July 15th – Halo Reach Daily Challenges & Commentary

Today’s challenges are listed below, click Read More to view the commentaries:

  1. More than a Handful – Kill 25 enemies in multiplayer Matchmaking – 1000 cR
  2. Close Talking – Earn 20 kills with close quarters combat in multiplayer Matchmaking – 1000 cR
  3. Neuroscience – Kill 10 enemies with headshots in a multiplayer Matchmaking game – 1200 cR
  4. Explosive Ordnance Distribution – Earn 7 kills with ordnance weapons in a multiplayer Matchmaking game – 1400 cR

Commentary follows after the break…

More than a Handful – Kill 25 enemies in multiplayer Matchmaking – 1000 cR

Multi Team Battle is the best way to get lots and lots of kills, you tend to get more than any other mode. If you play Crazy King or Oddball you can get even more as some people who would shoot you go for the objective, and you can take them out. Seasoned Grifball players will also be able to get this in only a game or two, and if you can make an area in an Infection game defensible as a human you can rack up kills quickly. But lo0king at the other challenges you can pick this up naturally with them.

Close Talking – Earn 20 kills with close quarters combat in multiplayer Matchmaking – 1000 cR

Close quarters combat (aka CQC) kills include: melees, beat downs, assassinations, sword kills, shotguns, golf clubs, and hammers. I read this and automatically think either Grifball or Infection games. HaloBall Xtreme also is a good option for this since they’re all hammer kills.

Neuroscience – Kill 10 enemies with headshots in a multiplayer Matchmaking game – 1200 cR

Play on Team SWAT for this, where about 98.2% of kills should be headshots with one shot. Don’t forget if you shoot someone in the body you can still shoot them in the head for the headshot. Keep your reticule at head height as well.

Explosive Ordnance Distribution – Earn 7 kills with ordnance weapons in a multiplayer Matchmaking game – 1400 cR

EOD weapons include: Rocket Launcher, Grenade Launcher, Spartan Laser, Plasma Launcher, and the Concussion Rifle. The very best mode for this is now DinoBlasters, found in the Action Sack game types. You’re given a Concussion Rifle with an unlimited clip, so these kills should be really simple.

Low credit payout today, but really easy challenges that will probably only take you three games (SWAT, Grifball and Dinoblasters). Keep your eyes on the right hand information bar for the jackpot details when they’re announced later today.

42 Responses to July 15th – Halo Reach Daily Challenges & Commentary

  1. The Fired Goon says:

    You know I haven’t come here in a while as I finally got re-employed and don’t have nearly the Halo time I did. But I just noticed the Jackpot and Double Jackpot details things in your sidebar. Well done! I think the last time I was on here, it was to scour info on the current weekend jackpot through comment threads. I love having all this useful info so easily accessible.

  2. jussy117 says:

    “Low credit payout today, but really easy challenges that will probably only take you three games”

    Wow, you’re not wrong. Three games and done. Pity it was only 4.5k.

  3. gans42 says:

    vose i love your explanation on how to get headshots lol. and where did you get that 98.2% statistic? did you make it up? because 63.7% of all statistics are actually made up on the spot.

    on a more serious note, some other good games for the EOD challenge is boomball because you have unlimited grenades and its objective so people will be distracted. also splockets is good, just find a quiet corner to splaser any jet packers (just be sure to keep moving…the splaser isnt exactly a stealthy weapon lol)

    • Rocket CTF is my personal favorite. 🙂

      • gans42 says:

        thats only come up for me twice ever as an option, and i play a whole ton of action sack. otherwise i would have recommended it. also dont you have over shields in it?

      • Woody says:

        I’ve only seen Rocket CTF a few times and each time I see it, there are not enough votes to play. Sadly, I haven’t had the same joy of playing it like you, Snick.

      • Chris (Insanity Boy) says:

        Naturally, Snicks 😉

      • Pillar of Fire says:

        I also like Speed Flag on both small and big maps. Nothing like being able to use sprint and a shotgun while carrying the flag 🙂

        Other Favorites:
        Rocket CTF
        Shotty Snipers
        Shotgun Assault can be fun

  4. Project SHAVE says:

    Splockets on Asylum is great. I use camo and duck out behind the rocks and splocket jetpackers across the map. RED MENACE!

