17th July – Halo Reach Daily Challenges & Commentary

Today’s challenges are listed below, click Read More to view the commentaries:

  1. Shootin’ and Lootin’ – Kill 250 enemies in any game mode in Reach – 1875 cR
  2. Cannon Fodder – Kill 50 infantry-class foes in the Campaign today – 1000 cR
  3. Hyper Lethal Vector – Kill 150 enemies with headshots in Firefight Matchmaking – 1125 cR
  4. …Got A Triple Double – Earn 3 Double Kills in the same match in Multiplayer Matchmaking – 1500 cR

Commentary follows after the break…

Shootin’ and Lootin’ – Kill 250 enemies in any game mode in Reach – 1875 cR

You’ve got a few choices for doing this really easily and quickly if you don’t get it in the other challenges…

  • Forge – make a game with players spawning in one spot and camp it
  • Firefight – Download my Firefight Invincible game type on my File Share, lots of Elites, lots of medals, lots of kills
  • ONI: Sword Base – Use the Target Designator trick (run past everyone at the beginning, grab it, turn around, fire, wait for the killing to stop and restart the checkpoint)
  • Package – There are points where you can get a checkpoint just before a number of Grunts appear in the final battle, so you can gun them down and restart

Cannon Fodder – Kill 50 infantry-class foes in the Campaign today – 1000 cR

Winter Contingency should give you over 50, assuming you clear out all areas when in the truck, and take out the Grunts when defending marines, and die having taken out all enemies in the courtyard at the start of Rally Point Bravo and do it twice. I think Tip of the Spear will give you enough infantry enemies through the whole mission, but it is a long mission that has a lot of potential for death and delay. Your other option is either the checkpoint respawn in the end of The Package, and use the Target Designator on ONI Sword Base – run straight to where it is, ignoring all enemies, grab it, turn around and blast the grunts. Then respawn to the checkpoint or restart mission to do it again.

Hyper Lethal Vector – Kill 150 enemies with headshots in Firefight Matchmaking – 1125 cR

Gruntpocalypse and 2x Score Attack are great ways of doing this, you should be looking to get a lot of headshots in a game (using DMR, Pistol, Needle Rifle or Sniper Rifle), as before especially if it’s on a simple map where you can line up the Grunts, like Corvette or Courtyard. If you get to a high number rather than doing a whole game again jump in Crashsite or Generator Defense and only defend until you have your total then give up the goal.

…Got A Triple Double – Earn 3 Double Kills in the same match in Multiplayer Matchmaking – 1500 cR

Here I always recommend Grifball if you have your eye in, or Team SWAT, particularly somewhere like Sword Base. If you’re looking for alternatives, Multi Team is good, particularly Crazy King or Oddball so the round goes on longer and you can take out guys going for the objective.

22 Responses to 17th July – Halo Reach Daily Challenges & Commentary

  1. Sir Galahad 63 says:

    Easy challenges, but sadly, they won’t be completed by me 😦 I have to study for school and so my dad has, uh, abducted my Xbox, to a place I am not familiar… So no Reach for me for a few months… 😦
    But I will continue to survey and comment on RDC regardless 😀

    Oh and I hit General on the the weekend!!

    • SlimEel94 says:

      MONTHS!!
      I am so sorry to hear that, and I am being genuine. If it wasn’t for me buying Sims for the girlfriend mine would have probably been abducted months ago.
      Hopefully, by the time you get it back I might be the same Rank as you though!
      Good luck with the studying though.

      • Brook Harris says:

        Dude You Have a Girlfriend and Your Parents are still Abducting Your Personal Belongings-lol 🙂

  2. gans42 says:

    for the triple double i’d recommend grifball and only grifball because of the potential of receiving the 15k super jackpot. i will prob be on at 3 in the afternoon (GMT -5/6…i forget, whichever is east coast america)

  3. CrestOfFire says:

    Has anyone else noticed how the cR rewards are going up? They used to be 600, but now they’re 1000-1875?

    • Woody says:

      To my knowledge it been at 1000 cR and above for a long while. Though, I read someone’s post about cR being 600. I’ve never seen it that low, so I’m guessing that was before I bought the game last October.

      • t-rOY (tROYnHI) says:

        I had the game from a day or so after it came out, but I don’t remember the Cr awards being that low in the beginning. I guess it didn’t matter as much to me before because so many things in my armory were still locked. Glad they upped the minimum to 1000 Crs.

