13th July – Halo Reach Daily Challenges & Commentary

Today’s challenges are listed below, click Read More to view the commentaries:

  1. Gunslinger – Kill 150 enemies in multiplayer Matchmaking – 2750 cR
  2. Hyper Lethal Vector – Kill 150 enemies with headshots in Firefight Matchmaking – 1125 cR
  3. Points Pyramid – Score 100,000 points on any Campaign mission – 3500 cR
  4. The Magic Number – Complete 7 games in multiplayer Matchmaking – 1350 cR

Commentary follows after the break…

Gunslinger – Kill 150 enemies in multiplayer Matchmaking – 2750 cR

We’ve only had a target of 150 a couple of times! Grifball as ever for high kill volumes. You can get 30, 40, 50 and more kills in a good game when you have your timing and eye in with the hammer. I imagine there are guys out there who will be able to get this challenge in one or two games. Halo Ball Extreme can be really good for this too.

Hyper Lethal Vector – Kill 150 enemies with headshots in Firefight Matchmaking – 1125 cR

Gruntpocalypse and 2x Score Attack are great ways of doing this, you should be looking to get a lot of headshots in a game (using DMR, Pistol, Needle Rifle or Sniper Rifle), as before especially if it’s on a simple map where you can line up the Grunts, like Corvette or Courtyard. If you get to a high number rather than doing a whole game again jump in Crashsite or Generator Defense and only defend until you have your total then give up the goal.

Points Pyramid – Score 100,000 points on any Campaign mission – 3500 cR

100,000 points? That’s new. But for this credit reward I’m happy with it. Long Night of Solace, Rally Point Alpha. You’ll be going into the space combat, with as many skulls on as you’re comfortable with. Last time I used Black Eye, Tough Luck, Catch, Cloud, Famine and Thunderstom. That gives you a 6.80 multiplier. After 8 minutes in the combat I had 45,000 points. Note that the Phantoms don’t give you points for destroying, so go after Banshees and Seraphs first. I played it on Normal, but the multiplier goes up depending on difficulty too. Just keep playing through and taking out ships and you’ll eventually get there. The alternative is again put lots of skulls on and play through the end of Pillar Of Autumn. Why you get to the MAC at the end just sit there taking out Phantoms for stacks and stacks of points.

The Magic Number – Complete 7 games in multiplayer Matchmaking – 1350 cR

This is just complete so you can play normally, esp for the challenge above. If you want quick game types, Infection and Grifball can be very very quick, so run through them a couple of times and you’re good.

There’s no formal Game Night tonight since we’re still on a come down from last week. However I’ll be on from 8pm UK time to play through some of the new and updated modes (details here), especially Grifball where there are a bunch of new game types added that I want to try out. So add me (Loreweaver) and join my party if you wanted to have a run through them. Once I’m bored I’ll probably hit up SWAT, Premium and Action Sack to check out the general changes.

27 Responses to 13th July – Halo Reach Daily Challenges & Commentary

  1. Anonymous says:

    easy dailys like always

  2. HC Sangheili says:

    Points Pyramid: I like New Alexandria with Many skulls as well.

    One thing I don’t remember is the co-op factor. Can it be done co-op with team scoring on to 100k or does it have to be free for all scoring and each person get 100k in points?

    If it is free for all scoring, co-op can still be used. Right after starting, fly to another rooftop and call for evac. After being transported to the next pad, 2 choppers are brought in. Just avoid the missions and grind out the sky MRDR.

    • gans42 says:

      I would assume it goes per player, not per team. and yeah i agree, new alexandria will prob be easiest considering there are unlimited banshees and phantoms

      • t-rOY (tROYnHI) says:

        Dang it! I should’ve read the RDC blog first. Anyways, I did mines on LNoS solo. I tried to do it with friends but the challenge only counts individual scores and there wasn’t enough Seraphs/Banshees for everyone to get the challenge. I had to do this a couple of times since I got impatient and killed most of the phantoms and caused the covie fighters to bail out on the Anchor 9 attack which left me a couple hundred points short.

        If my friends haven’t done it already, I’ll be sure to recommend N.A. Thanks guys.

    • Woody says:

      I was thinking New Alexandria as well for the pyramid challenge.

    • Matthew Vose says:

      I did wonder if NA would be better, but having tried it I’d still say LNOS. Although I died a few times which slowed me down, I got the points by the time I was told to take out the Corvette’s engines.

      • t-rOY (tROYnHI) says:

        late addition here, but I must say LNoS seems to be faster. I only got 30,000 points in 10 mins on N.A. vs 100,000 points in about 24 mins on LNoS (I worked on the challenge for my wife). Suffice to say, if this challenge comes around again I would suggest LNoS but advise people to concentrate on the Seraphs/Banshees as much as possible and be sure to finish off any kill that you start since the support ships will take down the Seraphs if they don’t have any shields AND you will NOT receive the points for it.

  3. Starmage008 says:

    I usually hit Long Night of Solace with LASO difficulty/skulls, but for 100,000 … ? Are there even enough enemies to easily reach that many points before you kill everything and are forced to board the cruiser?

    If not, I’m thinking New Alexandria is looking better with endless banshees.

    • Sean says:

      There is enough – I did it this morning on Heroic with everything but Iron and blind on starting at rally point alpha and the very last seraph before boarding put me over 100K. I did have a handful of double kills on banshees that helped out though

      Endless banshees on New Alexandria is a better guarantee but seems like it would take a while

  4. Marshy 40 says:

    I’ll definitely be on tonight for some SWAT and some of the new Grifball modes. Jackpots have been good lately in SWAT: got 3 x 3,000 cR yesterday over a span of 10 games.

