8th July – Halo Reach Daily Challenges & Commentary

Today’s challenges are listed below, click Read More to view the commentaries:

  1. Blastin’ and Relaxin’ – Kill 180 enemies in any game mode in Reach – 1350 cR
  2. A Great Friend – Earn 30 assists today in multiplayer Matchmaking – 2250 cR
  3. Fourth Horseman – Earn 4 multikills in a multiplayer Matchmaking game – 2000 cR
  4. Sticky Icky Icky – Earn 4 sticky grenade kills in a multiplayer Matchmaking game – 1300 cR

Commentary follows after the break…

Blastin’ and Relaxin’ – Kill 180 enemies in any game mode in Reach – 1350 cR

You’ve got a few choices for doing this really easily and quickly (although your other challenges will get you a good way there)…

  • Forge – make a game with players spawning in one spot and camp it
  • Firefight – Download my Firefight Invincible game type on my File Share, lots of Elites, lots of medals, lots of kills
  • ONI: Sword Base – Use the Target Designator trick (run past everyone at the beginning, grab it, turn around, fire, wait for the killing to stop and restart the checkpoint)
  • Package – There are points where you can get a checkpoint just before a number of Grunts appear in the final battle, so you can gun them down and restart

A Great Friend – Earn 30 assists today in multiplayer Matchmaking – 2250 cR

An assist is when you do 40% or more damage to an opponent and someone else kills them within 4 seconds. There are various ways to do this, one of the best is to team up with someone and work on taking people out together, again particularly in the Multi-Team Battle variants. I will confess I’ve still not tried Rumble Pit for assists, but every time these challenges appear it’s recommended. Other good options include an overcharged Plasma Pistol or Sniper Rifle shot to the body do more than 40% damage straight off, so you can always snipe from a camping position (ie the loft on Pinnacle) to help take people down. In Grifball I seem to get lots of assists, particularly when trying to take out the bomb carrier, although I think they’ve changed the damage taken by the carrier.

Fourth Horseman – Earn 4 multikills in a multiplayer Matchmaking game – 2000 cR

There are so many options for multikills – Team SWAT and Grifball are probably the best in my opinion. But any mode you’re good at will work – Squad Slayer because people cluster in it. Juggernaut (if you can get it) is really good for it. Don’t forget that multikills stack, so 4 kills in a few seconds counts as the double, triple and over kill, and you’re almost there!

Sticky Icky Icky – Earn 4 sticky grenade kills in a multiplayer Matchmaking game – 1300 cR

Slayer Pro has no armour lock and one loadout with Plasma Grenades. Invasion is excellent too since it’s really good for sticky grenades in the first round. DinoBlasters can be surprisingly good since no one tends to look out for the grenades, especially when you’re in Zealot type maps.

Thanks to everyone who turned up yesterday. I’ve never seen so many people from my Friends List on Halo at any one time, and the play list was a lot of fun.

Don’t forget Saturday night the Xbox Support Twitter Team will be in Reach for some games, I’ll probably be staying up to get a couple of hours in with them. That kicks off at 9pm EST, hopefully I’ll see you there.

46 Responses to 8th July – Halo Reach Daily Challenges & Commentary

  1. Sir Galahad 63 says:

    Last night was so fun 🙂 I hit the 30, 777cR jackpot and then the 7, 777 about four times! I didn’t make a great addition to Scruff’s team, he said they were steaking people before I came on :/ sorry lol
    Anyone up for some custom games in the next few hours?

  2. MadAmericanTacos says:

    We meet again my long lost nemisis, the question is do I try and beat you with the required amount of assists, or do I simply let you pass by with little thought?

    Ugh! I hate assist challenges! Probably going to do the other three as they are pretty easy to get but assists can go and die 😉

    • Woody says:

      I don’t know which is more annoying… assist challenges or flat tire? lol

      • Sean says:

        I’m gonna go with assists. Yeah it can be a pain to get vehicle kills but the idea of intentionally NOT killing someone just doesn’t work for me and I don’t get nearly enough just playing.

