22nd July – Halo Reach Daily Challenges & Commentary

Today’s challenges are listed below, click Read More to view the commentaries:

  1. More Than a Handful – Kill 25 enemies in multiplayer Matchmaking – 1000 cR
  2. Close Talking – Earn 100 kills with close quarters combat in multiplayer Matchmaking – 1500 cR
  3. Up Close and Personal – Kill 3 enemies with close quarters combat in a multiplayer Matchmaking game – 1000 cR
  4. You Want This, Don’t You? – Earn 12 kills with precision weapons in a multiplayer Matchmaking game – 1500 cR

Commentary follows after the break…

More Than a Handful – Kill 25 enemies in multiplayer Matchmaking – 1000 cR

Given the rest of the challenges today (particularly the next), I don’t know why they’ve given us this challenge. You’ll pick it up naturally in a couple of games. If you want to play something for lots of kills – Multi Team Objective variants, Grifball and Halo Ball Extreme are my top rated ones for high kill volumes.

Close Talking – Earn 100 kills with close quarters combat in multiplayer Matchmaking – 1500 cR

Close Quarters Combat is melee, beat down, assassination, Sword, Hammer, Golf Club and Shotgun. It’s actually my normal way of playing to shoot then melee so it should be pretty quick. Jump into Grifball and have some fun bludgeoning the other team to rack up these kills. As above Halo Ball Extreme can be good for this, but for every HBX with a high kill volume you might get plain old HB which has a 0 kill volume.

Up Close and Personal – Kill 3 enemies with close quarters combat in a multiplayer Matchmaking game – 1000 cR

Same advice as the last one really, Grifball, Infection or HBX. Heck 3 melee kills are eminently possible in Rumble Pit so you can do this wherever.

You Want This, Don’t You? – Earn 12 kills with precision weapons in a multiplayer Matchmaking game – 1500 cR

This is fairly easy in Team SWAT. Precision weapons are the DMR, Sniper Rifle, Needle Rifle and Focus Rifle. So in SWAT you can easily kit up the DMR and just play the game. It’s been a while since I watched this video because of the Star Wars reference, so excuse me whilst I go do that. πŸ™‚

Looks like they want us to play a lot of Grifball today. I’m surprised there’s no ‘kill X dudes whilst you/they are jetpacking’, since that would prompt people to play the new GB variants. Oh well, I’ll play them anyway just for kicks.

Jackpot information will be added to the column on the right when I see it.

45 Responses to 22nd July – Halo Reach Daily Challenges & Commentary

  1. porottaja says:

    Six and half hours of H3 customs last night with snickerdoodle and co. How long did you keep going after I left?

    Also, Moonwaffles.

    • gans42 says:

      she stopped playing shortly after 6 in the morning her time lol. me her and lor3to played a few more games after everyone else had gone

    • moonwaffles was AWFUL!!! i keep meaning to delete it but the name makes me giggle. i hate that there are stairs you can’t use. πŸ˜•

      • gans42 says:

        and what about fireballs? we got to ride brute shots around at high speeds, and even fly for a bit

  2. Scruff UK says:

    If I actually manage to get on my Xbox today then I might do one or two of these challenges. I’m giving up on the Weekly – I haven’t played a single game yet and it’s Friday already. That means I’d have to do like 8 games of FF a day, which I just don’t have the time for. Never mind πŸ™‚

    100 CQC kills – that’s new, isn’t it?

    • Sir Galahad 63 says:

      You’re back Scruff!
      It’s been so lonely without any of your extremely long tyrants of words coming from your fingers!! I almost missed it!

      I completed my first ever Flat Tire challenge yesterday! And today’s challenges shouldn’t be too hard, maybe the 100 CQC kills will be a little on the grind side… For me anyway.

      • SlimEel94 says:

        It didn’t take that long for me. Just jumped into Grifball for 4 or 5 games and the majority of players were working for it as well. Also managed to get a 3000 slot which took me to 99% with less than 1000 cR to General! I am now a General with absolutely no accuracy!!

      • Matthew Vose says:

        Yeah we’ve had it before. Search for it and we’ve had it with a range of volumes attached.

        And do you mean tirade? Not sure you get a tyrant of words, unless it’s some cruel dictionary owner perhaps.

      • gans42 says:

        ah vose you stole my comment on tyrants 😦

        yeah but on the challenge side, as long as you pick a regular variant of grifball (no armor abilities) you should be able to rack up insane amount of kills per game. while its still possible to get plenty with jet packs or evade, i find its not as easy to get high kill volumes because there are other factors that must be accounted for than just swinging your hammer

    • Niisama Broham says:

      I’m about to toss this weekly out as well. I’ve been doing a couple of games here and there since Monday and only have 32/75 at this point. lol its such an unassuming and “oh, that’ll be easy” weekly. Its a bit of a grind, especially when you can only squeeze in an hour or two working on it (long work hours this week).

