23rd July – Halo Reach Daily Challenges & Commentary

Today’s challenges are listed below, clikc Read More to view the commentaries:

  1. One Spartan Army – Kill 250 enemies in Firefight Matchmaking – 1875 cR
  2. Came From Behind – Perform 3 Assassinations in a multiplayer Matchmaking game – 1200 cR
  3. Be Their Huckleberry – Kill 200 enemies in Firefight Matchmaking with the pistol – 1500 cR
  4. Who’s the Big Winner – Win 10 games in multiplayer Matchmaking – 2500 cR

Commentary follows after the break…

One Spartan Army – Kill 250 enemies in Firefight Matchmaking – 1875 cR

You get 120 Grunts in Gruntpocalypse, about 100 enemies in Score Attack and something like 330 in a Firefight Matchmaking game (although split between up to 4 people). If you need to ‘top up’ your FF kills, jump into a game of Generator Defense or Crashsite and once you have your kills give up the defense. That’s a great idea in situations like this. For today jump through Score Attack to try for the FF pistol challenge then return to this as necessary.

Came From Behind – Perform 3 Assassinations in a multiplayer Matchmaking game – 1200 cR

Not too difficult, easy methods are just to hide around a corner in Sword Base or somewhere and jump guys as they go past. If you’re lucky you’ll find someone who’s AFK and you can hunt them down during the match.  It’s cheap but knowing spawn points can help you in regular multiplayer games – the rocks in Asylum for instance, or favourite camping positions like the lofts in Cage and Pinnacle or the lift in Reflection. HaloBall Extreme is great for assassinations since you have a big map you’re running around like crazy people on! Another good tactic is Sniper and DMR game types, since people can’t see their motion trackers when zoomed in you might be able to sneak up on them. Don’t forget that reloading and sprinting make noise so people know you’re there.

Be Their Huckleberry – Kill 200 enemies in Firefight Matchmaking with the pistol – 1500 cR

Get a couple of Gruntpocalypse games in so you can stick to just the pistol, take out the little methane breathers as quick as possible then back in the menu to get it done. Some maps are definitely better than others, Corvette and Courtyard are small and easy to see across to take them out.

Who’s the Big Winner – Win 10 games in multiplayer Matchmaking – 2500 cR

Been a while since we had this with a high win volume. Winning 10 games shouldn’t be so hard, just a little bit of a grind. Go for Team Slayer/SWAT/Snipers/Objective/Grifball/Action Sack game types so you only have two teams playing and a better chance of winning. I’d also recommend finding some guys you play well with and sticking with them.

13 Responses to 23rd July – Halo Reach Daily Challenges & Commentary

  1. Tom says:

    I think it’s probably safe to say that most will be passing on three of these challenges in favor of the weekly. The last one in particular.

    • SlimEel94 says:

      Definitely! Might that be the curveball to distract people from the weekly? Either way I will attempt if time permits but need to get some FF out the way first.

  2. Scruff UK says:

    Well it’s now Saturday and I still haven’t got on the Xbox since I got back… So I’m definitely not bothering with the Weekly! And considering that, I won’t bother with the two FF ones today either, since in the time it’d take to do them I could play 3 games of MM, and time is still tight for me.

    May as well combine the two MM ones with Team Snipers – assassinations are pretty easy in Snipers thanks to people zooming. The hologram can be very useful for assassinations also 🙂 Plus there’s only two teams, so your chances of winning are 50/50. And I want a big jackpot. If I’m on later and anyone wants to buddy up for a bunch of Snipers, just join me 😀

  3. Kevin says:

    Completed the weekly challenge yesterday. Seem to have taken forever (lol). Now I’ll probably just work on 1,3,4. Not very good at assassinating people.

    • Scruff UK says:

      Obvious question – you know you need to hold down RB rather than just tap it, right?

      Also there are ways of getting assassinations cheaply. Equip sprint, crouch and hide in the pitch black areas in-between rooms in the sword area of Sword Base, preferably on Rumble Pit, but don’t have the sword equipped because it gives off a blue glow. Wait for someone to walk past you. Run up behind them, assassinate, then go and hide in the other pitch black area. Repeat until you have enough 😉

      • Kevin says:

        lol as long as I have played Reach, didn’t know that. I guess I can say, I feel pretty dumb right about now. Thanks for your comment an the tips.

  4. porottaja says:

    I find Invasion on Boneyard easy for assasinations. There is perfect places to camp Elites in first phase.

    I especially love this spot:
    http://www.bungie.net/Stats/Reach/FileDetails.aspx?fid=21147476&player=porottaja

  5. Noobwarrior says:

    Probably wont do the assanation one,I’ll do the firefight ones even though i finished the weekly and then back to infection (not much more MM pistol kills for commendations) let’s just hope I can get time in…i have a busy day today and Probably won’t get much time on xbox today

  6. michael (DR HIGGLESTEIN) says:

    For the 3 Assassinations challenge im going to go into Rumble Pit with my son and just boost it. Thats what i would recommend doing if anyone is having trouble getting them the regular way. 1 or 2 might happen for me but 3 is hard to get regularly unless someone is AFK. 😉

    • SlimEel94 says:

      I must have been lucky. My first game on Team Slayer I was against people who didn’t use the radar or didn’t realise a red dot was bad. 3 in about 5mins of starting the game. Now that was my easiest challenge which, in all honesty, was going to be the one I wouldn’t do.

  7. Woody says:

    Today seems to be “Quitter’s Day”. I was hope to get all four daily challenges and continue to work on the weekly, but EVERY single game I have played, I seem to get quitters, which makes it very difficult to get the 10-win challenge. I give up on that one, since it seems everybody is going to quit on me. Even firefight arcades are having quitters on me, which is not too bad for me, since I get more kills for my commendations.

  8. Marc says:

    Damn. More multiplayer challenges. I might go for the other three except for that 10 wins challenge since it’s a grind. If only I’m lucky yo get that HB Xtreme game, I should be able to get the 3 assassinations challenge out of the way. I think I’ll take that one first since it’s challenging.

  9. Sir Galahad 63 says:

    This weekends jackpot is in Team Snipers right? I just got 15 742 credits from the slot machine after a game of infection! (It was about my 5th game). Was it the “Jackpot” or just a very irregular slot machine?

Leave a Reply

