12th July – Halo Reach Daily Challenges & Commentary

Today’s challenges are listed below, click Read More to view the commentaries:

  1. Covenant-cide – Kill 120 enemies in Firefight Matchmaking – 1100 cR
  2. Be Their Huckleberry – Kill 200 enemies in Firefight Matchmaking with the Pistol – 1500 cR
  3. Just a Shower – Complete any Campaign mission on Normal or harder with Thunderstorm on – 2000 cR
  4. Home Field Advantage – Win 7 games in multiplayer Matchmaking – 2050 cR

Commentary follows after the break…

Covenant-cide – Kill 120 enemies in Firefight Matchmaking – 1100 cR

So you could do this in one game of Gruntpocalypse, 2X Score Attack or some of the other variants. I’d definitely go for Gruntpocalypse as the best option today. Because it’s got easy enemies to take out and a really quick game type to play through. Plus you get the pistol so you can work on…

Be Their Huckleberry – Kill 200 enemies in Firefight Matchmaking with the Pistol – 1500 cR

Get a couple of Gruntpocalypse games in so you can stick to just the pistol, take out the little methane breathers as quick as possible then back in the menu to get it done. Some maps are definitely better than others, Corvette and Courtyard are small and easy to see across to take them out. I personally think Holdout’s an evil little map, although that’s when it introduces the tougher enemies in Score Attack.

Just a Shower – Complete any Campaign mission on Normal or harder with Thunderstorm on – 2000 cR

I’m giving exactly the same advice as every optional Campaign mission challenge – run Nightfall, get this done in 10 minutes, tops. As a guide to Nightfall speed run I’ve picked this video off Youtube randomly, but there are hundreds like it. In fact we have further options and details on the time we did it in LASO on this Weekly Challenge page and comments. There are other levels you may be more familiar with, but honestly, you can do this in 5-6 minutes with minimal stress.

Home Field Advantage – Win 7 games in multiplayer Matchmaking – 2050 cR

Stick to Team Slayer/SWAT/Snipers/Objective/Grifball/Action Sack for this. In those there are only two teams so your chances of winning are greatly improved. If you find a group of guys you play well with then stick with them.

59 Responses to 12th July – Halo Reach Daily Challenges & Commentary

  1. MadAmericanTacos says:

    200 With the pistol? Sounds like they really want us to get moving on commendations lol. Easy day all around and should only take about 45 minutes to complete.

  2. Sir Galahad 63 says:

    They you guys remember xxsaviors0ulxx? The inheritor? Well he was reset for AFKing (lol) and so he started again, and he is nearly a Legend. His new name is xxsaviorsoulxx, and he started his new account less than three months ago.
    That guy has NO life.

    Easy challenges, except maybe the Home Field advantage, I may not have enough time to try for it, so just Fire fight and campaign 😀

    • Anonymous says:

      wow ive been playing 3 months and im only up to colonel

      also i think infection/living dead counts as a win every match so long as the “survivours” die which they do every match

      • Matthew Vose says:

        No, it counts as a win if you get the highest amount of kills, so there’s only one winner per game, not the whole team. Hence why it’s never suggested in my commentary.

      • Anonymous says:

        could of sworn it went towards a challenge the other day to win 3 games or so ill check again

      • Matthew Vose says:

        Waiting on you feeding back to the group about this. Give us a link to your game history so we can see whether it counts as a win.

    • Woody says:

      OMG!! Either he is a grown man with no job and/or girlfriend or he is a kid. Three months and he’s already close to being a Legend is crazy! I’ve been playing since late October and I’m only half-way through General Grade 3.

