Halo Reach Weekly Challenge & Commentary – w/c 27th June

This week’s challenge is below, click Read More to view the commentary:

Fleet Feet – Complete any Campaign mission on Legendary in 12 minutes or less – 10000 cR

Commentary follows after the break…

Easy, easy, easy. In fact I would challenge most of you to do this in 6 minutes.

 Nightfall, speed run. I’ve picked this video off Youtube randomly, but there are hundreds like it. In fact we have further options and details on the time we did it in LASO on this Weekly Challenge page and comments. There are other levels you may be more familiar with, but honestly, you can do this in 5-6 minutes with minimal stress.

Update – JustHawkeye has confirmed that this HAS to be done Solo, not Co-op. Shouldn’t change the advice – just do the Nightfall run solo then hand over to your gaming buddy to do the same.

This is good for us so we can spend less time grinding (hurr hurr) and more time enjoying the spontaneous heat wave that’s gripped this part of the UK, with temperatures around 30 c (85 f) yesterday.

Game Night this week is likely to involve the newest additions to the playlists, Premium and BTB All Stars. We’ll be updating the hub page later on today so keep your eyes peeled for details there. And we’ll be starting out planning for the 7/7 Game Night where we’ll hopefully get some 4 person squads going in to try and take on* Bungie employees.

Do you want to know how to get notifications of these challenge commentaries? Well it’s easy… you can follow me on Twitter, join the Facebook group or just subscribe to the site using the email option on the right to receive the challenges and a link to the commentary straight into your inbox.

*Read as – be taken apart by

101 Responses to Halo Reach Weekly Challenge & Commentary – w/c 27th June

  1. Sergeant Jinto says:

    Eh, Nightfall is too easy to do it on. I think I’m going to push myself to get a Legendary speedrun on Tip of the Spear instead.

    • Sir Galahad 63 says:

      Yeah screw nightfall. I’ll just do it on LNOS or POA…

    • Mark says:

      I did it in 11:35 and it did not give me the challenge. However I did it on Multi-player is that why?

      • Matthew Vose says:

        Yes, if you see the update in the post it seems this has to be done solo. It’s still dead easy to do in Nightfall using the speed run.

    • Jesse says:

      Why make yourself suffer. Get the 10k in 6 minutes, then use the time in arcade and rack up 6k in points.

  2. i see RDC has hit 800,000 hits!! 😀

  3. mickoboy90 says:

    does anyone know if nightfall glitch could be done in coop??and how long it would take??

    today im reaching rank of legend finally.. need another 15,000 credits and im buying the last attachment for security helmet 🙂

    • Sergeant Jinto says:

      Nightfall CAN be done on Co-Op, but I don’t recommend it. Any time I’ve done it on Co-Op and use the forklift glitch, all of the enemies spawn on the other side of the door. On solo, they don’t and you can just breeze through it.

      • mickoboy90 says:

        ye,even if enemies spawn there, is it still possible to kill them and finish mission under 12 mins???

      • Scruff UK says:

        Micko – if you and your brother just take it in turns to do this, it would still be quicker than doing it co-op.

      • Sergeant Jinto says:

        That’s going to depend on how good of shots you and your teammate(s) are, and how quickly you get to that point in the first place. I’m not saying it’s impossible, but remember the difficulty scales depending on how many people you’re playing with.

    • Shobaleader One says:

      I don’t think the glitch can be done in co-op, i’ve tried it a few times and the enemies always spawn on the other side

      • Sergeant Jinto says:

        You can still get through the door, which is the glitch, on Co-Op. I’m not sure what causes the enemies to spawn in Co-Op but not in Solo though.

      • t-rOY (tROYnHI) says:

        Anytime the enemies spawned on Co-Op it was usually because we, a)all crossed the bridge to the gate, b)shot at the enemies just before the gate, or c)took too long to glitch through the gate. I remember doing this twice without the enemies spawning in a 4 player Co-Op, but it seems to be much harder to do the glitch without enemies spawning now.

