27th July – Halo Reach Daily Challenges & Commentary

Today’s challenges are listed below:

Blastin’ and Relaxin’ – Kill 180 enemies in any game mode in Reach – 1350cR

You’ve got a few choices for doing this really easily and quickly (although your other challenges will get you a good way there)…

  • Forge – make a game with players spawning in one spot and camp it
  • Firefight – Download my Firefight Invincible game type on my File Share, lots of Elites, lots of medals, lots of kills
  • ONI: Sword Base – Use the Target Designator trick (run past everyone at the beginning, grab it, turn around, fire, wait for the killing to stop and restart the checkpoint)
  • Package – There are points where you can get a checkpoint just before a number of Grunts appear in the final battle, so you can gun them down and restart

Demon – Kill 40 Elites in Firefight Matchmaking – 1400cR

Rocketfight’s usually a good one here, especially since they often up the amount of Elites you get, particularly in the Bonus Round. Fiesta Attack gave a lot more Elites than I’d seen before, but only about 25, and I think there are about 25 in 2x Score Attack too.

Nature vs. Nurture – Kill 15 Moa in Winter Contingency on Normal or harder – 2000cR

The Moa are scattered through the first two sections of Winter Contingency, one melee and they drop like a bag of stones. Two run around the corner when starting the mission so you can always just restart that, but I think you may have to sit through the Falcon flight to do so unless you can trigger a checkpoint. There are some more when you first fight Elites, and then more as you drive the truck around the place. You can run them over but it’s harder, I suggest jumping out and shooting or punching them. I reckon there are 15 in the level but a quick two runs would easily get this. I bet somewhere there’s a useful checkpoint just before a group of them too.

Killing Frenzy – Earn a Killing Frenzy in a multiplayer Matchmaking game – 2000cR

The Frenzy is 10 kills without dying. Not necessarily in a short space of time. This will come down a lot to personal preference. Immediately I think Grifball, Infection, Juggernaut in Rumble Pit or Team SWAT for me. Grifball might be best although it’s so easy to be killed or betrayed you’re likely to get annoyed, however if you can get your timing in and get to the spawn points to take the opposition out as they spawn – annoying I know as the person spawning but admit it – you would if you were in that position! BTB can be really good if you can get in a tank type vehicle and just bombard the opponents.

As HC Sangheili noted below, Halo DLC (for Reach, Wars and 3) is on offer at the moment. In fact that offer extends to even more Microsoft Studios games DLC, so check it out (the Deal of the Week is also for Mass Effect 2 that I’d recommend picking up).

It’s Game Night tomorrow night, Snickerdoodle will be leading a party through a whole variety of custom games. Check out the hub page here for more information.

70 Responses to 27th July – Halo Reach Daily Challenges & Commentary

  1. HC Sangheili says:

    Noble and Defiant Map packs are 400msp each for 1 week.

    http://halo.xbox.com/en-us/news/blog/halo-dlc-summer-sale/120621

    • Tom says:

      Awesome.

    • FOREMILES says:

      Thanks. I’ve been waiting for another sale to download these two DLC.

      • Braythor says:

        DAMMIT! I just KNEW that would happen. I’ve had 400 points in my account for months now, waiting for something to use them with. And of course I spent them a week ago.

      • Matthew Vose says:

        Braythor – They’re £14.99 on Amazon for 2100, cheapest you’ll get them for (well Sendit are technically cheaper but they charge for delivery). I just keep it stocked up so I can always grab the deal of the week when I fancy.

  2. lilmonkeyboy1 (Tim) says:

    Nature vs. Nurture is so easy, you get a checkpoint just before you meet the first two Moa. Whip out your trusty pistol and give ’em a quick head shot, or just melee ’em (your choice). Then reset and go again.

  3. Woody says:

    Wow! I love the credit return for all four challenges. Unfortunately, I will only be able to complete three of them. The killing frenzy challenge is almost unlikely, since I’ve only been able to do it seven times and most of those were from juggernaut, which I don’t get to see much anymore.