        Of topic, but I hope your gf is doing better Woody. My wife has had some trouble with kidney stones too. The last one required surgery and recovery at home. To this day any mention of kidney stones still scares me.

      • Woody says:

        My girlfriend is doing better, t-rOY. Thanks! I’ve never had kidney stones (*knocking on wood), but I’ve heard many horror stories about them and it makes me cringe everytime I hear something about them.

  4. SnuK evoX says:

    They have really been pushing grifball lately

  5. michael (DR HIGGLESTEIN) says:

    My son hit the 15,000 Cr jackpot in Grifball again this morning on his 2nd game, so thats awesome. 🙂

    • Woody says:

      Your son is racking up on those jackpots, I see. I wish I was that lucky. It took me over 15 games before I saw a jackpot, Friday. I may have an hour or two of playing, so hopefully I can get lucky and get at least one jackpot in.

    • t-rOY (tROYnHI) says:

      wow your son is pretty lucky. I got jackpots during the Bungie Day week, but I haven’t gotten it in Grifball yet. However, we played mostly Action Sack to try to get games completed challenge yesterday. Splockets and shotty sniper games were really fast, and came up as options quite often. Unfortunately due to ‘life’ obligations (a.k.a. working, taking care of family, and hanging out with friends outside of xbox) we couldn’t get that one done. Saw ur post yesterday about your distance to Eclipse. Can’t believe you’re already that close. I thought you and your son only hit Noble a couple weeks ago. I’m still around 350,000 Crs away.

      • michael (DR HIGGLESTEIN) says:

        Yeah since Grifball games go pretty fast we have been playing it alot everyday just to get the jackpot. We only have 75,953 Cr. to go to get ranked up. I know it has been asked before but can you get the big jackpot more than once a day? Because usually after we get it we play something else.

      • t-rOY (tROYnHI) says:

        Not sure what the amount for big jackpot is but I got 30,000 twice in the matter of 5 games on the first day of Bungie Day Week.

      • gans42 says:

        i played 26 games of grifball today and i didnt get the 15k, my biggest was 3k (and only once which was disappointing). and to answer your question michael, you can only get the super jackpot once a day.
        and t-roy, the 30k was special for the week leading up to bungie day

  6. SlimEel94 says:

    I still haven’t managed to complete any LASO challange! If anyone would like to help me attempt it (and hopefully not carry me all the way through) I will probably be on from about 21:30 (BST) until about whenever.
    If not I may just cry and hope that the Halo Gods show mercy on me.

    • t-rOY (tROYnHI) says:

      only LASO I’ve completed was Nightfall but thats because I found someone online that knew about the gate glitch. I don’t think I’ll do Exodus since it’s just too hard for me, even in co-op.

    • gans42 says:

      damn sorry i only saw this now. i did the laso challenge on monday, but would have been willing to help. if there is ever another laso challenge hit me up for it, ill prob be willing (though earlier in the week rather than later because if i can avoid doing 2 runs id prefer that)

  7. 'Cos says:

    Hello all,

    @ woody : Hope all is well with you and yours!

    @ Dr. Higglestein : I wish i were that lucky. Have played about 50 games of grifball since Friday…with no luck as of yet. Oh well, tis the day i’m having.

    By the way, in a related question : Anyone know when the superjackpot gets reset each night/morning? I know the challenges get reset at 6 am, but what about jackpots? Say someone has plated 15 games of griffball till 3 am. Then another 10 games after 3am. My point? If it gets reset at 3am, said person has missed their chance for the one day, and anything after 3 am goes toward the jackpot for the ‘new’ day? Please…anyone? This may be why i have not recieved the jackpots this week or last. Thanks in advance.

    Happy Haloing to all…

    – seventh dawg

    • Woody says:

      Hey ‘Cos! Everything is fine. My girlfriend is doing better, especially compared to Friday night. She has to stay overnight again, but should be able to go home tomorrow. I’m at home, taking this very opportunity to do some needed stuff around the house and get in a an hour or two of Halo.

      Anyway, as for the jackpot resetting, I don’t know for certain, but I would have guessed it resets at the same time that the challenges reset. Like i said, it’s a guess and I’m hoping someone can confirm this.

      • Scruff UK says:

        This may be too late for you to see, but the Jackpots reset at midnight PST – not 3am PST when the challenges reset.

  8. 'Cos says:

    Thanks for responding woody! I am glad to hear things are getting back to ‘normal’ for you both, or at least soon will be. Good luck, and i’ll see you online sometime soon.

Leave a Reply