  4. Pingback: 27th June – Halo Reach Daily Challenges & Commentary « Halo Reach Daily Challenges

  5. Braythor says:

    Yep nice and easy Nighfall run, just right for me this week as between sun and festivals I’ll have little time for gaming. So now off I trot outside for a bit of sunshine. It’s so damn hot, milk was a bad choice.

  6. Vast Archangel says:

    this is absolutley the easiest weekly challenge that has been offered. Do winter conyigency with whatever skulls that you prefer, and go until you reach the very end. then save and quit and start again. And your timer will restart so you can finish the level in 5 seconds!! i also put scoring to- “free for all”. I just got the weekly within 15 minutes of seeing it!

    • Scruff UK says:

      Not quite – a few weeks ago there was a challenge to complete a Campaign mission in under 15 minutes. This one is 3 minutes tougher! 😉

      And regarding your method – Nightfall is SO much easier. You can complete the entire level in under 4 minutes without having to save and quit at any point.

      • Matthew Vose says:

        And the last one you had to have Black Eye on as well.

      • mickoboy90 says:

        i think what he meant was you can take as long you want to make the winter contigency, and at the end save and quit, then resume the campaign mission and timer will reset, so you may take maybe 2 mins to kill the elites and done

      • Vast Archangel says:

        haha, your right scruff uk, my bad 😉

      • Scruff UK says:

        Finishing Winter Contingency takes around 15 minutes on a fast run. Even though you’re only being counted for the last minute or two, your actual time spent in front of the Xbox is still going to be upwards of 15 minutes.

        Finishing Nightfall takes around 5 minutes on a slow run.

        FATALITY. Nightfall wins 😉

      • Scruff UK says:

        ^ that was at Micko. Curse you Vast Archangel and your swift replies 😉

      • Vast Archangel says:

        mickoboy90, your right. and it also has the benifit of being the easiest to complete without dying, so if you choose you can do every objective and kill all the enemies and still get the challenge.

      • John says:

        Winter Contingency can be done in under 12 minutes on a fast run, it’s easier than last time as there’s no blackeye this time which was a pain for running past enemies. That’s how I plan on getting this rather than glitching nightfall

      • t-rOY (tROYnHI) says:

        well it appears I’m way too late to post my tip for this challenge. Its already been posted, discussed, critiqued, joked about, and then discussed again. But yes I must agree, easiest 10,000 credits earned in a long time (since I already had a Legendary campaign save at the end of a mission).

      • MadAmericanTaco says:

        DONE & DONE!!!! Did a really fast 8:58 run on WC last night, even managed to start off the Flawless Cowboy and Demon glitch while still getting the weekly.

  7. Scruff UK says:

    Dear me, this is easier than expected. Bit lame that it’s basically a repeat of one we had a few weeks ago though; isn’t it about time that we had another Dedication / Time challenge? They’re my favourites…

    So, Nightfall then.
    Yes the forklift thing still works.
    No the enemies don’t spawn on the other side (unless you’re really slow at doing the glitch).

    Although this will only take me 5 minutes, I still think I’m going to wait to do it until I can combine it with another Campaign challenge on a different day (such as ‘complete a mission with the [x] skull on’). 10,000 cR would be nice, but it’s not like I’m anywhere near close to ranking up or having enough cR for my next purchase (for a shoulder piece I don’t even want, grr). So it can wait a few days.

  8. Joshua Bond says:

    Hi, been reading this blog for a while so thought i would start posting. I just did Nightfall on Legendary like normal but the enemy’s behind the gate had spawned when i got there , which has never happened to me before. Does anyone know if this just sometimes happens or is it possible that they’ve patched it?

    • Scruff UK says:

      It’s not been patched (I did it yesterday with no problems) – you just took too long to glitch through the gate. You’ve got to get through the gate before Jun says a particular line of dialogue. It happens sometimes 🙂

      Just re-start the mission, or run through the last section and hope you don’t get killed.