    • Starmage008 says:

      Does 343i post updates about the new playlists like Bungie did? I see the new stuff listed under Active Playlists on Bungie’s site, but no update saying anything more about them.

      • Marshy 40 says:

        I did not know about them until Matthew pointed them out in the commentary above.

      • Starmage008 says:

        I didn’t read, obviously. Glad I didn’t ask about a Game Night.

      • matt says:

        “* Removed Hot Potato from Premium Battle”

        NOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO

  5. Woody says:

    Easy challenges with decent amount of cR return… I love it! Hopefully, I can join some of y’all while tacking the Gunslinger challenge or working towards getting to General Grade 4. Unfortunately, I’m working with a shorter time than Monday and Tuesday when it comes to play, since my girlfriend will be around today. I will be online around 3pm (CST) and will probably have 3 hours at best to work with. Oh… and hopefully there won’t be any server issues to keep me from joining others this time.

  6. Braythor says:

    Aw they’ve removed Rebirth, I liked that map…

    Interesting challenge day, will fire out the FF and campaign ones this afternoon then I’ll be jumping on tonight as well, so I’ll probably hop in with you Matthew for some Grifball (I like Grifball) and whatever else, except premium as don’t have Defiant, but I can go elsewhere at that point. Planning to hit Field Marshall today so should be around for a few hours, got ~65K to go.

  7. SlimEel94 says:

    It’s actually a decent mixed bag of challenges! No extremely hardcore-ness needed. That said, I will more than likely actually get them all done! Normally its seems like they’re aiming to get everyone in FF or MM for a day but I’m liking the system where I can flick between them without getting to angry about my embarrassing k/d spread.

  8. Mister X says:

    Where’s the jackpots?

    • xXMaster SoulXx says:

      On October 11th the credits sucked!

      More than a Handful
      Kill 77 enemies in multiplayer Matchmaking.

      750cR

      One Spartan Army
      Kill 100 enemies in Firefight Matchmaking.

      1000cR

      Roast ‘em, Toast ‘em
      Kill 10 enemies while jet-packing in Exodus on Normal.

      600cR

      The T.G. Opposition
      Kill 40 enemies in Firefight Matchmaking with the Shotgun.

      600cR

    • HC Sangheili says:

      Premium Slayer / Battle and The Arena are double jackpots (6k). Super jackpots list on Friday around 3pm EDT.

    • Shane says:

      As Marshy mentioned above, the jackpot information is listed on this page as well (which is really handy!). Scroll to the top of this page and then look in the right hand side panel.

  9. DisturbedDaddy says:

    love the new Grifball playlists (so far) – jet pack Grifball on new maps and Blargball playing as Elites! I think it will be harder to stay alive though as you have to worry about more dimensions than just in front and behind (below and above with jetpack)! but it’s fun!

  10. 'Cos says:

    @ woody (yesterday),

    My gt is ‘seventh dawg’ if you wanted to add me. Sorry i didn’t respond till now.

    Good luck all.

  11. 'Cos says:

    @ woody (yesterday),

    My gt is ‘seventh dawg’ if you wanted to add me. Sorry i didn’t respond till now.

    Good luck all…

  12. John Brown says:

    ONI: Sword Base is a pretty good level for getting a lot of points. I like to play it on Legendary, with all of the skulls except for Blind on, and proceed as follows:

    First, fight your way through to the Target Designator. This part can actually be fairly easy. Just trigger Kat’s advance, then hang out near to bridge section. Kat should eventually engage the Elites in hand-to-hand combat, which at some point will pop their shields. You can speed this process up by peppering the Elites with the Plasma Pistol. Once the shield pops, one head-shot will do it.

    Next, grab the Target Designator, and juggle it with a DMR out the door. Your other gun should be a Plasma Pistol. Destroy the Wraith on the left, then take out the Elite and Grunts that jog up from the left. This part can be tricky or easy, depending on what Kat does. If she heads up to the right, she’ll distract the second Wraith, leaving you free to mop up any surviving Grunts before taking out the Wraith gunner and boarding it. If she stays back and to the left, this could take awhile, and be quite difficult. Regardless, once the Elite and Grunts are all dead, kill the Wraith gunner and hijack the Wraith.

    Finally, head up to the right. Take out the Phantom that’s just hanging out. If you avoid going beyond the mid-point of the little pond, you shouldn’t have to worry about taking any damage. Every time you take out a Phantom, a new one will arrive. Just keep killing them until you hit the required number of points. The Phantoms should be worth close to 10,000 points each and take five or six hits. Or perhaps a few more?

    That’s all there is too it. There are probably some quicker, easier ways of doing it, but I like this one. I love when the Covenant comes at me in a Wraith, because I’m just like “Yeah, I think I’ll take that.” And then commence to [site decorum] kicking.

  13. Dogmeat says:

    Greetings all! I tried (unsuccessfully) doing some research first. Would someone here be able to enlighten me? I can’t seem to figure out what the difference in the mechanics is between grifball and halo ball extreme. I can’t seem to consistently get the timing down in HB extreme for hammer kills. There are times where the other person has no shields or health but manages to kill the enemy without dying (both slam their hammers at the same time). I hear an electrical popping noise every so often after surviving an encounter against someone. Sometimes I get triple kills or better just like in grifball. Other times, I cannot kill anyone even when I clearly have the advantage!! This happens in the same match. Another example is just after a spawn. I never seem to come out ahead the first 2-3 seconds after I spawn. However, the other player has no trouble immediately after he spawns. Is there some kind of bonus resistance for scoring points? Do you get “weakened” somehow if you just stopped sprinting? Please tell me it’s something besides the connection of the host. I completely own in grifball and adjust for the varying connection rates of the host with no problems. There is something else going in that I can’t figure out for the life of me. Thanks in advance for your help/suggestions!

Leave a Reply