      • gans42 says:

        yeah ive been playing since october 10th and im almost at legend, and i thought i played a lot lo

      • Woody says:

        Well Gans, at least it took you over nine months to get there, instead of one-third of that time. I’m wondering if savioursoul even sleep or eat? Lol

    • Project SHAVE says:

      I started splaying Reach less than 3 months ago and I’m about to hit General Grade 1. Yes. I barely have a life. Haha

      • MadAmericanTacos says:

        I never played online till March of this year and am almost a General, I actually have a system down on how many credits I need to get every day to get to Hero by the end of August. Currently working on a new one to get me up to Nova by December/January timeframe.

        Sadly I have a life so I end up playing for like 2 hours after my wife and son go to bed.

      • Woody says:

        Don’t feel bad MadAmericanTacos, I have to wait for my girlfriend and her kids to sleep also, just to get a decent playing time in.

      • MadAmericanTacos says:

        You can just call me Tacos, MadAmericanTacos is my father lol

      • Anonymous says:

        good luck with your goals hopefully you get to inheritor before halo 4 comes out probably this time next year and halo reach mm goes empty except for teams and hardcore players

      • mmmm i doubt it. H3 is still going pretty well so i highly, highly doubt Reach will become the barren wasteland you are describing.

      • Anonymous says:

        i never said it would be empty just that the only remaining players would be teams playing in mlg and arena and the other playlists full of hardcore players only out to win and get to inheritor not regular people who just play for fun when they can happens in every game eventually

    • kurt says:

      Just checked the profile of xxsaviorsoulxx, I think there’s been a confusion bc he appears to have the rank of corporal. Just saying.

    • Shane says:

      Well at least he learned how to spell properly* :-D.

      *US English anyway.

  3. HalfEvilHomer says:

    Im back! Had an amazing time at the British Grand Prix…..shame its over now.
    Im glad to see an easy day of challenges to ease me back into Halo after a long tiring weekend! Did anyone on here actually get to play against bungie on bungie day? I played a game or 2 before i went with Scruff but we didnt get anything!

    • Anonymous says:

      i tried to face bungie came up against hardcore players got frustrated and left

  4. Woody says:

    Cool! Four easy challenges with a decent cR return. I will focus on the first three before tackling the fourth challenge. If anyone wants to join me for the 7 win challenge, I should be ready for it around 3:30pm (CST).

    • Matt says:

      Gamertag: ‘Thirdlevel420’ hey I’l be on 5:00pm (EST) if you want to join up to do the weekly challenge or matchmaking ect. I’m not amazing but you can check out my file share, stats, ect. their not too bad haha. Shoot me a friend request if you wanna play later.

      • Woody says:

        Matt, I will send a request with a message once I get home. I checked out your profile and compared to mine, your stats are very amazing. I feel like a weak link compared to everyone who has sent recent requests to me.

      • Mitch says:

        I enjoyed our couple hours of gaming together last week. You’re no slouch. Happy to go again.

      • 'Cos says:

        @ Matt, woody, et al…

        I will be on in a few minutes as well if anyone wants a new friend…

        I like friends.

      • Woody says:

        ‘Cos, what is your gamertag? Mine is ‘WNWoodmore’.

  5. mitch says:

    At one point on Bungie Day, I noticed there were over 160,000 people in the Bungie day list alone! With 40,000 4-person teams looking for Bungie, I would have had a 1 in 20,000 chance of meeting them for any game I played that day. I would have had to play for 10 years to ensure that I would get a crack at them with as many games of MM as I have played since the start of Reach.

    I wonder how many steaks Bungie had to by for us “dopes”? If a match lasts 10 minutes, they could have played about 144 of them in 24 hours. Even if they lost 50% of the time it’s tough to beat a team by 20 kills. If we were lucky, we would have steaked them in 50% of their losing matches. So, Bungie has to mail steaks to 36 extremely skillful teams.

    All of that steak-calculating is making me hungry.

    • Woody says:

      You should be banned for making me hungry now. J/k lol
      Well, you now gave me an idea on what to eat while attempting to dodge plasma blasts and DMR rounds.

    • Matthew Vose says:

      You can look at their game histories – they were steaked something like 41 times out of 131 games.

