25th June – Halo Reach Daily Challenges & Commentary

Today’s challenges come to you from a van going East round the A406 (London’s North Circular) and are listed below, click Read Moreto view the commentaries:

  1. Covenant-cide – Kill 120 enemies in Firefight Matchmaking – 1100 cR
  2. T-Hug It Out – Kill 4 enemies with close quarters combat in a Multiplayer Matchmaking game – 1000 cR
  3. I’m Rubber, You’re Glue – Earn 2 sticky grenade kills in a multiplayer Matchmaking game – 1100 cR
  4. It was the Winter… – Complete Winter Contingency on Legendary without dying – 1500 cR

Commentary follows after the break…

Covenant-cide – Kill 120 enemies in Firefight Matchmaking – 1100 cR

So you could do this in one game of Gruntpocalypse, 2X Score Attack or some of the other variants. Why am I going for Gruntpoc as the best option? Because it’s got easy enemies to take out and a really quick game type to play through. Perhaps go through Waterfront to take on the cliff Snipers to help get that 120 in one game.

T-Hug It Out – Kill 4 enemies with close quarters combat in a Multiplayer Matchmaking game – 1000 cR

Close Quarters is a kill using melee, assassination, Shotgun, Energy Sword, Hammer and Golf Club. Infection can be useful, as that’s all CQC. If only there was a game type where you only used hammers and swords though? I say Grifball, as that’s all CQC as well, and easy to get lots and lots of kills. For other mode options, Action Sack’s Halo Ball Extreme is great, and Infection is almost all CQC bar the Pistol. Maps like Sword Base, Countdown and Reflection give you the Sword, Powerhouse sometimes the Hammer and Asylum the Shotgun. I tend to melee a lot anyway so this should come in one game.

I’m Rubber, You’re Glue – Earn 2 sticky grenade kills in a multiplayer Matchmaking game – 1100 cR

Any Elite Slayer where you’re given Plasma Grenades, although beware Armour Lock dudes as they’ll not give you the kill. Alternatively, Slayer Pro has a loadout that includes Plasma Grenades, or there are some scattered round a lot of maps in normal Multiplayer modes. Some Rumble Pit modes include Plasma Grenades in the loadouts too, Squad Slayer on Zealot is always a grenade frenzy, and DinoBlasters in Action Sack can be useful for grenades since no one expects Plasma grenades in that mode (in fact their chief weapon is surprise, surprise and fear…)

It was the Winter… – Complete Winter Contingency on Legendary without dying – 1500 cR

This is not particularly hard on Winter Contingency, for the most part you can run the map and stay in the jeep to run things over and let Noble team do a lot of the work. What makes it hard is the base section. I always say take out the Elite with the Concussion Rifle at the beginning, so keep peppering him with shots and take him down. Use DMR and grenades on the Jackals and Grunts, then when you get to the last section use a Plasma Pistol overcharge on the Sword Elite and headshot him with the DMR. If you get really stuck, there is a glitch which can be exploited, by exiting the game and restarting from last checkpoint it opens up the challenge again, and you can continue from where you died. Use Tyrant’s Mythic guide for how to do the most expert path on WC.

Easy peasy today. A couple of games for these bonus credits and then play the jackpot games (see the bar on the right for details) to get mega bonuses.

76 Responses to 25th June – Halo Reach Daily Challenges & Commentary

  1. Sir Galahad 63 says:

    Oo I love the “complete said campaign mission” challenges, I hope for a campaign weekly next week. What other campaign weekly’s have we had before? Excluding the dreaded LASO’s.

    • John says:

      There’s been one (or possibly two, can’t remember if the other was a daily) that was a speed-run through a level with a couple of skulls on.

      John

      • Sir Galahad 63 says:

        Oh yeah, complete any campaign level in under 20 mins?

      • John says:

        I think the daily one was 20 minutes and the weekly one was 15 minutes with a couple of skulls on?

    • Braythor says:

      There was a weekly a while back that was complete 9 campaign missions on heroic. I wouldn’t mind that again.

      • Scruff UK says:

        That was the week it came out 😀

      • Matthew Vose says:

        We’ve had it at least once since then – this is what I’d imagine seeing again soon.

      • Scruff UK says:

        For the ‘9 missions on Heroic’ challenge, could you not in theory just do Nightfall 9 times? Or do the ‘save and quit’ glitch on WC? I’m all about time conservation with Campaign challenges 😉

    • John says:

      Just had a check and there was also a campaign weekly where you had to score over 80,000 points.

      • Bah Bodenkurk says:

        There was a daily where you had to complete Nightfall on Heroic with blackeye on in under 15 minutes. It was worth 5000 Cr.

      • Matthew Vose says:

        Both ridiculously easy! 😀 I’d welcome them back.

