7th July – Halo Reach Daily Challenges & Commentary

Today’s challenges are listed below:

  1. Covenant-cide – Kill 120 enemies in Firefight Matchmaking – 1100 cR
  2. On the Sixth Respawn… – Complete a Firefight Matchmaking game with fewer than 5 deaths – 2000 cR
  3. Demon – Kill 40 Elites in Firefight Matchmaking – 1400 cR
  4. Flat Tire – Kill 10 enemy vehicles in Firefight Matchmaking – 1125 cR

Commentary follows later.

Covenant-cide – Kill 120 enemies in Firefight Matchmaking – 1100 cR

So you could do this in one game of Gruntpocalypse, 2X Score Attack or some of the other variants. I’d definitely go for 2x score attack as the best option today. Because it’s got easy enemies to take out and a really quick game type to play through. Plus you should be able to do it in less than 5 deaths for the next challenge, plus take out a decent number of Elites to work on the third challenge.

On the Sixth Respawn… – Complete a Firefight Matchmaking game with fewer than 5 deaths – 2000 cR

Go into Score Attack and choose your favourite game type, just play it slowly and carefully. Drop Shield’s a good idea too if you can, as long as you’re prepared to run away and heal if needed. 5 deaths isn’t difficult, most of you should be aiming to do it in one or less!

Demon – Kill 40 Elites in Firefight Matchmaking – 1400 cR

Rocketfight’s usually a good one here, especially since they often up the amount of Elites you get, particularly in the Bonus Round. Fiesta Attack gave a lot more Elites than I’d seen before, but only about 25, and I think there are about 25 in 2x Score Attack too.

Flat Tire – Kill 10 enemy vehicles in Firefight Matchmaking – 1125 cR

Holdout is a good option for this because you’re guaranteed a Banshee each game, and if you take it out quick (Sniper Rifle in the crow’s nest) then you can get several. Another trick is to keep the last Grunt or two in a wave alive to extend the game as much as possible. Beachhead and Outpost do have some vehicles dropped, 2X Score Attack has been reported to do well here, although sometimes there are none sometimes there are 4 or 5.

Come join us playing during the day on the Bungie vs the World playlist as we try to take on Bungie at their own game.

45 Responses to 7th July – Halo Reach Daily Challenges & Commentary

  1. Woody says:

    That damn Flat Tire just will not go away and die. Oh well… I will definitely complete the other three challenges within 20 minutes.

  2. mickoboy90 says:

    I hate flat tyre the most..grr lol.

    btw,my campaign progress has reset and every time i start halo reach,a welcome screen comes up and i need to choose gender and select my armory again.it all goes to default.

    ps,only 7k credits and im gettin the inclement weather finally..hooray

    • Woody says:

      I’ve had my campaign progress reset several months ago. I was hot as hell about it. I had just completed campaign a week prior and then one day all the campaign missions were gone. I have no idea why it happened. Despite being upset about it, the good part about it was I was force to go through campaign again, which helped my commendation progress.

      • JustHawkeye says:

        The campaign reset happened to my husband last year. it’s a problem bungie never really addressed even though lots of people have had it happen to them. Bungie blames it on corrupt gamertags, but that’s unlikely. Nothing you can do except redo the campaign again to unlock the levels.

      • Woody says:

        Well, I’m crossing my fingers, hoping that it doesn’t happen again.

  3. Tom says:

    Done the first 3 challenges already. Just bloody Flat Tire left. I don’t mind it when its 5 kills, that’s 1 game if I get it right, 2 if I don’t. But this is still 2 if I get it right, 3 if I get one wrong and 4 if I get both wrong. And these aren’t 4 fun games, its 4 games of sitting and waiting for Banshees.

  4. Scruff UK says:

    THESE are the last Daily Challenges Bungie will ever give us? When they’re in the midst of a 24-hour Bungie marathon? Really?!

    Disappointing 😦

    • porottaja says:

      Firefight Thursday.

    • robotperson says:

      Um… I didn’t know these would be the last ever. That would be pretty disappointing. Are you sure?

      • Matthew Vose says:

        They’re just the challenges for the last day Bungie were running Halo. That’s all.

