30th July – Halo Reach Daily Challenges & Commentary

Today’s challenges are listed below, click Read More to view the commentaries:

  1. Shootin’ and Lootin’ – Kill 400 enemies in any game mode in Reach – 2000 cR
  2. Up Close and Personal – Kill 5 enemies with close quarters combat in a multiplayer Matchmaking game – 1100 cR
  3. Sticky Icky Icky – Earn 3 sticky grenade Kills in a multiplayer Matchmaking game – 1250 cR
  4. Un, Deux, Trois – Win 3 games in multiplayer Matchmaking – 1450 cR

Commentary follows after the break…

Shootin’ and Lootin’ – Kill 400 enemies in any game mode in Reach – 2000 cR

Best options for this specifically:

  • Forge – make a game with players spawning in one spot and camp it
  • Firefight – Download my Firefight Invincible game type on my File Share, lots of Elites, lots of medals, lots of kills (plus ‘cheevos if you’ve not done the Firefight ones)
  • ONI: Sword Base – Use the Target Designator trick (run past everyone at the beginning, grab it, turn around, fire, wait for the killing to stop and restart the checkpoint)
  • Package – There are points where you can get a checkpoint just before a number of Grunts appear in the final battle, so you can gun them down and restart

Up Close and Personal – Kill 5 enemies with close quarters combat in a multiplayer Matchmaking game – 1100 cR

Close Quarters Combat is essentially melee, assassination, sword, hammer or shotgun kills. Juggernaut in Rumble Pit’s good – of course Grifball is 100% melee and easy to get lots of kills when you get your timing right. Infection can be really good, and it does appear that sword kills count double for the sword and the pummel.

Sticky Icky Icky – Earn 3 sticky grenade Kills in a multiplayer Matchmaking game – 1250 cR

Slayer Pro has no armour lock and one loadout with Plasma Grenades. Invasion is excellent too since it’s really good for sticky grenades in the first round. DinoBlasters can be surprisingly good since no one tends to look out for the grenades, especially when you’re in Zealot type maps.

Un, Deux, Trois – Win 3 games in multiplayer Matchmaking – 1450 cR

If you play a Team Slayer/SWAT/Grifball/Snipers/Action Sack etc you’ll get this easier, since only two teams gives you a higher chance of winning than the 6 person multi team (for instance). Make sure you read this Weekly Challenge commentary for more hints on doing it quick.

54 Responses to 30th July – Halo Reach Daily Challenges & Commentary

  1. Scruff 815 says:

    SWAT! SWAT! SWAT! This is the second time that the Super Jackpot is in a playlist that I actually enjoy! 😉 I’m gonna keep playing SWAT until I get the jackpot. After that I’ll play Invasion if I still need the stickies / CQC challenges 😀

    Feel free to join me for SWAT goodness if you see me online, but be gentle with me, I have a massive hangover. Ouch.

  2. Tom says:

    CQ and grenades 2 days in a row? I’d prefer a little variety…

  3. NightRaven45 says:

    Awwww yeah. Pretty easy looking challenges today. I’m goin on vacation and wasn’t sure if I’d be able to get any of these done before I leave. It sucks knowing all the challenges I’ll be missing out on, but I need a break. Good luck everyone, and I’ll be back in about 2 weeks.

    • Woody says:

      Enjoy your vacation!

      I know I was going through Halo withdrawl symptoms when I was at Disney World for for nine days. lol

  4. Sir Galahad 63 says:

    My Hour of Halo: a boy’s  tale.

    One day a little boy went off to battle in Team Swat to get the daily challenges (yesterdays). His first game went average and nothing exciting happened. In his second game he scored pretty good and his team won. His cR payout was 25, 784!! Thanks to three daily challenges,  the ‘One Shot’ commendation upped to silver, the Super Jackpot of 15, 000cR, and the game complete performance bonus cR. This caused him to rank up to General grade 1. The little boy was very happy 🙂

    20 minutes into his hour, the little boy craved for the last daily challenge, for 4 grenade kills in one game. So off he went into battle once again, into the Invasion playlist. He started on the Elites team on Spire. The opposing team consisted of Nova’s and an INHERITOR :O. The first half of the game the little boy’s team  lost all three rounds. So the rest of his team quit, leaving the little boy all by himself, getting spawn killed by a full team of Elites! But the little boy went out with a fight and took 5 Elites with him. But he ended the game with a -41 spread. The little boy held his pride though, by not quitting.

    So for the last 25 minutes of the little boys hour, he was killing zombies, desperately trying to restore his broken k/d.

    The end.

    A boy’s tale.

    You can view the results of the little boys Invasion game, where he was raped repeatedly here: http://www.bungie.net/Stats/Reach/GameStats.aspx?gameid=729873372&player=Sir Galahad 63

    • Tom says:

      Dude, that is brutal. I feel bad for you. Kudos for not quitting though.