  3. Woody says:

    Besides challenge #4, this is definitely a grifball day for me. I’m like Scruff, wondering if the 100 CQC challenge is new? I don’t recall ever seeing that one.

    • gans42 says:

      name of challenge: not new
      # of kills required: new
      time spent playing grifball: priceless

  4. NightRaven45 says:

    Wow I haven’t been on in a while. I’m not sure if I’m going to go for the 100 CQC challenge. Have a huge financial accounting test coming up. I’m with you Scruff in not bothering with the weekly. It’s gonna take to much time. Has anyone else had problems in griffball with people just being plain jerks (trying to watch my language)? I’m hoping I’m going to find time to get a few challenges done. Been a while since I sat down and really enjoyed a game of Halo.

    • Starmage008 says:

      I’ve had a couple of times when a Grifball-er just betrayed the entire game. I don’t mind a few here or there by accident or in retaliation, but when it’s the whole game … just “avoiding” them doesn’t seem like adequate punishment.

    • Woody says:

      I’ve had my share of jerks on my grifball team the other day. One was actually going around trying to hammer all three of us. Accidental betrayals are expected, but some jerk who goes around intentionally killing his own teammates is not cool. I don’t even understand what’s his/her purpose in playing if that’s going to be the intention from the start. Those people deserve a punishment of a two day ban from the game, if you ask me.

      • t-rOY (tROYnHI) says:

        First off I’d like to say I agree with you and I believe it should be even longer, but ‘ban’+grifball=painful memories, and its a story I shared too many times already. However, what I did learn from my experience, is the Banhammer is great at detecting people who log-in afk guests, intentionally lose, or afk during the game, but its basically useless when detecting people who intentionally betray their teammates without any provocation or reason. I’m not even sure if betrayals are tracked, but if it is then I’d really have to say its a FAIL-HAMMER.

  5. Tom says:

    Okay, my game has an AWESOME glitch in it. It happens every time a “Close Quarters” challenge comes up; it counts each of my close quarters kills as 2 towards the challenge per kill. It happens for all the close quarters challenges, but none of the others.

    • michael (DR HIGGLESTEIN) says:

      Yeah i mentioned this before a while back. Im guessing your playing Infection? For some reason when you get a kill with the Sword it counts as 2 CQC kills. It may work in Grifball with the Sword, i havent checked yet though.

      • t-rOY (tROYnHI) says:

        I noticed that in grifball once before too. I’ll keep an eye on it when I play tonite, and hopefully the next time this challenge comes up, I’ll post the comment ASAP

      • michael (DR HIGGLESTEIN) says:

        Hmmm… Dont know if the Sword kill in Grifball counts as 2 CQC kills or not, but like you next time we have a CQC challenge i will check it out. Someone said before that it counts as 2, 1 Sword kill and 1 pummel.

      • Tom says:

        I use the sword and only the sword in Grifball, and that’s what I was playing, so I think that must be it.

        Matt should put this into the challenge commentary: kills with the sword count as two CQ kills.

  6. Sir Galahad 63 says:

    Everyone needs to watch this I laughed so hard!

    It’s RvB, caboose more specifically, and his adventure into the Reach campaign πŸ™‚

  7. disturbeddaddy says:

    I actually prefer Slayer DMR’s to SWAT on the precision challenge; I’m decent at SWAT, just find it so dang stressful!! I like having a few seconds to find where fire is coming from and strike back. I hate the one shot kills! (I love getting them though! heehee)

    Like Danny Glover said, “I’m getting too old for this sh_t.”

  8. Matt says:

    For the fourth daily challenge I’m going to head to BTB and hope I get to play on Mt. Lam Lam or Abridged. Both of those maps have a ridiculous amount of cover and people inevitably wander out in the open or try to jetpack across the map anyway.

    On Abridged if I don’t spawn to get to either the Plasma Launcher or Rockets first I grab a Needle Rifle and post on top of a rock outcrop and just go to town switching between the DMR and the NR. There have been a few objective games where I’ve wound up with 35-40 kills with little use of power weapons, and in a Slayer game with no power weapon use I went 28 and 3. There’s at least 1 Sniper Rifle on this map but I haven’t found it yet because I’m in a comfortable orbit for maximizing kills and minimizing deaths. I haven’t found the Grenade Launcher either, and haven’t had a chance to use the Hammer extensively (though the Sword is great for dropping in from above on bomb/flag carriers).

    Mt. Lam Lam is set up to be dominated by the Rockets, Laser, and Grenade Launcher but people are so new to the map that nobody goes for those weapons. Even when they do, the power weapon users end up stranded either midfield (Grenade) or off to the side and elevated (Rockets, Laser) so they’re easy prey for DMR/NR shots. There is a Sniper that spawns in front of each base but people always take it and go to the second floor so it’s not too tough to counter them with just a DMR.

