5th July – Halo Reach Daily Challenges & Commentary

Today’s challenges are listed below, click Read More to view the commentaries:

  1. One Spartan Army – Kill 400 enemies in Firefight Matchmaking – 2000 cR
  2. The T.G. Opposition – Kill 40 enemies in Firefight Matchmaking with the Shotgun – 1000 cR
  3. Clip It. Share It – Make a clip from your Local files and upload it to your File Share – 1250 cR
  4. Un, Deux, Trois – Win 3 games in multiplayer Matchmaking – 1450 cR

Commentary follows after the break…

One Spartan Army – Kill 400 enemies in Firefight Matchmaking – 2000 cR

You get 120 Grunts in Gruntpocalypse, 100 enemies in Score Attack, up to about 130 in 2x Score Attack, and something like 330 in a Firefight Matchmaking game (although split between up to 4 people). I recommend three 2X Score Attack or Gruntpocalypse games (SA first to get the next challenge done), followed by a Crashsite or Generator Defense to get your final few kills.

The T.G. Opposition – Kill 40 enemies in Firefight Matchmaking with the Shotgun – 1000 cR

The best way is Score Attack/2XSA on any map, particularly once the Brutes and Skirmishers turn up as they make real efforts to get to you. The Shotgun is one of the loadouts so you can use it for as long as you need, just let guys come to you rather than going into the fray.

Clip It. Share It – Make a clip from your Local files and upload it to your File Share – 1250 cR

One of the Reach achievements is to recommend a video (note – a clip, not a picture) to someone, this challenge is pretty similar. Press Start, go to Files and Local Store. I had one in there which was the one I’d recommended, so I picked ‘upload to File Share’ from the file info section and voila. If you need to make a clip you can frankly do a whole game, but have a play with theatre mode to capture a good kill or interesting moment in a game then upload that.

Un, Deux, Trois – Win 3 games in multiplayer Matchmaking – 1450 cR

If you play a Team Slayer/SWAT/Grifball/Snipers/Action Sack etc you’ll get this easier, since only two teams gives you a higher chance of winning than the 6 person multi team (for instance). Make sure you read this Weekly Challenge commentary for more hints on doing it quick.

Don’t forget Thursday is Bungie Day, when we’ll also be having our regular Game Night, but formed of squads of 4 (with RDC used as the service tag so people know which community we’re from). Visit our hub page and let everyone know when you’ll be on so we can start doing a table of who’s on when for squad formations.

And checkout the nice jackpots on the right bar – 1 week in ANY PLAYLIST, up to 30k daily. Double Jackpots in Arena, Premium Slayer & Premium Battle.

41 Responses to 5th July – Halo Reach Daily Challenges & Commentary

  1. mickoboy90 says:

    Thast better..harder challenges with better credit pay out 🙂 will get them all done no problem tho

    Cant wait..only 200k credits till i can get inclement weather woot

    • MadAmericanTacos says:

      It seems to me that Bungie is trying to keep people away from regular matchmaking with all of these firefight challenges. Might have something to do with making us rusty for the big day… Just a conspiracy theory but it seems to fit with the big day looming.

  2. G says:

    another easy day! OSA will take a bit longer today, but still quite a few relaxing challenges over the last couple of days to start the week 🙂

  3. Arcadefight in Doubles SA has a shotgun loadout and infinite ammo!

  4. Scruff UK says:

    Lots of FF today then – I’ll do one Score Attack for the shotgun challenge and then move into Arcade, since I find FF a lot more fun with other people.

    And since I’m fed up about whinging about how I’m not allowed to upload anything to my fileshare, I’ve gone and contacted MS to sort it out. Might be a Gamertag change coming, but it won’t change too drastically 🙂

    And I STILL haven’t hit a single 30,000 cR jackpot. Argh.

    • Sir Galahad 63 says:

      What will you change your GT to? Scruffy UK?

      And I’ve hit two 30,000 jackpots 😀

      • Scruff UK says:

        If I get my way, just plain Scruff. Someone had taken it when I first signed up, but MS did clear a load of unused GT’s a while back. I’m not paying to change it though considering it’s not my fault that Halo thinks I’m sweary!