      • Scruff UK says:

        Yeah, the last ones Bungie are giving us. Tomorrow’s come from 343i! 🙂

      • Woody says:

        Does anyone think that 343 may alter the cR for some of the challenges? I’ve been wondering about that.

      • Matthew Vose says:

        Who knows that they haven’t already? I’ve had a suspicion for a while that Bungie have nothing to do with challenges anymore, so it’s entirely possible that they’ve been run by 343i for some time.

  5. Sean says:

    Not very impressive – I guess for Bungie Day I was expecting them to jazz it up a bit.

  6. Gavin says:

    Hey i have killed 4 banshees and a ghost and none have counted on my list of 10. I have used pistol, br, and ar. Is there something im not doing right. I have been sticking to outpost and holdout 2x score attack and nothing seems to be working. Any tips?

    • Matthew Vose says:

      Sounds like you might be killing the pilot/driver before the vehicle itself. Use something explosive on them like a Plasma Launcher or Grenade and see if that helps.

      • Gavin says:

        alright i will have to try that out…i thought that might be the case but i wanted to get some advice from some other gamers…i’ll let you know it that solves my problem

      • Gavin says:

        yep that worked i used a spartan laser…i am now 1 for 10…lol thanks for the help man

    • michael (DR HIGGLESTEIN) says:

      Yeah i used to have that problem until i did a little testing on it. Spartan Laser, Sniper Rifle, Plasma Grenade Launcher, Grenade Launcher and Rocket Launcher all work fine and will go towards your vehicle kills if your shooting a Banshee. For some reason The Rocket Launcher doesnt work for me when i try to take out a Wraith. The best way to take out a Wraith is to board it and put a Grenade on it. Even when i bash them it doesnt give me the vehicle kill. Myself i think the best gametype to get the vehicle kills in is FF Arcade Doubles and play with a friend. I have gotten 6 vehicles in 1 game easily on Beachhead and Holdout. Good luck!

      • Kardas says:

        I think that when you kill the enemies in the vehicle before destroying the vehicle itself, it’s counted as “neutral” because friends and enemies alike can board it, so it’s not counted. That’s what happens with bashing a wraith.

  7. Gavin says:

    thanks i will have to try FF arcade out…i play with my girlfriend sometimes but never realized that there was that many vehicles…4 vehicles on beachhead

    • michael (DR HIGGLESTEIN) says:

      Yeah Beachhead is pretty awesome for vehicle kills. In 1 game i can usually get around 2 to 3 Ghosts and 2 to 4 or so Wraiths. 😉

      • Beermit says:

        Actually FF arcade in general is pretty awesome. Its a freakin blast and gives you solid credit payouts. Plus I’m loving it because it’s where I keep getting that oh so sweet credit super jackpot 😀

  8. Anonymous says:

    for 5 deaths just camp on gruntapocalypse its pretty easy just watch for grenades also score attack comes with AT LEAST 2 ghosts per game

    • t-rOY (tROYnHI) says:

      2x score attack is also ideal. The enemies go down faster, and you’ll get a good amount of Elites at the end which will go well with the Demon challenge. If you have a group of friends that want to play FF Arcade or FF Limited, you can take turns camping or evading heavy fire to get the challenge for everyone within 2 games.

  9. Hwiskey says:

    Sniper or Rocket attack on Holdout. Use the jetpack to fly up to the pad where the MAC gun is during the campaign. There are a couple spots up there where it’s not considered being outside the map. Pick off the annoying enemies that shoot at you while up there, then wait for the 6 banshees that are bound to show up. Sometimes 7!

  10. Jake Blunt says:

    Flat Tire on the last day. It’s just depressing. Oh well, grabbing my DMR and bagging me some deliciously smug steak tonight – good luck out there everyone!

  11. Gavin says:

    whats everyone talking about last day? last day for what exactly?

    • Bungie is handing the Halo franchise over to 343i tomorrow. so that means that today is their last day “owning” it. 🙂

    • Woody says:

      343i gets to throw the banhammers at folks tomorrow. Hmm… I wonder if their hammers will be heavier than Bungie’s? 🙂

      • t-rOY (tROYnHI) says:

        If Matt’s hunch about 343i already running things is true, then I say they’ve made it heavier. A lot of my friends got banned for stuff that got by the banhammer before. I myself got a weeks ban for reasons I’m still unclear about. Suffice to say the intent of the banhammer has been made clear to me. No more questionable shortcuts to challenges or commendation hunting for me.

