Halo Reach Weekly Challenge & Commentary – w/c 18th July

This week’s challenge is below, click Read More to view the commentary:

Like a Record, Baby – Complete 75 Rounds in Firefight Matchmaking – 8000 cR

Commentary follows after the break…

You spin me right round, baby right round
Like a record, baby right round round round

So anyway, unlike previous challenges to complete X waves, this is 75 rounds.

What’s a round? Well dear reader, a Round is 5 waves. So every game of Score Attack (ie Gruntpocalypse, 2x Score Attack etc) is 1 round.

Firefight Arcade is 3 rounds – the three increasingly difficult sequences comprising 5 waves, plus the bonus round.

Admittedly I’ve not checked that the bonus round is included, but come on, it’s called Bonus Round, so if it’s not then I cry foul! Gah. Turns out the Bonus Round doesn’t count. So 20 mins for 3 rounds in FFA, 7-10 mins for 1 round in Score Attack.

If you want to do this as speedily as possible you want to get into Firefight Arcade and get through all the rounds. Not always the easiest, especially if you get stuck with a horrible map (Waterfront anyone?) and you run out of time. Some variants you’ll find easier than others, if you’ve not spent much time in FFA then try out some to see what you prefer, or even work on commendations – I’m going into Beachhead every chance I get to use the Warthog and Ghost so I can increase the vehicle commendation.

If you want the slightly simpler route just keep going through Score Attack. It might end up taking 3 or more hours longer, but those game types are fairly easily to knock out in 10 minutes.

However my main advice is DO NOT DO THIS STRAIGHT AWAY. Almost every Thursday is Firefight challenges, plus there are always some scattered elsewhere during the week (there’s even one today). So perhaps do 3 or 4 games of FFA each day if you can so you’ve not got many left by the weekend, then clear them up whilst going for other challenges.

Do you want to know how to get notifications of these challenge commentaries? Well it’s easy… you can follow me on Twitter, join the Facebook group or just subscribe to the site using the email option on the right to receive the challenges and a link to the commentary straight into your inbox.

43 Responses to Halo Reach Weekly Challenge & Commentary – w/c 18th July

  1. Braythor says:

    Fantastic, another Firefight weekly! Oh the joy. And it’ll take a little longer than the wave based ones, which only adds to the pleasure. I too am going through a phase of focusing on vehicle kills, I love storming around Beachhead on the ghost, there’s something extremely satisfying about ploughing through a group of freshly spawned covvies before they’ve a chance to leap out of the way. The fun’ll have to wait though: got yet another interview tomorrow…if I don’t get a job out of all this I’m going to kick something small, furry and cute.

    • MadAmericanTacos says:

      This is what about 25 games depending on wether or not the bonus round couts? Not bad for a weeks work, plus all the cR you are going to rack up along the way will total up to a nice payout. Cant wait to get started on this one!

      • robotperson says:

        I totally agree about racking up credit in the process.

        I’d love to see actual figures on average credit yields versus minutes of play for each game type, but I’d instinctively say that Firefight Arcade is the most efficient.

        I can get 4-5k in a good game so my time is usually more efficiently spent in FF than doing the weekly. This week is a double win.

        What does everyone else think is the fastest way to earn Cr?

      • MadAmericanTacos says:

        Hands down (aside from hitting a super jackpot) the fastest that I have found has got to be fire fight. Between the game completion payout and total commendations you can rake in the cR a lot faster than any other mode. I played one game this morning before work and ended up with about 4k for the game and 2500k for a commendation.

      • Woody says:

        @robotperson: Personally, I think firefight gives more credits than any other mode, which is why I play it so much. I can’t recall getting anything under 1000 total cR per game. I usually average 1500 per game. I’ve played several back-to-back FF doubles and easily earned over 3000 cR in each. It seems when I’m playing any kind of multiplayer match, I rarely reach 1000 cR. Maybe one out of every five MM games I would get between 1000-1200 cR.

  2. Jez WarriorPoet says:

    Seems like it would take a while. I get kinda confused about the whole waves/rounds/set thing. But 75 rounds would take 75 games of score attack wouldn’t it?

    • Woody says:

      Yes, that’s 75 score attack games, if you’re doing it solo. You can possibly drop it down to 25 games with you’re playing with someone else in arcade version, but the time limit is a little longer per game.