        Failing that, Scruff 815. If you have to ask “why 815” then don’t bother 😉

        I’ve got to get another 80,000 cR today and tomorrow, and then get 120,000 cR on Thursday to be able to rank up on Bungie Day. Eep.

      • Marshy 40 says:

        I’ve hit two too. One on Friday, one yesterday. It looks like they don’t count towards the credit cap: I earned 148,000 cR during the Friday noon to Saturday noon span. If this continues, I’ll probably rank up during the week-end.

    • Niisama Broham says:

      Same here Scruff, no jackpots whatsoever! Aggravating!

    • Starmage008 says:

      I got one Friday and one Monday, both after only two or three games. Played upwards of 15 games on Saturday and didn’t get the jackpot.

    • SensoryFour34 says:

      I’ve only gotten one or two 30,000 jackpots. Yesterday, I played 21 games of Grifball, and I got the regular 3000 jackpot three times, but still didn’t get the Super Jackpot!!!

    • Hujjgf says:

      Scruff i added u as a friend:)€€

  5. Sir Galahad 63 says:

    What does the “T.G” stand for in “The T.G Opposition”?

  6. Woody says:

    Well, I guess I will be playing some quick Grifball games for the multiplayer challenge. Hopefully, I won’t have to endure what I went through in my finally two Grifball games last night. I had three quit in one and two in another right before the match even started. Surprisingly, I held my own in the 4-on-2 match.

    Anyway, I think I will do an Arcade FireFight game on doubles with my girlfriend’s son simply running around the whole time. 🙂

    • Scruff UK says:

      Careful – you can get banned/reset if the other controller is idling or isn’t killing anything.

      • Woody says:

        Oh okay… I knew about getting ban for idling, but I didn’t know anything about having the other person just running and not killing. I definitely don’t want to tick off the “Halo Gods”. Thanks for the warning!

        I guess i will tell Dominck to challenge himself with the grenade launcher. lol

    • SensoryFour34 says:

      I had something more interesting. Yesterday, I see that I’m playing with a Forerunner and his party, but I noticed he had 100% armory completion, and his party looked exactly the same as him. Then, I discovered I was playing with THREE Bungie employees. It didn’t end well for the other team. The Forerunner got two Killionaires that game!

      • Matthew Vose says:

        Impressive. They’ve been tweeting about practicing, both to avoid embarrassment and avoid giving away steak.

        Can you give us a link to that game?

      • MadAmericanTacos says:

        I came accross a Forerunner last night as well in Griftball and got my a** kicked. Just held the ball and racked up the kills, then scored when he was bored. It took 3 of us to take him down.

      • Niisama Broham says:

        Hmm, I’m getting interested in playing them now just to see how good they are. I expect to be outmatched most the time by the better players, but the Bungie group is starting to sound like a steamroller.

        Its a good thing I had steak last night at a 4th bbq.

        And yes, a link to that match would be great!

  7. Tom says:

    Again a MM wins challenge… again I’m constantly stuck with betrayers and other nobs on my team… sigh.

    • Shane says:

      Sorry to hear that. What playlist are you playing in? BTB, Living Dead, and Grifball are awful for betrayals. Double Team, Multi Team, Action Sack, SWAT, Team Objective, Team Classic are generally better and besides Multi Team they all offer a good chance of winning.

      • Tom says:

        I was actually just playing regular Team Slayer… just bad luck I guess.

  8. Niisama Broham says:

    Nice. There have been a lot of FF specific challenges recently. Aside from the lack of jackpot(s), I’m feeling the Bungie-love

  9. 'Cos Olinyk says:

    Just thought i would finally chime in then…

    I come to this site almost daily and love it. Both the site itself and also the bloggers here. Very friendly and respectful. I dig.

