoms.

        John

      • t-rOY says:

        Thought I join in on the fun. I’m a Noble, my wife’s an Eclipse (on her way to Nova) and a couple of our friends we always play with, are Mythics. We usually play 3 hours a day (maybe that constitutes no life), but it’s a good relief from the 8 hour workday, +time spent raising our 21-month old son. He usually falls asleep at 9pm (Hawaii Time) so we start then and finish at 12am. Sometimes it doesn’t work out that way and we go AFK to tend to our son, but we try to take turns and play the game out. We’ve quit out on a couple of games usually if we’re getting pwned or spawn killed without any chance of closing the gap. In grifball (the cause of our latest troubles detailed in my other posts) we usually hold the bomb and kill kill kill, but with last week’s challenge it was all about scoring and letting people score. Sorry to rant, but I want to end by saying I appreciate this blog and everyone’s contributions. Your tips help me run through the challenges a lot quicker and gives me more time to earn some extra Crs in FF and commendation hunting. If anyone needs help with achievements let me know, and I’ll try to accommodate you. My GT is tROYnHI.

    • Chris (Insanity Boy) says:

      Woody has a new picture! :L

      • Woody says:

        I had to get rid of the other pic. It was older and it looked like a mugshot. I didn’t want to give the impression that I play Halo in jail. lol

  4. Prox says:

    It’s kind of disappointing to see the “Kill 125 Grunts in Campaign today on Normal or harder” challenge again so soon. Maybe it’s because I’m not much of a campaign guy, but those challenges really seem like a grind to me.

    • don’t think of it as a grind, think of it as an opportunity to work on your commendations instead! 😉

      • Brook Harris says:

        Seriously Bro, You do need to get a Life and not worry about Commendation and what Rank You are. Just enjoy the Game

      • Scruff UK says:

        Or perhaps, spend more time at school so you know when to correctly use capital letters, “bro”.

      • Sir Galahad 63 says:

        Oooh BURN!!

    • Scruff UK says:

      ONI: Sword Base. Run to target designator. Turn round. Fire at group of Grunts. Turn round again and run at the (closed) set of double doors to the next section (with the two Wraiths), crouching as you get to them. This triggers a checkpoint, hopefully just as the bombs start dropping. Revert to saved checkpoint. Wait a second and then revert to saved checkpoint. Wait a second and then revert to saved checkpoint. Repeat for approximately 30 seconds. Challenge complete in under a minute 😉

      • Prox says:

        We’re people getting banned for this at one point in time? I’d hate to risk a rank reset over some grunts…

      • Prox says:

        Grr. I meant “weren’t” not “we’re”.

      • Scruff UK says:

        No. You can do what you like in Campaign as long as it’s you sat there reloading a checkpoint. Or falling off a cliff to restart the checkpoint or whatever. The only thing they don’t let you do in Campaign is using modded controllers to restart checkpoints, which apparently they can tell if you’re doing. You can’t do anything dodgy in Firefight or Matchmaking though.

        I’ve got all but two Campaign Commendations up to Onyx Max, not one of them done legitimately, and I’ve not even had a 24 hour ban. If you look at most people’s Service Records, almost everyone has Onyx on the Campaign heavy weapon / multikills commendations.

      • Matthew Vose says:

        Not everyone – some of us have nothing at max, and just play for the love of the game XD

      • i don’t!

        …but i don’t really play much campaign so this should surprise exactly no one. 😉

      • Scruff UK says:

        Hence “almost everyone” 😉

        I don’t recall you playing entirely just “for the love of the game” when you and I were repeatedly sword-lunging/shotgunning each other in Halo 3 a few weeks back in order to get an old achievement 😉

      • Braythor says:

        I don’t have splash damage or walking tank maxed either. I am a completionist but I can’t bring myself to do things like that through little glitches/shortcuts. The same thing prevented me from using Yojimbo’s Zanmato to defeat Penance in FFX, it just doesn’t feel like it’s deserving of the reward. To me anyway; I’m not criticising those who do it. Mind you it’s a thin line between that kind of thing and what we did in griffball a couple of weeks back…

      • Matthew Vose says:

        No I wasn’t playing for the love of the game, I was playing for the love of ‘cheevos. I fell out of love with H3 a long time ago.

      • MadAmericanTaco says:

        Hey Scruff, any tips on how to max out the campaign commendations, if I had to guess I am about 40% of the way but some just take forever. I was trying to do the demon/flawless cowby the other day but turns out Bungie fixed the glitch 😦 Any tips would be appreciated!