    • Noobwarrior523 says:

      Am I the only person who has a good story about being alone on a team…it was team swat,asylum…that is my best map on swat. The second the game started two kids who were playing split screen left my team,about a minute in the other person wasn’t enjoying our 2v4 so he left…I wasn’t giving that team the free win so I stayed, and since they weren’t camping but trying to find me,I was able to easily to headshot them running around the map. The score was 45-23? I know my score was 45 but I only remember that their score was in mid 20s. Then the same thing happened In a game of Dino blasters,other team had to be pissed,I won 39-38. Those are my 1v4 stories, saddened to hear that noone else gets lucky enough to not get spawned raped.

      • chrisllama says:

        dude i got a 49-50 game by myself against 4 people o.o my controller kept disconnecting though :l

      • gans42 says:

        in swat its an advantage to have less people, less targets for them and more for you

    • Woody says:

      I feel you pain. Sorry you had to go through that. I know what it is like to go through that. I had my entire team quit in a SWAT game. I think the score was like 12-0, when everyone decided to quit. Since I suck at getting headshots and it was on a small map, the score didn’t get any better. I was re-spawning in the path of bullets every other time. The score ended being 50-0, but I never quit though.

  5. Marshy 40 says:

    Nice and easy for today. I’ll be leaving for the States soon so these will have to last me for a while. Wonder if I’ll get withdrawal symptoms 🙂

  6. Woody says:

    Since, my girlfriend had been up earlier with all she wants to do is play grifball, which is what we’re doing now. She’s actually doing better than me, which is unbelievable. It’s okay though, we both will get our challenges done playing grifball. Anyway, hopefully I will get some precision training in sometime today.

    Happy Haloing everyone!!

  7. 'Cos says:

    Good story. Sad story. Much respect for NOT quitting. I have had too many stories like this one, myself. I know how you feel. I actually got a message from a player on my team the other night after a big team battle game in which all left the two of us. We got beat REAL good. The message simply said “Thanks for not leaving me all alone!” I know we were going through the Hell together, but the message sounded so sad. Sad and funny.

    Last night, my story went something like this. Having never played a swat game in reach (i know, i know!), i finished the first game -8. For the next 11 games i finished in the positive, with an average of positive seven. At least i improved. Hopefully i’ll be better tonight. But swat isn’t my favorite gametype. Too many ways to be killed ‘cheaply’, as i was reminded last night.

    Good luck to all today. See you online. Add me if you want a partner…who won’t ever quit, like Sir Galahad. Kudos!

    – seventh dawg

  8. Locklear66 says:

    Ug trying to beat this game on legendary is killen me but i want that achievement

    • Noobwarrior523 says:

      Patience is key….I beat the last level with a shotgun…….takes like 4 shells to take down a brute….for elites the noob trick of EMPing then headshoting=win. Needler is great for brutes.

      • Noobwarrior523 says:

        Also send me a friend request if you want help…I’m always welcoming a chance to get assists in campaign my GT is Noobwarrior523, I won’t be on until late tomorrow though.

      • Locklear66 says:

        Well I got it beat on co-op I gota do it alone now so yea but thanks anyway

    • chrisllama says:

      The cool thing about this game is its not like that ass treyarch, there are no infinite respawns so just be patient, this games the most like halo ce, and (as im trying to beat it now) a plasma weapon takes shields down alot (the plasma pistol is super accurate) then headshot with the pistol or dmr, and for brutes they have no shields so a few needles help, uhh prettymuch go slow, if you rush (and thank you cause if youve played waw veteran youd know its hard to camp cause of spamnade) youll just get shot up :l also never try to assassinate brutes, it doesnt work

    • John says:

      I’ve just finished a Legendary playthrough to get the weekly, generally the game rewards patience and accuracy although I appreciate it can be annoying at times given how quickly your health just disappears.

      A couple of things I noticed on this playthrough I’ve not seen before, I didn’t think you could assassinate brutes so was surprised to assassinate one when I went for a beatdown. Also I didn’t notice the bodies are Spartans in Lone Wolf, are they the same models each time and is there meant to be any relevance to them?

      John

      • i thought you couldn’t assassinate them once they realized you were there? but as long as they don’t see you it’s okay?

      • Locklear66 says:

        Thanks guys for the support and with tha brute u can assassinate them it’s just hard me and a friend always see who can get the most in a game

      • gans42 says:

        you can assassinate brutes, remind me and ill put a video in my file share

      • John says:

        Having assassinated one and seen it I don’t need a video…

  9. 'Cos says:

    @ Locklear,

    Are you using tyrant’s guide for a point of reference? This will help if you’re not…

    http://halo.bungie.org/gameplay/reach_mythic/wc.html

    Good luck…and i can help you out at some point if you want. Although give it a go solo. It’s a lot of fun that way, i believe.

