Halo Reach Weekly Challenge & Commentary – w/c 1st August

This week’s challenge is below, click Read More to view the commentary:

Clear Eyes, Full Hearts – Win 50 games in multiplayer Matchmaking this week – 7777 cR

Commentary follows after the break…

The challenge name is a reference to Friday Night Lights, apparently a speech and phrase often used to pep up the players and motivate them. Third time we’ve had this weekly too.

Anyway… what game types give you a better chance of winning? Rule #1 is definitely play a 2 team gametype. If you’ve got Rumble Pit, Infection or Multi Team going there are so many competitors that you’ve gotta be pretty good to get the big W. Game types that you should be looking at:

  1. Grifball – Can be really easy to win, everyone gets annoyed at someone who grabs the bomb and scores quickly but it is easy and you can win a game in a minute or two
  2. Team Slayer/SWAT/Action Sack/Objective… – Any of the Team gametypes are good. 2 teams so you’ve got a higher chance of winning, especially if you trust your team and can play well together
  3. Invasion – Longer games and slightly trickier to win, but they’re really good at helping the whole gammut of Commendations, plus often help with the Challenges too
  4. Arena – Arena can be really tough as it’s some of the best players, but it’s still the same idea of two teams battling it out

There are more gametypes, frankly pick your best and keep at it. This is a proper weekly challenge that you can build on during the week, and then at the weekend top up if you need any more for it, look out for Daily Challenges that help too.

Game Night this week (THURSDAY!) will be pure Multiplayer parties in Reach so that’s a good chance to work on this too, you’ll usually get a dozen or more games in quite easily.

Do you want to know how to get notifications of these challenge commentaries? Well it’s easy… you can follow me on Twitter, join the Facebook group or just subscribe to the site using the email option on the right to receive the challenges and a link to the commentary straight into your inbox.

57 Responses to Halo Reach Weekly Challenge & Commentary – w/c 1st August

  1. Scruff 815 says:

    Let’s just get the whinging out of the way first – it should be worth more than 7,777 cR, and the accompanying dailies shouldn’t make you play Firefight instead.

    On the bright side, it’s a MM-related challenge that doesn’t rely on one specific gamemode and that can only be a good thing. I’ll just play a variety throughout the week methinks, starting in a couple of hours or so 😀 (yes, I may be online at time of writing this but I’m not actually online, if you see what I mean)

    Unrelated talking point of the week – what voice do y’all use in FF? I had Nathan Fillion for ages but have now got Carter, even though he’s my second-least favourite member of Noble Team. But I needed to get his voice for the armory completion and all, plus no-one else seems to use him so you don’t have that embarrassing moment where you and another guy realise you’re at a party wearing the same FF voice. 😕

    • Matthew Vose says:

      It used to be a 5000 credit challenge so be grateful you’re getting any more than that.

    • porottaja says:

      Auntie Dot, but might chance it to Cortana. I like AIs.

    • Braythor says:

      True Scruff, but then as MM isn’t very rewarding anyway in terms of cR (at least compared to FF), I’m not too surprised.

      I used Stacker for a loooooooong time, then have been switching it around a bit; I’m using Jorge at the moment.

    • Cortana! it’s the only one i’ve bought (and plan to buy) and she amuses me oh so much. especially when i pick up a rocket launcher! :mrgreen:

      • Sir Galahad 63 says:

        What does she say??

        And I have Master Chief all the way!! My favorite 🙂

      • 'Cos says:

        Hello everyone. I could have used this weekly last weekend in my attempt to get the SWAT jackpot. Must have played 100 games, of which i’m sure i won 50. Damn.

        As far as my FF voice, i have always used either Cortana or Auntie Dot. I am quite fond of a female voice, especially when all you hear otherwise are male voices. Almost soothing…

        Good luck to all today. See you online in a bit.

        – seventh dawg

        p.s. : i think i am gonna join for some fun on gamenight this week. (Or gameday as it is here in the States!) So hopefully i will be playing with some new friends this week. Looking forward to it…

    • Sir Galahad 63 says:

      Master Chief! My favourite!

    • HC Sangheili says:

      Sarge, “I know what the ladies like. Dead Covies.”

    • TheOneInYellow says:

      I have John 117 (who else) as my FF voice, but I may change this to Sgt Johnson, or something, before I get to Inheritor (according to HaloCharts.com, I have less than a year; last week, I had 1.1 years O_O).

    • Project SHAVE says:

      Master Chief right here (Even though my Spartan is a lady). Some of the things he says are so great!

      “Put that in your ring and smoke it…”
      “I betcha I CAN stick it,”
      “Time to give the Covenant back their bomb.”

      RAD.

      I want to get Cortana, but I think she should be an add-on to MC’s FF voice. Since she’s an AI, it would be better if she was just the AI, not supposed to be the actual Spartan doing the massacring…if that makes sense.

      • artemi says:

        Isn’t one of Cortana’s something like “This one’s gone, pull me and get me a new one” when you die?

    • I usually switch FF voices a lot. My favorites are Auntie Dot and MC. Well i only have 3 more things to buy from the Armory to get 100% completion. The Birthday Party AE, the Hearts, and the Cortana voice. By close to the end of the week i should have it. 😉

    • Woody says:

      My top 3 FF voices in order: 1) John, 2) Emile, 3) Johnson

      I also like Cortana and Kat’s voice, when I decide to switch to female.