    Anyways, i have noticed a few comments towards the top referencing their ‘inability’ to recieve the 30k SuperJackpot. I have gotten it every night since it started within 10 games (of the same matchmaking type). However i have noticed that only twice did it show me that i got it after two of my games. But i DID get it. Point being, one must keep an eye on his/her grand total of credits earned on Bungie.net. Sometimes it won’t show it in post-game lobby…but you DID get it. Something to keep in mind, and it might help with the “I STILL didn’t get it after my 20th game?” comments/thoughts. I was there once, and it drove me insane. Hope this news helps.

    Love the site, see you one of these ‘Gamenights’. Happy gaming all…

    – seventh dawg

  10. 'Cos Olinyk says:

    Sorry all, i’m an idiot as you are learning. That last link didn’t take, ’cause that isn’t me. Try this one…

    http://www.bungie.net/stats/reach/default.aspx

  11. Anonymous says:

    looks like ill be getting all 4 again today the 400 kill fireight one should get me onyx on the get loud commendation coupled with the rest of the points ill pick up i should get commander today 😀

  12. michael (DR HIGGLESTEIN) says:

    Does anyone know if there is a website that shows you the credits that you earned in each game? Just wondering because i play a lot of split screen with my girlfriend and son and when the game is over it doesnt show the credit return screen, it just goes straight back to the lobby. Just wondering. 🙂

  13. Reaam says:

    Does any one know if you can complete the weekly challenge “Your daily dose” two or three times each day the daily challenges change?

    • michael (DR HIGGLESTEIN) says:

      No. You cant. It is just for one days worth of daily challenges. It would be awesome if you could though!

  14. michael (DR HIGGLESTEIN) says:

    Ok. Can anyone tell me whats up with this? Earlier i played a game of Score Attack and got the shotgun challenge completed and i also uploaded the clip for the other challenge. So that was 2s daily challenges done. I got the weekly yesterday. A few hours later i decided to get back on Reach to get the 400 FF kills and it says i havent done any of the challenges, daily or weekly. I upload the clip again and it gives me the challenge again. Has anyone else had this problem? Im just kinda worried that Bungie might ban me for network manipulation since i got the same challenge done twice in one day. I dont know what is going on. Any help would be appreciated. Thanks.

    • 'Cos Olinyk says:

      The same thing happened to me the other night. However i waited about 15 minutes before playing anything – until i saw everything reset to the proper settings for challenges completed. I waited out of ‘fear’ that anything i accomplished in the game would not go towards bungie’s totals. All things considered, i believe it is best to wait it out. I seriously doubt bungie would find you at fault for anything since the situation was created by them in the first place.

      – seventh dawg

      • michael (DR HIGGLESTEIN) says:

        Yeah well after i seen that it said i hadnt done any of the challenges i did the Clip It Share It challenge again just to see if it would say i had already completed it but instead it gave me the credits for completing it again. Thats what im worried about since i completed the same daily challenge twice in one day and recieved credits for it twice. As of right now everything is back to normal and its showing the challenges i completed earlier as completed. It just scares me that i might get reset or something over something that wasnt my fault. Im a Noble right now and have NEVER boosted or manipulated the challenges. Well, hopefully everything will be ok. One of my friends told me that this happened to him a while back and he did a challenge twice in one day and nothing happened to him so hopefully mine will just be overlooked. lol. Thanks for replying back.

  15. 'Cos Olinyk says:

    You’re welcome. I doubt anything will happen. Seriously.
    Just know that it will reset soon after…and to avoid the question altogether then. I’m off to game. Gotta get those challenges completed. Happy gaming to all…

  16. Beermit says:

    So is anyone else having trouble with the file share challenge. I’ve uploaded a new file and nothin happened.

  17. 'Cos Olinyk says:

    I don’t know if it’s important or not, but the stipulations are to “make a clip”. Did you record a ‘clip’ of an entire video. Possibly irrelevent i know, but it is all i got. Good luck.

    – seventh dawg

  18. Beermit says:

    I did try making a new clip of some of the fun Firefight action I had today hehe. The problem is resolved tho, I just tried a different clip and it worked right away oddly enough 😛

  19. Beermit says:

    Oh and what Cos Olinyk was sayin about the Super Jackpot is true, just got my third one in 5 days. 😀 I love 30000 in free credits

Leave a Reply

