27th June – Halo Reach Daily Challenges & Commentary

Today’s challenges are listed below, click Read More to view the commentaries:

  1. Fire When Ready – Kill 30 enemies in multiplayer Matchmaking – 1100 cR
  2. Pass The Rock – Earn 20 assists today in multiplayer Matchmaking – 1500 cR
  3. Nature vs Nurture – Kill 15 Moa in Winter Contingency on Normal or Harder – 2000 cR
  4. A Simple Spree – Earn any spree in Firefight Matchmaking – 1000 cR

Commentary follows after the break…

Fire When Ready – Kill 30 enemies in multiplayer Matchmaking – 1100 cR

Don’t shoot for this one on it’s own. You’ll likely get it by working on the other challenges. But if you must go for each one separately, just play whatever you like to get kills. I hear some of you are good at Grifball and can get that many kills in one match so you could always do that. But I really wouldn’t go for this one specifically.

Pass The Rock – Earn 20 assists today in multiplayer Matchmaking – 1500 cR

You can get lots of assists in Multi-Team, mostly because a number of firefights always open up, especially in Crazy King or Oddball. I’ve used Team Slayer for assists in the past which isn’t bad, and Rumble Pit is also worth trying.

Nature vs Nurture – Kill 15 Moa in Winter Contingency on Normal or Harder – 2000 cR

We’ve had this challenge once before – on Thanksgiving. The Moa are scattered through the first two sections of Winter Contingency, one melee and they drop like the girl I once inadvertently hit with an uppercut when cheering at a song in a club a bag of stones. Two run around the corner when starting the mission so you can always just restart that, but I think you may have to sit through the Falcon flight to do so unless you can trigger a checkpoint. There are some more when you first fight Elites, and then more as you drive the truck around the place. You can run them over but it’s harder, I suggest jumping out and shooting or punching them. I reckon there are 15 in the level but a quick two runs would easily get this. I bet somewhere there’s a useful checkpoint just before a group of them – anyone know where that is, let us know in the comments.

A Simple Spree – Earn any spree in Firefight Matchmaking – 1000 cR

Sprees cover a lot of options, 5 kills with Shotguns, Sniper Rifle, Plasma Grenade sticks, Swords… and so on. Frankly, 10 kills with anything gets you a spree, so just do that and you’ve got a very easy 1000 credits, so perhaps a quick visit to Crashsite/Generator Defence just to do it in a minute or two.

Simple challenges today, coupled with the incredibly easy Weekly Challenge mean you’ll get through these in a couple of Campaign runs, some Multi Team/Rumble Pit and one Score Attack should see you pick these up simply enough to boost your credit rating.

Game Night this week is likely to involve the newest additions to the playlists, Premium and BTB All Stars. We’ll be updating the hub page later on today so keep your eyes peeled for details there. And we’ll be starting out planning for the 7/7 Game Night where we’ll hopefully get some 4 person squads going in to try and take on* Bungie employees.

Do you want to know how to get notifications of these challenge commentaries? Well it’s easy… you can follow me on Twitter, join the Facebook group or just subscribe to the site using the email option on the right to receive the challenges and a link to the commentary straight into your inbox.

*Read as – whimper whilst they run rings around us

57 Responses to 27th June – Halo Reach Daily Challenges & Commentary

  1. Sergeant Jinto says:

    Pretty easy challenges to start off the week, save for the assists challenge. I can never seem to get assists when I try for them.

    • Sir Galahad 63 says:

      But when you don’t need them they just throw themselves at you?

    • Scruff UK says:

      I’ve always found Rumble Pit and Multi Team to be the best for assists. Just don’t play specifically for them – always go for the kill. Because they’re both such chaotic modes, you often end up dying before you can finish a guy off (um, so to speak…) and someone else will wade in and give you an assist. I usually get at least 6 per game.

      That said, 1500 cR isn’t really worth it for me. I’m gonna do the other MM one in BTB All Stars, just because a triple jackpot is a more tempting proposition 🙂

      • Sir Galahad 63 says:

        I still haven’t had a chance to try the BTB all stars playlist yet, it is available to me, but is it worth playing? What’s different to normal BTB besides the jackpots?

