18th July – Halo Reach Daily Challenges & Commentary

Today’s challenges are listed below, click Read More to view the commentaries:

  1. Blastin’ and Relaxin’ – Kill 180 enemies in any game mode in Reach – 1350 cR
  2. Came From Behind – Perform 2 Assassinations in a multiplayer Matchmaking game – 1100 cR
  3. Blast Radius – Kill 75 enemies in Firefight Matchmaking with grenades – 1250 cR
  4. Mostly at Night – Complete Nightfall on Legendary without dying – 1700 cR

Commentary follows after the break…

Blastin’ and Relaxin’ – Kill 180 enemies in any game mode in Reach – 1350 cR

You’ve got a few choices for doing this really easily and quickly (although your other challenges will get you a good way there)…

  • Forge – make a game with players spawning in one spot and camp it
  • Firefight – Download my Firefight Invincible game type on my File Share, lots of Elites, lots of medals, lots of kills
  • ONI: Sword Base – Use the Target Designator trick (run past everyone at the beginning, grab it, turn around, fire, wait for the killing to stop and restart the checkpoint)
  • Package – There are points where you can get a checkpoint just before a number of Grunts appear in the final battle, so you can gun them down and restart

Came From Behind – Perform 2 Assassinations in a multiplayer Matchmaking game – 1100 cR

Not too difficult, easy methods are just to hide around a corner in Sword Base or somewhere and jump guys as they go past. If you’re lucky you’ll find someone who’s AFK and you can hunt them down during the match.  It’s cheap but knowing spawn points can help you in regular multiplayer games – the rocks in Asylum for instance, or favourite camping positions like the lofts in Cage and Pinnacle or the lift in Reflection. HaloBall Extreme is great for assassinations since you have a big map you’re running around like crazy people on! Another good tactic is Sniper and DMR game types, since people can’t see their motion trackers when zoomed in you might be able to sneak up on them. Don’t forget that reloading and sprinting make noise so people know you’re there. Anyone who has watched the Halo Reach Mythbusters series will know that assassinating someone on a moving platform, and sometimes on unusual terrain, does not trigger the animation but counts, so that could be useful (I know I’ve been assassinated on the ramp on Pinnacle but the animation didn’t play).

Blast Radius – Kill 75 enemies in Firefight Matchmaking with grenades – 1250 cR

Several strategies for you here – Gruntpocalypse on Corvette and throw grenades at the Grunt spawn rooms (particularly those to the left and right of the ramps opposite your spawn room), then when you get grenades from the Grunts you kill use grenades when they come into the pinch point corridors. Or play Firefight on Courtyard, run to the left out of the spawn room and from the terrace you can usually get up to 5 or 6 dudes with grenades when they’re dropped off. Or play Nadefight where you get lots of grenades when you spawn. Or play 2X Score Attack and use grenades to bomb the spawn/dropship points when a load of guys are dropped off.

Mostly at Night – Complete Nightfall on Legendary without dying – 1700 cR

Your best tip for this is to see the LASO commentary for Nightfall, particularly Tyrant’s guide to doing it in Mythic. This will give you all the tricks needed to speed run Nightfall in about 10 mins and make it really really easy. Remember if you die then you should instantly hit save and quit then resume mission to come back in alive and undying at your last checkpoint.

Do you want to know how to get notifications of these challenge commentaries? Well it’s easy… you can follow me on Twitter, join the Facebook group or just subscribe to the site using the email option on the right to receive the challenges and a link to the commentary straight into your inbox.

34 Responses to 18th July – Halo Reach Daily Challenges & Commentary

  1. Grenada44 says:

    They mostly come at night… Mostly.

  2. MadAmericanTacos says:

    75 with grenades… This might take a few games cause I always run out of patience with this one and switch to something that is more efficient.

    I wanna give a special shout out to ‘Cos (Seventh Dawg) who met up with me at mid-night on Friday to work through the weekly LASO. While we didn’t get through the whole thing, thanks largley to a very uncooporative brute I had a great time and if you ever need help with anything let me know!

