28th June – Halo Reach Daily Challenges & Commentary

Today’s challenges are listed below, click Read More to view the commentaries:

  1. Light Fare – Kill 100 enemies in any game mode in Reach – 1000 cR
  2. Supporting Role – Earn 20 assists in Firefight Matchmaking – 1500 cR
  3. Return of the Mack – Kill 50 Elites in Campaign today on Normal or harder – 1700 cR
  4. Double  Double – Earn 2 Double Kills in the same match in Multiplayer Matchmaking – 1000 cR

Commentary follows after the break…

Light Fare – Kill 100 enemies in any game mode in Reach – 1000 cR

If you want to do this specifically (as you’ll probably getting it just playing for the other challenges) then jump into something on Score Attack, maybe Gruntpocalypse, 2X Score Attack or Fiesta Attack to get it done quickly and rack up the kills. But don’t sweat it, the rest of today will be good for this…

Supporting Role – Earn 20 assists in Firefight Matchmaking – 1500 cR

Any of the Matchmaking variants will work well here, particularly Rocketfight or Sniperfight. If you can buddy up to do this (ie Firefight Doubles) you’ll get it quicker rather than just playing and hoping, plus you can reciprocate to the other person too. Don’t forget an assist is 40% or more damage to an enemy that is killed within 4 seconds by someone else.

Return of the Mack – Kill 50 Elites in Campaign today on Normal or harder – 1700 cR

There are two good ways of getting this – ONI: Sword Base, where just playing through there are 30-40 I think, and it’s definitely worth using the target designator at the beginning on the first group (run hugging the right wall, grab the TD, either turn around and blast, then reset to last checkpoint, or try to get through the Wraiths, TD them then reset checkpoint). Or play Nightfall and try to get a checkpoint near the first Elite, then snipe or assassinate him, and again reset to last checkpoint. This is quicker but you get more kills and commendations on the ONI TD trick.

Double  Double – Earn 2 Double Kills in the same match in Multiplayer Matchmaking – 1000 cR

Double Kills are fairly easy to pick up, Grifball and Halo Ball Extreme especially. Multi Team will usually see you get 3 or 4, as you naturally get more people, closer together. Grenades and Heavy Weapons are your friend here. Team SWAT can also be good for this, but really it’s whatever game you play well in.

How easy is today? Hopefully one or two Doubles matches, a couple of minutes checkpoint resetting in Campaign and then one Grifball.

This week’s Game Night details have been updated on the hub page, go there for information on what we’re playing and how to join. We’ve also created a page dedicated to the Bungie Day games we’re going to join in on. Have a read through and if you want to play, list when you’re free from on 7th July.

If you’re looking for tips on the Weekly Challenge then check out the guidance here to see how to get 10k in credits in a few minutes.

57 Responses to 28th June – Halo Reach Daily Challenges & Commentary

  1. Sergeant Jinto says:

    Another assists challenge? Bleh.

  2. Braythor says:

    I found recently that assists are best done in arcadefight on Outpost. Pick the sniper loadout and head to the roof of the central building. Everyone else tends to go for the FRG and you can easily land a dozen assists in a game, especially if you get the elites with human weapons. Works ok on Overlook too.

    • biodrumr says:

      Firefight doubles, 2x Score Attack, Unearthed. Brutes, Skirmishers, and Elites. I team up with a buddy and we can pull about 30-40 assists a game. Makes these assist challenges quite easy.

    • John says:

      I like your thinking, will give it a go.

      John

  3. i like the ‘nade launcher for assists…

  4. SlimEel94 says:

    Assists! Why Bungie, why!? I know they’re handing over the torch but don’t make players dislike you before you go. Anyone else notice that the challenges are becoming really frequent? Kill x amount in any game mode, kill x amount of x. And my my favourite – almost kill 20 enemies, for somebody else! I’ll still attempt and probably get them all, but still. Why not do a kill 10 grunts before touching ground from a dropship or something?

    • Scruff UK says:

      Ooh, good call. I too find it frustrating – it’s always the FF challenges that are so weak as well. And there is so much scope for making awesome challenges in FF. Get x kills WITH a vehicle. Survive a Skirmigeddon game. Kill a Hunter with melee attacks. Etc, etc, etc…

      • t-rOY (tROYnHI) says:

        “booo” survive skirmageddon. that’s just as bad as Flat Tire IMO

      • Scruff UK says:

        It’s just as hideous, but at least it would be different.

      • John says:

        Surviving skirmigeddon isn’t too hard now they’re a quite a bit weaker than previously (although still seem stronger and more capable than standard ones) but I don’t think they can go as specific as surviving skirmigeddon as the survival ones have always been generic.

        I got about halfway through the assists and then couldn’t be bothered as I was just playing for the sake of it.

        John

      • t-rOY (tROYnHI) says:

        btw has anyone else ever wondered why they don’t have a Kill XX Brutes or Jackals challenge?

  5. Scruff UK says:

    Weird – the easiest challenge today gives the highest payout. I shall be checkpoint reloading for the Elites, since I can gain no further commendation goodness from Campaign kills!

