Halo Reach Weekly Challenge & Commentary – w/c 25th July

This week’s challenge is below, click Read More to view the commentary:

This Is How We Do It – Complete 9 Campaign missions on Heroic – 10,000 cR

Commentary follows after the break…

This is, very much indeed, how we do it.

9 missions would take you through the whole game – if you’ve not finished campaign this is a great opportunity to do just that.

The main thing to note is that this says Heroic. Not Heroic or harder.

If you want to do this quickly then you could get through a simple mission like Winter Contingency or Nightfall (the link is the speedrun video) several times. You might want to have a look at your commendations and see what needs improving – if your vehicle kills/kills with vehicles are low then maybe go for Long Night of Solace, or Tip of the Spear. Headshots can be picked up in Nightfall, and heavy weapons and multikills using the Target Designator in ONI: Sword Base (all just examples).

The other thing to remember is that there will be Campaign challenges during the week. They might not be all for Heroic, but with this challenge we’re likely to see a few, particularly at the weekend. So as always don’t rush this in one day, let it come as you play through the other challenges and then finish it when you know you won’t be available to get more.

Final points – Noble Actual and Lone Wolf haven’t counted to this in the past. Legendary has counted, but why make it harder for yourself? Co-op should count if you want. And the save and restart trick might work, but who wants to do it with that kind of boosting huh?

The Game Night hub page will be updated later today, but after requests from various quarters this week we’ll be focussing on Halo: Reach Custom Games. Details to come but I know lots of you are interested in doing these so we’ll make sure there are some good games lined up for it.

Do you want to know how to get notifications of these challenge commentaries? Well it’s easy… you can follow me on Twitter, join the Facebook group or just subscribe to the site using the email option on the right to receive the challenges and a link to the commentary straight into your inbox.

68 Responses to Halo Reach Weekly Challenge & Commentary – w/c 25th July

  1. Shobaleader One says:

    Fast way: Nightfall

    Fun way: Co-op

    I know which one i’ll be going for.

  2. Pingback: 25th July – Halo Reach Daily Challenges & Commentary « Halo Reach Daily Challenges

  3. Scruff 815 says:

    Who wants to do it the cheap ‘save and restart’ way? Me, that’s who. I’ll let you know in a bit if it works.

    10 minutes of my life in a game mode I’ve already maxed everything out on > hours of my life playing for 10,000 cR.

    Can’t even argue the ‘but what about all the cR you earn from playing’ thing, because even in like 8 hours of Campaign you can earn only a whole couple of hundred cR 😉

    .

    Anyway, it’s a new week, it’s a new challenge, it’s a new Gamertag. Thanks to all who complained and stuff on my behalf; now my fileshare will finally work! Yay! 😀

    Oh, and will Game Night be Wednesday or Thursday this week?

    Missed y’all the last couple of weeks 🙂

    • MadAmericanTacos says:

      Time is precious and I could be killing the cR in MM or FF so if Scruff lets us know about the WC save and restart glitch I should have this completed tonight 🙂

      • Don says:

        I just did this before coming to the blog here. The “Save and Quit” glitch works. Took 5 minutes to run through Nightfall mission and another 5 to resume 9 times after setting up the glitch. The only other weekly I completed faster than this one was the Nightfall LASO.

    • FOREMILES says:

      It can indeed be done by saving and restarting. I already had a save game at the end of Exodus (Legendary), so I used it. A few minutes, and the Weekly is complete.

    • Scruff 815 says:

      WC ‘save and quit’ glitch does indeed work. Less than 14 minutes to do the entire Weekly 😉

    • HC Sangheili says:

      And Scruff 8675309, we really missed your irreverant nature. Good to have you back 😛

  4. PRANKSTY says:

    As i understand, it can be done in co-op mode ? And we can also complete 9 times the same mission ? It looks pretty easy

    • CrestOfFire says:

      Yeah, it can be done in co-op. And it can be the same mission.

      Theoretically, you could do a campaign run on Heroic, but then you’d spend hours of your life killing Grunts… not bad.

      Or…

      You could do Winter Contingency once and Save/Restart. The awesome way. Then… the hours you’d be spending doing Campaign… you can spend on Team SWAT or something instead! ^.^

  5. Woody says:

    Good commentary. I was pretty much thinking the same ideas as well.

    This challenge would have been great over this past weekend. I spent more time than usual working on improving my commendations for campaign. Oh well… I guess this will simply give more room for improvement. After last week’s challenge, I could care less about anything firefight related… and I actually like firefight.

