19th July – Halo Reach Daily Challenges & Commentary

Today’s challenges are listed below, apologies for the weird formatting, I’m doing this off my phone today:

One Spartan Army – Kill 150 enemies in Firefight Matchmaking – 1125cR

You get 120 Grunts in Gruntpocalypse, about 100 enemies in Score Attack and something like 330 in a Firefight Matchmaking game (although split between up to 4 people). There was a great comment a while ago (sorry I can’t remember who said it) that if you need to ‘top up’ your FF kills, jump into a game of Generator Defense or Crashsite and once you have your kills give up the defense. That’s a great idea in situations like this. For today jump through Score Attack to try for the other FF challenge then return to this as necessary.

Survivor – Earn 7 Sprees in a Firefight Matchmaking game – 1000cR

Sprees are hard for weapons, and can be really difficult in Firefight. You get 120 kills in Gruntpoc so it’s an easy way to do it. If you can get kills using weapons (ie 5 grenade sticks, a shotgun, sniper rifle etc) then you get nearer the total – use Score Attack to get a range of weapons. Beachhead is quite good as you can use the vehicles to get more sprees – and now on Firefight Arcade you’ve got a good chance of using a variety of weapons, lots of killing sprees and grenades and the like. I like hitting up Gruntpoc then getting the 5 killing sprees, dying then getting them again.

Pod Kettle Black – Kill 20 Elite Drop Pods in The Long Night of Solace – 1200cR

Right… this is NOT trying to destroy drop pods in the ground based combat. This is when you play Long Night of Solace from Rally Point Alpha and you’re in the space combat section. After the first section defending the station, you take on a Covvie Corvette. That Corvette launches fighters at you. At the same time, it also launches 6 pods (2 groups of 3) from the bottom of the ship towards the planet. You can see them streak away. You can’t target them with missiles, and you have to be close to shoot them, but those are the Elite Drop Pods. It registers your kills after each wave have disappeared (entered Reach’s atmosphere). So go into that bit of the mission and fly beneath the corvette taking out all the pods you can and you’ll get it easy.

Cook ’em, Clean ’em! – Kill 15 enemies in multiplayer Matchmaking while you’re jet-packing – 1800cR

Remember you have to be actively firing the jet-pack when the person dies to register it, otherwise you’re just falling with style. Dino Blasters and Grifball are almost tailor made for this, what with the jet pack load out and all. Normal multiplayer games (Rumble Pit, Team and Multi Team) and just firing short bursts when you’re about to kill someone – particularly with grenades or heavy weapons. Some useful places – grenades in Pinnacle when people are in the main loft area, Boardwalk again in the central sniper point. The Hammer and Sword work well with this, just use the equipment and fire buttons at the same time.

21 Responses to 19th July – Halo Reach Daily Challenges & Commentary

  1. John says:

    There’s a big system update for the 360 today (or at least on mine) so I’d recommend firing up your 360 a bit earlier than usual to get the update out of the way.

    The jackpot is listed for Griffball but I got it for Score Attack yesterday, is that normal? Also have the Score Attack scoreboards been wiped again as I’m sure there were people with higher scores on my friends list that aren’t showing any more.

    John

    • gans42 says:

      how big was the jackpot? because there shouldnt have been any super jackpots yesterday, in any playlist, as it was not the weekend. and the scores thing probably just has to do with the update and will right itself soon

    • Matthew Vose says:

      FYI the update won’t actually make any changes, but it’s setting up changes that are to come later in the year.

  2. mickoboy90 says:

    for the elite drop pods,its best done in coop i think..because if one player destroys two pods,it will count two for everyone in the lobby..i found this out last time this challenges was on

  3. Woody says:

    I will probably just do the first two challenges. I hate jetpacking and it’s probably the equipment that I use the least, so it’s safe to say that challenge is not getting done for me.

    • YoSoY says:

      I don’t use this equipment often but I like to play Dino Blasters. Maybe you could give it a try.

      • t-rOY (tROYnHI) says:

        If I go for this challenge it will be in Action Sack. Dino-blasters is a good gametype for the challenge, but I prefer Rocket Flag or Splockets.

      • Woody says:

        I’ve only played Dino Blaster twice and I have to say that I like the game. Unfortunately, I can’t get the votes in my favor to play it more often. I almost forgot about Splockets, t-roy. Now, that’s a game that I really love and it is one that is very easy to get firebird kills. Once again though, I’m not fortunate enough to get the votes for it. 😦

  4. Pete S. says:

    Just finished blasting the 20 pods. I don’t think Coop would be a good idea as you have to get pretty close to the underside of the corvette and the brakes are not very good on the ships so collisions will be inevitable. Anyway I found that turning circles just under the belly of the corvette gave me the best odds to blast pods as the exited the drop bay. I like scoreattack FRGs in Corvette to get both the sprees and the kills. You get 120 kills so a second game is needed to get the remainder of the 150.

  5. Project SHAVE says:

    Drop pod challenge sucks. As does the jetpacking challenge. FF all the way today!

  6. Braythor says:

    So does killing the seraphs/banshees on LNoS not count as kills with a vehicle, only as enemy vehicle kills? As I just got 104 kills with the Sabre but only +43 to the War Machine commendation (from destroying the drop pods I assume…?)

    • Pete S. says:

      If you look at the enemies killed on bungie.net for your game you should see 3 entries. one each for Banshee, Seraph and Covenant Pilot. None for the drop pods.

      • Braythor says:

        Ahhhhh, had a look at that and yep it was +53 pilots, not 43, which matches the commendation numbers that I’d *ahem* failed at (I can do basic maths, honest….) Thanks for that Pete.

  7. gans42 says:

    this is off topic, but did anyone else just have their challenges reset online? i was 30/75 for the weekly and had all the dailys but now its back at 0

    • t-rOY (tROYnHI) says:

      the server sometimes does that for the 1st couple of games you play after signing back in to Reach. Your progress should reappear by the 3rd matchmaking game.

      • John says:

        That’s what I was going to say as I’ve seen the same happen just to give me a brief worry before it all returns to normal.

        John

    • Shane says:

      I ended up getting a daily challenge twice before because of this – made me kind of worried :-/.

  8. stillborn says:

    just a small hint, use firefight arcade on arcade doubles for all challenges the pertain to firefight, unlimited lives, unlimited ammo, and the best loadouts ever,,,not to mention an all grunt bonus round…and if you play doubles then you only have to compete with one other player for kills, unless you have a buddy play locally, then its cake…

    • Woody says:

      I agree with doubles. My girlfriend’s son and I usually get on together and tackle a few games of firefight double.

  9. Tom says:

    I could not get a single game type I liked in action sack today. It wasn’t even just the votes… nothing ever came up. Aside from HaloBall Xtreme and Hockey which came up once each (and got no votes either time) all I got for the whole session was Power Slayer and SpeedPile (both of which I hate with a passion), so I’ve given up on the jetpack challenge.

Leave a Reply