  2. mickoboy90 says:

    for close and sticky kills, one game of rumble pit on reflection.. there are few spots where u get stickies.. easy speed run on winter contigency with my brother, then firefight doubles.

    after that, btb all stars for single,double amd TRIPLE jackpot.. already me and my brother got one in team doubles 🙂

  3. Brightside says:

    Damn I don’t like these challenges, 120 kills is fine as I still need to finish off the Firefight weekly but I think I will pass on the rest of them.

  4. Sergeant Jinto says:

    It’s Simple Sunday! I think the only “hard” one is going to be “I’m Rubber, You’re Glue.” I always seem to have trouble getting them to actually STICK to people.

    • Sir Galahad 63 says:

      You miss or “they bounce off”?

    • Sergeant Jinto says:

      I just realized my brain is whacked. It’s still only Saturday. @_@ Stupid Japan time, and stupid long afternoon nap since my power went out from the typhoon.

      • Bah Bodenkurk says:

        Sergeant Jinto, I think I’ve seen you in a game once or twice. Are you actually in the service?

  5. Sir Galahad 63 says:

    You miss or “they bounce off”? 🙂

  6. Scruff UK says:

    Just done my Winter Contingency speed-run, and rather brilliantly I finished it because Mr. Concussion Rifle at the end of the mission managed to blow himself up. Genius.

    I’ll do FF Arcade for the 120 kills – still need to get the Weekly done!

    As for the two MM ones I’m gonna do them in Doubles. Should be easy to do both of them there, plus it’s a greater chance of then hitting the Jackpot. Speaking of which, the common theory is that someone gets it every game (assuming you haven’t already got it that day, that is) – this would be an excellent playlist to test it in. Get a party of four, and if the theory is correct then everyone will be 27k richer after only four games. If anyone wants to try this later then send me an invite if I’m online (though not right now, I’m farming Campaign assists 😉 )

    • leroygetz says:

      Will be on around five scruff if you fancy a game. Might try the weekly challenge as well

    • Sergeant Jinto says:

      I thought the end-of-round bonus was the same across the board? Any time I’ve gotten a high slot payout, everyone else in the lobby had gotten the same.

      • Scruff UK says:

        The 3,000 / 6,000 / 9,000 Jackpots are, yes, but not the Supers. They’re exempt from normal rules (they’re also outside the normal daily cR limit).

      • Shane says:

        They’re definitely not outside the daily limit despite the Bungie posts. I needed 125K to rank up last week so I played for hours on Sunday (not proud!) and I hit my limit 5K before ranking up despite the fact that 25K of that 120K was from the jackpot. Others have confirmed as much on the forums.

    • John says:

      I don’t believe that about the jackpot, having stayed together for several games last night I never saw the jackpot once.

      John

      • Scruff UK says:

        Well, that’s good to know at least. I’m now 6 games in and haven’t gotten it yet 😦

      • John says:

        It appears to me that that the chances of getting the super jackpot have dropped each time the jackpot has been increased, initially I was getting it within a couple of games, then within 5 or 6 and now the last couple of weekends I haven’t seen it once even when playing 20 games or so.

        John

      • disturbeddaddy says:

        I’ve played about 8 games today, and haven’t seen it. HATE doubles.

      • Braythor says:

        I managed mine after about 10 games. Fortunate really as I’d had enough of doubles and had decided before the end it was my last game (it was yet another -10 or so k/d).

  7. What is the daily cap?? As in, how much??

    I don’t know if i could be bothered doing Winter, not enough payout in my opinion… I want to see if I can hit General today 😀

    On another note, I started a blog today!! Woohoo! I thought what’s the point in a WordPress account if you don’t have one 😛

    But yeah they’re alright SATURDAY challenges 😉

    • boros108 says:

      240k is the cap

      • Scruff UK says:

        No it isn’t. It’s 120k per day.

        And WC is worth doing if you know all the shortcuts… Can easily be done in under 15 minutes 😉

      • Don think I would even reach it anyways xD
        Why do they bother putting a cap on in the first place?? :S

        Just finished watching Tyrants Guide, so I think i’ll give it a go!!
        Very persuasive Scruff 😛

  8. Please do explain the van situation Matthew !! xL

    • Matthew Vose says:

      I will reply later. For now… Best most interesting suggestions for why I had to do that please everyone. Only one rule – When you reply you need to escalate the last suggestion.

      • John says:

        You just robbed a bank using Halo helmets to mask your identity and MA37 Assault rifle replicas and were racing away from the police in a van loaded with cash?

      • hoellenhamster says:

        You hired the A-Team to make sure neither the Halo: CE remake nor Halo 4 are going to suck. Since that seems highly unlikely there was no time to spare.

      • hoellenhamster says:

        I also have a theory about a clown suit in the back of said van but i feel like I might get banned for discussing that here.