    • Woody says:

      I play Splockets for the very first the other day (which happened to be on the same map) and I loved it. I just wish I could run across it more often.

      • Project SHAVE says:

        It’s fun. For some reason, I’m a sucker for the Splaser. I’ve gotten a killtacular with it, on my way to a red menace with only 4 shots. I was pretty proud of myself I must say.

  5. Mister X says:

    What’s TBC?

    • Chris (Insanity Boy) says:

      To Be Confirmed 🙂

    • harrumph. depends who you ask. (this is an ongoing bone of contention.)

      • Matthew Vose says:

        *sigh* I knew you wouldn’t let that one go.

        If a single other person had replied when I polled on Twitter about it saying something other than confirmed then maybe I’d believe you, but at the moment it’s you against the world m’dear.

        And they’re my widgets so I say it’s to be confirmed :p

      • IT’S CONTINUED NOT CONFIRMED!!!!! 👿

      • Chris (Insanity Boy) says:

        The man has gotta point :p

        Looks like you’re outnumbered! :mrgreen:

      • Starmage008 says:

        To Be Certified? Corroborated? Circumstantiated? … :thesaurus:

      • Marshy 40 says:

        I’m so old (relatively) that I still think of tuberculosis when I see it.

      • Mitch says:

        I’ve always used TBC as to be continued. TBD is to be determined if what I’m referencing needs to be confirmed or revealed in the future. No mercy for the minority I guess.

      • Braythor says:

        1. I have always known it to mean ‘to be confirmed’. It may well have other meanings and interpretations, but they are secondary and as such, effectively wrong.

        2. Super jackpot is in Grifball

        I have spoken

        🙂

      • Woody says:

        Super jackpot in Grifball is very cool! Since my girlfriend likes grifball, I now have an excuse to play hours of grifball with her and possibly get the super jackpot.

        Oh, I’ve always used TBC for “to be continued”, but I have heard and seen some others refer to it as “to be confirmed”.

      • Niisama Broham says:

        TBC?

        Hmm, The Breakfast Club? The Burning Crusade?

        I always fancy the phrase “to be continued” as a phrase and not an abbreviation. 🙂

        Must be all the movies I’ve seen that have sequels; like Back to the Future.

        I’m going with “to be confirmed” as the phrase TBC is short for!

      • michael (DR HIGGLESTEIN) says:

        Myself i have always heard it was To Be Continued, but i guess its what ever you want it to be really.

      • John says:

        I’d say To Be Confirmed is what I think when I see TBC although I prefer TBD as an abbreviation for that purpose.

        John

      • t-rOY (tROYnHI) says:

        seems like a lot of people from the United States say “to be continued” while everyone else says “to be confirmed” Personally I’m from the 50th State and I see the abbreviation as ‘to be continued’

  6. Dogmeat says:

    Greetings all! I tried (unsuccessfully) doing some research first. Would someone here be able to enlighten me? I can’t seem to figure out what the difference in the mechanics is between grifball and halo ball extreme. I am unable to consistently get the timing down in HB extreme for hammer kills.

    There are times where the other person has no shields or health but manages to kill the enemy without dying (both slam their hammers at the same time). I hear an electrical popping noise every so often after surviving an encounter against someone. Sometimes I get triple kills or better just like in grifball. Other times, I cannot kill anyone even when I clearly have the advantage!! This happens in the same match. Another example is just after a spawn. I never seem to come out ahead the first 2-3 seconds after I spawn. However, the other player has no trouble immediately after he/she spawns. Is there some kind of bonus resistance for scoring points? Do you get “weakened” somehow if you just stopped sprinting?

    Please tell me it’s something besides the connection of the host. I completely own in grifball and adjust for the varying connection rates of the host with no problems. There is something else going on that I can’t figure out for the life of me. Thanks in advance for your help/suggestions!

    NOTE: My apologies for reposting this question. Apparently, I submitted it too late a few days ago for anyone to see.