    BTW if you set up the ONI Target Designator just right, you can get a checkpoint after you’ve set the target but before the bombs start dropping. To do it, once you’ve set the target, turn around and run at the huge double doors that would lead to the two Wraiths, and crouch underneath them, walking forward as far as you can. If you’re quick about it you should get a checkpoint; if not just try again. That way all you have to do is repeatedly reload the checkpoint; you don’t even have to press ‘shoot’ or whatever. Then it’s very, very quick!

    After that then I’ll probably ignore the FF challenge and just play a bunch of MM. The assists will take around half an hour and that will account for at least 50% of my game time tonight, and frankly I prefer MM to FF when time is limited 🙂

    • Sir Galahad 63 says:

      Hey Scruff, if you don’t mind me asking, how many hours would you say it took you in total to get 100% campaign commendations? I’ve just had a read of the numbers that you need, and well I don’t thinks I’ll be getting 100% any time soon.

      • MadAmericanTaco says:

        I’ve been working on maxing them out as well and so far it seems like unless you have like a solid week of doing nothing but boosting it will take a while. I mean 20k headshots is insane, I tried the Nightfall checkpoint trick and only managed a few hundred in like 30 minutes and that was with a pretty good rhythm of shoot & restart.Of course the only real consolation is that you can go for 2 or more at the same time like Flawless Cowboy and Demon.

      • Scruff UK says:

        Hang on, let me just go check Bungie.net…

        Right. Bearing in mind that I haven’t yet maxed out the Assists, my total time spent in Campaign is currently standing at 190 hours. However, I finished the Campaign legit twice (once on solo Heroic, once on solo Legendary). I’ve done a couple of missions co-op. Nightfall & WC a bunch of times for challenges. So call that like 40 hours, maximum.

        That leaves 150 hours on commendation boosting. And this is the most important part… Shush now, don’t tell anyone… But I boosted all of my Campaign commendations AFK. It’s very easy to do if you watch a few Youtube videos and have a nice big roll of sticky tape in your house. And thankfully Bungie don’t give two hoots what you do in solo Campaign so long as you’re not using a legit controller on a legit copy of the game.

        So considering all that… It didn’t take me long at all 😉

      • Scruff UK says:

        Oops. As long as you ARE using a legit controller etc. Brainfail.

      • Sir Galahad 63 says:

        Hmm, well I’m working on Flawless Cowboy and Demon at the moment, and I’m up to Gold commendarion on FC.
        Do you mean AFK as in you had the controller in your hands but weren’t actually paying attention to the game, or were you able to leave the house and it would keep going?

      • Scruff UK says:

        Sticky tape was involved. That should tell you all you need to know there 😉

        Actually Flawless Cowboy and Demon I couldn’t AFK. But I could do the ‘save and quit at the end of Winter Contingency’ thing, and then repeatedly press B-B-A every minute whilst watching TV.

      • Sir Galahad 63 says:

        TELL ME YOUR SECRETS DAMN YOU!! Lol, I struggle to think how sticky tape will keep you shooting a grunt, then automatically revert to save, the shoot again… How does sticky tape do that?

      • MadAmericanTaco says:

        Check this link out http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hXpth2bzMQs it shows you exactly what Scruff is describing.

      • Scruff UK says:

        The sticky tape on your right trigger fires a shot. The sticky tape on your left stick walks you off a nearby cliff. Thankfully you’d already saved & quitted, then reloaded your saved game; so you didn’t revert to a previous checkpoint after 5 deaths. Hypothetically speaking, of course 😉

        It’s all about well-placed checkpoints…

      • Sir Galahad 63 says:

        Oh riiight, now I get it! Thanks MadAmericanTaco, you cleared it up for me. I didn’t realize that if saved and quit before you left it it WOULDN’T start the mission again… What i just said is a bit hard to understand, hey?

        But thanks anyway guys, I will max out Demon and Flawless Cowboy, then I might start the others 🙂

      • SlimEel94 says:

        Same, not a chance for me and I even do them pistols out from the start! Head shots, infantry, small arms and the others! I will get these but in the near future when Bungie don’t care.

    • t-rOY (tROYnHI) says:

      Not to knock on Matt, but is it just me, or aren’t you supposed to hug the right wall when rushing for the T.D.?

      Also to try something different I got a checkpoint after Rally point Bravo on The Package which set me up with the RL against 2 Elites. I’m sure I could’ve gotten up to 4 Elites with the RL if I grabbed it earlier, but it was still pretty fast to earn the challenge. Just battling up to the Elites took awhile. Personally I really like The Package for commendation hunting now. I still have my last checkpoint on Nightfall saved on my Xbox 512mb Memory Unit in case I want to work on Flawless Cowboy/Demon

  6. HC Sangheili says:

    1 Doubles Attack match, preferably Unearthed for Assists. Stay in the spawn room, after taking out the initial wave. One aims for body, other for the head. It works on any map, but Unearthed has the best funnel.

  7. Brightside says:

    No! My Reach disc has stopped working 😥 I should have installed it to my hdd.

