Halo Reach Weekly Challenge & Commentary – w/c 4th July

This week’s challenge is below, click Read More to view the commentary:

Your Daily Dose – Complete all of the Daily Challenges for a given day – 7777 cR

Commentary follows after the break…

This was the very first Weekly Challenge I ever wrote up. And my commentary for it was:

‘I really, really like this challenge. I assume I can’t get it 7 times this week? I reckon it’ll be easy most days so I’m hoping the daily challenges this week will all be eminently do-able.’

How things have changed around here huh?

Anyway, if you’ve not got the achievement for this then you’ll be picking up some Gamerscore too. Monday’s challenges are pretty easy to pick up, so do this whenever you like the look of the challenges. I’d recommend not leaving it too late in case Bungie decide to be funny and set something really difficult on Saturday and Sunday (mini LASO, LD, Assists etc). If you need assistance don’t forget to read my daily challenge commentaries to get helpful tips on picking them up.

If you want to help form up some ReachDailyChallenges teams on this Thursday night’s Game Night to try and play against Bungie employees visit our Bungie Day hug page to add your details.

Do you want to know how to get notifications of these challenge commentaries? Well it’s easy… you can follow me on Twitter, join the Facebook group or just subscribe to the site using the email option on the right to receive the challenges and a link to the commentary straight into your inbox.

42 Responses to Halo Reach Weekly Challenge & Commentary – w/c 4th July

  1. Centurion 47th says:

    Hello everyone! The weekly challenge will mean that it is sufficient to complete 4 challenges every day if I understand …

    • Edward (Marshy 40) says:

      Actually no, you just need to complete all challenges on any of the 7 days, not all challenges every day

    • Matthew Vose says:

      It’s only on one day you have to get them all. If it was every day it’d probably be called Dedication/Time and be worth about at least 20,000 credits instead of 7,777.

  2. Sir Galahad 63 says:

    I got all the challenges yesterday! Today shouldn’t be too hard, one, maybe two games of FF and a quick speedrun on Nightfall!

  3. Tom says:

    I do this basically every day, so no dramas here.

  4. G says:

    Yeah I’ll go for it today, very easy start to the week!

  5. Marshy 40 says:

    Yep, did three over lunch in 20 minutes, will do the remainder (headshot) this evening.

  6. Scruff UK says:

    Well this is an easy 7,777. Figured that the number this week would be 7,777 given what week it is, it’s nice that they haven’t given us an unfairly difficult challenge to go with it though 😉

  7. DaddyOi30 says:

    1 quick Nightfall run & 2 quick games of Gruntpoc finished all the dailies & the weekly. Even better was getting a 3K jackPot on the 2nd Gruntpoc game for a total of 13K for 1 game

  8. michael (DR HIGGLESTEIN) says:

    The easiest weekly challenge i have seen in a long time. Everyone should be able to get this in no time.

  9. max says:

    How many Weekly Challenges so far?

    • michael (DR HIGGLESTEIN) says:

      Are you asking how many weekly challenges we have had since Reach came out or how many each person that comes here have completed? Ive only completed 22 so far. Getting ready to be 23 though. 🙂

    • samantha says:

      My sister and i think its in the 40s but not sure what is the total so far lol! is there a list for the weekly challenges so far? Girl Gamers RULE! ;D

      • michael (DR HIGGLESTEIN) says:

        You can go to Bungie.net and if you are linked to them you can look at your profile and see how many daily/weekly challenges you have completed. If not then you can make a profile free.

    • Matthew Vose says:

      This is weekly challenge 43.

      • michael (DR HIGGLESTEIN) says:

        Well crap. I COMPLETELY misunderstood that question. Sorry.

  10. max says:

    yes how many weekly challenges we have had since Reach came out… so it’s forty something and and yes a list would be good i think!

    • Matthew Vose says:

      Best advice is to visit Halopedian for a full entry on the challenges and historical entries sorted by month (and some interesting name stuff added by yours truly from my Challenge Names 101 post).

    • Matthew Vose says:

      The link to Halopedian is right there if you want to go and count them all – I make it 43, but happy to be proven wrong.

    • michael (DR HIGGLESTEIN) says:

      That is interesting. Wonder where the 44th came from?

      • Dogmeat says:

        I don’t know about this guy, but I can tell you what happened to me two weeks ago (on 6/23 or early 6/24). I had just finished the 150 waves in firefight weekly challenge and then played two more firefight matches to wrap up the FF dailies. I decided to play one more match and was told afterwards that I had reached my daily OFFLINE limit!?! I then noticed that I am back to recruit rank. Panic sets in immediately as I didn’t do anything to deserve a reset. Then, I see some friends in separate MP matchmaking games that are also back to recruits. *phew* It must have been some kind of server glitch. I went online and saw further proof that my rank had not truly reset. However, my two daily FF challenges had dialed back a bit (were only partially completed again). My weekly was still showing as having been completed, though. As a result, I concluded that Bungie lost history for the past 30 minutes or so. I fired up the 360 again and saw that things were restored back to my correct rank. So I proceed to knock the two dailies out (in just one match this time) to get the credits I thought I had lost from the crash. When I checked my progress to see if I had truly gotten credit for them, I noticed that it bumped up my weekly count by two instead from 41 to 43! How weird is that? I have every intention of skipping two weeks of weekly challenges to set my count back to normal, but the last two weeklies were so easy. I couldn’t resist finishing them. Maybe next week?