    • Sir Galahad 63 says:

      Go into infection. 10 min game, killing frenzy should come naturally, and if you are a human you should be getting upwards of at least 10 kills per round… Camping by yourself in the ventilation shaft opposite the green lift on sword base is a great sniping point/choke hole for lots of kills. I just shoot the zombie that are on the ground with the pistol, always checking radar and behind you blue glows. That’s my strategy anyway 🙂

      • Project SHAVE says:

        My thoughts exactly Sir! Hell’s Janitor (killing frenzy) is a pretty easy spree to get.

      • Woody says:

        Hmmm… I will actually give that a try. Thanks for the suggestion!

      • Sir Galahad 63 says:

        You’re welcome Woody!

        I got my first ever Hells Jerome medal the other day. Sounds cool when the commentator says it…

      • Project SHAVE says:

        Infection is great for sprees as well as K/D ratio. In one game last night I went 17. Granted, there were 2 AFK zombies that I ruthlessly hunted down and slaughtered. Bahahaha!

      • Project SHAVE says:

        Hell’s Jerome is named after Bungie’s head of security, Jerome. And I love the way the dude says it. Hell’s Jerrrrrrome…

      • t-rOY (tROYnHI) says:

        I’ve never had the best of luck with Infection. I usually end up a zombie or get matched up with people who betray me to help their friends that are humans. However with that said, I got a shotgun spree/killing spree/zombie killing spree the other day. Wasn’t too hard to pull off, it was just hard to find a space of your own to fight off the zombies. A lot of people camp together, so getting your own kills out of the chaos can be difficult.

    • Barrcode89 says:

      Try going into big team battle, choose hemmorage (when you can) and at the start of the round grab sniper. You can just sit at the back of the map and headshot away! I got rampage and perfection in my first round today by doing that 😀

      • Project SHAVE says:

        Another good strategy bud. If you can hold onto that sniper rifle and collect it when it spawns again, you’re in great shape!

      • Woody says:

        Maaaan, I suck with the sniper rifle. If the fate of the world was depending on me to get more than two kills with a sniper rifle in a matchmaking game, then we would all be doomed (lol). Though I laugh about it, I’m dead serious about my lack of skill with the rifle.

      • joshua (mr per0) says:

        @ woody… I have about that same level of sniper skill. I can sometimes get the bullet to the same zip code.

      • 'Cos says:

        @ Woody…

        I want so very badly to teach you the ways of the sniper! Changes the whole way one can approach the game if they add the skill to their arsenal. Much fun!

      • Woody says:

        ‘Cos, I may have to catch you on some Monday or Tuesday, when my girlfriend is not around to snatch up my time. I would like to get better with the sniper rifle.

  4. xXMaster SoulXx says:

    I love Moa’s…why should we slaughter them!? If anything they would LOVE to assist us in battle…all us spartans riding on them out into battle!!!!!!!!!!!! FOR NARNIA!!!!!…i mean…wait

  5. Mister Shhhhhhh says:

    Young Moa are very tasty!

  6. Matt says:

    Naturally, I’m going to choke on the Killing Frenzy challenge today because it’s a challenge, but I have put up a string of Killing Frenzies lately in the following objective games (meaning that you should be able to as well, with far more aplomb than I):

    -On 1 Flag CTF on Spire, wait til you’re on offense. Run and get the Sniper by the Blue spawn, then retreat to the passage behind the tall, flat rock adjacent to the Blue spawn. Pop out of each end and make headshots on defenders in the entrance of their base (camo is helpful for not tipping them off). Avoid the Falcon and the Banshee like the plague, but if you see a Falcon going by with flames already on it, it’s worth the 1 bullet for a double or triple kill.

    -While playing CTF on Renegade, drop down below the base and get the Sniper. If you spawn nearest the beach,, go to the far right and crouch on the rocks. If you spawn near the wall, go onto the ridge to your left and crouch on the ridge to the left of the new rocks that were added (vs. Hemorrhage). You should be in a position to mostly avoid the other Sniper and get headshots on anybody that stops on the platforms in the middle of the map. Your DMR will be invaluable in taking out anyone approaching your base at ground level because you’ll be be shooting them in the back (why waste the Sniper ammo?). Again, the Banshee is the big threat, but if you retreat back and to the left when it pushes up 9 times out of 10 the pilot won’t see you.