    • t-rOY (tROYnHI) says:

      sorry no ideas from me. I hardly play HaloBall so its tough to come up with any other explanation than “it must be the host”. Grifball can get glitchy too. I’ve experienced a phenomenon where a bomb carrier will get taken down to no-shields and no-health but still remains alive.

  7. HC Sangheili says:

    Weekend jackpot 15K – scroll for Jeremiah’s confirmation: http://www.bungie.net/Forums/posts.aspx?postID=63164330

    TBC is now TBPAAIGM: To Be Presented As An In Game Message 😛

    • SlimEel94 says:

      Now that seems fair. Itleast there cannot be arguments about what that means. Although I think even that may amount to a bit of ‘misinterpretation’ along the way. Can’t think what for but it was happen.

  8. 'Cos says:

    @ ‘Tacos’

    I will be on by midnight, possibly earlier. Gotta work. Going on now to try challenges for the day before work, so we can concentrate on the weekly. Do me, and yourself, a favor and sometime beforehand and give a watch to the tyrant video in the link below. We will pretty much be following this path, as this is how i did it solo. Also, do you have a headset? It would help our communication, for sure. Anyways, looking forward to the ‘challenge’, and will hit you up when i get home and settled. So send me that friend request. Have a good night all, gaming or not…

    – seventh dawg

    @ ‘tacos’…that link : http://halo.bungie.org/gameplay/reach_mythic/ex.html

  9. Woody says:

    Pillar of Fire just reminded me to ask the following question when he mentioned Shotty Sniper. I’m curious, what sensitivity speed does everyone use? I use default (3) for the most part, but on occasions I may move it up to four, but only when playing grifball.

    • 'Cos says:

      Because i snipe, i use the sensitivity of 7, sometimes 8. Have used a 7 since Halo CE. A higher sensitivity is also best for close quarters combat. Woody, changing your setting to a higher sensitivity might help in your headshot quest. I am not going to get into it now, but there is a ‘glitch’ for headshots when you are using a high sensitivity. Been that way since Halo, too. It might take a while to get used to (isn’t anything?), but making the switch would be very beneficial to your game overall. That is if you care enough. Just thought i would add my thoughts on this.

      • mitch says:

        The headshot glitch reminds of that silly movie “Wanted.” The assassins could direct their bullets by making a throwing motion with their arm and simultaneously pulling the trigger. It happens quite often in SWAT. I feel a little guilty about getting the kill but not that guilty.

      • Woody says:

        I will just have to slowly work my way to 7 or 8. I may have to move up every other day at a time.

    • Pillar of Fire says:

      I use default for pretty much all weapons including Sniper Rifles. Only when its a Splockets game, i like to slow it down a bit by one. I personally was way better with the Halo 3 Spartan Laser, I feel like the reticle moves around too much in Reach.

      By the way I can second what ‘Cos says, my buddy is Sniper and he uses 8 all the time. I dont know how he does it I personally find it to move around way too much. But hey what do i know im a driver(Warthog/Hornet/Banshee…..anything that has wheels or wings lol). He told me about it a while ago but I never really used it.

    • John says:

      I use 5 as I find 3 is too slow to flick round and anything above 5 is a bit quick. I guess if I spent longer on the control pad I could go faster but I find going between the PC and the control pad wrecks my precision on the control pad as Snicks will verify after a particularly grumpy night the other week on an RDC game night.

      John

    • CallUpChuck says:

      I use 6, but I was up at 8 back in Halo 2. Just because your sensitivity is higher, doesn’t mean your sniper skills are better. I know of pro-players using 3 (default) or 4 and still doing well. It’s where you shoot the stick that matters rather than how quickly you wiggle your stick (apologies for the innuendo).

      But when it comes to CQC, high sensitivities are much better. I’ve been in situations where I ran laps around an opponent while he was trying to turn to target me.

    • SensoryFour34 says:

      It just depends on what you’re used to. I’ve had mine set to 10 since I started playing. It seems fast at first, but you get used to it pretty fast, and it can be a huge advantage sometimes.

    • Attyred says:

      7 always. But reading this- I might knock it down and see if that.makes things easier.

Leave a Reply