      • ZaganZee says:

        Yeah, I was once against boosting. Then I did the math and realized It’d take forever to get 100% of the campaign achievements without boosting. I play reach alot, (and I mean ALOT) and there’s still no way I’d have them done by halo 4 release if I did them legitamately.

      • Scruff UK says:

        See my post above for some Campaign commendations. Basically look on Youtube and work out which Commendations can be made easier with sticky tape. Demon / Flawless Cowboy – are you SURE it’s fixed? You have to get the timing exactly right on it for it to work…

        As for the commendations in general… Boosting Campaign ones is only cheating as much as using ‘save and quit’ on a LASO challenge is cheating. Probably less so, in fact. In any case, it’s exactly the same as using the Target Designator to take out a load of Grunts. Or playing Grifball only for kills. Or playing Infection games but not allowing camping. Etc. It’s just making the most of the system; and it’s not like you get a huge credit bonus out of it. It’s purely a completist thing 🙂

  5. Chris Atreides (Usul) says:

    So one of my students bought me Black Op’s for my birthday before they graduated (Yes that entitled them to an automatic A) 😉 Question: Why doesn’t EVERYONE play that game? The graphics are SO amazing. Is there a reason? I mean I love Reach BUT…this game is awesome. And who doesn’t love killing Hitler ZOmbies. It’s like FireFight meets Friday the 13th on steroids. And I’m where Snickerdoodle is…”slow moving” I feel like I’ve been a Mythic for 2 months, oh wait I have been a Mythic for 2 months. Matt as always love the site. Viva Reach!

    p.s. I hope the Bungie crew is ready to send this Spartan some steaks because I plan on taking out all my Weekly LASO Challenge frustration out on July 7th. lmao.

    • Scruff UK says:

      There are a load of reasons why; asking why people don’t play COD on a Halo site is like going onto the Dillinger Escape Plan’s forums and asking why EVERYONE doesn’t like Linkin Park 😉 Here are some reasons though, since you asked:

      – EVERYONE *does* play COD. Out of the top 5 most played games on XBL for the past 6 months, 3 of them are COD games, including the number 1 spot (MW:2, incidentally).
      – Activision are the Devil and no money should go to them, ever.
      – BLOPS multiplayer is horribly broken. I have heard this from COD fanboys, too.
      – Some people want to play brightly coloured science fiction shooters, rather than grim, boring ‘realistic’ shooters.
      – Halo has a long-running narrative and therefore a legion of hardcore fans.
      – COD has pretty much the worst online community in the entire world.
      – Reach is possibly the greatest multiplayer game ever.
      – People are Halo fanboys and hate on COD for ridiculous reasons, such as it being published by Activision 😉

      I shall be pulling an all-nighter on the 7th. Yay for being made redundant! 😉

      • Chris (Insanity Boy) says:

        You definitely put a lot of thought into that, huh? xP

      • Scruff UK says:

        Funnily enough I didn’t. Someone mentions COD and all of this vitrol just pours out of me 😉

      • michael (DR HIGGLESTEIN) says:

        So Scruff, whats up with you and Activision? LoL. Just had to ask!

      • Chris says:

        With a speech like that, all you need now is a bulletproof car and a fancy suit and voila! You have a job as a politician xD

      • Scruff UK says:

        Haha 😉 Activision are one of only two companies I avoid like the plague; for specific reasons have a good long research into Activision’s CEO Robert Kotick, including what it’s like to work for him and comments he’s made about the industry / games he makes / etc, and the West/Zampella incident. I could go into detail here but I’d be here forever 😉

      • Wunschkind89 says:

        A few points:

        • COD isn’t realistic. It’s like Counter-Strike: arcade-like, and CS:S/CS 1.6 are better games than COD anyway 😉 – if anyone wants reaism, I suggest Operation Flashpoint 2: Dragon Rising. Best FPS I’ve ever played, behind N64’s GoldenEye 007 of course.

        • The Dillinger Escape Plan are an amazing band, great reference. Look up Protest The Hero if yer into that kind of rock.

        • Reach being the greatest multiplayer game ever is a bit of a stretch. It’s loads of fun, but there’s so many MMORPG’s on PC that blow it out of the water; Diablo 2 and Guild Wars come to mind.

        Also, I have a few iPhone app All-Star Nameplates if anyone wants one. Gamertag is same as thy name – send a message!

      • Scruff UK says:

        Funnily enough I saw a Protest The Hero video on Scuzz the other day and saved the band name in my phone to remind myself to investigate them 🙂 Dillinger are my favourite band who haven’t yet split up 😉

        I should have pre-faced “best multiplayer ever” with “in my opinion” – everything I say should have that proviso attached 😉 I won’t touch MMORPG’s… Don’t have the time to even consider getting hooked on them!