  6. mitch says:

    I tried that once. My controller was covered in steak sauce and I got blasted more than I dodged. Bring a napkin!

  7. mitch says:

    Dang internet. That was probably the easy way to do it. Missed it by 10%.

  8. mitch says:

    When I say easy, I mean more efficient and accurate!

  9. Rob says:

    Does anyone have any thoughts on what will happen to the Bungie website/multiplayer community after early August? It appears to be changing from Bungie over to another entity? Will the daily challenges be as consistant with weekend jackpots etc?

    I apologize if I am repeating a question that has already been asked.

    My son played with an Inheritor on his team yesterday. Seemed to be pretty good. My son started Halo in December and is a Colonel 3. Plays about 30-40 mins a day 3-4 days a week. I cannot imagine the level of obsession to get to Nova. The whole room must be a sweatbox just from the heatwaves from the Xbox!

    But, if anyhting is worth doing, it is worth doing well…..

    Rob

    • MadAmericanTacos says:

      Personaly my goal is to hit 40-50k credits perday, when I get home I hit my dalies, then play one or two rounds of FF then take a break till after my wife goes off to bed, then I play for like 30-45 minutes. In the morning I have a 3 minute gap of time before I head off to work at 4am so I get in 2 games of FF. Then the process starts all over again when I get home lol.

    • t-rOY (tROYnHI) says:

      my wife’s an Eclipse, I’m a Noble, and one of our friends is a Nova, but he doesn’t appear to play Reach everyday. . .at least not when me or my wife is online. We still haven’t figured out what he does to rank up so fast, but me and my wife play mostly FF, and Grifball for 3 hours-5 days a week and maybe 2 or 4 hours for the other 2 days, depending on our social schedule. We used to play a bunch of SWAT but we’re getting matched up with tougher people now, and a lot of times the games lag like crazy. We do the challenges whenever we can, but if we can earn more credits doing something else, then we usually pass on them. I admit we spend a lot of time on Reach, but its the only game we play 99% of the time, and with a soon-to-be-2-year-old son, it’s more convenient to stay in, eat at home, and play video games. =)

      • Anonymous says:

        whatever happened to teens playing xbox? seems everyone playing these days is married with kids and over 20 there are many more “girl gamers” aswell if you judge sex by their spartan type

  10. Matt says:

    anyone interested in playing reach: my gamertag is: ‘Thirdlevel420’ Im usually on anywhere from 5:00pm – 2:00am (EST) yea i play them hoot hours too (mainly because most people I play arena with are on the west coast and I have to wait till they get on) but feel free to shoot me a friend request, party inv, or whatever. You can check me out on bungie.net so you know Im not just some ‘leaf head’ haha. peace

    • CallUpChuck says:

      We seem to be in the same neighborhood in terms of passive halo aggression. I’m more of a binge player, but the times I do get on are around your times (although I’m PST). Hit me up sometime!

      GT: CallUpChuck

  11. 'Cos says:

    Hello all…

    Just wanted to chime in today on a couple topics :

    1. I am a ‘high rank’, and i have been playing since mid-january. It is a simple combination of the fact i have no life, i am somewhat decent at this game, and i have experience playing the Halo series of games. I play only a couple hours (almost) every night to wind down after work, for the record. Think what you will. Point being, you can rank up rather quickly doing this and “picking your spots”. I only go after credits, challenges, and commendations. Maximize the time spent, if you will.

    2. To further prove i have no life, i had yesterday off (and today as well), and went ahead and did the weekly solo. If anyone wants help completing their weekly, let me know. I can and will help. This goes for today and any day. Although i usually don’t go on till about midnight to play. Gamertag is below, with my credentials. Hit me up…i am a good wingman, and would love to play with a team for a change. Especially one of these gamenights. See ya around, and happy huntin’!…

    – seventh dawg
    http://www.bungie.net/stats/reach/default.aspx

    • MadAmericanTacos says:

      If you are up to helping me out with the weekly Friday @ 11pm est I would really appreciate it cause honestly I suck at LASO 😦 My GT is Leroy789 and if you agree I will friend you and set up a game.