      • MadAmericanTacos says:

        This actually would have been perfect for yesterday cause 1) I played for hours so it would have happened eventually & 2) I think I got more assists than actual kills in most of my games, seriously one game I got 3 assist sprees!

      • t-rOY (tROYnHI) says:

        @MadAmericanTacos – agree with you that assists challenge would have been more convenient yesterday. My last game of the night netted me 9 assists. Worst part is I had at least a -10 K/D and we lost.

        With that said I don’t mind assists challenge that much as it helps with the commendation. It’s only frustrating when I play with my ‘friends’ becuz they seem to be completely absent when it comes to finishing people off or if we go into Rumble pit they end up killing me and let the ‘other’ people go instead. I also get bummed if I end up with a negative K/D since I’m not too proud of my career K/D. ratio

  3. Woody says:

    Last night was indeed a fun night. I wish I could have found or hooked up with more RDC players. Anyway, I didn’t get any 7777 jackpots, but I didn’t hit for one 30,777 jackpot, which was nice for conquest to reach General Grade 3. I look forward to seeing and playing along with more RDC players in the future.

    Anyway, I guess this will be a Grifball and Squad Slayer day for me… at least until the kids decide to play.

  4. Scruff UK says:

    Since we’re discussing last night… I shall copypaste from a previous section, in case people aren’t checking the Bungie Day posts anymore 😉 Apologies for MASSIVE POST.. but what else would you expect from me? 😉

    *yawn* Morning all! For the first time ever I stayed online even after Snickerdoodle went offline. And now I am very tired.

    So, despite the lack of games with Bungie yesterday I had an awesome, awesome time with you guys, with approximately 9 or 10 hours of Halo in one day (a new personal best) and a promotion to Hero. There was a real community spirit out yesterday 🙂

    Managed to play with a load of regulars, new faces, and regulars from here that I’d not yet had the pleasure to game with. Full roster over the day was: famallama, Sir Galahad 63, HalfEvilHomer, Pillar of Fire, TheOneInYellow, PeteTheCat1, porottaja, Vast Archangel, ecirpt, JustHawkeye, SlimEel94, Insanity Boy, and Archaeo1ogist. Apologies to those I didn’t get to play with!

    Final stats: Won 23, lost 20, steaked the other team in 13 games, got steaked 5 times. For the two teams I stuck with for long stretches of time, you might be interested to know that our best-performing map by a long way was Reflection! Worst was Zealot. Unsurprisingly 😉

    Highlights:
    – The death squads that were me, porottaja, Vast Archangel and PeteTheCat1; and me, Insanity Boy, Archaeo1ogist and PeteTheCat1 (8 wins in a row!)
    – These games: http://www.bungie.net/Stats/Reach/GameStats.aspx?gameid=689280915 , http://www.bungie.net/Stats/Reach/GameStats.aspx?gameid=689462736 , http://www.bungie.net/Stats/Reach/GameStats.aspx?gameid=689479210 , and http://www.bungie.net/Stats/Reach/GameStats.aspx?gameid=690621799
    – Being taught the mysteries of rocket spawn.
    – Proximity voice from the other team. “KILL HIM KILL HIM KILL HIM!!”
    – Blowing up pretty much my entire team with one particularly badly placed rocket.
    – Insanity Boy yoinking my rockets with his sneaky jetpack as I was sat there waiting for them to spawn.
    – Suiciding myself by assassinating someone on Countdown. No idea how the hell that happened. Clip saved for further analysis…
    – Strong encouragement of bagging the baggers.
    – And so on…

    Thanks again Matthew for organising yesterday… Bungie Day would have been no fun at all for me if it wasn’t for all you guys 😀

    • Chris (Insanity Boy) says:

      Yuuuss!! My ninja rocket stealing made it into your personal highlights 😉

      Great night indeed :mrgreen:

  5. Scruff UK says:

    Oh dear, my massive post was so massive that I’m now awaiting moderation.
    Must. Not. Type. So. Much.