    -While playing CTF or Assault on Abridged, try to get the Plasma Launcher right off the spawn (failing that, grab the Rockets). Crouch behind any rock outcrop and wait for the enemy Falcon to get airborne. Nail ’em for the double or triple. Repeat against any enemy ground vehicles that push up. Take your time and wreck anyone on foot with the DMR; there is such an absurd amount of cover on this map that you should have no trouble treating the grass area in front of either base as a choke point. If you run out of heavy weapon ammo and don’t see more, grab one of the many Needle Rifles so you effectively double your clip size before reloading. As long as you’re patient you’ll get this no problem.

    -On Mt. Lam Lam, the Sniper is a safe bet for a start, but remember that the enemy sniper has a clear line of sight to the 2nd floor of your base. What I’ve done instead is to push up initially to grab a Needle Rifle and then work my way over toward the Rocket spawn. If you keep an eye out ahead you can usually out-DMR anyone going for the Rockets or Rocket Hog. Then, once you’re at the side of the map, cut back toward the middle and shoot anyone pushing up on foot; jetpackers are another prime target because you have lots of cover options and they have none. The biggest annoyances here will be the Rocket Hog and the Sniper; the Falcon is easy enough to avoid (though as always if you see a chance to pick up a double or triple, DO IT). The Laser and Grenade Launcher are not in play as much as you’d expect; the Laser spawn ends up being a no-man’s land and 90%+ of players don’t now how to use the Grenade Launcher.

    Good luck everyone!

    • Matt says:

      “The biggest annoyances here will be the Rocket Hog and the Sniper; the Falcon is easy enough to avoid (though as always if you see a chance to pick up a double or triple, DO IT).”

      should read

      “The biggest annoyances here will be the Rocket Hog and the Sniper; the Regular Hog is easy enough to avoid (though as always if you see a chance to pick up a double or triple, DO IT).”

  7. gans42 says:

    another easy one is rumble pit, just hang back from the action with a dmr and/or a needle rifle and you should get it no problem. i recommend asylum, it has great lines of sight (plus you can do even better by grabbing the shotgun and sniper, if you do this, grab shotty and sniper from one side and go to the other side, this way you wont have to worry about the weapon not respawning because youre holding it, plus no one else will get their hands on them)

    • Woody says:

      Oh wow!! You and your squad were some vicious murderers!! Anyway, I will shed a tear for you. Do you need a hug as well? lol

    • gans42 says:

      because i asked you to play swat with me and you turned it down just to play swat without me. you could have played with have played with this guy (http://www.bungie.net/Stats/Reach/default.aspx?player=cHEm+s0LdieR), who mainly only plays swat.

      sorry for the link in parenthesis, im obviously not cool enough to hyperlink the text

      • Matthew Vose says:

        Don’t take it bad if someone doesn’t accept an invite – don’t forget we’ve both had our friends list filled up (twice over) because of this blog, on top of our own friends and regular Halo buddies! That’s a lot of people who send through a lot of party invites.

      • Woody says:

        Your gamertag looks soooooo familiar. Seems like I have seen it online before in what was probably a brutal matchmaking beatdown… me being the recepiant of the beating.

      • gans42 says:

        matthew i was joking about being offended lol

        and woody thats not me, thats a friend. my gamertag is gans42 (quite shocking i know)

      • Woody says:

        Oh okay. Well, either way, it seems like I have encountered that gamertag before. If my memory services me correctly, it wasn’t a good match for me. lol

      • gans42 says:

        yeah he’s an absolute beast. i was fortunate enough to play a game of swat with him, and have a great game that warranted an invite to play, followed by a friend request, so now i get to plain with phenomenal people and have great games of swat a lot (read: having my ass handed to me mostly)

  8. Marc says:

    I think I might take on the Killing Frenzy Challenge first. Griffball or HaloBall Xtreme seems like my best bet for nailing that challenge. If not, I’ll just do the other three instead.