    Oh well, the challenges today are nothing great.

    • MadAmericanTaco says:

      I’ve heard of this latley so I need to ask, how do you install Halo to your HDD?

      • when you’re at the dashboard, go to the square where the game pops up, i think you push Y for game options and there should be an “install to HD” option.

      • MadAmericanTaco says:

        Sweet! Thanks for the info snicks! I am going to give it a try tonight before bed so its preped and ready for my day off on Wednesday. Are there any downsides apart from taking up space? No data loss or profile problems? Just wanna make sure cause I don’t think I have it in me to start over from scratch in Reach lol.

      • Matthew Vose says:

        Other than space no, most games should be installed straight away as it speeds up loading times, in some cases quite significantly. Plus it doesn’t spin the disc all the time, keeping the machine cooler and quieter.

      • nope, you’ll lose absolutely nothing. but like Galahad just mentioned you will still have to have the disc in the drive to play but that’s minor.

    • Sir Galahad 63 says:

      Installing a game doesn’t actually install it so you can play without the disc, it just helps it run faster so it isn’t reading off the disc constantly (or as much).

      • MadAmericanTaco says:

        Cool, I am definatly going to do it tonight then. Thanks for the infor everyone.

  8. Woody says:

    Speaking of installating, when I first bought Reach, I had got a code to receive the Recon helmet and its attachment. Then one day, I decide to checkout my armory and noticed it was no longer available for me to equip. I had to actually purchase the helmet again, which I didn’t bother, but strangely enough I was still able to equipped it with the attachment. Has anyone had that happen as well or know why I may have lost the regular helmet?

    • Sir Galahad 63 says:

      Same sort of thing happened to me. About a month ago I thought “hmmm I should check out the Recon helmet I got when I preordered the game”, but I couldn’t find it.
      Turns out the people didn’t give me a code for my Recon helmet 😦 no biggie though, I’m happy with mah masterchief helmet 😀

      • Woody says:

        Like you, I was thinking no biggie as well… though I was just curious. Master Chief helmet is all that matters to me. Now I just need less than 30,000cR to get both of the matching shoulder armor to go with the helmet. 😀

      • Sir Galahad 63 says:

        I’m wearing both commando shoulders, masterchiefs helmet, Assault Sapper chest (the one with all the grenades), gold visor, and blue flames for armor effect. How about you woody?

      • Woody says:

        I’m wearing Master Chief’s helmet, grenadier armor for both shoulders, commando chest, blue visor…. I think. I change fairly often, but I’m almost certain that’s what I had on when I last played. I have yet to purchase any armor effects.

      • John says:

        I think I must have got two recon helmets although one’s possibly expired now as I pre-ordered the limited edition version which itself came with one plus you got one for preordering.

        That’s the helmet I use as you don’t see it that often along with the small shoulder pads with the three way diagonal white symbol, the paratrooper chest thing, tac pad and ablative armour on the thigh slot. Oh and some basic kneepads…I don’t see the armour very often so not too bothered as to what it looks like, I suspect my poor Spartan hates me though seeing all the other pimped up Spartans and he’s still mainly in the basic stuff!

        John

    • Scruff UK says:

      The limited edition helmet is a particular variant of Recon – you still have to purchase the base model (with no attachments) and the first attachment version.

      The reason the base Recon suddenly turned up in the armoury for you is that once you get to a certain rank (I forget which, might be Brig or General), it appears for you to buy. Prior to that it’s invisible and there’s only the limited edition variant available to you, assuming you unlocked it.

      Maybe you already knew that and I’m misunderstanding, in which case I apologise 🙂

      • Sir Galahad 63 says:

        The recon base has been available to me since about Colonel, maybe Commander.

      • MadAmericanTaco says:

        After you hit General I think everything opens up anyway…

      • Woody says:

        Now that you mentioned it, Sir, I believe it was Colonel when I lost the Recon helmet. One of these days I will get it again, but it will be a long wait, because I want the Security helmet and five other things first. B-)

      • Scruff UK says:

        That’s the thing – you didn’t actually lose it. You just never had it. The pre-order code just unlocks one particular variant of Recon – it never unlocked the base Recon without attachments. True story 🙂

    • John says:

      It’s disappeared on me a few times but I’ve just redownloaded it and got it back no problem

  9. Tom says:

    Easy day. Done in less than an hour. 1 game of Arcadefight in Firefight Doubles, 1 game of Grifball and a little “save and quit” action in the campaign.

  10. Shane says:

    I’ve only just noticed the jackpot information on the sidebar – that’s really handy.

    Thanks!

  11. MadAmericanTaco says:

    Oh yeah I forgot to mention that I got an extermination followed by killtrocity last night in Griftball! I was on a roll for once lol. Hoperfully I can repeat that again tonight when going for the double double.

  12. Pete Skinner says:

    Finished an Assists challenge for the first time. Wasn’t as hard as I thought. Also finally found out how to “restart at checkpoint”. I thought you had to “Save and Exit”. Am I stupid or what? Now to do the double/double before 3am

Leave a Reply