        And Matt, how did things clear up yesterday after the little uh, verbal assault between the awesome RDC community and Pimpdaddylovemuffin?

      • Scruff UK says:

        Don’t know; I haven’t actually played BTB All Stars yet. My gaming time is usually pretty limited so all the free time I had at the weekend went into the challenges, and then Team Doubles. Out of the two days I got one of the Super Jackpots so that’s something. It’s not the greatest game mode though!

        Anyone who’s played it, how is BTB All Stars? And how frequent are the 9,000 cR jackpots?

      • Pillar of Fire(Lex) says:

        BTB Allstars is exactly the same as BTB except for the Triple Jackpot. I actually got 9000 twice yesturday in a span on 4 games. I believe you are just as likely to get the 9000 as you are to get the 3000 in a different playlist. That being said I averaged about 2250 on the slots per game which was still nice. Can’t wait for gamenight!!! I’m eager to get a full party to go into BTB Allstars, as I seemed to be the only one of my friends who player Invasion last week. Lol

    • Bah Bodenkurk says:

      The most assists in one game I’ve had on any MM gametype is three. I’d rather do 1 game of FF arcade and get like 4K points than do 7 games in search of 1500 points. Assist challenges are lame! (No offense Bungie, or 343 or whatever).

      • Scruff UK says:

        But they do help in boosting the Assist commendation. Plus it gives me a reasonable excuse to play Rumble Pit. It’s kinda nice to not have to worry about teamwork every now and then, and having your Spartan in his actual colours (rather than red or blue) is a treat from time to time 🙂 And 7 games of MM would earn you like 14,000 cR.

        Still, I always advocate picking and choosing which challenges you want to do 🙂

  2. Vast Archangel says:

    nature vs nurture

    im on the hunt for moa, been trying to look for fifteen in one go, but think im going to have to surrender to snickerdoodles expert tips.
    anyone have a clue what this weeks game night is going to be?

    • Matthew Vose says:

      I’m sorry, Snickerdoodle’s expert tips??

      And if you read the post there’s some info for Game Night, and that we’ll be updating the page later.

      Thanks for reading.

    • t-rOY (tROYnHI) says:

      You can checkpoint just before the first 2 and keep reverting to last save after you kill them. That will equate to maybe 6 mins of gameplay for the challenge. Got the weekly real quick too. I’ll post the tip in the weekly challenge comments.

      • Bah Bodenkurk says:

        Is that where you come accross three skirmishers too? That’s where I did it.

      • t-rOY (tROYnHI) says:

        nope. This is at the bottom of the slope in the very beginning of the mission. As soon as you jump out of the Falcon with Carter & Kat just run down to the bottom and 2 Moas will charge out from the entrance of the path that leads to the huts. I think you can skip over most of the intro, but you gotta wait out the whole landing sequence. Might be faster to do the other checkpoints, but at least this one I didn’t have to worry about covies shooting at me.

  3. HC Sangheili says:

    WC Moa – Start with Rally Point Alpha, hop in the Jeep/Truck, drive to the first set of Skirmishers, jump out of the Jeep, take the 2 Skirmishers out and there’s 5 Moa.

    Run/Drive up to the next turn and there’s 3 Moa at the bottom of the hill before it starts to go back up, checkpoint triggers at the start of the hill. Take the 3 out and reload checkpoint.

  4. Tom says:

    Pass the Rock can go die in a hole 😛

    Everything else is easy though.

    • Edward (Marshy 40) says:

      It’s kinda fun, and you’ll probably get doing the other stuff. I have noticed that specifically going for challenges in Multi-Team meets with abuse (Noob, loser, etc.) on the post-game lately. For assists I guess this would less of an issue.

      • Tom says:

        I did end up getting it. Crazy King in Multi-Team is just so good for it, got it in two games.

  5. leroygetz says:

    Killing the moa in nightfall counts towards the challenge! When speedrunning the level whack a few on the way past, then go into winter contingency and get the rest. Simples 🙂

    • JustHawkeye says:

      Killing moa in nightfall count, but they don’t carry over. You have to do them in one mission. I killed 4 in nightfall and the kill count reset after the mission was over.