    • gans42 says:

      if you play in the score attack playlist itll be 75 games (1 round per game), if you play in the firefigh arcade playlist itll be 25 (3 rounds per game)

    • Marshy 40 says:

      Correct. That’s why FF Arcade can be a better option: you get 3 (or 4) rounds, and if you get a good group (i.e. no AFK-ers), you can complete that in the same amount of time as score attack. On the other hand, if you’re targeting specific commendations, then score attack makes that easier.

  3. Woody says:

    This challenge is a little grinder, but I will definitely get it done. Personally, I like firefight and thankfully the kids love it as well, so they can help me.

  4. mickoboy90 says:

    a firefight challenge..awesome..shouldnt take long if you get good friends play arcade fight with you..once i remember playing a full arcade fight game in about 5 mins i think 🙂

    but this challenges is like millions times better than stupid LASO challenges.. i hope we wont see them again.

    • SlimEel94 says:

      Amen to that!! I hate LASO challenges! So to avoid bitter disappointment last night I went in Arena and managed to get about 20k from 3 or 4 consecutive games. Which was not only more fun but enjoyed attacking things that actually die!

    • John Brown says:

      I really like the LASO challenges. I have a lot of fun with those, the difficulty is not too bad in most sections, particularly if you follow the “Mythic” guide. Though I do agree that Firefight challenges are awesome. Firefight is my favorite game-mode in Reach.

  5. Sean says:

    A nice grind of a weekly for sure but the payout is a bit weak. the 150 Waves challenge paid out 12000 cR for basically 30 rounds

    • Woody says:

      Hmmm…. now that you mentioned about the wave challenge, this weekly does have a low payout. Well, I guess it will still get done, because I like firefight anyway.

    • OMGBBQWTFLOL says:

      FF Thursday will be the saving grace I hope. 8000 is definitely a low payout, but I’d like to predict each one of thursdays challenges with be worth a few thousand as well adding up to a nice sum that day.

      Any confirmation on bonus round counting yet? I’m at work and won’t have a chance to play until later.

  6. Marshy 40 says:

    Matthew, you’ll have to cry foul — just did an FF arcade, and the bonus round did not count.

    • Shobaleader One says:

      I’ve had a few games of arcade and they didn’t count for me either – so 25 games of arcade and the challenge will be done

  7. HC Sangheili says:

    What an easy weekly, but a real weekly, as it will take the minutes to grind out. Decent payout for most, not necessarily us higher Ranks, but if I do the quick math: 6500cR (game complete and slot) X 25 FF Arcade = 162500cR, or 2100cR (game complete and slot) X 75 Score Attack = 157500cR.

    Imagine what 8000 looks like to the ranks that get 800-1000 cR per game.

  8. Mister Shhhhhhh says:

    If my calculations are correct I can bump up 4 commendations doing this. Small arms, automatic, grenades and perfection. Git ‘er done!

  9. Ted says:

    Cool. Firefight is my favorite. Shouldn’t be a problem averaging 3 or 4 FF Arcade games per day across the week and going nuts on Firefight Thursday. Looking forward to boosting commendations and rank too.

    Matthew, you mentioned upping your vehicle commendation. It is definitely a blast wreaking havoc with a ghost or warthog on FF. Have you tried jacking a wraith and blasting covies en masse? I managed to jack one last week, and then quickly plowed a bunch of grunts and jackals and boosted down to the far end of Glacier where the wraith cannon was effective at taking out covies from a distance (and where they can’t ruin your fun with plasma grenades etc.). All kills with the wraith counted towards the vehicle commendation. Did this in FF Doubles Arcadefight with a friend. Good luck pulling this off with a bunch of randoms though.

    • plstubblefield says:

      I actually pulled off the same thing in a FF Limited game yesterday. It was a blast mowing down Covies with the cannon! Unfortunately, I didn’t have enough brains to avoid the drop ships, and a Phantom managed to take me out with several hits before I was able to target his nose gun. Next time, I’ll be more careful where I am when the Phantoms arrive! 😉

  10. Scruff UK says:

    FF eh? How handy – this week would’ve been a bad one for Dedication/Time since I’m not home until Wednesday. Greetings from Miami, btw. 😀

    As for vehicles – I love going on splatter sprees in the Ghost on Beachhead. I do not love that someone on my team in FF Arcade ALWAYS blows up any vehicle I try and drive though. Last time that happened, I spent the entire rest of the game following the guy who did it and making life difficult for him. 😉

    • 'Cos says:

      Scruff, that’s hilarious. I do the same thing with someone who betrays me for a particular weapon…usually the sniper. Happens all the time. Make them betray you again, boot them, and then coordinate a ‘avoid this player’ reputation. I can’t stand immature players and/or people who get ugly when they don’t get their way. Respect! Anyways,Scruff, i’m glad i’m not the only one who has this reaction…

      • Pete S. says:

        Last I looked there is no betrayal in FF so you either have to leave the game or follow Scruff’s advice and declare war on the other player. Is there away to set up matchmaking to so you don’t have to play with players who have been rated with “avoid this player”?