      • You had no choice but to leave the city as Snicks wants to overthrow your RDC leadership, and so arrived in London to take you out. The bank robbery was simply a formality to get some cash for your new life in (ironically) Italy ;D

      • Braythor says:

        Snicks was waiting on the roof of the bank for you with a SRS99 rifle but fortunately her real-life sniping skills are even worse than in Reach, and so while she succeeded in doing nothing more than shooting the tyres out on Boris Johnson’s bicycle you made your escape, choosing to use the circular to bypass central London and eventually end up at Woolwich. There you intend to hijack the ferry and, during a short musical montage, the A-Team will use various bits of junk to miraculously transform the ferry into a fully operational war machine, which will allow you to make your escape down the Thames.

      • Matthew Vose says:

        Epic comments, thanks for the laughs today chaps, they’re very welcome. The explanation is seriously boring, I was moving the last of my stuff out of my old house (you may remember me moving back in March). I used to live very East, now I live very West, hence the 406 being the best route between the two.

        In exciting news (for me anyway) I now have wardrobes and a sofa! Oh and my old smaller TV (only 32inch), so that’s going in the bedroom, with the second Xbox attached.

      • I had a feeling it would be something like that! xD

        LOL to the fact that we actually know the weapon designations :p

  9. HC Sangheili says:

    WC – Can do with my eyes closed at this point. Little bit of Griffball and Firefight should complete quickly.

    Speaking of Stickies; I call this Sticky Tea (http://www.bungie.net/Stats/Reach/FileDetails.aspx?fid=19564106&player=HC%20Sangheili),.

    I was playing some Double Team and the teammate I was paired with didn’t like the selection, so he quit in the lobby. This made it 2v1 for a game of Oddball on Select. He goes in for the T-bag after I got a rocket to the face and well, the rest of the clip speaks for itself.

  10. chrisllama says:

    For uh the t-hug and sticky i always liked invasion D: you have like 15 minutes, swords, shotguns, and a whole 3 rounds with stickies

  11. chrisllama says:

    okay random question D: but on spire, when the elites recovered the core, has a shield ever appeared over the core and you cant break it? cause we lost because of that?

    • Scruff UK says:

      I think you’re talking about a Dropshield. It’s one of the armour abilities. It expires after a certain amount of time, or with enough damage done to it. Quite frequently defending teams will drop a load of shields one on top of another over the core. It’s cheap, but it’s a legitimate tactic 🙂

    • ZaganZee says:

      I don’t think she’s talking about a drop shield. Do you mean like an inpenetrable barrier just over the core? It happened to me once too, although I haven’t seen it in a long time. I’m not sure why that happens.

  12. Yaay! BTB All Stars is up and running!
    Got 9000cR Jackpot first game 😛

  13. Will says:

    Got Sticky and T:Hug in one game of Elite Slayer on Atom (noobs and hammers), 125 kills in Courtyard 2x Score Attack. Second go on WC I made it through. All within about 45 minutes of game play. Got to goofin’ off and was blow up by a drop ship. Meh.

    I’ve never gotten one of those big bonuses, so I don’t really try for them. I need to get a game of the Xtreme Halo Ball. Haven’t played it before.

    Who is going to win a steak?

    • Chris says:

      As much as i would like to win one, because im out of the US,’Bungie will only give me a gift card :O

      • Sir Galahad 63 says:

        Where do you live? Australia maybe… *fingers crossed* 🙂

      • Chris says:

        Not Australia but I wouldn’t mind that!
        Haha, do I give of some sort of australian vibe to you xD

        Im in the Uk, Northern Ireland to be more precise 😀

        What about you? Will you be able to dig into a steak after Bungie Day??

      • Sir Galahad 63 says:

        No no, I’m Australian, I was just hoping for a fellow Australian to play with as I hav no Aussies to play with, except for my school friends, but they are pretty s**t 🙂 lol I want a challenge!

      • I don’t need to be an Aussie to kick your ass 😉

        Is your GT same as your name here??
        😀

      • Sir Galahad 63 says:

        It sure is 🙂

        I just would prefer Aussies because they would be on around the same times as me, where as you probably sleep when I’m awake and vice versa 🙂

  14. Sir Galahad 63 says:

    Woah!! I just got a triple kill with one sniper bullet in FFA! A jackal and two grunts! The bullet bounced off the ground and rocks. So proud 🙂

    • Scruff UK says:

      Nice. I got a double kill with one sniper bullet in MM once. Saved that one for bragging rights 😉

      • Sir Galahad 63 says:

        I should make a clip and save it too… You should see my best Sniper Moment ever! I was in the map ‘Uncaged’, went up the grav lift thingy, saw a teammate (i didnt know he was on my team), panicked and no scoped him, headshot while flying through the air 🙂 He did boot me, but it was totally worth it 😀

        You should totally download it to your xbox…

        http://www.bungie.net/Stats/Reach/FileDetails.aspx?fid=18881162&player=Sir Galahad 63

  15. Sir Galahad 63 says:

    It sure is 🙂

    I just would prefer Aussies because they would be on around the same times as me, where as you probably sleep when I’m awake and vice versa 🙂

Leave a Reply