    • 'Cos says:

      Hello everyone…

      Some easy challenges today…just wish the payouts were better! See y’all online in a bit!

      @ ‘Tacos’ : Right back to you, buddy. Wish we were able to get through it so you could get your points. I will ALWAYS help you out. You are a good wingman, indeed. Thanks for the mutual respect. Good luck, and we will game again soon. GameNight?

      – seventh dawg

  3. gans42 says:

    guys i was looking at possibly buying a 4th controller, and i stumbled across this fantastic deal (usa only i believe though, sorry), so i figured i could share it with the community. and sorry i posted it here…didnt know where else to post it

    http://www.walmart.com/ip/Xbox-360-Black-Wireless-Controller-w-12-Month-Live-Card/17048186

    • Jeremy says:

      This is a really good deal. I just got the silver wireless controller pack it is a great deal

      • Jeremy says:

        forgot to say that I also love this website and I’m new here but always check this site for the challenges

  4. HC Sangheili says:

    I’ve ran through Nightfall a bazillion-blam!- times, on all difficulties. This morning was different though. A dozen attempts, and just before the large dog things, when you have to sprint (either to the left or up the stairs on the right), I’ve been taken out each time.

    What am I doing differently?

    • JustHawkeye says:

      I’ve had the same problem. I died so many times. When did the focus rifle jetpacking elites start flying over and help kill you at the watertower house area?!?!

      I call this challeneg mostly annoying since Jun is a complete waste of space. I think they made it harder or the covenant more aware or something. i didn’t have this much trouble on the laso. I can say that the forklift glitch still works, it’s just getting past that first area is a major pain in the butt.

      • Shane says:

        I think they always have – you just need to get through the watertower quickly. I remember doing this on LASO (minus blind) with a buddy for the weekly and we must have spent 30 minutes in the watertower area taking out the elites from both areas until it was safe enough to sprint by.

        And yeah, Jun’s a tool.

    • Braythor says:

      I’ve had issues with that bit before. A couple of things I’ve noticed are that the enemies aren’t always spawned in the same spot and so sometimes it’s easier for them to group together and attack, and also if the elites from the previous section spot you (which they almost always do) they will give chase and follow you through. The checkpoint can exacerbate that problem, and more than once I’ve had to restart the level because of it.

      • FOREMILES says:

        I’ve had the same issue – saved and restarted only to have a bunch of elites follow. Restarting the mission seemed to resolve this problem. If I go through it tonight and die, I will just restart.

        Also, can you complete the mission in co-op, or must it be done solo?

      • t-rOY (tROYnHI) says:

        Challenge was active when my friends and I tried to do it in co-op last nite. Unfortunately Elites were more difficult to pass, so we couldn’t get it in co-op. I did it solo from a previously saved game though =)

      • JustHawkeye says:

        This was a booger of a challenge and took longer than the other challenges. Getting through that first section was very difficult anf the elites were very agressive and aware. I did it in coop and it works fine. Just make sure that if you die, you end the game (go to campaign lobby) and restart it or else your challnege won’t be active when the mission just restarts.

        My best advice for coop is to let one person run through the first section and spawn you forward (be prepared to run once you spawn that first time). Only have one person near the gate doing the forklift glitch or else you have problems of reglitching across the gate and enemies spawning. You can hang out in the caves where you spawn by the disapearing moa with no problems. The person that glitches can run to the end by themselves, but everyone gets completion for the challeneg providing you didn’t die.

      • HC Sangheili says:

        Thanks lady and gents. I’ll try some additional patience 😉

      • HC Sangheili says:

        I’m reminded of a song… believe its by guns n roses, simply titled Patience.

        After snaking around the building, where you can go left or right out of the door, I was simply not allowing enough seconds for Jun to engage and distract them for a moment.

        Thanks all.

      • Scruff UK says:

        I’m 99% sure that Nightfall is now way more difficult than it used to be, particularly on Legendary. I used Nightfall for that last Campaign weekly we had and I had real struggles with it, especially in that part before the Guta.

