21st July – Halo Reach Daily Challenges & Commentary

Today’s challenges are listed below, click Read More to view the commentaries:

  1. Covenant-cide – Kill 120 enemies in Firefight Matchmaking – 1100 cR
  2. Flat Tire – Kill 5 enemy vehicles in Firefight Matchmaking – 1000 cR
  3. A Simple Spree – Earn any spree in Firefight Matchmaking – 1000 cR
  4. Hyper Lethal Vector – Kill 200 enemies with headshots in Firefight Matchmaking – 1500 cR

Commentary follows after the break…

Covenant-cide – Kill 120 enemies in Firefight Matchmaking – 1100 cR

So you could do this in one game of Gruntpocalypse, 2X Score Attack or some of the other variants. I’d definitely go for Gruntpocalypse as the best option today. Because it’s got easy enemies to take out and a really quick game type to play through.

Flat Tire – Kill 5 enemy vehicles in Firefight Matchmaking – 1000 cR

Holdout is a good option for this because you’re guaranteed a Banshee each game, and if you take it out quick (Sniper Rifle in the crow’s nest on top of the base) then you can get several. Another trick is to keep the last Grunt or two in a wave alive to extend the game as much as possible. Beachhead and Outpost do have some vehicles dropped, 2X Score Attack has been reported to do well here, although sometimes there are none sometimes there are 4 or 5.

A Simple Spree – Earn any spree in Firefight Matchmaking – 1000 cR

Sprees cover a lot of options, 5 kills with Shotguns, Sniper Rifle, Plasma Grenade sticks, Swords… and so on. Frankly, 10 kills with anything gets you a spree, so just do that and you’ve got a very easy 1000 credits, so perhaps a quick visit to Crashsite/Generator Defence just to do it in a minute or two.

Hyper Lethal Vector – Kill 200 enemies with headshots in Firefight Matchmaking – 1500 cR

Gruntpocalypse and 2x Score Attack are great ways of doing this, you should be looking to get a lot of headshots in a game (using DMR, Pistol, Needle Rifle or Sniper Rifle), as before especially if it’s on a simple map where you can line up the Grunts, like Corvette or Courtyard. If you get to a high number rather than doing a whole game again jump in Crashsite or Generator Defense and only defend until you have your total then give up the goal.

Really simple FF Thursday. Do your Flat Tire, then a Crash Site game to top up your kills and headshots as needed.

Don’t forget it’s Game Night tonight, so jump into Reach to play with me in multiplayer, or Halo 3 to play with Snickerdoodle in some really fun custom games.

73 Responses to 21st July – Halo Reach Daily Challenges & Commentary

  1. HC Sangheili says:

    Flat tire? Yes!

    • gans42 says:

      my favorite too! in my opinion if they want people to up their vehicle commendations they need to make vehicles more frequent (aka drop ships every round)

    • Paul says:

      got this one nailed now in Score Attack:
      1) Sniper on Holdout always gives you 5 banshees in good weather – use jetpack and loiter in the crows nest to pick them off. This doesn’t apply when it’s raining though – seems Covies don’t like the water and won’t fly. Plus, if you take out the turret (weapon on top of the platform in the middle) while it’s in use this also counts as a vehicle. Hit the weapon, not the grunt!
      2) Sniper on Beachhead gives you a ghost (lands near the Warthog) and a wraith (lands at the opposite corner of the map) in the final round – can’t say if this is true every time though.

      • John says:

        2) It’s not, it’s random as far as I can tell as I’ve even had two Wraiths on Beachhead but nothing at all on others.

        John

      • MadAmericanTacos says:

        Paul,
        You aer so right about the weather on holdout, the first two waves it was raining and no banshees, then on the third th rain stopped and out they came! I guess they are like my grandma and scared to drive in bad weather lol.

  2. HaloNewbie says:

    A Firefight MM only set! I love it. I’m new to the Halo series so multiplayer still kind of freaks me out. I don’t want to start playing until I feel I’m “good enough.” I’m glad I finally have a shot at that achievement now.

    • Matthew Vose says:

      Welcome to Firefight Thursdays. I think there’s been one ever that wasn’t Firefight only. 🙂

      • HaloNewbie says:

        Oh. lol. I probably should’ve tried to Google it first before commenting. 😛 That’s good, though. Means I’ll get more chances if I fail today 😀

      • xXMaster SoulXx says:

        THANK YOU MATT FOR CREATING THIS SITE! I’ve been coming here before you even had 500 hits and I remember it was a big day for hitting 1000 hits…NOW its almost at 1,000,000 hits! At work the server blocks me from getting on “game” related sites such as Bungie.net…but your site slips through like having invisiblity! Once again THANK YOU!!!

