29th July – Halo Reach Daily Challenges & Commentary

Today’s challenges are listed below, click Read More to view the commentaries:

  1. More than a Handful – Kill 25 enemies in multiplayer Matchmaking – 1000 cR
  2. This is My Rifle… – Earn 30 kills with precision weapons in multiplayer Matchmaking – 1250 cR
  3. Light Fuse, Run Away – Kill 4 enemies with grenades in a multiplayer Matchmaking game – 1000 cR
  4. T-Hug It Out – Kill 4 enemies with close quarters combat in a multiplayer Matchmaking game – 1000 cR

Commentary follows after the break…

More than a Handful – Kill 25 enemies in multiplayer Matchmaking – 1000 cR

Multi Team Battle or Grifball are the best ways to get lots and lots of kills, you tend to get more than any other modes. If you play Crazy King or Oddball you can get even more as some people who would shoot you go for the objective, and you can take them out. Seasoned Grifball players will also be able to get this in only a game or two, and if you can make an area in an Infection game defensible as a human you can rack up kills quickly. But looking at the other challenges you can pick this up naturally with them.

This is My Rifle… – Earn 30 kills with precision weapons in multiplayer Matchmaking – 1250 cR

Precision weapons are the DMR, Sniper Rifle, Focus Beam and Needle Rifle. Team SWAT will do you well here. Unless you use melee or Pistol every kill will be a precision weapon kill, so play it a few times, try and get a good team who will cover your back (and you theirs), and just do this over 2 or 3 games.

Light Fuse, Run Away – Kill 4 enemies with grenades in a multiplayer Matchmaking game – 1000 cR

Any good MP type helps here. Obviously Elite Slayer is good for Plasma Grenades, and I think Slayer Pro, or maybe Team Slayer, has a loadout with Plasma grenades too. This is with any grenade too, so just jump in your favourite game type that gives you grenades and start throwing grenades into firefights. Squad Slayer on Zealot can be excellent for this, because you get groups running around and some fairly long but tight corridors.

T-Hug It Out – Kill 4 enemies with close quarters combat in a multiplayer Matchmaking game – 1000 cR

Close Quarters is a kill using melee, assassination, Shotgun, Energy Sword, Hammer and Golf Club. Infection can be useful, as that’s all CQC. If only there was a game type where you only used hammers and swords though? I say Grifball, as that’s all CQC as well, and easy to get lots and lots of kills. For other mode options, Action Sack’s Halo Ball Extreme is great, and Infection is almost all CQC bar the Pistol. Maps like Sword Base, Countdown and Reflection give you the Sword, Powerhouse sometimes the Hammer and Asylum the Shotgun. I tend to melee a lot anyway so this should come in one game.

57 Responses to 29th July – Halo Reach Daily Challenges & Commentary

  1. porottaja says:

    Another great Game Night. Lots of custom infection, race, king of the hill adn other goodies. Six hours of that. I guess you kept going at least couple hours after I left at 4 am on my timezone.

    And all this without a single drop of coffee.

    • John says:

      Yeah, I wish I could have played for longer as I enjoy the custom games as they frequently offer something quite different to the normal gametypes, they’re incredibly creative. Annoyingly though I was just finishing my last work shift on Thursday evening and was just shattered, my reactions were like mud and I was particularly grumpy so decided it was best to go to bed.

  2. CrestOfFire says:

    Grenades + Shotguns… Oooh, shiny.

  3. Scruff 815 says:

    Yay Game Night! Old faces, regulars, new people, people off here I’ve just never played with before, and the obligatory randoms who don’t have mics, quit out in the middle of games, who no-one will own up to being friends with.

    Highlights:
    – Jumprope, even though I’m godawful at it
    – The black & white graveyard Infection map
    – Whack-a-mole
    – Races.. though not the ones where a few of us spawned in totally the wrong place..
    – The golf-ball King Of The Hill turning into a game of ‘who can pull off the most ridiculous assassination’
    – Telling Woody a little too late that Game Nights aren’t PG-13…

    Seems that the MM party never got going though 😦

    As for today’s challenges, they’re easy enough and if I get time I’ll do some of them as quickly as possible, but me having any free time today is unlikely at best πŸ˜•

    • Woody says:

      LOL

      Yeah, I noticed the wonderful language about 3-4 minutes into the party. It’s cool though… I do it myself, when the kids are not around.

    • gans42 says:

      ha scruff i agree with you on the golf ball king of the hill. it was especially fun just chilling out with you on random corners of the map because we both knew we couldnt do anything to the other lol

  4. lolGTFOplz says:

    I’ve been coming to this site daily for, months now, and have yet to comment, so here it is!

    Got to love matchmaking friday’s. Makes the work day go by fast for something to do at night.

    Challanges do not seem as if they will be a pain this week, unlike the killing frenzy earlier in the week which i would of had no problem getting if it wasn’t a challange XD

    Anyways, looking forward to todays challanges, see ya for now!

  5. Project SHAVE says:

    Missed out on Game Night last night, because I was 40k away from General Grade 4. So after grinding through the dailies and some solid play in a few games of infection, I made it! Now only 350,000 cR until I join the upper ranks!