  9. My son got the Killing Frenzy challenge in his first game of Infection, so that was awesome. For the Moa challenge i just started Winter Contingency from the beginning and killed the 2 at the bottom of the hill. After i killed them i restarted from checkpoint and did it again and again til i got the challenge. Pretty easy.

  10. Dancewav says:

    Interesting point ( or not ) but I got the Moa Challenge on Nightfall while trying to do the weekly, not on winter C . First post here ,so excuse the interestingness of it.

  11. callupchuck says:

    Whoa I just got a killing frenzy from moas.

  12. Dancewav says:

    Make the Moa st of it … ( a more interesting post perhaps. )

  13. As much as I want to do the challenges, my power is cut off and I have only a mobile phone internet connection to keep me sane!

    And I love the Moa challenges!! 😡

    • Sorry to hear that man. I HATE it when the power cuts off from a storm or something. I would go absolutely crazy without my Xbox. Im one of those guys that turn it on when i get up and turn it off when i go to bed late at night. LoL. I have a laptop fan sitting beside it so it doesnt fry. You wouldnt believe the difference those laptop fans make! 😉 Hope your power comes back on very, very soon!

    • Scruff 815 says:

      I broke your power. It’s your own fault, you should stop insulting my lovely helmet.

      • If your talking about the GUNGNIR helmet then yes, i agree with you Scruff. For some reason i really like that helmet and its the one i use almost all the time. Well that one and the Security helmet. Everyone has their favorites but it just seems that only a handful of us like the GUNGNIR or Security.

      • I had a sneaking suspicion it had something to do with you scruff!
        I will stop insulting the helmet (unless its absolutely necessary of course 😉 )

        @Michael- Uh huh take the side of the person who has the grudge 😛

        The ironic thing is that we are having beautiful weather at the moment LOL! NO idea what is causing the outage! 😕

      • Project SHAVE says:

        Am I the only one that hates the security helmet and shoulders? The helmet looks like a bug, the shoulders are way too big and the extra knife is ridiculous. Now, if you could pull both that knife and your regular knife out during an assassination…

      • i hate all the armor and helmets. every so often i look through them all and see this one that makes me go,

        “oooooh this one isn’t half bad!”

        …and it’s the one i’ve already got equipped.

      • t-rOY (tROYnHI) says:

        coincidentally the GUNGNIR helmet and it’s add-ons are the only helmet items I need to buy to progress to 100% armory completion. The last helmet I bought was Security, and the last shoulder armor I need to buy, is the security for the right shoulder (aka Emile’s shoulder armor). Why did I save those for last?…(Chris is gonna love this) I thought they all looked dumb. =P

      • LoL…To each their own. Can we all atleast agree that the Police helmet is the worst looking thing in the armory? Now that thing is ugly, along with Kats helmet of course!

      • Scruff 815 says:

        GUNGNIR looks like the Alien from Alien. And I loves me some H. R. Giger. Also I have a shiny golden eye, like a pirate.

      • t-rOY (tROYnHI) says:

        Sorry Scruff, but everytime I look at the GUNGNIR helmet I just think of the scene in Star Wars where Luke was training with his blast shield down.

        @Michael – Can’t say the Police helmet is the ugliest, but I equipped it once, then watched a campaign cutscene and said ‘nah this helmet looks weird’. Kat’s helmet doesn’t look right unless it’s on a female spartan’s body, and a couple of the helmets look really lame with the add-ons.

        I know a lot of people like EVAs, but for whatever reason I cringe when I see them.

      • Woody says:

        I agree with t-rOY. Kat’s helmet (Air Assault) only looks okay on a female’s body. I tried wearing it once on a male’s body and I didn’t feel too macho afterwards. lol

      • Some of you have terrible taste 😉

        Military Police- egh!!

      • Project SHAVE says:

        The Po Po helmet is by far the worst. I’m not going to dispute that. And the GUNGNIR helmet isn’t bad. I refer to it as the “Dino helmet”, because it reminds me of a…well…Dino’s head.

        And I also refer to the robotic arm as “baby arm”. As in “I got that baby arm cuz!”