        Patience and clever use of Jun is your best bet. Also there’s a shotgun just before you have to charge across the open area into the next building, it can be a good idea to swap your pistol for it just in case an Elite has decided to stay and hang out on the stairs.

    • Woody says:

      Goodness… I just gave the Nightfall challenge a go and got hammered. I don’t know why it seems different from any other time that I’ve played. I even tried changing my strategy, like using the hologram, hoping it would draw the elites toward it during the first section. It worked, but when I got to those two huge monsters, I was thinking there’s no way I can outrun them, but perhaps the hologram trick would work again. It worked on the first monster, but the second one didn’t fall for it and took me out with one hit.

      • 'Cos says:

        …try, try, and try again. Then try a bit more, my friend. You’ll get it! Need some help? Let me know, i see you are online…

        For the record, i personally believe RUN is the only way to go on Nightfall. Good luck.

      • Woody says:

        Okay, I just completed the challenge. I had to use the hologram though and this time when I got to the monsters, I simply unloaded sniper shots into both of them, before they could rush me.

  5. SensoryFour34 says:

    This is kinda off topic, but how do you get the you ate all the chips achievement because I’ve discovered you can get it in a custom game if you download the gametype from your temporary history. I’m sure this works because I got candy from a baby with it, but I just can’t get the other one. It’s the only achievement I have left too.

    • JustHawkeye says:

      You can do all the defiant achievements in custom games as you described, but noble achievements must be done in matchmaking. You ate all the chips is a noble achievement (I think) and thus has to be done in matchingmaking. Try getting 8 friends together and go for stockpile in either objective or swat playlists.

    • Matthew Vose says:

      JH is right, you have to do it in matchmaking. It’s the only achievement I need too – perhaps we should try and get a group of 8 together to do some Action Sack for Speedpile or SWAT for SWATpile (I’ve seen Speedpile a lot more btw).

      The only thing that has pure Stockpile anymore is BTB, so you’d need 16 to guarantee it. AS or SWAT will be much easier I reckon.

      • 'Cos says:

        I have the achievement, yet i will play/help others get it if anyone starts a ‘party’ for this. Let me know. Always willing to help others.

      • SensoryFour34 says:

        Okay. That makes as much sense as anything else, I guess. We’ll have to try for a group of 8, but it’ll have to be sometime next week because I’m gonna be gone for most of the week, so I won’t be playing Reach much this week. (I also never knew there was such thing as SWATpile since I don’t play SWAT much and I’ve never seen it.) Thanks for the help anyway.

  6. 'Cos says:

    By the way, calling on ‘snickerdoodle’,

    I played a game this morning against a player with the gamertag ‘snickerdoodle02’. That you? any relation? Or merely an admirer of the name? Made me laugh for a minute, is all.

  7. DUMJOO says:

    FYI don’t need to save and quit immediately, you can just save and quit after the last checkpoint and then resume play and that will count.

  8. Cash says:

    Tip for getting vehicle kills in Firefight: Get a turret and kill enemies with it, it does count toward the vehicle kills commendation. It is way easier and faster than using a warthog or ghost. There’s like 3 of them on Unearthed.

  9. biodrumr says:

    bungie amped up Nightfall a few weeks back. I mentioned it in a daily then, but no one seemed to believe me. As someone who has speed run it far too many times, I noticed it right away.

    I’ll occasionally get focus rifled by one of the jetpacking elites right off the start, and then the sprinting grind after that has hammered me far too many times to count.

    it seems as though the tips in here are right though, typically if you don’t hesitate and just sprint sprint sprint, you’ll have better luck. typically.

    Once you get past that sprint section before the Rancors, the rest is a cakewalk though.

    • Tom says:

      Yep, you’re right. The first two sections of Nightfall are now a damn sight harder than before. Haven’t got past them yet, hopefully I’ll have the patience to get it done before the end of the day instead of just rage-quitting on the challenge.

  10. clutch1965 says:

    obvious tip, but attemped in ff. the grenade launcher does not count as grenades. Getting past the blam blam blam elites with focus rifles was a real treat today.

Leave a Reply