      • Joshua Bond says:

        Okay cheers, i got through the gate first time but i did die a few times earlier on so thats probs why then. Will just try it again. 🙂

  9. Harry says:

    i tried doing it on nightfall i go a couple of minutes in then got to a big open area and just kept on dying the elites just follow you and kill you instantly 😦

    • Scruff UK says:

      Whereabouts? Do you mean the part between two buildings, relatively near the start? If so, that’s the one place I used to have problems with, the easiest thing to do is leave the first building, wait until Jun starts shooting or mouthing off at the Covenant, then sprint through to the next building and up the stairs.

      You know that you’re supposed to run through the whole thing without firing a single shot, right? You’ve watched the video guide?

    • Jesse says:

      The faster you can kill the grunt on the turret (and run before that elite beside him can jump off the ledge), the easier it is.

      You can then slow walk the rest of the mission, and take in the splendid evening scenery.

  10. Tom says:

    I still have the last checkpoint in New Alexandria saved from yesterday, so I think I’ll just load from there and do it that way. Challenge done in about 2 minutes.

    • Matthew Vose says:

      Nice, I wondered if anyone would still have that there!

    • Niisama Broham says:

      Holy crap dude! Thanks! That never crossed my mind. That’s why I love this blog!

      • Matthew Vose says:

        Hey Niisama – you might have noticed that your comments don’t always appear. They often come through marked as spam so won’t be posted. Current theory is because a number of your early comments had a few links in them they were caught then, and Akisment (the spam filter) ‘learned’ that you were a spam junkie.

        We’ve been trying to find a way to easily undo this, but it doesn’t seem to exist.

        Snickerdoodle and I will mark your comments as not spam in future so it should re-learn that you’re an okay person, so don’t worry about commenting several times to try and get one through.

      • Niisama Broham says:

        Ok Matthew. Thanks for the explanation. I was beginning to wonder about that myself and began thinking I was marked somehow for spamming. lol I noticed it started a few days ago after I tried posting a link multiple times. So that was the cause.

        When I noticed the comments weren’t posting I started just to copy/paste what I wrote back in. Now I get a message saying my comment(s) is a duplicate; so I figure I just wait for it to post.

  11. Woody says:

    I’m guessing at least 80 percent of the gamers who own Reach knows about speed running through Nightfall. With that being said, I can’t believe Bungie would still come up with such an easy challenge. Oh well… thanks, Bungie. lol

  12. Robert Stell says:

    Need help. Online right now GT: Robert Swift

    any tips? or anyone want to give it a shot with me?

    • Sir Galahad 63 says:

      No offense, but do you really need help with THIS challenge? Just do a level normally, save and quit at the end, and then complete it. Or do Nightfall forklift glitch 🙂

    • Scruff UK says:

      Here’s a tip:

      Read the guide for this challenge. Watch the video. Copy what happens. Win.

      • Matthew Vose says:

        If anyone even thinks to say TL:DR to my shortest commentary ever I’ll be amazed!

      • Sir Galahad 63 says:

        TL:DR? Please elaborate, I’m not familiar with the language you oldies speak 😉

      • Sergeant Jinto says:

        TL;DR means “Too Long; Didn’t Read” in internet speak.

      • Matthew Vose says:

        It’s internet lingo – too long, didn’t read.

      • Scruff UK says:

        TL;DR = Too Long; Didn’t Read.

        It is a Hip Young Word created by Hip Young People like yourself who like to abbreviate just about everything 😉

        Us old people say things like “Terribly sorry old bean but that paragraph you have constructed was a little too long for my tastes, would you possibly mind ensuring it is slightly shorter the next time you’re feeling creative? Thanks awfully.”

      • Sir Galahad 63 says:

        Ha lol, I’m a little behind with the times then, I’ve certainly never come across it before 🙂 I know lol, lmfao, ttyl, brb and that’s probably it. I only ever use Lol… So yeah… Lol 😀

  13. Sergeant Jinto says:

    Video of thespeedrun I just did for Tip of the Spear: http://www.bungie.net/Stats/Reach/FileDetails.aspx?fid=19679887&player=Sergeant%20Jinto

    Video is currently rendering, but it should be up soon.