    Anyway, Rumble Pit all the way for today’s challenges. It’s really good for assists, and pretty good for stickies and multikills. Also I STILL haven’t found a single game of Juggernaut, ever, and I want the damn Juggernaut medals! 😦

  6. mickoboy90 says:

    The bungie day playlist was not bad. i only got one jackpot of 7777 but i only got one 30,000 jackpot in all week 😦 i also managed to get an extermination in bungie day 🙂

  7. Braythor says:

    Would’ve been nice to have these challenges yesterday, I had some epic sticky throws that I’m gonna have to hunt down and save.

    Had a lot of fun last night, played for about 7 hours in total, though never saw a 30K or 7777 jackpot. Still, I finally reached 2M cR for inclement weather… Bungie playlist was ok but I really don’t like DMRs in slayer and it seemed to pop up a lot. In the end we sacked off that playlist and enjoyed some action sack and team slayer, that is until Snicks jumped in and, in the course of only a few games, yoinked me (grow up) left right and centre then betrayed me twice in the space of a minute. I was cheering the mosquitoes as my thumb hovered over the boot player button 🙂

  8. Tom says:

    Ended up getting 11 sticks in my first game tonight. Was also agonizingly close to the multikill challenge with 3 double kills in that same game.

  9. SlimEel94 says:

    Thank you for everyone I played with yesterday. I apologise for my bad aim and low score in my games and am utterly sorry for the betrayal that occurred on Asylum with the Sniper rifle. I would say I was having an ‘off’ day but have came to realise that players are hardcore! I now have to re-evaluate how I Play the game. It will now be less running the maps spraying and more planning each bullet. I hope to still have fun but as some important bloke said not to long ago ‘Frankly, my dear, I don’t give a damn’.
    See you all soon for some more carnage and thanks again Matthew (and Snickerdoodle) for arranging the festivities for RDC, cracking job!

    • Scruff UK says:

      That betrayal was nothing, I ran right in front of your sniper. I managed to shoot Vast Archangel in the back with a rocket launcher at close range. Now THAT was a bad betrayal 😉

      To be fair to the playlist, last night was the most organised I think I’ve ever seen a large group of people in Halo. Quite frequently we had a well-organised team of 4 vs. a well-organised team of 4 – that never happens when you play entirely with randoms.

      • MadAmericanTacos says:

        I played with 3 randoms on boardwalk and FINNALY got my hands on the rocket launcher, was so excited I jet packed up and found a red dot on the radar and fired in the general direction only to miss and kill two of my teammates running to take down the enemy I WAS TRYING KILL, suprised I didn’t get booted for that one lol

      • i think it was on countdown but i managed to somehow betray Braythor (i think i stuck someone, someone else got the kill before the grenade exploded, and then he ran over the body when it exploded? not entirely sure), die, respawn, and betray him again almost instantly. 😕

      • Woody says:

        These betrayal stories are hilarious. LOL

      • Braythor says:

        Yeah Snicks I’m sure that’s exactly what happened…and the grenade I ran into after I respawned was an “accident” as well eh? Haha. I suppose I can’t talk really, I recall a game on Pinnacle where I picked up the sniper rifle, was trying to aim at a guy in the tower, missed and took out iam8up instead…oops.

  10. OMGBBQWTFLOL says:

    Fun playing yesterday. I kind of messed up my time schedule, as I ending up playing the whole morning and early afternoon (EST) but then I wasn’t on at 5 pm like I said I would be, but instead didn’t make it back on until 11 pm – 3 am. I hit a 37,777 jackpot (the 30k mixed with a 7777 was beautiful) and 2 other 7,777 jackpots. Never managed to play against bungie, but it was definitely a fun day to end a great era. Halo holds high place in video game history, and that is thanks to the great men and women of Bungie who didn’t want to rape the franchise but instead put effort into making their games great.

  11. michael (DR HIGGLESTEIN) says:

    Yesterday was the first day me and my son hit the online credit cap. He got 30,777Cr in the Bungie Day playlist. Im assuming the Jackpot does count towards the credit cap since i know we didnt earn enough credits from all the games we played yesterday to hit it. The only thing that sucked about it was i still had a daily challenge to finish up so of course i just did it to complete it. Im guessing no one from here played with Bungie? I know me and my son didnt. :/

    • Shane says:

      The last time I hit the daily cap I got a jackpot and also happened to know how many credits I had at the start of the day. The jackpot counted towards the daily cap for me.