    As for the dailies, I’m thinking a game of Rumble Pit, a game or two of Swat and a game of Infection, and challenges done!

    Have a great day everyone!

    • Woody says:

      Congrats on ranking up to General Grade 4! Ijust left that rank two days ago and I have to say that grade 4 is a much bigger grind than the other general grades.

      • Project SHAVE says:

        Thanks Woody! Yeah, Grade 4 is going to be a struggle. I’m hoping to hit Field Marshall within 10 days. That’s ALOT of Reach!

        Congrats to you on hitting the upper ranks Woody!

      • Woody says:

        Thanks, Project! I definitely think you can get to Field Marshall within ten days. Good luck on your task ahead!

    • mickoboy90 says:

      nice hitting the general grade 4..but i think that rank is not that bad compare to mine..im at mythic right now,and its taking forever,and im not even half way through it lol…good luck on getting field marshal πŸ™‚

      • Project SHAVE says:

        Thanks Micko. Good luck getting to Noble!

        People are shocked when they see that I’m already a Gen Grade 4, I’ve only been playing Reach for 3 and a half months. I love this game!

  6. Woody says:

    I’m glad these MM challenges are easy, since I promised I would focus more on MM starting today. The second challenge will be a good opportunity to work on improving my headshots.

    Also, I enjoyed playing with everyone yesterday, during game night. There were lots of interesting custom games that I had never played, but enjoyed, even in while being killed in comical ways. I look forward to another game night.

  7. leroygetz says:

    Game night was great as usual. Snicks is way too nice, a few screamers should have got the boot! Jump rope was great fun but my favourite was do a barrel roll. madness πŸ™‚

    • Noobwarrior523 says:

      There was a do a barrel roll gametype and I missed it =,( reference to my favorite video game,was only there for the last couple hours (Lols at everyone, including me spawning and falling to their death in some of the races) I had a great time on my first game night and will be back for next week’s

      • gans42 says:

        yeah, i hosted that game before you came on, my apologies. if you want i can try and round up some people to have another stab at it (even if not on a game night), i know im always willing to play as are some of my friends

      • Noobwarrior523 says:

        Ty for offering but I can wait until next game night,also I wont be around for the weekend…of course….the super jackpot I can’t play is one in a gametype I like…..im never lucky with the jackpot anyway so I don’t care that much.

      • gans42 says:

        ha okay, well im on…a lot. and if you like swat (which you just said you did) feel free to hit me up for games, its my most played game type

  8. Brian says:

    I think multi-team is also great for grenades crazy king, I just threw grenades into the hill and got a triple off one nade.

  9. Anonymous says:

    yay i get to play on 2 of my favourite playlists and have it count towards the dailes i should be able to get all but the grenade kills i suck with grenade accuracy 😦

    nobody votes for elite slayer nowdays so your best chance for sticky grenade kills is invasion even if you dont spawn as an elite just pick up the grenades they drop when they die

  10. Oreo says:

    Countdown had 4 stickies, 2 on either side of the central area, at the base of the stairs. I tend to pick them up a lot.

  11. YoSoY says:

    I want to be already at home playing these MM challenges! I’m still looking forward for challenges related to vehicles (kill X with vehicles in MM). Don’t understand why people get mad at me when the Rocket Hug Race appears and I’m the driver and I choose not to go after the objetive, but killing people instead. I need people who think the same, anyone?

    Have a nice weekend!

    GT: Gran Calabaza

    • Scruff 815 says:

      RHR is a baaad mode for vehicle kills though. You can only get a couple per game if you’re lucky. If you want to kill people from the comfort of a vehicle, play BTB / Invasion πŸ˜€

      Also – Rocket Hug Race. It’s such a sweet game mode! πŸ˜‰

      • gans42 says:

        rocket hug?

      • YoSoY says:

        LOL 😦 :p

        And yes, you’re right about the BTB/Invasion and Action Sack, I’d add.

        My point is that if RHR appears, why don’t use it to kill people? When I play with friends we use to kill many; it’s different when I play with randoms. IMHO, it’s worth it because there’s a couple of commendations in the MM class that require you to kill with or be the driver of a vehicle in order to take them to the top.

    • porottaja says:

      Indeed, you speak words of wisdom.

  12. SensoryFour34 says:

    Game Night was a lot of fun!!! Had some interesting races, and learned when something is called “The Best Race on Reach”, it’s not gonna be very good. Other than that (and the guy yelling Infection all the time who didn’t understand that when someone boots you five times, you shouldn’t come back) it was great! A few of us kept going after everyone left with the two custom maps we had, and then played some Squad Slayer and played against a team of two Mythics, two Novas, and an Eclipse, and actually won! So it ended up being a pretty good night for us.

    • Mitch (SnarwhaL) says:

      My first game night was definitely a lot of fun. Lots of great people and a few annoying ones. Officially realized I cannot pilot a mongoose to save my life. I’m sure it didn’t help my cause that Snickerdoodle made it her personal mission to destroy me as frequently as possible ;). Late night squad slayer was great too. Started off exceptionally well by beating Novas and Eclipses. Then we came up against a group of Warrant officers and Lt. Colonels. They, shall we say, “had their way” with us. Wasn’t pretty. After replaying the game today I feel like I need to huddle in a hot shower. Looking forward to the next game night and hopefully some team games in the near future.