      I do the same thing go mainly for cR, I do a lot of Rocket Fight and FRG cause it racks up the multi-kills, I can come away with about 3-4k per FF (Only a Brig 3 otherwise I’m sure the payout would be higher) cause I know the spawn points and where to camp.

      • 'Cos says:

        @ ‘Tacos’,

        I am, indeed, willing to help you out. I won’t be online till about midnight Friday/Saturday, but we could do the run-through when i get home. Hit me up on XBL and i will send you an invite when i log on that evening. Should only take about 1.5/ 2 hrs to complete. Any longer and we can complete it the next night if that’s okay. But i am willing to start this Friday night. Done and done. Fun mission actually, although i’ve never done it co-op. See ya, and if i do…hope i don’t kill ya! Happy gaming…

      • 'Cos says:

        By the way, all times i reference are E.S T. Playing out of Atlanta, Ga…

      • MadAmericanTacos says:

        Hey ‘Cos, sorry I havent friended you yet but my wife dropped the banhammer on me for a few days this week, I am on tonight and this weekend so I will send you a FR when I get on around 10 tonight!

    • MadAmericanTacos says:

      How long did it take you to complete the weekly?

      • 'Cos says:

        Funny story actually. First time doing it. First run-through : about 2.5 hours. Got assassinated by the grunt from behind right as i hit the switch to finish the level. Final cutscene starts….and then goes to blackscreen, and then the opening cutscene. (because of the iron scull!) I was all “say whhhaaaa…”. Immediately began another runthrough, and finished in just over an hour. I am a persistent S.O.B.!

      • kurt says:

        @cos,

        that happened to me once on that mission, got killed right after flipping the switch. I immediately threw my controller, and went for the power button on my xbox. The game didn’t hit the first checkpoint and I could continue on where I left off.

        So that’s something you could do. ( Just don’t throw your controller) 😛

      • Anonymous says:

        i just bombed the crap out of that area with the wraith and jetpacked up to the switch got to the cutscene just as a brute came running towards me with a hammer he would of got a sticky to the face anyway so it wasnt a huge problem

  12. Woody says:

    Is anyone besides me having trouble joining friends in their party? I’ve had three friends online and I can’t get to any of them.

    • t-rOY (tROYnHI) says:

      The server might be acting up. It didn’t allow our party to find a game last nite, but when I signed out and signed back in everything worked fine. We’ve also had issues similar to yours, and sometimes we waited it out, or all of us signed out and then signed back in to resolve it.

  13. I had a heck of a time with similar connection issues on Bungie Day. SO frustrating, I know…

  14. 'Cos says:

    @ ‘Tacos’

    I will be on by midnight, possibly earlier. Gotta work. Going on now to try challenges for the day before work, so we can concentrate on the weekly. Do me, and yourself, a favor and sometime beforehand and give a watch to the tyrant video in the link below. We will pretty much be following this path, as this is how i did it solo. Also, do you have a headset? It would help our communication, for sure. Anyways, looking forward to the ‘challenge’, and will hit you up when i get home and settled. So send me that friend request. Have a good night all, gaming or not…

    – seventh dawg

    @ ‘tacos’…that link : http://halo.bungie.org/gameplay/reach_mythic/ex.html

    • MadAmericanTacos says:

      No problem on the time cause I usualy try to stay up till about 2am for my gaming night.

      I already watched the video but will have it up on my laptop to make sure I dont miss anything.

      Just got a new headset today cause my last one fell victim to old age and a cat.

      You should have a request well before midnight tonight!

      Thanks Again!

  15. 'Cos says:

    Sweet! We’re good to go then! Off to work i go. See ya then, sir.

Leave a Reply