  10. Project SHAVE says:

    I normally enjoy swat, but I’m all swatted out! I played way too much last night going for that 15k this morning I only needed 4 games of swat to get it. Woo hoo!

    Good hunting everyone!

  11. Scruff 815 says:

    23 games to get the Super Jackpot. 23. Bloody hell.

    At least I now have Birthday Party. “Yaaaaay!”

  12. Locklear66 says:

    Cos, no didnt know about that thanks

  13. BigCman0789 says:

    First time poster, long time lurker. You can only get one super jackpot per day, correct? Or is it per weekend?

    I appreciate all the work you guys do to keep this operation together.

  14. Marc says:

    I nailed the 2nd and 4th challenges easily in three games of Grifball and won all three of them back-to-back. The 3 sticky grenade challenge was a little challenging even though I got it in a game of Shotty Snipers on Powerhouse. The rest of the kills for the 1st challenge will be towards the Campaign mode for me.:)

  15. chrisllama says:

    dude i had the best game of swat yesterday o.o i got the beat down and the 25 kills in my first game, then i proceeeed to get a 2-18 k/d next game :l

    • Project SHAVE says:

      25 kills in Swat is a beastly score! Congrats! Last night I got my first extermination while playing swat. A few games later, I got Extermination again. Haha

  16. SensoryFour34 says:

    I discovered yesterday just how much I hate people who keep jumping on SWAT! They’re so hard to hit, and just plain annoying. I also got the Dome Inspector commendation in Firefight to Onyx. The bad thing was I need ~100 headshots to get it and after finishing a game of Gruntpocalypse, I needed exactly ONE more headshot to get it. I was pissed, but got into a game of Crashsite to get that final headshot.

  17. Braythor says:

    Hahaha, just got a killing frenzy on SWAT, and I’m drunk! I rule all! (Sorry, but a KF is something I would brag about sober, so…)

  18. lolGTFOplz says:

    challenges done, and swat jackpot not showing up. what a day.

    • Marshy 40 says:

      Yeah, same here. I actually hit the credit limit for the first time. I’m wondering if the credit limit is by local calendar day, not when the challenges reset, because I actually only gof 114k in today’s challenge “period”.

  19. Gilester says:

    Hey guys, just seen this website and it looks awesome 🙂 I’m really into Reach at the moment and have been completing many challenges and commendations, and this is a really good place to look for tips and other info.

    Got these challenges easily today, with the help of a Rampage in Living Dead! Currently in bed on iPhone and it’s 2.24am here, but should be on most of the time in the next two weeks…

    Goodnight, better sleep now 😛 gtag is mah name up there^

  20. 'Cos says:

    30 plus games of swat and still no jackpot. Needless to say, i’m extremely pissed off right now. I have accumulated 90,000 credits today already. A few more games and i’ll reach my credit limit, never having gotten the jackpot. Anyone else having this problem? Or has bad luck found me again? And you thought 23 games (with the jackpot in hand) was a lot, Scruff. Now it’s a matter of principal. I want what you owe me, Bungie! Damn you…

    …yeah, i feel better now. Thanks.

    • Project SHAVE says:

      Been there. A month or so ago when every weekend the super jackpot kept getting bigger, I only got one over a few weekends, I was bummed. I didn’t even get the 30k jackpot at all during Bungie week.

      I’ve been lucky so far this weekend, I’ve gotten it Friday and Saturday, hopefully my luck doesn’t run out!

      Good luck ‘Cos!

      • 'Cos says:

        Yeah thanks. I know i will offend many people by what i’m saying next…but here it goes. Maybe this ‘journey’ wouldn’t be so bad if it were any gametype other than swat. I severely dislike swat. There. I said it. And more? No. I will refrain from expressing my truest of opinions upon the subject of swat. Thanks for your support, especially at this hour. I decided to get drunk until i get the jackpot. 5 beers, 3 shots in now. Still no jackpot after? I don’t know anymore. “Approaching 40 games” is what i will say for now. Stay tuned for details…

      • awww i like SWAT!

        totally personal preference though. that weekend it was in Infection?

        yeah, pass.

  21. 'Cos says:

    sorry snickerdoodle. I mean no offence. But right now. Yeah. Really not liking it too much. But i see your point about infection. Agreed!
    …1 more beer, 3 more games, no payout. Oh my…

  22. 'Cos says:

    Ahhhh.

    VICTORY !!

    Smells like,
    like,
    like…beer? That’s not right.

    Thank you so very much for the cookies. But only if they can be ‘snickerdoodles’!
    I made a funny. And yes, i do believe i am quite inebriated at the moment. Too much beer; too much swat. G’nite all. Tomorrow is right around the corner…

Leave a Reply

