25th July – Halo Reach Daily Challenges & Commentary

Today’s challenges are listed below, click Read More to view the commentaries:

  1. Shootin’ and Lootin’ – Kill 100 enemies in any game mode in Reach – 1000 cR
  2. More than a Handful – Kill 125 enemies in multiplayer Matchmaking – 2500 cR
  3. There Are Many Like… – Kill 200 enemies with precision weapons in Campaign today – 1500 cR
  4. Credits for Completion – Complete 5 games in multiplayer Matchmaking – 1250 cR

Commentary follows after the break…

Shootin’ and Lootin’ – Kill 100 enemies in any game mode in Reach – 1000 cR

Well the other challenges call for at least 325 kills, so you’ll be all good going after them. If you want just this, hit up 2X Score Attack or Gruntpocalypse.

More than a Handful – Kill 125 enemies in multiplayer Matchmaking – 2500 cR

125? Time to get our grind on. Multi Team Battle is the best way to get lots and lots of kills, you tend to get more than any other mode. If you play Crazy King or Oddball you can get even more as some people who would shoot you go for the objective, and you can take them out. Seasoned Grifball players will also be able to get this in only a game or three, and if you can make an area in an Infection game defensible as a human you can rack up kills quickly. Personally I recommend Grifball most because you’ll take a few games to get this if they’re not scored quickly, but you’ll also be working easily towards your fourth challenge today either way.

There Are Many Like… – Kill 200 enemies with precision weapons in Campaign today – 1500 cR

Precision weapons are the DMR, Sniper Rifle, Focus Rifle and Needle Rifle (anything that can headshot except the Pistol, which is small arms, although you don’t need to headshot for the challenge). Nightfall is good, because you start with loads and loads of ammo for the Sniper Rifle, and you can shoot the first Elite in the head, restart checkpoint and do it over and over (a little dull but quick and easy). Winter Contingency from Rally Point Bravo which has DMRs in the base and lots of guys dropped off to shoot at you. I think ONI Sword Base also starts off with the DMR as well, and a series of Grunts running towards you quickly. With 200 being such a large kill volume that might be your best bet, to start there, take out the Grunts and Jackals then restart the mission, although given the new weekly challenge perhaps just playing through a couple and picking up as many kills as possible works well too.

Credits for Completion – Complete 5 games in multiplayer Matchmaking – 1250 cR

This is just completion, not wins, so easy to do. Two good options for this match up nicely with the last two challenges – play Living Dead–Infection for some really fast games, or Grifball and score with the bomb really quickly.

The Game Night hub page will be updated later today, but after requests from various quarters this week we’ll be focussing on Halo: Reach Custom Games. Details to come but I know lots of you are interested in doing these so we’ll make sure there are some good games lined up for it.

Do you want to know how to get notifications of these challenge commentaries? Well it’s easy… you can follow me on Twitter, join the Facebook group or just subscribe to the site using the email option on the right to receive the challenges and a link to the commentary straight into your inbox.

27 Responses to 25th July – Halo Reach Daily Challenges & Commentary

  1. DESTROYER says:

    I woke up so early this morning that I was doing daily challenges before the commentary was posted. Lmao I’m going to be tired today. 🙂

  2. MadAmericanTacos says:

    All seem pretty easy, I will probably use the checkpoint restart on Nightfall to get the precision weapons so I can beef up my commendations. Other than that it looks like another day of grift ball and invasion.

    Destroyer – I was up at 330 est so I feel your pain!

    • DESTROYER says:

      Lmao 5:20 AM EST xD

      • MadAmericanTacos says:

        Yeah I know but I gotta pay the bills!

      • DESTROYER says:

        Lol

      • SensoryFour34 says:

        I would die if I had to get up at 3:30! I am NOT a morning person!!!