      • Wunschkind89 says:

        If it’s heavier, I’m shocked I’m still at my current rank with how many times I’ve repeated challenges for free credits *cough*

        @t-rOY – I don’t think they’ll mind the “warping” of most commendations – they will mind seeing you complete a mission in one minute 5 times in a row to up Flawless Cowboy, as an example.

        Easy challenges today. Flat Tire is starting to get tiresome even for me.

  12. Beermit says:

    Honestly they couldve and shouldve come up with more substantial challenges for their last ones. Lets go out with a bang! Like a 1000 enemies for 5000 cR or maybe a sutpidly easy one like kill a single grunt for 1000cR

    • michael (DR HIGGLESTEIN) says:

      I heard from some people on the Bungie.net site that 343 has been in charge of the challenges for a month or two now. I dont know if its true or not though. It would be nice if starting tomorrow we had some new awesome challenges. Dont get me wrong i love doing the challenges but it does suck to get up everyday and see the same ones over and over.

      • t-rOY (tROYnHI) says:

        I hear ya on that last part. I would really like to see a campaign points challenge again. I like to use Matt’s advice and go into LNoS Rallypoint A to complete those types of challenges. It was good to see the drop pod challenge again, as this time I was able to find out how to do it courtesy of RDC. I wouldn’t mind seeing the flat tire challenge go to campaign instead of FF. I hardly ever get the Flat Tire challenge, because I try to help my wife and friends get it first and we usually run out of time for me. But, I don’t really care to go for that one either, since its so frustrating when it doesn’t register.

      • Beermit says:

        Agreed, I can’t stand seeing the same ol’ challenges. But they are almost always a fun time waster so they easily keep me comin back. I hope 343 gets creative with them tho, I need some variety!

      • Anonymous says:

        i could care less its easy credits either way gone from lt colonel grade 3 to commander grade 2 in just a few days thanks to easy challenges luck on the slot machine and 2 onyx commendations

  13. SlimEel94 says:

    Now for a really stupid question. I know Bungie and handing over the Halo franchise to 343i so…. What about that great App Bungie made entitled ‘Bungie App’ which only has Halo related stuff on it? Do you think that’ll be null and void or basically just for everyone to get the Gamerplate images and Eternal helmet? Not that fussed really because I use an amazing App anyway (that would be aimed at you Mr Vose).
    See y’all for some Bungie day carnage, and embarrassment on my part.

  14. Connor Owns says:

    Well after one week of trying to get the jackpot, it looks like Bungie hates me 😦 I am gonna go throw my disk at a wall while wondering when i will ever be a Brigadier.

    • t-rOY (tROYnHI) says:

      well its fairly random. I’ve gotten 5 while a friend of mines got maybe 1 over the past few days. To get your rank up without relying on the jackpots, I suggest FF games. FF usually averages more credits over time spent in game than almost any other gametype. However, if you prefer to play MM then Grifball is ideal, but try to max-out the time in each round. Swat games are also good since they finish up fast and payout just like a regular slayer game.

      • Woody says:

        I agree. It seems FF gives more credits than MM. I average around 1500-2000 cR easily with FF, but in MM it usually ranges from 1000-1300 cR for me.

    • Beermit says:

      Yea just keep at it, you’ll eventually get it. I had previously never gotten it before until this past weekend when I got it 3 times (!) in a couple days. I will point out this weekend was the first time I played Firefight doubles too so that might make a difference :-/

    • Woody says:

      Don’t feel bad about the jackpot. I’ve been playing reach since October 2010 and I just got my very first 30,000 cR jackpot while playing Bungie Day.

      • michael (DR HIGGLESTEIN) says:

        In FF Arcade Doubles i usually almost always get between 5,000-6,000 Cr per game. Im a Noble. I think the higher rank you are the more Credits you get. As far as the jackpot goes we play alot and havent hit it until today. My son got 30,777 on like his 5th game in the Bungie Day playlist. 🙂

      • Tom says:

        I got my first (30,000) today (in score attack of all places). Keep persevering, it’ll come.

Leave a Reply