      • Matthew Vose says:

        I wonder if it is ‘in one level’ so if you reset the checkpoint 4 times you might get it, but WC’s so easy for this it doesn’t add much.

  6. Niisama Broham says:

    We get more cR for killing 15 birds than 30 enemies in a MM…

    • t-rOY (tROYnHI) says:

      c’mon. how often do you go onto Reach to specifically kill birds?

      • Niisama Broham says:

        lol good point.

        When I first started playing Reach, I usually tried not to kill them. Sometimes went out of the way… that is until one play through at the Rally Point Alpha location against the first group of Elites. I accidentally stickied one of those hell birds. Instead of running off to die alone and learn from the mistake of standing in the way guess what it did? Yep, turned and ran right to me. Last thing I see are wings of bright blue light in my face.

        So yeah, I don’t do Winter Contingency specifically to kill those demons, but I sure as hell wipe them out when I do play Winter Contingency. Currently at 171 roasted turkeys and counting 😉

  7. DaddyOi30 says:

    Was going to go for the weekly in Nightfall doing co-op with my son, but the Challenge was unavailable until I switched back to single player!

    • JustHawkeye says:

      Yep, it has to be done solo. bungie failed to mention that part. See the weekly commentary for that.

  8. “one melee and they drop like the girl I once inadvertently hit with an uppercut when cheering at a song in a club”

    LOL. So you’re THAT guy, Matthew?

    Anyway, easy dailies to go along with an easy weekly. I’ll take it.

    Good luck all!
    GT: EyeOhYou

    • Matthew Vose says:

      Yeah, funny story. This was around the year 2000. I was doing so well with her up to then too. Not so much after. Girls with concussion seem to be more picky.

      • t-rOY (tROYnHI) says:

        its ok probably a sign it wasn’t meant to be. If I ducked out of a relationship because I got punched accidentally (or even intentionally) I wouldn’t have gotten married or started a family =P

  9. Stephen says:

    Don’t know if anyone else posted this cause I don’t have time to go through them all, but the moa challenge can be earned in nightfall as well! I did the challenge as I ran through the level. There’s only a few of them so you need to revert to last checkpoint, but it doesn’t take long to do since you have 12 minutes to finish the level.

  10. goodness. i go away for a fan-freakin’-tastic weekend of sun, water, and drinking and come back to a whole bunch of missed fun!

  11. leroygetz says:

    Killing the moa in nightfall does count. I killed four then finished the level for the weekly. Went straight into winter contingency and killed the balance to complete the challenge

  12. Chris (Insanity Boy) says:

    Any word on this weeks game night?
    Hoping to make this my first! 😀

    • Matthew Vose says:

      Hold on Chris, let Snickerdoodle relax back into it from her break. We’re talking about the setup and will update this evening as I said.

      • Chris (Insanity Boy) says:

        I was rudely impatient there, sorry lol
        Just very excited 😀

      • impatience will get you nowhere ya little whippersnapper!

        game night pages are up. 😉

      • Vast Archangel says:

        “whippersnapper”? that falls under the “things my dad would say” category

      • are you implying i’m old?? 😉

      • Matthew Vose says:

        Jeebus, do you think he gets that whatever he says now is going to be wrong?

      • Vast Archangel says:

        i feel like iv dug myself a hole, and i feel inclined to keep digging till china or refer back to the “wait and hope/pray” strategy.
        On the plus side i may actualy get lucky enough to make it up to you snickerdoodle, if i ever get graced with a game of MM game with you 🙂
        and Vose, i know i have no hope of a clean escape. but i plan to be as stubbern headed as ever and push on through

  13. biodrumr says:

    Anyone notice they stepped up Nightfall? I’m getting my ass handed to me whilst trying to speed run. Ouch.

    • hmmm, i didn’t notice! i did it in 5 and change (stopped to hit some birds in the middle for a bit then got bored) and it was pretty straight forward…

Leave a Reply