    • Sir Galahad 63 says:

      Hey, what region of the world do you live in? We could do team stuff and you could learn from the creative minds of RDC 🙂

      That’s right I get my Xbox on weekends now!! And study during the week :/

      • HaloNewbie says:

        Northern Europe. I really appreciate the offer (blushing is a sign of gratitude with me, I guess), but I’m a social phobic. Just thinking about playing with other people makes me extremely nervous. Especially when I’m new at the game. (I’m glad I’m not the only one who has to study this summer though!) 🙂

      • Sir Galahad 63 says:

        What’s your GT, I’ll shoot you a friend request 🙂 I live in Australia, so it may be a little hard to find times to play, but I’m on all day tomorrow, (your night time).

      • HaloNewbie says:

        xhiobe, but I doubt I’ll be brave enough to play with other people anytime soon :S

      • gans42 says:

        while it might be useful to play with someone good thats willing to help you, be prepared to get killed…a lot. optimatch will be placing you with people much beter than you due to whoever youre playing with. for instance, my friend just got an xbox and reach a few days ago. i decided to play some swat with him (isnt that a shocker HC Sangheili?) and he got one kill. and he’s not awful at the game, just new

      • gans42 says:

        just one more comment for you halonewbie, start off playing by yourself (i mean w/o others in a party) so you get matched to people around your skill level. also picked team matches. theyre a lot easier to get the hang of the game for because youll have teammates to help you out. also reach was my first halo game and at first i sucked. my spread in my first few weeks was around .72 (thats kills per death). ive been grinding away at it and its now up to 1.13. the more you play the better youll get (obviously) and dw if you start out poorly

      • HaloNewbie says:

        Thanks for the comments, gans42. I feel I’m getting better by the minute. Today’s challenges were really fun, and I’m getting the hang of the different weapons. Sort of. But as you said, the more I play, the better I’ll get. Hopefully I’ll be brave enough to try multiplayer too someday. Hehe 🙂

    • Woody says:

      Welcome!

      There are several cool people here and you can learn a lot from them.

      • HaloNewbie says:

        I love it here already. On other sites I would’ve gotten bombarded with nasty comments. This made my day 😀

      • Braythor says:

        HaloNewbie, we don’t tolerate nasty folk on here. Either Matthew (the guy behind it all) screens them out or Snickerdoodle (his right hand (wo)man)) grinds them into the dirt until they go away.

        As for playing online, it’s not as bad as you think. I never played with a mic until I got playing with the people on here and it actually adds a lot more fun to the game. As for skill, trust me there are always people worse than you, and every single player had to start somewhere.

        Finally, a comment on the challenges, played 2 games today, had 4 quitters (2 in each) so lots of kills and bigger game complete bonus, but still only have 3 towards flat tyre on account of being a total failure when it comes to destroying ghosts with the sniper rifle, instead managing to always kill the driver first. And then of course wraiths seem to take 5 sniper hits, so I tend to get an assist out of them…

      • SensoryFour34 says:

        I’m the same way. I had never even *considered* playing with a mic until I found this site and found out how willing the people are to help you with anything. It makes it more fun to play too.

      • HaloNewbie says:

        This is the perfect place for me, then 😀

        “every single player had to start somewhere.”
        Yeah… I keep forgetting that part. 😛

    • hi!!!! and benvenuto! :mrgreen:

      • gans42 says:

        i see italy’s working out for you. you already know how to say welcome lol

      • pffft! i can totally muddle my way through conversations actually. 😀

        helps that i know french though. and took spanish. both are super helpful here.

      • gans42 says:

        muddle through? i must say i am impressed, that must take minute amounts of talent :p

      • HaloNewbie says:

        Hi! And thank you 😀 (I’d reply in Italian, but the stuff I know I learned from Assassin’s Creed 2. Not sure if it’d do me any good here :P)

    • Dave Yaroch says:

      I’ve been playing for a long time, I rank a Filed Marshall and can almost smell Legend.
      My MM skills still suck! I suffer through a few rounds here and there just to get a some commendations.

      Just go for it. You’ll either like it and get better or you wont.