    • Braythor says:

      Have to say, that was very nicely done. Bit manic around the bridge-drop bit and a couple other sections but you pulled through well. Kudos to you sir.

  14. MadAmericanTaco says:

    I think I am going to combine the weekly with today’s daily challenges and just pretend that the 15k I get is for one bad ass weekly that took a while to complete lol. Last time it was the 15min and BE challenge I did it on WC in about 11 minutes, I think this time I will give it a shot on Nightfall, especially considering I am working on commendation boosting at the begining so the level is loaded and ready to go!

  15. Scruff UK says:

    Well it’s good that all 3 of us are on the same page, I guess 😉

    • Sir Galahad 63 says:

      All three of who?

      • Scruff UK says:

        Yeah, in my haste to reply I totally put that comment in the wrong place. Fail. What I was referring to was the 3 of us explaining TL;DR at exactly the same time 😉

      • Sergeant Jinto says:

        Me, Matthew and Scruff. 😀

  16. JustHawkeye says:

    I am having trouble getting the weekly challenge to activate. The only challenge available for completion is the moa challnege (even on nightfall), it won’t activiate the weekly for me >o I don’t know what’s going on. Any thoughts?

  17. chrisllama says:

    Heat wave? ._. dude its been over 100 for the last week and in the high 80s-90s the last month

    • Scruff UK says:

      Heat wave by British standards. Go away with your superior weather, we’re depressed enough about our own without you rubbing salt in the wound 😉

      Oh I AM looking forward to another snowy Christmas though! /weakdefence

    • Woody says:

      Goodness…. 100s?! That’s pass out temperatures for me. Actually, anything over 85 is too much for me.

    • Matthew Vose says:

      Best way to describe this as per my Californian (from San Jose) minion ‘dude, it like totally feels soooo different, y’know?’

      Or she said some of those words anyway.

      When you live in a place that averages about 15 C in Summer and 4 C in Winter (and around Jan/Feb we get a high of 0 C), this is definitely a heatwave. 😀

      • Matthew Vose says:

        FYI, she does know I put this, she found it funny, but did want the caveat. We talked about temps in Fresno as a comparison to London. But it’s hard because she hates the cold, so England can sometimes not be her favourite place!!

    • John says:

      Anything pretty much over 20 up here is a heatwave, even 17 or 18 degrees feels ‘warm’ given last week we were hovering around 12/13 degrees.

      John

    • Niisama Broham says:

      Here in South Florida, we’re roughly 31-36 degrees year round. It usually goes higher in the summer if there is no rain 😦

      If we’re lucky enough to get a reprieve from mother nature, we’ll see somewhere around 20 Dec-Jan/Feb.

    • SensoryFour34 says:

      In Utah, it’s anywhere from 85-100 in the summer! In the winter, it’s not even unusual to get a foot of snow in one day!

  18. leroygetz says:

    Killing the moa on nightfall counts towards the challenge

    • JustHawkeye says:

      It seems like you have to kill them in one mission because I killed 4 in nightfall, but they don’t show up after completing the mission.

  19. Mister Shhhhhhh says:

    Fleet feet would be a challenge if you could only use your feet! Look ma, no hands!

  20. iam8up says:

    Wait how can you complain it is 85* F. That’s just getting warm!

    • Matthew Vose says:

      I hope it didn’t come across as complaining – don’t forget we’re a traditionally ‘cool’ island, so very warm temperatures like this are a bit infrequent. As above, the Californian who works for me says it’s a totally different kind of heat to what she had back home, very close and humid.

      And I’m an incredibly hot guy anyway, I rarely feel cold, so heat like this gets me close to melting point XD

      But we enjoy it whilst it’s here.

  21. mickoboy90 says:

    ive done the weekly on winter contingency..i know that mission so well so itvwas piece of cake for me.

    also got legend today and got my helmet attachment..whoo hoo 😀

    • Matthew Vose says:

      Nice one on reaching Legend. Did you do the weekly challenge then your brother run through WC too, or did he do another mission?