      • MadAmericanTacos says:

        Yeah you feel like you are going to the first couple of weeks, here is my schedule:

        Alarm = 330 am
        Train = 415 am
        Work = 630 am ‘ish
        Leave = 430 pm
        Home = 645 pm
        Bed = 1030pm

        I hate it but I get Wednesdays off every week so it helps but I still feel like I am going to be dead from exhaustion by 40 😦

      • michael (DR HIGGLESTEIN) says:

        Wow Mad! That is absolutely the worst schedule i have EVER seen!

    • Woody says:

      Goodness! I thought I was getting up early each morning for work. I’m just getting up at 4am (CST) Monday through Friday.

      • MadAmericanTacos says:

        Well when you have a two hour (one way) commute, you gotta do what you gotta do 😦 At lease I get to sleep on the way in, its my only saving grace otherwise I would be dead to the world lol.

      • Woody says:

        *Jaw just fell to the floor* Two hour commute one way?! Wow!! I will no longer complain about my now one hour, little commute anymore. *faints*

  3. Woody says:

    With the challenges for today, looks like I will be a grifballer for the first couple of hours after I get home from work.

  4. gans42 says:

    these challenges wont take so long today, which is always good because then i can play what i want, and not what the challenge dictates.

    also for the 200 precision kills, i know you mention this when its a challenge to get headshots in the campaign, so a bit weird you didnt mention it here, but at rally point bravo on the package you can get a checkpoint right where 8 grunts are dropped off, so thats 25 quick revert to last saves

  5. Project SHAVE says:

    I would normally do Nightfall for the Campaign challenge, but I’m gonna go with Oni Sword Base for this one. My personal favorite level. Any level where you can highjack a wraith and go to town is grand in my book!

    • Scruff 815 says:

      But… the Campaign challenge is for precision weapon kills… The Wraith will do you no good here…

      • Project SHAVE says:

        This I know, I’m just stating why it’s one of my favorites. You start out with a DMR and there is sniper rifles o’ plenty in the level. Plus, on Heroic I’ll be working towards the weekly.

      • Scruff 815 says:

        Ah, I see 🙂 My apologies 🙂

  6. Scruff 815 says:

    Whew. Played possibly my best ever game this afternoon (in terms of my performance) and got a Perfection in Rumble Pit.

    http://www.bungie.net/Stats/Reach/GameStats.aspx?gameid=720477563

    • michael (DR HIGGLESTEIN) says:

      Awesome job man. Me and my son have been trying for a Perfection ever since we got the game and have yet to get one. Rumble Pit seems like it would be a hard gametype to get it in unless i played with a bunch of beginners and AFK’rs. Maybe one day we will get lucky.

      • gans42 says:

        rumble pit is actually easier if you can stay far away and pick everyone off at a distance

      • michael (DR HIGGLESTEIN) says:

        Yeah thats what i usually try to do but i always have someone come close and murder me quickly. I almost got it once in a game of Rumble Pit on Countdown. I used the Sword and camped in one of the upper rooms linked to the bridge where i could take out anyone who came up the lift. Someone caught on to what i was doing and fragged me to pieces. Maybe i will try it again sometime with my son and let him stick close to where im camping so he can take out the ones trying to close in on me.

    • Charles Li says:

      Very impressive. I agree with the distance over CQC for a perfection. In the chaos, you can easily get whacked in the head with an elbow.

      The times I’ve gotten a perfection, the second I hit a running riot, I become super paranoid about everything. Thankfully in team games I have teammates to help win the game, but rumble pit… that’s the kind of pressure pearls are made of. Yes, Scruff is a pearl.

  7. Marc says:

    Easy challenges for Monday. I got through the Light Fare, 125 Kills, and 5 game completion challenge in under 45 minutes playing several games of Grifball. I’ll go for the 200 precision kills later on tonight and try that glitch for the weekly while I’m at it.

  8. If only I could get more games like this, challenges like More Than A Handful would seem less difficult… http://www.bungie.net/Stats/Reach/GameStats.aspx?gameid=702643186&player=OnlyUseMeLaser

    • 'Cos says:

      …nice game ‘Jakes’! That’ll help the k/d ratio, indeed.

      By the way, nice perfection as well, Matthew! Impressive.

Leave a Reply