  3. Woody says:

    These challenges have a low cR return, but it’s no big deal. They will get accomplished anyway, since I will be spending most of my time after work trying to get closer to the weekly challenge goal.

  4. Kevin says:

    These should be pretty easy. Can get the 200 headshots in 2 games…got 119 headshots playing Skirmigeddon on glacier last night (no modded controller, swear on my life, just great at firefight lol). You can get 100+ headshots with the DMR if you time it right.

    • John says:

      I would actually say Skirmigeddon is a good mode for headshots as it’s fairly easy to get a headshot on every skirmisher particularly as the new version is fairly easy.

      John

    • Woody says:

      Skirmigeddon?! Wow… I feel like a coward now. (lol) I’ve always tried avoiding those matchup, because those little critters severely violate me in ways that make me feel uncomfortable. lol

      • kurt says:

        I know right, those skirmishers with the needle rifle are killers. I only played that mode when I felt like wanting some punishment lol. It always ended the same, me crawling into my bed in a fetal position. 😛

      • Kevin says:

        Don’t like playing Gruntpocalypse that much, guess that makes me more of a coward. Always seem to get caught in the open and pwnd buy a few plasma grenades or a whole bunch of them using the FRGs. lol

  5. gans42 says:

    i dont want to play any game modes except firefight arcade because of the weekly (or doubles on small maps), so does anyone want to join me for arcade or doubles, pending on how many people we get so we can go for headshots and not have to worry about people flying around with rockets and or FRG stealing all the kills?

    • SG Leroy Brown says:

      I am down – almost done with the daily’s, trying hard to finish the weekly today

  6. SG Leroy Brown says:

    Since I mainly play ff, I always look forward to Thursdays. Pretty easy day, flat tire is the only one u have to work for. Even then, just takes time.

  7. Scruff UK says:

    Might get on today for a game of FF or two if I’m lucky. Need to make a start on the damn Weekly! :/

    Sorry I can’t make Game Night tonight, it’s my first one missed 😦 Are they going to be on Thursdays from now on, or is this week an exception to the usual Wednesday rule?

  8. MadAmericanTacos says:

    YEAH!!! I hit General Grade 1 this morning!!!!!!! Only a hop skip and jump from Field Marshal

    • gans42 says:

      congrats, and once you hit field marshall youll almost forget what it means to rank up

      • Dave Yaroch says:

        I’ll second that. I play almost daily for an hour or2 and have been at FM for 2 weeks.
        I can’t imagine how anyone has made it to Inheritor

    • Starmage008 says:

      I got to General Grade 4 the other day, and my hopping and skipping seem to have faltered. 😦

      • Scruff UK says:

        Agh General Grade 4 takes FOREVER. The bump to Field Marshall is so nice when you hit it though – as are the extra cR you earn for every game you play 😉

      • seriously! it’s even slower once you hit Hero. my screen is craaaaaaaaawling by so sloooooooooooowly. 😦

      • MadAmericanTacos says:

        Yeah I am busting my butt trying to rank up, I hit General on Saturday and having been rolling hard to get cR. I hit my daily limit yesterday just after getting promoted, it was a great feeling cause I knew I could take a break for a while lol.

      • gans42 says:

        snick i know your pain, i just hit legend on sunday. ive been playing a whole lot of FF this week for the weekly (generally play MM) so im getting much higher cR yields. i only need 874,485 more credits. thats slightly less than one hero rank woohoo!

      • Woody says:

        Okay, I need for all of you to lie and tell that ranking up is not that bad once you hit Field Marshall. I’m already complaining the time it takes to surpass General Grade 4. I feel as if Halo 4 will be released by the time I become a Hero or Legend just from reading all these posts. lol

      • MadAmericanTacos says:

        Don’t worry Woody, as long as you hit your daily credit cap each day it should take you a little under a week. If you look at it that way it isn’t so bad lol

      • Mitch says:

        Your credit rate will increase but the required credits to get to the next rank outpaces the new earning power you just acquired. Here is a nice link for specific credit details:
        https://www.bungie.net/Forums/posts.aspx?postID=58059269&postRepeater1-p=1

      • Woody says:

        Tacos, since you put it like that, ranking up each week is not that bad… assuming one can hit the credit limit each day. Unfortunately, I have never reached the daily limit. The most I may have gotten in one day was 35000-40000 credits and that was only because it was one a day in which my girlfriend wasn’t around for the entire day.

    • Woody says:

      Thanks for the link, Mitch!