  11. max says:

    WOW it is 43! i think this guy cheated!
    http://www.bungie.net/Stats/Reach/Default.aspx?player=Terranoid
    and thanks matt for that Halopedian list!

  12. michael (DR HIGGLESTEIN) says:

    Hey just wondering, whats the highest amount of enemies any of you have ever gotten in a game of 2X Score Attack? I usually get between 118 and 124 or so but i just played a game and got 132 enemies and scored 41,940 points on Beachhead. I was pretty proud of myself since i have never hit the 40,000 point mark in a game of 2 X Score Attack until now.

    • Matthew Vose says:

      128’s my highest – depends how well you can do, the trick is to kill everything (ie no TKs for the Covvies), plus get at least one vehicle drop, if not 2, and take out the gunners on the Phantoms.

      Sounds like you had a pretty impressive one. Congrats.

    • John says:

      Beachhead is my highest as well with a similar 41K score although only 130 enemies. Only it, Overlook and Unearthed I *think* have the potential to break 40K as you get both drop pods and vehicles although I’ve only seen two Wraiths (which are worth two enemy kills and round 2K each) at once on Beachhead but I think it’s just rare and could happen on other maps. That and the drop pods makes for a large element of luck because if you get two or even three Elite drop pods (only ever seen two) plus the two wraiths they’re worth a good few thousand on their own plus you’ll hit invincible sooner and get a higher multiplier for more of the final wave.

      On Holdout you get the Banshees and drop pods but I’ve only see the three at most and they’re not worth as much, similarly on Corvette you get the Engineers also not worth as much. Although I think you still get engineers on Skirmigeddon which would make Corvette the highest scoring one unless you get banshees on holdout as there’s no drop pods/vehicles otherwise

      John

  13. michael (DR HIGGLESTEIN) says:

    Thanks Matthew. I had 1 Wraith drop. I did have 3 drop pods come down in the game. The first were Brutes, then the Fuel Rod Grunts and last being the Elites. I think thats where i got the extra numbers at. I never thought about taking out the Phantom gunners. I will definately be doing that from now on! 😉

    • Matthew Vose says:

      Right… the third drop ship will be the difference. I’ve never seen 3 in a match.

      • michael (DR HIGGLESTEIN) says:

        Awesome. Guess i got really lucky. From now on im going to keep up with how many of those drop pods i get. 😉

  14. Jesse says:

    Hey folks… don’t forget that this Thursday is Bungie’s big sign off day. Save some of your time for what they may have in store.

    • Scruff UK says:

      … Did you miss the big ‘BUNGIE DAY FESTIVITIES’ button/section right at the top of the page? 😉

  15. Garr Komtaree says:

    Another easy weekly, woo hoo.

    I can almost taste the unenthusiastic words coming from my mouth.
    they arent doing any challenges to look foward to. I of a group of small others actually looked foward to the LASO challenges.

    • michael (DR HIGGLESTEIN) says:

      I loved the LASO challenges. I really hope they bring them back at some point.

      • Sergeant Jinto says:

        Hell yes! Weekly challenges need to be just that, challenging. Like when we had to complete 24 Daily Challenges in a week?

    • John says:

      This weekly was almost a challenge too far for me…the idiot Falcons managed to get themselves stuck together on Winter Contingency (a new one on me, normally they’re just falling from the sky) although I managed to get them loose only for my internet connection to fail and I’m away the next few days. With a bit of work I managed to get the Xbox connected through 3G which despite it moaning at me for being a rubbish connection was enough for the challenge.

      But yes I agree, not really much of a weekly again.

      John

      • Garr Komtaree says:

        Yeah. For the last weekly I did nightfall in 6 minutes flat literally it was easy

        But at least this one gets you 7777 credits + an extra 3000 if your a hero like me in a game on top of the 1500 average for a daily

        I was most disappointed when we didn’t get survive lone wolf for 5:00 on LASO

        Oh well

      • MadAmericanTacos says:

        John, the same thing happend to me, were they just up the hill where you initially come through? I must have restarted from the cp 4 times thinking it was a glitch, it wasn’t till I wen’t back to see if I could still use the ol’ falcon stealing trick that I saw them hovering 5 feet off the ground.

  16. Shawn (Gamertag: txmade1986) says:

    Easy day today… Just have to play a few games of Firefight and I’ll have the Weekly!

  17. stasiuwong says:

    I completed this w/c on Monday night (actually 4am EST), But looking at the new set of challenges today, I see the w/c as *not* completed. Does that mean the w/c is open everyday for a possible 54,439 Credits by week’s end? Or is this simply a glitch?

Leave a Reply