    In both maps, everybody tries to grab the vehicles but there is so much cover that they’re really ineffectual. On Abridged if I get the Plasma Launcher or Rockets off the first spawn I usually get a Triple Kill against a Falcon within the first few minutes of the game; even the Rocket Hog is underpowered on Abridged because there’s so many opportunities to EMP it from above. The Plasma Launcher in Abridged is almost an entirely new weapon; it’s far more useful than the ones on Spire in Elite Slayer or the one that spawns in the middle on Hemorrhage (though of the two the one on Hemorrhage is good for a few double kills and is great for taking down a Wraith).

    TL;DR: If you need precision weapon kills and are tired of SWAT, play BTB on Mt. Lam Lam or Abridged, pick your spot, and prepare to pick off a whole lot of players that don’t have the cover locations memorized. Once you’re done there, grab a jheavy weapon and bump that particular commendation if (like me) you usually don’t go for heavy weapons.

  9. OMGBBQWTFLOL says:

    Quick game of swat (hopefully get 12 first try) and then a few infection/grifball games should be an easy day. Then back to the weekly grind, I think I’m around 40/75 now. It is doing wonders for my commendations.

  10. Noobwarrior says:

    After playing a game of grifball for the 3 kills In one game I thunk in gonna use infection for the 100……it’s kinda hard to get kill volume when everyone else is trying to speed through the game(it ended in like 2and a half minutes) I just hope their isn’t a guy who betrays everyone in infection ( a game I played yesterday,the guys score was -21) hopefully I can get the super jackpot this weekend….. I need about 80k credits to get to brigadier grade 3 and I’m not looking forward to a 240k grind to hit general

  11. disturbeddaddy says:

    I find more idiots on Infection than I do on Grifball, generally, but last week I encountered a team of 5 which put one of the team on my team and all 5 went after us 3. They camped out over the spawn areas and proceeded to massacre us. They weren’t interested in scoring, so I immediately quit (one of the very rare times I do) and “avoided” several of the team members. That just isn’t cool!!

    • gans42 says:

      you can report cheating in situations like that. theyre boosting accounts at other people’s expense (just plain old boosting is bad enough)

      • disturbeddaddy says:

        I looked for a way to report them, but couldn’t figure out how; I “avoided” them, but didn’t think they violated the XBOX Live terms of use (basis for complaints). Am I wrong?

      • t-rOY (tROYnHI) says:

        @disturbeddaddy-u can definately file a complaint on the guy who betrayed you for cheating. If you want to be thorough, just mark them all for cheating. I don’t think XBOX Live will do anything if your complaint isn’t filed in accordance with their policies.

      • gans42 says:

        well for normal betrayals avoiding would suffice, but if people are boosting you can file a complaint, just go to file complaint->tampering->cheating. i do the same thing for afkers in FF

    • michael (DR HIGGLESTEIN) says:

      Yeah, there is a lot of A -holes out there in the Reach community. Thats the main reason i stopped playing MM for a good while. I just got tired of all the betrayals and ridiculousness. My son plays MM regularly and his favorite gametypes are Infection and Grifball. Almost every other game there is someone in Infection that is a zombie and is standing beside their human buddy, killing any other zombies that come near. In Grifball the other day my son was playing with 3 other people that were in a party together. Everone on the other team quit at the beginning except for one person. My sons teammates decided to have 2 of them “spawn rape” him while the other one did the same to the last guy on the other team. After a few minutes they would switch off so the other guy could get kills. They dragged this out to the bitter end and when it was all over, he had i think it was around 19 kills and over 60 deaths. I know its a game and anyone can play how they like but damn, it just ruins it for us. Im sure everyone here has a story about some jackasses they have had on their team. Just thought i would share mine. πŸ™‚

  12. Marc says:

    I fired up my 360 and took on the 4th challenge first since it seemed challenging. I got it done with no problem and got done with the 25 kill and 3 pummel challenges. Few more games of grifball and I should be done.

  13. me says:

    weekend super jackpot is 15k on team snipers btw.

    • Woody says:

      Well, looks like no super jackpots for me this weekend. I can’t even pay my way to two kills with a sniper rifle. lol

      • michael (DR HIGGLESTEIN) says:

        Same here Woody. I kick all kinds of ass with the Sniper in Firefight, but when it comes to Multiplayer, not so much. My son on the other hand usually comes in 1st place in most of his Team Snipers games. Guess hes gonna be the one to get us the 15,000. Like always! πŸ˜‰

      • t-rOY (tROYnHI) says:

        I have a hard time in snipes too. Mostly because we play with a friend who will play snipes all day, so we always get matched up with people who can snipe you from the other end of hemmorage within 1 second after you respawn.

  14. 'Cos says:

    …team snipers. Awesome, just awesome. Tailor made for me! Thanks…

    Have a good day all…

  15. Noobwarrior says:

    Team snipers……….let’s hope I’m not the only noob trying to snipe for the jackpot so I can actually get some kills….I guess my whole halo weekend schedule is FF and snipers.

  16. SG Leroy Brown says:

    Think I will pass on today’s daily’s and finish up the weekly instead. 5 more game of arcade to go!

Leave a Reply

