10th July – Halo Reach Daily Challenges & Commentary

Today’s challenges are listed below, click Read More to view the commentaries:

  1. Blastin’ and Relaxin’ – Kill 180 enemies in any game mode in Reach – 1350 cR
  2. This Is My Rifle – Earn 20 kills with precision weapons in multiplayer Matchmaking – 1000 Cr
  3. Killagruntjaro! – Earn 10 multikills in a Firefight Matchmaking game – 1100 cR
  4. A Side of Huevos – Kill 60 enemies with Sniper Rifle headshots in Nightfall on Normal – 1500 cR

Commentary follows after the break…

Blastin’ and Relaxin’ – Kill 180 enemies in any game mode in Reach – 1350 cR

You’ve got a few choices for doing this really easily and quickly (although your other challenges will get you a good way there)…

  • Forge – make a game with players spawning in one spot and camp it
  • Firefight – Download my Firefight Invincible game type on my File Share, lots of Elites, lots of medals, lots of kills
  • ONI: Sword Base – Use the Target Designator trick (run past everyone at the beginning, grab it, turn around, fire, wait for the killing to stop and restart the checkpoint)
  • Package – There are points where you can get a checkpoint just before a number of Grunts appear in the final battle, so you can gun them down and restart

This Is My Rifle – Earn 20 kills with precision weapons in multiplayer Matchmaking – 1000 Cr

Precision weapons are the DMR, Sniper Rifle, Focus Beam and Needle Rifle. Team SWAT will do you well here. Unless you use melee or Pistol every kill will be a precision weapon kill, so play it a few times, try and get a good team who will cover your back (and you theirs).

Killagruntjaro! – Earn 10 multikills in a Firefight Matchmaking game – 1100 cR

In Gruntpocalypse or 2x Score Attack this is so easy. The Grunts come out of the doors/dropships/appear in groups of 5 or so, and you can easily shoot 3 or 4 of them straight away. Multikills do stack so an Overkill counts as 3 – double, triple and 4 kills. Therefore just play the game and take them out when you see them together.

A Side of Huevos – Kill 60 enemies with Sniper Rifle headshots in Nightfall on Normal – 1500 cR

You get 50 something bullets, so just go through and headshot everything you can. Note it is only the Sniper Rifle you can use to get the challenge, and it has to be a headshot. I played through to the end of the first camp (before the big creatures), then restarted the mission and got everything next time around. Don’t forget that Grunt’s heads are slightly lower than the tanks on their backs and forward. There is a checkpoint trick you can use to get this quickly, get a checkpoint trigger just behind the first Elite, headshot him, then reset the checkpoint, rinse and repeat.

27 Responses to 10th July – Halo Reach Daily Challenges & Commentary

  1. Jake Blunt says:

    I swear, if I have to play through Nightfall one more time…

  2. Woody says:

    I definitely destroyed K/D ratio this morning in an attempt to complete This Is My Rifle challenge. It is official… I suck with precision weapons and have no hope of getting better it seems. Anyway, my first game of SWAT, I lost 50 to 0. Though, I will add that all three of my teammate quick on me after 30-40 seconds into the match. Since that match, I’ve played four more matches that involves precision weapons and have only managed 14 kills. Sad day for me. 😦

    • oh that sucks! i’m sorry. 😦 SWAT can be a bit tricky if you’re not used to it.

      what about team snipers? or do some rumble pit and keep your DMR handy and play clean up? it doesn’t have to be headshots so you could just body shot the hell out of them and still get credit for the challenge.

      • Woody says:

        Well, bodyshot was my target of intent, since I know I suck at headshots, but the maniacs I’ve been playing against were so good that it seem every shot they took were headshots. Not one time did I live to see a second shot. Anyway, I finally got the challenge and that was only because I just got done playing some kind of oddball swat (1st time playing it) and it was on a map that I was comfortable with.

        I’m going to need phychological evaluation after this rough morning. Lol
        Thanks though, Snickerdoodle!! 🙂

      • SWAT is different though, you HAVE to go for the headshots because then it’s an instant kill unless you somehow shoot their chest/back then it’s probably 2 shots. the best thing i can suggest would be to play some custom SWAT games with friends so you can get the hang of how it works. there’s a preloaded variant for it already under the Slayer types with shields removed, etc.

        it’s my favorite game variant out there and all i used to play on H2, really. once your comfortable with SWAT and figure out where you need to keep your reticle for it to be at head height, go into a game with a friend or two so you know there’s at least one less asshat on your team. 😉

        SWAT potato is my favorite SWAT variant for sheer number of kills, especially on Unanchored where there’s no real good place to hide with the bomb.