      • Wunschkind89 says:

        Dillinger is pretty amazing, probably the leading band IMO in mathcore. I’m personally getting more into the generic metalcore scene though; Currently hooked on God Forbid, August Burns Red, The Crimson Armada, As I Lay Dying.. Asking Alexandria is total madness.

        MMORPG’s (nerd games ;)) are quite addictive, and I’ll probably end up using Halo Reach as my keyboard duster when Guild Wars 2 comes out hahah.

        If you want a few great tunes by Protest: Bloodmeat, Blindfolds Aside, Bone Marrow, Heretics & Killers, Limb From Limb, No Stars Over Bethlehem (my fave), Palms Read, Sequoia Throne (most popular) and Spoils.

        Happy hunting!

      • michael (DR HIGGLESTEIN) says:

        Dillinger Escape Plan is pretty awesome. I seen them in concert with Killswitch Engage a couple of years ago. That was the only concert i have ever been to. LoL!

    • OMGBBQWTFLOL says:

      Call of Duty is fun. Halo is fun. I’ve put in billions of hours into each game, but my personal preference always drives me to Halo. I was a diehard H2 and H3 fan (of course I played H:CE, just not that much) for years and years, until finally my friend convinced me to start playing MW2. I love COD, I took a long Halo break to play a lot of it. When Reach came out, I hated the values for shields/life/damage, since what I was used to doing in H3 no longer killed the player in Reach, so I played nothing but Blops. But after months, I got bored, and now I’m back to Halo.

      If I had to give my number one reason why Halo online is better than COD it is because people care about winning. Nothing matters in call of duty except having the highest kill death ratio possible in a game. Playing the objective comes second, and as long as you have a lot of kills it doesn’t matter if you lose. Halo was always about the win (at least in H2/3 because wins meant ranking up), and even with commendations for killing in Reach, you still try hard to get the win and have the commendations come along the way. I’d rather play with a nicer, more relaxed online community than the majority of COD players who are assholes. Of course, all that being said, as soon as Bungie day is over I’ll probably take a halo break and play some COD 🙂

    • John says:

      I assume by your use of capitals you’re being sarcastic? Can be difficult to tell in written text.

      I played CoD a fair bit in its first WW2 iteration but I’ve never managed to get into the later games, part of it is down to the setting as I prefer the biochemically enhanced power armoured Spartans in Halo (as I prefer Warhammer 40,000 over Warhammer Fantasy) as well as some of the mechanics. I’m glad Reach doesn’t reward with any actual game advantage for time played and instead the armour and similar is purely cosmetic, I think it’s unfair for experienced players to have access to better weapons and accessories when they already have the advantage of knowing the game and the maps extremely well.

      John

  6. michael (DR HIGGLESTEIN) says:

    For the Firefight Assist challenge i always get my girlfriend to play FF Doubles Arcade or 2X Score Attack with me. The easiest enemy to get assists on are Elites. We usually do the map Unearthed and stay in the spawn room. When the Elites come up i will take their shields down and she will take them out. In one game of 2X i can usually get around 15 or 20 assists. Sometimes i will put the Warthog in the spawn room at the back so she can get in it and fire rockets at groups of enemies that come into the room, after i throw a grenade to get their shields down. 😉

    • John says:

      I’ll be honest and say I don’t think that strategy works well generally 😉

      • michael (DR HIGGLESTEIN) says:

        Works for me. As long as you have a teammate that knows what you doing you shouldnt have a problem. I know that ive only done this challenge twice since i only have 2 Second Gunman medals. LoL. I am happy to say that i have almost all the medals in Firefight that you can get. Keyword being almost. Took me a while to get the “Sunburst” medal. 🙂 Sucks that Bungie put medals in there that are impossible to get!

      • John says:

        I was joking, I meant the strategy of specifically getting your girlfriend to play Reach with you!

        I actually managed to get the sunburst medal on Fiestafight last night for the first, and probably the last time…weirdly I was actually able to hit enemies with it for a change, I normally charge up and miss completely

      • michael (DR HIGGLESTEIN) says:

        Oh. LoL! Yeah it doesnt happen very often anyways. I dont get lucky enough on Fiesta Fight to get a Spartan Laser start. Oh well, maybe one day!

      • t-rOY says:

        didn’t know fiesta was unlimited ammo, but I usually avoid it anyways. I finally got my laser spree on arcade fight after an elite dropped it. Definately not the easiest way, but I think it’s a pretty decent alternative to the fiesta fight option.