    • OMGBBQWTFLOL says:

      I was playing the other day and two guys were in the warthog and proceeded to splatter me (I was doing some close range pistoling and they came from half the map away shooting rockets and then rammed me) so when I respawned I blew up their warthog and they both proceeded to chase me around firing fuel rods and trying to stop me from sniping well. I have no problem with vehicle play, but a completely non accidental betrayal was grounds for revenge.

  11. Cash says:

    Just a little tip for getting the vehicle kills commendation in firefight: Pick up a turret and kill the enemies with it. It counts toward vehicle kills and goes way faster than using the warhog or ghost. And theres like 3 of them on Unearthed.

    • Dave Yaroch says:

      Good tip, I’ll give it a try tommorow. I’m a total FF junkie, mostly because I get my A&& handed to me in MM. I wish they would give some love to FF with the weekend extra slot machine payouts

      • Pete S. says:

        Same for me Dave. Spend most of my time in scoreattack or playing doubles FF or in Campaign. Wish I could take my killing skills from FF to MM but I spend most of my time getting assassinated. BTB is about the only MM I will play.

  12. Scrote says:

    This would have been enjoyable if they hadn’t turned Arcade into FRGfight. They should have gone for a week of using skill weapons, too. Or even better, nothing but Fiestafight to mix it up a little.

    • SlimEel94 says:

      Didn’t they do a challenge that was in Fiesta not to long ago? I’m sure it was something like ‘kill x amount of x with the energy sword’ or something. Now that was (if I haven’t dreamt it) loads of fun! Day off tomo so hardcore FF due to my 13 hour shift on Thursday!!

    • Braythor says:

      Yeah I’m getting a bit annoyed with arcadefight too. I maxed Get Loud months ago so prefer to use other weapons, but it’s nigh on impossible because on most maps when you try it the other players just take all the kills from under your nose. I tend to stick to grenades and stay near spawn points, and get most of my kills that way. Some maps are sniper friendly too, like Outpost, but I think they should take away the FRG to balance things out.

  13. MadAmericanTacos says:

    It was bound to happen! I played a game of FF this morning before work and had 2 legends and a Mythic, well when the game stated all three of them jetpacked away to a safe position and wen’t AFK till the last wave of the round then they jumped down and fired a few shots then hid again leaving me all by myself!

    Homie don’t play that so I did the whole “avoid player” thing on all three of them, hopefully it take thier reps down a notch or two!

    • Scruff UK says:

      Tips when that happens:
      – Knock them off their safe places with FRG / rockets / etc
      – Use FRG / rockets / etc to fire random junk up at them (ammo caches, random bits of scenery, vehicles etc)
      – Stand on their heads and keep teabagging them. Eventually they’ll get mad and do something stupid.
      – If they’re actually AFK, slowly push them off their perches / into soft kill zones / off the map / etc.
      – Lead the Covenant towards them, particularly Hunters.

      Satisfying, and it ruins their chances of a perfection too! Just make sure to do it once per round 😉

      • Sean says:

        OK those are awesome tips. Is it wrong that I want to get in a match with someone doing it just so I can mess with them???

        On a different note why would someone select 2X score attack in firefight doubles (and then proceed to suck at playing). It doesn;t make sense

    • Shane says:

      What is this, the mid-90s? 😀

      Yeah the last round of banninations have started this annoying practice. I guess those guys didn’t get banned so now this is how they AFK.

  14. disturbeddaddy says:

    Booo! only 3 rounds in a FF arcade game! booo!!

  15. jra2882 says:

    I had an afk guy on MM once and he got like 40 kills. I was wondering for the weekly do you always only get 1 round on the score attack games? I would rather play by myself instead of playing with people that are afk. Thank You,

  16. Sean says:

    Score attack is always only one round. Would be nice if they have a firefight limited option for one, OR a some kind of Endurance FF – unlimited ammo like arcadefight, unlimited rounds, but limited pool of lives

  17. John says:

    Cutting it a bit fine but that’s me finished tonight, it took a bit more time than I realised plus I didn’t want to go too hard at it during the week if I’d be playing the gametype for the challenges.

    John

Leave a Reply