      • Paul Covert says:

        Thanks for a great “primer” on SWAT – I am right in there with Woody – I suck!!! I will enlist my son to help me play some custom SWAT knowing he won’t kill to quickly if he wants to play all week 😉

      • Marshy 40 says:

        Yeah, it used to be hell for me too, but practising does help. My pet hate is that you sometimes spawn in front of an enemy, which is instant death in SWAT. I wouldn’t worry about the K/D as that will just stress you out.

        I can’t figure out how people can be so fast, it seems like I’m slower than molasses going uphill in January. Guess I’m getting old 😐

      • Woody says:

        LOL @ Paul.

        Marshy, I saw what you meant about the respawning next to the enemy, for the first time this morning. It drove me nuts.

      • joshua (mr per0) says:

        @ marshy: I feel so slow too, I guess because when you hunt, if you miss the 1st shot, you’re screwed so I am too careful with my aim and i squeeze off shots like wih a real weapon instead of just yanking the trigger in the vicinity of their face.

        also, I love when I spawn into a bullet or in front of a teammate, only to eat the bullet meant for their face.

  3. tomL says:

    me and my friend have been getting head shots on nightfall and there not counting wtf?? this has happened to 4 of my friends

    • stupid question – you’re sure it’s on Normal? and are you playing co-op or solo? if you’re doing co-op, go for solo and see if that works.

      ETA – i just made sure it was on Normal and it’s working for me…

      • woah…i think i see what you are talking about now tom….if you save and quit, it resets your kill counts. whoops.

        okay, so play through to the first camp then continuously reset the checkpoint or start the mission over. DO NOT save and quit.

  4. Sir Galahad 63 says:

    Hmm, my character model on the Bungie site hasn’t updated for about a month, has this happened to anyone else?
    And the challenges were knocked over in 1 hour, but I hate it when the three other people in your team on SWAT quit , and leave you to face off against Hero’ and Legend’s 😦 just as posts say up above 😀

    • michael (DR HIGGLESTEIN) says:

      My character model hasnt updated in a long time either. Wonder if they ever will since Bungie doesnt own Halo anymore.

    • Woody says:

      I’m having the same issue as well.

    • HC Sangheili says:

      Change an armor color, you’ll see an updated model. Change it back if needed. Ex.: rumble pit with bright orange, might as well paint a target on your Spartan.

  5. famallama says:

    Just wanted to post to let scruff know that i reported his GT to help him out. i told a few of my friends to do so as well. hopefully you get enough reports to get it changed

    • Chris (Insanity Boy) says:

      Done the same, hopefully it’ll be changed this time since Microsoft were being diffies (local slang 😉 ) last time!

      • Scruff UK says:

        Thanks guys! (and everyone else who’s helped so far) 😀

        I’m a little bit in America at the moment so I won’t know if this GT stuff has worked until I get back, which will be in a week and a half… And yes, I am checking RDC on my first night in the States even though I’m not near an Xbox. Clearly I am broken.

        If you’re lucky I’ll write the web address in the sand on Miami Beach in a few days.

  6. 'Cos says:

    @ woody…and all,

    to ‘practice’ your multiplayer headshots, another good idea (especially if you always go rogue like me) is to practice in firefight, solo. This is how i got good with the precision rifles, and i like me sniper! Load up a solo score attack and go for all headshots. Who cares if you die solo in firefight? Practice, practice, practice…and then practice some more. I, personally, try to remember that “each shot has a purpose”. This makes me aim a split second longer, and i find i hit me target much more consistently. I used to suck as well, and some games i find out i still do.

    Hope this helps, and happy gaming to all…

    – seventh dawg
    http://www.bungie.net/stats/reach/default.aspx

  7. 'Cos says:

    …and no, “me’ not speak english to good! Sorry all for the ‘me’ references. Out.

  8. SlimEel94 says:

    Didn’t realise the Nightfall challenge had to be done all in one go. got half way through got bored and saved and quit. 50 headshots for nothing.

    • Woody says:

      I feel your pain. I wanted to take a break as well and I had 40-something headshots, came back an hour later and it was back to square one.

    • Brook Harris says:

      Yeah that’s the One thing I absolutely hate about Challenges, sometimes you have to do them all over again especially ones where it requires you to complete without dying. I do them once, if I don’t get it I don’t bother wasting any more time on that particular one.

  9. Brook Harris says:

    I’ve been Banned from Earning Credits for 2 Weeks starting last Week, so there’s no Point in me even doing the Challenges till then 🙂

Leave a Reply