      • Paul says:

        hey Woody, apparently you have 21 days until you achieve Field Marshall…… and 4.6 years to go until you reach Inheritor 😎
        http://halocharts.com/reach.php?player=WNWoodmore

      • Woody says:

        Oh thanks, Paul…. that was discouraging to see. (lol)
        I’m going to make sure that it doesn’t take me three weeks to reach Field Marshall. I’m giving myself a seven day deadline, starting now. As for Inheritor… well, I’m not expecting to ever reach that rank. I will probably semi-retire from playing the game before I can even reach Mythic rank.

      • t-rOY (tROYnHI) says:

        well there’s good and bad for getting high ranks. Good-becuz it shows how much you love the game, how dedicated you are, and some of your friends will be in envy. Bad-becuz strangers will start saying stuff like u have ‘no life’, or can’t believe you’re a (insert high rank of choice) and your K/D is crap.

        I know it’s only words from people who just want to be jerks, but its not something you want to hear when you’re trying to do something to relieve stress and socialize with friends online.

        However if you really want to rank up in a shorter span of time, play FF, Swat or Grifball. Just keep in mind that when you play Grifball, try to hold onto the bomb until the time runs out (unless you’re getting spawn-killed or the game is too laggy). The longer the game, the better the payout.

  9. Yeah… when I hit Field Marshall, my credit bar stopped moving after each match. Even if I get a 1,000 cR daily challenge, the bar doesn’t noticeably move. A couple days back I got the 30k jackpot and when the bar advanced ½ inch or so (1.3 cm, for my European counterparts), I thought the game had glitched!

  10. CallUpChuck says:

    I know this site is all about maximizing credits, but I’m not too focused on that. In fact, I wish there were ways to lose credits.

    I hit Field Marshall recently and my matchmaking has been getting more difficult. If I dare, I would ask Bungie to reset my credits so I play with less serious people 🙂 – unless the MM system is based on games played and k/d and not rank.

    • t-rOY (tROYnHI) says:

      I think it’s not based on ur rank I read a while back that Xbox Live figures out who to match you with based on your past performances in game. When I play with my wife and friends (who are usually play better than me) I get matched up with tough people, but when I went into MM by myself I had a much easier time holding my own. In a couple games of Swat I managed to get more kills than the entire opposing team.

  11. 'Cos says:

    I am ranked as a noble now. I found as a General and Field Marshal, the ranking -up seemed to take forever. Once i got past those ranks, it seemed to go by a lot faster with the same amount of time played. I don’t know if it’s the higher credit totals, the super jackpots, or what. Just know it eases up a bit afterwords.

    I’ve said it before, and i will say it yet again. This site, honestly, has the kindest and most sincere readers/bloggers i have come across on ANY site; not just halo sites. It makes for a pleasant experience, and a welcomed change of pace from the norm. It’s actually the reason i comment. My point? THANK YOU ALL!! You rock, and i asssume playing with /against you all would be fun as well. We’ll see about that…possibly tonight.

    Please, all stand up and give yourself a pat on the back for me. Here’s a cookie…

    Good luck all, and thanks again..
    – seventh dawg

    • Woody says:

      I have to strongly agree with you on everything you just said in your second paragraph. If it was any other site, I would have got pounded to the ground just for showing some form of being a novice at something.

      • Matthew Vose says:

        There’s a reason I started my own and not a thread on b.net like others. I like that when someone says something that fits on that site but not here they are taken on by everyone pretty quickly, and if it’s really something I don’t like I can just remove it (and have done on multiple occasions).

        Thanks for the nice words fellas, a lot of time and thought (And love) goes into make the site, and I’m glad it’s appreciated. Just being told that is what makes it worthwhile to me. 🙂

      • Ted(Air Phantom) says:

        Agreed. Matthew and Snicks do a great job with this site. The posts and comments here are friendly, mature, helpful and quite entertaining at times. Well done, y’all.

        For Flat Tire (Tyre), one thing that’s worked well for me is zapping banshees with the Spartan laser that usually seems to show up in one of the ordinance drops on Holdout in 2x Score Attack. I usually get about 3 banshees per game that way. A few weeks ago, someone posted that you can snipe banshees from a spot up on the MAC platform on Holdout that’s not out of bounds. Anyone know where that is exactly?