      • mickoboy90 says:

        actually, ive done both runs since i can do them really fast lol.. even friend asked me to do his so i did 🙂

        and thanks..i love that security last attachment so much..my brother also reacjed mythic today as well 🙂

  22. Bah Bodenkurk says:

    Has anyone else had Jun screw them over on this level? The first five times I went to assassinate the elite on the bridge surrounded by sleeping grunts right before the forklift, Jun would open fire on something and wake them all up. Then I would get blown up by the forklift after a few plasma shots. Of all the AI buddies in the game, Jun is the shittiest.

    • JustHawkeye says:

      I totally hate Jun. He shoots and misses all the time getting you killed the process. It’s annoying that he’s the only person to survive from Noble team.

      When Jun starts shooting I just hang back and take out the plasma turret grunts and elite with my sniper then proceed to steal the forklift and glitch through.

      • Scruff UK says:

        Yeah, he ruins things all the time. Just revert to checkpoint – it tends to be quicker than fixing the mess he’s made.

        He needs to get in a Warthog with Kat driving. That should sort him out 😉

  23. Pingback: 28th June – Halo Reach Daily Challenges & Commentary « Halo Reach Daily Challenges

  24. Wow.. you guys are having better luck than me. I can do Nightfall usually in 5:45 or less on Legendary any day of the week.

    I logged on tonight to see if anyone else thinks Bungie turned up the heat on this challenge.

    I only tried 3 times last night, and none tonight, but I couldn’t get more than 20′ past the broken tow motor when you dart out of the room where the grunt is on the plasma turrett.

    It seemed like there were twice as many Elites and they were all just nailing me.

    I’m going to try again fresh tonight, I was really tired last night when I tried, but normally, I can just run through that map…..

    Glad you guys didn’t have the issues I did….

    • Jesse says:

      Kill that grunt on the turret ASAP (one shot), then run to the tow motor, then sprint and stay to the right – while running toss a grenade at grunt/jackal pair, and you should be ok.

      • Yeah, that’s my normal route, but last night, WOW.

        I just watched the posted video above, and that seems like my normal speed run.

        I’ve been doing some work, and I am going in now to try it again tonight. I was just wondering if anyone else thought Bungie turned up the heat because of the weekly challenge.

        I’ll post my results soon. Usually I have this well under 6 mins.

        Thanks for your tip!

      • Man, I’m not joking, for some reason, my session was HOT.

        Tonight, I had like 5 Elites nailing me with the bacon gun running around that balcony. They got me 2 times before I got to the room where you shoot the grunt on the turrent. This was even holding the plunger down.

        I took the middle route on the 3rd try (not left where the 2 towmotors are, or around the right where the grunts are waiting). I went out the door and a little right and up the middle. Grabbed the health pack, jumped the fence and on.

        ONCE I got past this, everything seemed like normal gameplay on Legendary. But from where you first hear Kat talking to where the Gúta are was just nuts.

        I’ve actually had this happen a couple other times on weekly challenges, and friends think it’s just my immagination until they come here and play under my account, and say stuff like “Holy @#$#”, you were right…. LOL

      • Scruff UK says:

        Bacon gun?!

      • ^^ i want one!

  25. SBG says:

    Works like a charm. Too easy.

  26. Pingback: 29th June – Halo Reach Daily Challenges & Commentary « Halo Reach Daily Challenges

  27. Anonymous says:

    I managed to do this on nightfall earlier but for some reason it reset itself and reset the rank i gained so i go to do it again but cant as when i get to that first large area the jetpack elites see me and kill me i dont understand why this is happening they didnt earlier when i used the same exact route :S

    • Anonymous says:

      Nvm my last comment i got past it by hanging left instead of going over the ridge they didnt see me at all

  28. Garr Komtaree says:

    This weekly has to be the easiest in a while after the laso’s
    Which is great

    Yay its nearly bungie day
    P.s. This site is amazing on iPad great work MV

  29. Pingback: 1st July – Halo Reach Daily Challenges & Commentary « Halo Reach Daily Challenges

Leave a Reply