        Personally, I prefer the Mjolnir Mk V/VI Helmets, call me old fashioned. The Pilot helmet is pretty rad too, or as I call it, the “Receding Hair Line Helmet” or “Nicholas Cage (pre-hair-plugs) Helmet”.

  14. Matt says:

    Well, contrary to my earlier prediction (see wall of text above), I did wind up getting the Killing Frenzy challenge (and a Running Riot to boot) on…you guessed it, Abridged, my new favorite map, during an assault game. Another guy on my team held the Sniper and got a Running Riot too and a sick number of headshots; I mostly took my time with the DMR/NR and I racked up a number of double kills and a triple by taking out Falcons. It’s refreshing to find a good team in the BTB playlist given the number of quitters and griefers…this team was on its A game as far as coordinating DMR fire and rotating people forward and back to prevent the other team from getting kills.

  15. Woody says:

    I want to thank all who suggested Infection to get the Killing Frenzy challenge. I actually got it and in my last game and ranked up to Field Marshall (Woohoo!!). FINALLY!! Thanks again!

    • gans42 says:

      congrats on making it to the cool ranks 🙂 and yeah infection is the best. the first game that i actually didnt start as a zombie i got the frenzy.

      as an aside, i absolutely hate the cage in infection. it should not be played, uncaged is fine because of the kill zones on top of the cage

      • Woody says:

        Thanks! I feel cool, now. lol

        It’s funny you mentioned your dislike for the cage. That’s where I got my killing frenzy from. I simply isolated myself from everyone else, picking off the zombies as they were drawn to me, since I was alone.

      • gans42 says:

        oh its easy to rack up kills on the cage as a human, its just a pain in the ass and unfair to zombies.

        and yeah, downside of the cool ranks is that they are all super long

  16. 'Cos says:

    Congrats Woody!
    So…the dogs woke me up at 5:30 est this morning. I went outside with them, smoked a stogie, and could not go back to sleep. @ 6 am i play a game of big team battle, with sniper equipped. Final total : 42 kills, 4 deaths, 2 killing frenzies. Game ends @ 6:11 am. Check daily challenges. Have a “oh Damn!” moment when i realize i need to get another frenzy to complete challenge. Should have waited another 5 mins. i guess. Shouldn’t be too hard, i hope. It always seems harder when you have to complete one for a challenge. Don’t know why.

    By the way, thought i would post and let everyone know in case they hadn’t noticed for themselves. Bungie.net has FINALLY updated everyone’s overview picture on their respected page. Yeay!!

    Good luck to all, and i’ll see you online. Feelin’ groovy today. Hope you are on my team if i DO see you…

    – seventh dawg

    • Woody says:

      Thanks, ‘Cos!

      Oh wow!! That sucks, knowing now that a couple more minutes would’ve given you the challenge completion. You’re right though, when you are not attempting a challenge, everything comes easy. When the challenge is called for, everything seems to be a grind. Oh well, I guess that’s expected when everyone else is going for the same challenge.

      I also noticed the photo update as well.

  17. Noobwarrior says:

    Nice payouts today….not gonna do the firefight one….still sick of it from last weeks weekly….killing frenzy came easy first game of infection(one away from my favorite announcer quote….hell’s Jerome….) if anyone wants to play halo I should be on for a while GT:Noobwarrior523

  18. Noshkanok says:

    Mankinds’ vast intelligence has created hyperspace travel and migrated light-years across the galaxy with superior military technology and unbelievable firepower, all to come to planet Reach and kill 15 Moa on Winter Contingency. Poor stupid defenseless creatures will never know what hit ’em. 🙂

  19. SensoryFour34 says:

    I managed to get the Killing Frenzy on Infection, but when I got it, I didn’t get a Hell’s Janitor for some reason. Any ideas why?

    • gans42 says:

      idk, could just be a weird glitch that didnt register it. one time i was playing a game of head hunter, when i actually decided to score, i scored 10 skulls twice, and didnt receive a skullamanjaro. its really frustrating when things dont register. it may have to do with lag also. ive been in games that selected new hosts and it reset the amount of kills i had for that life (so instead of a rampage with a wraith in BTB on hemorrage i was stuck with a lousy frenzy)

Leave a Reply