      • Paul says:

        Braythor says:
        26/05/2011 at 00:56
        Yeah that happens a lot, particularly on 2x score attack. As Matthew said, your best bet is sniperfight on Holdout, in the little nest area. It’s possible to get 5 in a game this way (the turret counts too if an enemy starts using it). Here’s a link from a post last week showing what to do (click on files and watch):

        http://www.bungie.net/Stats/Reach/GameStats.aspx?gameid=602116768&player=SOVGAZ#

      • Paul says:

        Oops. dead link. Try this instead – Holdout Sniper Spot
        http://www.bungie.net/Stats/Reach/FileShare.aspx?player=BracingSummer96

  12. 'Cos says:

    @ halonewbie –

    I would be more than willing to ‘take you under my wing’ and show you the ropes. Let me know, and welcome aboard…

  13. Sean says:

    My flat tire challenge is glitching. I am on 3/5 and I’ve since destroyed 2 wraiths and 2 banshees in 2x Score Attack, and I’m still on 3/5. Anyone else have this problem? If so, how did you fix it?

    • Paul says:

      Usually this means you are killing the occupant before the vehicle – destroying empty vehicles doesn’t count.

      michael (DR HIGGLESTEIN) says:
      07/07/2011 at 04:49

      Yeah i used to have that problem until i did a little testing on it. Spartan Laser, Sniper Rifle, Plasma Grenade Launcher, Grenade Launcher and Rocket Launcher all work fine and will go towards your vehicle kills if your shooting a Banshee. For some reason The Rocket Launcher doesnt work for me when i try to take out a Wraith. The best way to take out a Wraith is to board it and put a Grenade on it. Even when i bash them it doesnt give me the vehicle kill. Myself i think the best gametype to get the vehicle kills in is FF Arcade Doubles and play with a friend. I have gotten 6 vehicles in 1 game easily on Beachhead and Holdout. Good luck!

      • John says:

        I disagree, I think it’s a lot easier just to sticky a Wraith without boarding it – you just need to chuck the grenade and sticky it to the hull and it will destroy the wraith and count as a vehicle kill. If you grab a plasma pistol from the remnants of the skirmishers you can EMP the wraith to get an easy shot with the grenade, same goes for the quicker ghost.

        John

      • 'Cos says:

        …And the same goes for banshees as well. EMP them with the pistol, stick them with a stickie, and you got yourself a vehicle kill. Works like a charm.

        @ Sean,

        You need to know what weapon works for a vehicle kill, and what doesn’t. I know on Holdout, in particular, certain weapons do not go towards a banshee kill…such as a turret and the sniper dropped as ordnance. As stated above, the Spartan Laser dropped with ordnance does work. It takes some trial and error, and i -for one- am still trying to get the specifics. Hope this helps (a little!). Good luck…

      • michael (DR HIGGLESTEIN) says:

        Most of the time when i stick a Wraith in Firefight it doesnt count towards the vehicle kill. It might be more the gametype than anything though. Like in 2 X Score Attack it might count because 1 sticky could destroy the whole Wraith without killing the driver first. I know when i play FF Doubles Arcade and i have a Rocket Launcher and i shoot a Wraith with a rocket, it doesnt count. Thats why i have always said better safe than sorry and just board it and put a grenade on it. That way you are guaranteed the vehicle kill. Today i got all 5 of my vehicle kills in 1 game of FF Doubles Arcade on Holdout. I just used the Sniper Rifle on all the Banshees and before the game was over i had 5. 😉

  14. michael (DR HIGGLESTEIN) says:

    I love Firefight Score Attack. Whenever i can get it on a map i like i usually go for Fiesta Attack. There is one thing about Fiesta Attack i think they should change. I know that “they” won’t change it but dont you hate it whenever you spawn with something like a Needler or Spiker or any other type of Covenant weapon that you can pick up ammo for but you cant refill your weapon at the weapon crate? I just never understood that. I wish the single player Fiesta Attack was like the FF Arcade gametype where you have infinite ammo. Oh well, just thought i would throw my “2 cents” out there and see if anyone thought the same! 🙂

  15. Tom says:

    I got a score of over 80,000 in a game of rocket attack today, which payed out 7,000 cR, so that was pretty sweet.

    • michael (DR HIGGLESTEIN) says:

      80,000 points in 1 game is awesome. Ive been trying to get as many points as possible in Firefight but i just cant seem to get past the 65,000 point mark. When you say Rocket Attack do you mean the gametype in the Score Attack playlist where you play solo? Or do you mean in Firefight Doubles? Just wondering because i definately cant see myself getting that many points in the Score Attack playlist.

Leave a Reply