    • MadAmericanTacos says:

      I know right? I love playing FF but I think I am burned out cause I finished mine up by Wednesday then this weekend my wife decided to go for it so I basicaly did it all over again. Two good things came out of it though, 1) Got to spend lots of time with my woman & 2) I ranked up to General Grade 2!

      • Woody says:

        Well, I can’t say that I got the same quality time with my girlfriend, but she was surprisingly understanding of how bad I wanted to completely the weekly during the weekend. So she actually sat next to me most of the time and watched me play.

        Also, congrats on ranking up to General Grade 2.

  6. gans42 says:

    well even though im at legend, i feel like a total noob for what im asking. whats the save and restart glitch? i was just gonna do nightfall 9 times and be done in under an hour.

    also thanks vose and snick for finally doing reach customs!

    • MadAmericanTacos says:

      Spped run through WC then when you get to the end hit the reset juction to complete the level, when it fades to black count to 3 then save and quit. After you get back to the main menu hit resume campaign, you will immediatly be brought to the mission complete screen. Works like a champ for the ‘Flawless Cowboy’ and ‘Demon’ commendations. Check out You Tube they have a ton of videos on how to do it.

      • Scruff 815 says:

        Make sure that you’re set to Free For All scoring on Campaign Scoring too… Otherwise you’re just going to load up the next level! 😉

      • MadAmericanTacos says:

        Thanks for the correction Scruff! I completly spaced on one of the most important details lol

      • FOREMILES says:

        I came across the glitch by accident a couple weeks ago. Works like a champ. Onyx ‘Flawless Cowboy’ and ‘Demon’ commendations are mine tonight. You can add one to each commendation in about 45 seconds.

      • Scruff 815 says:

        ^ works like a charm if you’re watching a film at the same time as well. Doesn’t even take any effort.

    • Matthew Vose says:

      What’s with calling me vose still? I’m not sure how much more sarcastic I can get over it.

      • gans42 says:

        its shorter to type than matthew

      • by 3 whole letters! woo! don’t be lazy. if you do, i’ll not play customs this week! 😉

      • gans42 says:

        hey, 3 letters is a lot! and is that a threat? maybe ill just make my own customs party :p or how about a compromise? matt…same amount of letters as vose but not vose

      • Matthew Vose says:

        How about just stop being lazy and just type Matthew? What makes you think Matt is any better?

      • MedicalCloth849 says:

        Matt sounds cooler.

      • gans42 says:

        i agree with medical cloth, but if it really means that much ill find the strength to type those last 3 letters

      • Matthew Vose says:

        You’re wrong, Matt doesn’t sound cooler. But that’s beside the point, it’s not my name, or something I’ve ever chosen to call myself, just something lazy people who think all Matthews want to be called Matt say.

        Yes it does mean that much to me, given the amount of effort you’ve put in trying not to type those three letters you could have called me Matthew for probably every comment you ever make.

      • Braythor says:

        How about Voseybaby?

        I jest, I jest. I fully agree with your point Matthew, as I can relate. Having grown up with the nickname Doug, I am tired of it. My name is not Doug, or Douglas or any other variation upon that, the only similarity to it my real name (Duncan) bears is that it begins with the same letter, and it is merely the laziness of others that’s led to me being called Doug. When I was younger I wasn’t bothered, but as my hair turns slowly but surely from brown to grey I find I much prefer my real name, and while it’s easy to introduce myself by that, it’s far harder to persuade those who have grown used to using my nickname to stop doing so.

      • gans42 says:

        honestly i never realized it was such a big deal, im sorry. though the comment you said about all the effort i put in to not type matthew is unfair because i believe this is only my 2nd time calling you by your last name, and this is the first time that i saw that you didnt like it. i was never trying to intentionally get under your skin

      • t-rOY (tROYnHI) says:

        @Matthew-sorry I referred to you as Matt a number of times before.

        I’ll probably do the save & quit glitch thing since I have a saved game of Nightfall on an Xbox memory unit (yes I’m one of ‘those’ people).

      • John says:

        I have a friend whose name is Santa (a common female name in Latvia) which is obviously odd for non-Latvians as we’re used to good old Santa Claus. One person at work couldn’t seem to grasp that Santa was her first name and instead kept calling her by her surname (which was short as well although not an obvious name). She politely told him her first name was Santa and signed her mails just as ‘Santa’ but still she kept getting called by her surname so she just started calling this guy by his surname as well and he quickly got the message!