  7. Kyle says:

    Argh! Why does it seem like ever since I moved into my new apartment the challenges have been easier while I don’t have internet?!

  8. leroygetz says:

    Scruff is on the money with his activision comments. They are the scum of the earth. Check out the blog “dubious quality” for more commentary on acti and bobby kotick

  9. Chris says:

    Well todays comments have at lwast shown us that Reach players have some strong views :L

  10. Matthew Vose says:

    I’m so interested to see what the community does over the next year once we learn what the game Bungie are making with Activision is.

    I agree Activision aren’t the most… touchy feely company, but remember we’re playing a game on a Microsoft console. They too were once despised by some quarters, for various reasons, and have worked to rebuild their corporate & customer image, and have come a long way since.

    • John says:

      Microsoft bought up Bizarre and made (in my view) the finest racing games ever whereas Activision killed Bizarre…that’s a tough position to recover from.

      John

      • Scruff UK says:

        I won’t be playing Bungie’s next game for three reasons:

        1) It’s being published by Activision, and I can’t bring myself to bend my morals.
        2) It’s on the PC, and my PC can just about run the internet, let alone a game.
        3) It’s an MMO, which I have no time to commit to.

        So I shall miss playing Bungie games… But 343i are basically half of Bungie anyway 😉

      • Matthew Vose says:

        I’m holding fire before making any definite statements, they’re hiring PS3 experts, and would be daft to rule out the xbox at the moment given it’s place this generation.

      • Scruff UK says:

        Interesting… If it is an MMO then that causes issues for an Xbox release. Microsoft don’t seem to allow a separate monthly charge (a few developers have complained about this) as they want everything to come through a Gold membership. There’s still the Activision issue for me though, and until Kotick goes, I’m not prepared to give them any money whatsoever.

        I’m OK with not playing another Bungie game though. I never played Marathon, after all. It’s Halo I love, not Bungie. Yes, Bungie made Halo, but a lot of those people are now at 343i, so it’s all good 🙂

  11. Cheborneck says:

    You guys with your target designators on ONI are funny. That works great when you have an Elite challange but there are so few grunts it’s hardly worth the effort. Try Winter from rally point B, you can cap 20-30 per save/restart.
    And again, I say the challenges today are garbage for the return/time investment!

  12. @ZaganZee “Then I did the math and realized It’d take forever to get 100% of the campaign achievements without boosting.”

    I just finally got the last Defiant achievement last week, and now have a complete 1400 on Reach. And I have never, ever once farmed nor camped. Among me and my buddies, “farming” is when you switch to firefights for extra credits instead of doing it all through matchmaking. No shame in that, plus my wife joins in whenever I do a firefight (we LOVE doubles). I work for the fire department and was also going to school until May (yes, Archaeology), so it’s taken me a LONG time, but it can be done…

    Just devote all the time you WOULD spend trying to develop ways to circumvent the Banhammer to actually playing the game. You’ll totally get there.

  13. winter says:

    Assists in firefight it is easy… nadefight on any map. Just use the nade to emp enemies (works best on the 2nd and 3rd wave when mythic is on). if you play as a team (or at least near each other) you will get loads. I think almost every ‘Second Gunman’ medal I have gotten was largely from this method.

  14. Cheborneck says:

    @scruff UK. The assist farming you’re talking about is campaign only. Today’s challenge is firefight. But what you said is posted everywhere and doesn’t work the way you explain it you’re second controller has to run past the grunts up the second hill and get a save before Jon try’s to step in.

    • Scruff UK says:

      Yes I know that it’s for Campaign – it was in reply to Zagan, who was asking for help on how to boost Campaign Commendations. I never said it was for today’s challenges.

      And my assist method does work – considering I’ve got over 2,000 assists in a few hours from using that exact method, I can verify it. The checkpoint can be triggered by backing up towards the tree on the lowest level (just past the three sleeping Grunts), which is the same checkpoint that is triggered by running along the ledge *past* the grunts. If you’d like to join me in a Campaign game I’ll prove it.

      And it’s Jun, not Jon.

      • MadAmericanTaco says:

        I would be interested in checking this out… Let me know when you can be on (and what time zone) and I will try and make it work.

      • Scruff UK says:

        I’ll be on tonight but it’s game night – if I’m on earlier than 8 then I’ll quickly show you, failing that send me an invite at some point and if i’m not in a game then I’ll show you 🙂

        In fact, I should make a video of it. I might even change my frustrating Gamertag so I can upload it and then people can see that I am telling the truth! 😉

Leave a Reply