  13. Braythor says:

    Yeah I came on after I noticed Snicks had volunteered me for the MM PL but seemed like customs was the attraction for the night. So I had a few score attacks and then got on with other things.

    Today seems ok. Not a huge fan of the grenade challenges unless I get elite slayer, which is rare. Team SWAT is Super Jackpot for the weekend by the way. Didn’t see a mention of double jackpots though…

    • Braythor says:

      The start of that was supposed to be a reply to Scruff’s comment by the way. Fail on my part.

  14. callupchuck says:

    Game Night was fun this week. Kudos to the party leaders who chose some fun maps and played for so long! Although I didn’t find the toilet games very enjoyable, how did people score?!

    I had to jump in and out a lot for this Game Night. My roommates and I decided to make some gourmet teriyaki chicken and beef. Shopping, cooking and finishing off two bottles of wine took up the majority of my night.

    So I’m surprised to learn that many people were mic’ed and talking. Were people in an xbox live party? I saw no microphone symbol nor heard anyone. Is it because I don’t have a mic and that excludes me from even hearing anyone else?

    2x SWAT and 1x Rumble Pit

    • Starmage008 says:

      Could be your settings for chat. We weren’t in a party, so if you had it set for everyone to be muted right away (which is convenient for some Matchmaking, chatty people) you’d have heard nothing.

      I got those Toilet-like games from Darth Human, though I don’t know if he’s the original author. I agree, they don’t run at the same pace nor with the same chaos as some other gametypes, but I liked that they were original.

      I’m going to see if I can fix up a working Duck Hunt map / game type for next time. It’s fun if it works right.

      Ugh. 102.9 degrees outside, and “Feels Like” 120. I’ve been cold all day in the office.

  15. chrisllama says:

    Has anyone noticed that they never have a flat tire and holdout specific challenge on the same day? :l 5 hours ._. soooooo much firefight yesterday e.e so what does everyone think the weekly will be next week? o:

    • Noobwarrior523 says:

      I think it will be MM. This week was campaign and last week was firefight, and I haven’t seen a MM weekly In a while,so I hope they finally give us one

      • HC Sangheili says:

        1 Laser Kill

        8000

      • chrisllama says:

        Or o: teabag someone in midair! -challenge accepted-
        or kill someone with a grenade impact πŸ˜€

    • Myself i hope its another LASO. For some reason i love doing those. Well, as long as its not Nightfall. I really liked POA or Oni Sword Base. πŸ˜‰

      • chrisllama says:

        The only one i did solo was the Package o.o they should do some like laso variation, like make crazy mission requirements πŸ˜€

  16. HC Sangheili says:

    Matthew et al: Swat 15K for the weekend.

    • Project SHAVE says:

      woohoo for Team Swat superjackpot weekend!

    • gans42 says:

      HC youll know where youll find me if you wanna join me

    • Woody says:

      I just noticed the super jackpot being in Team Swat. Well, I guess this will be a brutal weekend for me. Everyone knows my lack of skill when it comes to headshots with precision weapons in MM. I’m going to still give it a shot though, since I have to start somewhere if I want to get better.

      Wish me luck! I will need it. lol

      • Noobwarrior523 says:

        You’ll be fine,after some games you just naturally have your sights closer to the head,you could try pistol sniping in infection also if you need practice since you have more time to shoot because the Zombies can only melee

      • t-rOY (tROYnHI) says:

        I sometimes find a game of gruntpoc or 2x score attack helps warm me up for SWAT.

      • Gruntpocalypse in Score Attack FF on the Hideout map. Get in the upper level in the lower room, stand up against the ammo cabinet and fire away with the DMR for headshots. Once I got used to that, Team SWAT is one of my most favorite MM modes!

      • Everyone has their good games and their bad. When it comes to me though, its almost always bad. I almost never go after the Sniper Rifle in MM because out of all the ammo in it i usually just get someones shields down. This morning me and a friend of mine played BTB and i surprised myself. I was able to grab the Sniper and get a total of 16 kills with it. After the game was over i had i think 26 kills 8 deaths. Just keep practicing and you will get better. Oh and just like you i play a TON of Firefight! I think i have about 3 days on you though! LoL!

  17. Marc says:

    Just got finished with all four challenges today. I actually got up early to take on the THUG it out and MTAH challenge and then got the other two done. The grenade kills was no snap since I camped out in the shower room of the Powerhouse and stuck a few people with plasma grenades.

  18. Locklear66 says:

    Well this is a first post. I just wanted to say I appreciate this site and the things y’all are doin to keep it clean. So thanks to all those that run it.

    • Woody says:

      Welcome aboard!

    • Project SHAVE says:

      Welcome bud! And I have to agree with you, it’s such a friendly environment here, unlike Bungie’s message boards. That place is like a warzone.

      Here, everyone is congratulatory and helpful. I love it!

Leave a Reply