        One of the reasons my parents named me ‘John’ was because it was plain and simple plus it couldn’t be contracted.

        John

      • michael (DR HIGGLESTEIN) says:

        For some reason one of my friends nicknamed me Higgins. So out of that cam Dr Higglestein. Everyone calls me that now instead of my real name which is Michael. When i was working my real name was NEVER said. Just Dr Higglestein. Just thought i would throw my story of my nickname out there. LoL. 🙂

      • Spunkypantastic says:

        On the subject of names/nickames:

        My gamertag is “Spunkpantastic”.
        It used to be “Spunkypants”. (before microsoft asked me to change it)
        This was preceeded by my non x-box live gaming nickname
        Of “Spunky” (I miss halo lan parties)

        This came from a real life nickname of “Spunky”, though was prob the best of a bad bunch, which included:

        “Nookie bear”
        “Pee-wee hymen”
        and of course the Ubiquitous “Cookie”

        My name is Simon. Can’t remember the last time someone I knew called me by that name, but then that’s just fine with me!

        Feel free to call me any of the above, or make up new ones, just don’t assume that everyone else will feel the same way about their own identity, and we’ll all get along just fine 😉

      • Scruff 815 says:

        Since we’re discussing names..

        “Scruff 815” comes from good old “Scruff UK”. The 815 part comes from Oceanic Flight 815, also known as the TV show LOST, of which I am *ridiculously* obsessed with. Most of you know why I changed it from Scruff UK…
        “Scruff UK” came from the fact that Scruff was already taken, and I had to bolt something on to make it work.
        “Scruff” itself comes from an old nickname from when I used to be very, very scruffy.

        For the record my real name is Danny – not Daniel, or Dan, or Danno (though that one *has* got cooler since the reboot of Hawaii 5-O), or any other version of the name. So I understand where Matthew is coming from 🙂

        @Dr. Higglestein – my wife thought you were named after Dr. Evil’s cat in Austin Powers. Turns out that’s actually Mr. Bigglesworth. Oops.

      • MadAmericanTacos says:

        @t-Roy, how do you save a game to your memory unit? That would save me soooo much time with some of the more repetitive challenges.

      • leroygetz says:

        My gamertag leroy getz comes from an early draft of the original lethal weapon film. The joe pesci character was goin to be a black guy called leroy at first but was later changed to leo getz. Was the first thing that came to mind when coming up with a gamertag. In my old pc days of quake it was pink floyd but wouldnt be brave enough to try that on xbox live lol

      • ….i like snickerdoodles?

      • Shane says:

        My tag is OG 667, 667 being my old Quake 2 name based on a Soundgarden song, OG there just because Microsoft wouldn’t let me use 667. It could stand for Original Gamer… or not. It really stands for nothing but I thought it was funny enough since I’m not at all “gansta”. I use quotation marks f’rinstance. I am down wit’ the punctuation.

        Of course, all the loud little white kids rattling off the n-word at me thanks to the “OG” usually get a complaint filed against them. :-/

      • Anonymous says:

        my birth name is matthew but i hate being called it i litteraly cant stand it so i use matt instead i dont know why you get so worked up about people being lazy though its the internet everyone is lazy including me im proud to say

      • don’t worry, we can tell. your lack of punctuation is appalling.

  7. Braythor says:

    Ah excellent, I’ve been hoping this would pop up soon, as it’s been a while since I played through the campaign properly and I’ve a few commendations close to levelling up. Shouldn’t be too much of a grind then, unlike last week which, though I enjoyed (for the most part, FRGs as a loadout still bugs me) I ran out of time and didn’t complete.

    • FOREMILES says:

      At least you didn’t get to 74/75 in the middle of a FF game and the next week’s challenges cut in. Guess that’s what I get for going out of town for the weekend.

  8. Sly says:

    tutorial on save and restart?

  9. dancehall2k9 says:

    So whats the best way to the save and restart glitch. I never used it.

    • Scruff 815 says:

      For the second time… Scroll up to comments from me and MadAmericanTacos…

  10. Zjchrome says:

    So whats the best way to do the save and restart.

  11. gans42 says:

    here’s a link showing it in action (read the description for a detailed guide) http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=tcK6EoHfg8g&feature=iv&annotation_id=annotation_90415

  12. Project SHAVE says:

    Thanks to all for the tutorial advice. As much as I wouldn’t mind playing through the campaign again, who has the time?! After last week’s grind (by the way, that challenge was the most weekly a weekly challenge could possibly get. A Laso is difficult but shouldn’t be considered a weekly challenge.), I’m with Woody. I’ve played enough FF for a while!