    • t-rOY (tROYnHI) says:

      My friends and I didn’t find the Bungie players either….unless they spoke spanish and lagged in close quarters combat (the only team that royally whooped our butts 50-18 or something like that)

  12. famallama says:

    I had a great time yesterday, when i did play with any of you. the only issue i had with getting with any of you was that i hadnt sent any friend requests to anyone. my fault though. my other friends were on and needed a 4th so i joined them, then got tired of the same 3 maps over and over. if i may, i suggest invasion for assists. you can start the match with or grab a plasma pistol and on the last section as spartans can spawn with a grenade launcher

  13. Pillar of Fire says:

    Im interested to know did anyone actually face bungie?…….No one on my friends list did and they were all playing the Bungie Playlist. Except for the guy who thought that everyone with a bungie nameplate was a Bungie Employee lol.

    • MadAmericanTacos says:

      I was watching the live feed from work pretty much all day (sneaky I know) and I am not joking when I say that I saw the gt “a flying hobo” at least 3 times in a game against them. That happened a few times where I thought that a gt looked familure, that one just happened to stand out more than the others.

      • Pillar of Fire says:

        I think thats a bit unfair how some people got matched up more than once while others spent hours trying to get the opportunity to face them. 😦

        So the world won last night and the score is 1 to 1. We need a tie breaker when halo 4 comes out maybe not against bungie directly, but hey i’ll play against 343i.

      • t-rOY (tROYnHI) says:

        My wife and I believe that all the ‘good’ players must’ve went to 343i.

  14. Anonymous says:

    bungie playlist was hardcore even without getting to play bungie its why i dont play team slayer anymore the players are too good r.i.p old days of halo 3 winning by miles on team slayer

  15. Oreo says:

    Got on last night, but didn’t get Bungie. Got 777cR, 7,777cR, and 37,777cR jackpots in 3 hours, but the last came right at the end of the Day. There were some hardcore players in that list, but I’ll never get better if I don’t play against those better than myself. I did have one game where I was deadly with the sword. Out of 12 kills, 11 were stabby, and I only had a couple deaths. Must have been matched up with people who play worse than me. The rest of the night I couldn’t make it out of single digits for kills and usually doubles for deaths.

    • Starmage008 says:

      I had 13 kills the with sword last night. All in a row too, and I desperately wanted the last two up to 15, whatever kind of spree that is. “Slice and Dice” at 10 kills.

  16. MadAmericanTacos says:

    Does anyone know if Bungie plans on releasing any more “free stuff” like the blue flames and name plate a while back? I looked on Twitter and did a google seach and couldn’t find anything.

  17. dkong27 says:

    I find a great place for multikills is Action Sack. These games tend to be epic pwnage is you are decent at the game. Haloball Extreme is great for them,especially is the other team is going for points. There is also Dino Blasters and Shotty Snipers, which on some maps are insane. Personally, I find that I can get more assists while not trying to.

  18. SensoryFour34 says:

    Bungie Day was great except for when the lag was so bad that it wasn’t even fun anymore! We had one run in with a possible lag switch. It was lagging so much that everyone had a bad score except one guy with 28 or so! And I discovered Powerhouse is my new least favorite map!!! We never ran into Bungie, though.

    • SensoryFour34 says:

      I also managed to commit suicide on the elevator on reflection. That thing is deadly.

      • SlimEel94 says:

        Me too! I’d just spawned, jumped on the lift. Landed, somehow, on top of a team mate then next thing I know ‘suicide’ game started on -1!

  19. Matthew Vose says:

    I think I’ve found some new advice to offer on assist challenges. Check out this game in Hockey I’ve just played, and peak at my assists.

    I just gunned the blue team until their shields went down, then left them to someone else.

    • Tom says:

      I had discovered this gem already. I basically hit them twice with the golf club and then run away. Works especially well when you are playing with a friend and can coordinate.

Leave a Reply

