2nd July – Halo Reach Daily Challenges & Commentary

Today’s challenges are listed below, click Read More to view the commentaries:

  1. Light Fare – Kill 100 enemies in any game mode in Reach – 1000 cR
  2. Now I have a Machine Gun – Earn 40 kills with automatic weapons in multiplayer Matchmaking – 1300 cR
  3. You Want This, Don’t You? – Earn 10 kills with precision weapons in a multiplayer Matchmaking game – 1250 cR
  4. Un, Deux, Trois – Win 3 games in multiplayer Matchmaking – 1450 cR

Commentary follows after the break…

Light Fare – Kill 100 enemies in any game mode in Reach – 1000 cR

If you want to do this specifically (as you’ll probably getting it just playing for the other challenges) then jump into something on Score Attack, maybe Gruntpocalypse, 2X Score Attack or Fiesta Attack to get it done quickly and rack up the kills. But don’t sweat it, the rest of today will be good for this…

Now I have a Machine Gun – Earn 40 kills with automatic weapons in multiplayer Matchmaking – 1300 cR

Your multiplayer automatic weapons are the Assault Rifle, Needler, Plasma Repeater and Plasma Rifle. I’d recommend Team Slayer in Elite Slayer, so that you can use the Needler to take guys out. Rumble Pit can be really helpful too running around blazing the AR, but it’s tempting to pick up other weapons.

You Want This, Don’t You? – Earn 10 kills with precision weapons in a multiplayer Matchmaking game – 1250 cR

This is fairly easy in Team SWAT. Precision weapons are the DMR, Sniper Rifle, Needle Rifle and Focus Rifle. So in SWAT you can easily kit up the DMR and just play the game.

Un, Deux, Trois – Win 3 games in multiplayer Matchmaking – 1450 cR

If you play a Team Slayer/SWAT/Grifball/Snipers/Action Sack etc you’ll get this easier, since only two teams gives you a higher chance of winning than the 6 person multi team (for instance). Make sure you read this Weekly Challenge commentary for more hints on doing it quick.

Don’t forget next Thursday is Bungie Day, when we’ll also be having our regular Game Night, but formed of squads of 4 (with RDC used as the service tag so people know which community we’re from). Visit our hub page and let everyone know when you’ll be on so we can start doing a table of who’s on when for squad formations.

And checkout the nice jackpots on the right bar – Halo 1 week in ANY PLAYLIST, up to 30k daily. Double Jackpots in Arena, Premium Slayer & Premium Battle.

24 Responses to 2nd July – Halo Reach Daily Challenges & Commentary

  1. mickoboy90 says:

    easy challenges yet again which is nice 🙂

  2. Scruff UK says:

    Argh where is Portal 2 £15? 360 or PC? This is irrelevant to today’s challenges! 😉

    Team Classic can be pretty good for automatic weapon kills as well, since there tends to be a much lower reliance on DMRs and other weapons. But Rumble Pit is more fun, so I’ll probably try doing it in that instead 🙂

    And then lots of lovely SWAT for quick games in the hope of a quick 30,000 cR. Nom.

    • i suspect he means amazon…

    • John says:

      Yeah, it’s £17 on Amazon at the moment where it’s been hovering around £15 for a few weeks on PC although I’ve not seen it that low on 360. I went for it on PC and thought it was pretty good although I was doing pretty badly with the control pad after playing through portal 2 with the keyboard and mouse.

      Does the jackpot apply in all the FF modes as well?

      John

      • we’re not really sure. we were talking about that last night a bit and we couldn’t really decide if the FF variants counted.

      • John says:

        I certainly didn’t see any last night but then I haven’t seen a super jackpot for a few weeks now

      • Matthew Vose says:

        I played a number of co op games last night and nothing, so its probably only competitive, dlc and community.

      • mickoboy90 says:

        i heard that a few people got it in FF arcade, so i think it can be obtained anywhere.

        btw,did anyone else get this problem?? last night i got the super jackpot, but when i logged in morning, my credits were gone. thats not the first time as well

      • According to Jeremiah at Bungie.net the jackpot is on “ANY PLAYLIST, including Firefight or Campaign Co-Op.” http://www.bungie.net/Forums/posts.aspx?postID=62480321

      • Scruff UK says:

        Portal 2 on PC is no good to me. Meh. I shall continue to wait for the 360 version; I am refusing to pay anything over £20 and I won’t do pre-owned at Game or Gamestation either. Damn I’m picky.

      • John says:

        Portal 2 was one of the few games I went for on the PC for the controls, the graphics (runs fine at 2560×1440 surprisingly) and a tenner cheaper. That said I’d probably not have paid more than £15 for it, it’s a pretty good game but not that long and probably not one I’ll be playing again for a while.

        I finally managed to get my super jackpot this evening on my ninth game which were a mix of score attack, multi-team and Griffball (received it for Griffball).

        For the automatic weapon kills I’d recommend multi-team as either Crazy King or Elite Slayer are both good for lots of automatic kills. Just annoying there’s no assists or sprees today as I got a ton of assists in multi-team and seven sprees on a Griffball game.

        John

      • SensoryFour34 says:

        I finally got the jackpot after playing my 12th game of Grifball in a row! I got the regular 3000 jackpot twice before I got the Super Jackpot.

      • Matthew Vose says:

        You might be pleased to know you can even get it in Score Attack – this picture is the credit summary from one of my best ever 2X Score Attack games, and one I’ve just done.

      • mickoboy90 says:

        Nicelly done Mathew. Mine got taken away for some reason.

        ps,i see you are saving up for inclement weather??

      • Matthew Vose says:

        Nope, I don’t see the point of buying anything in the armoury. It doesn’t DO anything, so having a low armour completion (15%) has become a point of pride.

        I’ve almost bought FF voices before, but I know they’d annoy me in the same way different sat nav voices annoy me (Eddie Izzard lasted 2 trips and never used again).

      • Sir Galahad 63 says:

        I just got the 30, 000 jackpot on my 2nd game of Swat 🙂

  3. Corporal Alexei says:

    Urgh…..multiplayer Saturday? I shouldn’t complain, though. I feel like I expect challenges to be extraordinarily innovative and fresh each day (with high cR payouts). That really isn’t fair. Bottom line: challenges are a nice way to add icing to the cake, so to speak. And yes, easy today with halfway decent payouts for the work to be done….happy Saturday all!

  4. SlimEel94 says:

    Oh, how I hate going away! Have a weekend away and 4 daily challenges I can complete with no problems!! I wish I wasn’t dragged to festivals!!

  5. michael (DR HIGGLESTEIN) says:

    BOOOO…By looking at the challenges you would think it was Friday or something. Hopefully tomorrow we will get some FF or Campaign challenges. I hope next week we have a good Campaign or FF weekly and not a super easy challenge that takes 15 minutes or less to do.

  6. Wunschkind89 says:

    I see the regulars here giving out challenges to everyone about completing a game of Skirmageddon. Thought you guys might enjoy this: 119 kills – no deaths for a complete game.

    http://www.bungie.net/Stats/Reach/GameStats.aspx?gameid=681176916&player=WuNsChKiNd89

    • John says:

      That’s the fairly easy nerfed version of the gametype though, not the incredibly difficult original version which is where the joking about completing it without dying came from.

      John

  7. Absolution Gap says:

    I just got a super jackpot in Arena- 30000!

Leave a Reply