  13. michael (DR HIGGLESTEIN) says:

    Well i got the weekly done. I played 4 missions like your supposed to, then i did the Nightfall speedrun and saved it at the end, then restarted from there 5 times. 🙂

  14. Marc says:

    Just tried the save glitch in Nightfall and it worked like charm! Thanks MadAmericanTacos for the tip! Right now I’m boosting my Flawless Cowboy commendation to the max.

    • MadAmericanTacos says:

      Happy to help!

    • robotperson says:

      Does anyone else think that boosting commendations is a bit pointless? It’s a bit like leaving a track looping in iTunes just to boost its play count: what difference does it make? I like the fact that commendations are an honest representation of your playing patterns.

      • callupchuck says:

        My multiplayer and firefight commendations represent my actual play style, but I also enjoy finding exploits in games. Boosting, grinding, farming, whatever synonym you could think of.

        lol@iTunes. Just to see what would happen, I set a song’s stop time to 0:00.01 and set the song on repeat. I hit around 400,000 “Times Played.”

      • John says:

        I feel the same and surprised at some of the fairly extreme measures I’ve seen described on here for farming commendations which essentially makes it pointless. My campaign commendations are quite poor (not even a single gold) but I’d prefer to have genuine commendations I’ve earned rather than have artificially boosted commendation numbers.

        John

      • Scruff 815 says:

        Not really. Commendations are one of the many things in this game to hit 100% on – plus you get a bunch of cR for doing so.

        On the 100% front, a lot of people like to 100% their games, and since achievements were introduced for the Xbox they have become the benchmark for game completion. However the Reach achievements are far too easy, and the game is far too good, so a lot of us have then had to find something else to 100%. The point about hammering out all the commendations isn’t so that you can brag about them afterwards, it’s just so it’s done.

        Also it’s only Campaign commendations that get boosted, and Bungie didn’t exactly help that by saying that it’s fine and anyone can do whatever they want to do in Campaign as long as they’re not interfering with other people’s game experiences. Everyone’s Matchmaking and Firefight commendations are pretty much legit as there are VERY few ways of boosting them.

        And if you Onyx all the Campaign commendations you’re looking at a total return of 200,000 – 300,000 cR. Considering most of them can be done without you having to even be at your Xbox, that’s pretty decent.

      • John says:

        It’s not to do with how Bungie see it, more simply that the commendation side of it is pretty pointless particularly when you point out you don’t have to even be playing the game when boosting the system it just makes it a bit of a joke as Bungie may as well just give people the option to set their commendations to 100% because you’re certainly not earning them the way you do it.

        Admittedly I’m proud of the fact I do actually earn my commendations and haven’t boosted to get any of them so when I actually hit various levels there’s some reward to it.

        John

      • Scruff 815 says:

        But daily challenges skew your natural commendations anyway. Everyone here probably has much higher ‘pistol kills in FF’ than they would if they just played naturally in their own playing style, thanks to the ‘Be Their Huckleberry’ challenge repeatedly coming up.

        Commendations are pointless, yes; but then so are achievements. It’s not like you actually get anything for your Gamerscore. It doesn’t make getting them any less attractive though. And the lengths people will go to to unlock them all is very similar to the commendation thing.

        But whatever. Each to their own and all that 🙂

  15. iam8up says:

    Took me about 15 minutes to get to the save pointed of WC on Heroic. I spent about 5 minutes hitting A and watching a lot of loading. Weekly done.

  16. theodore214 says:

    Just saying, but Legendary does work for this challenge.

    • John says:

      Yeah, I gave it a go this evening and relieved to see it does count. I’ve still to finish the game on legendary solo which I’ve been meaning to do for a while so may as well do it this week and count it for the challenge.

      John

  17. SG Leroy Brown says:

    I did the weekly the old fashioned way, just did 9 co-op campaign missions. Had fun doing it, and worked on the commendations. Think this is my 1st weekly, that I did in 1 day

  18. Hobocore says:

    I’m quite glad this is the weekly. Recently something happened with my game which reset all the levels I had played, so I had to go through and do them again anyway and had been putting it off until now. I’ve done a few co-op levels but solo is also really fun on heroic as well, it’s more of a challenge than normal but I’m still able to fly through it pretty quickly.

  19. Defender77 says:

    Really fast weekly this time…save/quit right when the video starts and then resume. Rinse and repeat.

Leave a Reply