    • Noobwarrior523 says:

      I use Emile right right now and it sucks because everyone has him,I want johnsons FF voice because he has always been one of my favorite characters. I’ll probably buy it next time I have 100,000cr. (the cheapest thing in the armory I can buy is 60k credits…71% completion and not even general yet)

      • SensoryFour34 says:

        I know what you mean. I saved up really early for Johnson’s voice because that was a really high priority for me. It was the second one I bought after Emile.

    • SensoryFour34 says:

      Johnson all the way!!! “Sergeant Major Avery Jr. Blow the Hell Out of Your Alien Ass Johnson reporting for duty!” Best quote ever!!!

  2. Pingback: 1st August – Halo Reach Daily Challenges & Commentary « Halo Reach Daily Challenges

  3. Woody says:

    With my girl’s new found addiction Halo Reach, especially grifball, we can easily get this challenge done in one day… well, assuming neither of us had to work. Personally, I will probably have this challenge done by Thursday or Friday. I’m sure she will need help over the weekend, which I will gladly assist.

  4. Homicidal Burger says:

    Seeing as you’re going to do MM for Game Night this week, are you going to be playing BTB so you can incorporate more people?

  5. leroy getz says:

    Kats voice is awesome in firefight. My favorite line is when she picks up rockets “time for some heavy metal”

  6. Project SHAVE says:

    What makes me sick about this weekly is that I guessed it last night. I was doing some homework and I started thinking “damn…I really hope the weekly isn’t a ‘Win X Amount of Games in MM…'”

    Well, I’m a Sagittarius. Supposedly we can predict the future.

  7. YoSoY says:

    Yeah, well, can anyone tell me when was the last time a completely new challenge (daily or weekly) popped up and if really a challenge? I’m feeling like running in circles with theses challenges, besides IMHO they’re not really a challenge, they’ll be done if you keep playing MM.
    How about a challenge like we had last 07/07? Something like: “Feed them – Win X games in MM by at least 20 points”. Or “Don’t drive and drink – Kill X enemies with vehicles in MM”. Do you have more ideas?
    Have a nice week!

    • Matthew Vose says:

      28th July – More Like In Post – Kill 1000 enemies on Outpost in Firefight Matchmaking – 3000 cR.

      New challenge, never before seen.

      I suspect there’s a lot of background data work that needs to take place for challenges, tracking the details of how something in game fulfills the criteria of the challenge and applying it to all users (which is why we sometimes see things not tracking, or bugs in the challenge).

      Chances are challenges aren’t managed within Bungie but run from a fairly automated system. When 343i get them that may or may not change, but I’m avoiding getting excited so I’m not too disappointed.

      • YoSoY says:

        Thanks Matthew.

        It’s me, I know. I’d love new challenges more often, that’s all. Sometimes I get frustrated.

        Talking about something else, how about celebrating the 1,000,000 hits of RDC with a long weekend of night parties? Uh? What do you think? Do you have a special plan? I bet you and your friends do!

        Cheers, man!

      • Matthew Vose says:

        I totally feel the same, but I’m past expecting it to happen. The most interesting days in terms of RDC were the introduction of Campaign points challenges, the first time we had EOD, and of course, the 19th January. We won’t see days like that again (32,301 hits in one day).

        I’m expecting the blog to get it’s millionth hit on Tuesday or Wednesday next week, barring some sort of very exciting or rare challenges coming up, or a string of days that need no explanation.

        In terms of something special?? What does everyone think? What would you all suggest to celebrate?

      • YoSoY says:

        I’d like to make a lot of noise.

        I suggest a mix of games which we could use to make this community bigger, I mean, RDC teams versus teams that don’t know about this website. We could send an after match message “Reaching your main challenge is just a matter of hits. 1,000,000 hits, visit RDC!”

        Maybe I’m too enthusiastic about this! 🙂

      • Braythor says:

        Matthew, I’ve been watching that lovely number grow and grow for…ohhh at least 9 months now, and I am so happy that the increasing popularity has not been accompanied by an increasing number of, well, idiots (and those that have cropped up have had their ruins smote upon the Halo’s grounds by you, Snicks and the other wonderful folk we have here).

        I like this idea of a celebration of sorts for the million mark, but don’t really know what to suggest. Oh, maybe on game night we all try and make a combined 1,000,000 cR haul (so everyone takes note of their starting and finishing cR from Bungie.net and we add them up afterwards). Based on the numbers I’ve seen playing on game nights, I think it’s nicely within the realms of possibility, without being too easy.

      • Scruff 815 says:

        Love the million credits idea! Also love the idea of games against other teams. Basically I love all of these ideas and mainly want to celebrate the million hits with lots of Halo 😉

      • do i get to hit Scruff a million times then? :mrgreen:

      • YoSoY says:

        I like Braythor’s idea better than mine! 🙂

        It’d be great if I could join you guys. It’s not easy for me except on weekends because of the time zone. But I’ll do my best, so will my english!

  8. Mister Shhhhhhh says:

    Sargent Johnson: ‘throw another one on the junkpile!’

  9. gans42 says:

    this weekly wouldnt be so annoying if i didnt keep getting crappy teammates. i played 14 games and only won 9, and almost every game i was the leading scorer on my team, and every game i had at least one teammate that could barely manage walking and looking around at the same time (though scruff and i for the most part able to pick up the slack)

  10. SensoryFour34 says:

    I think there must be a rule to have a weekly you actually where you actually have to play the whole week when I’m gonna be gone. We’re going up to the lake for a few days. We’re leaving today and we’ll be there until Thursday, so I probably won’t get this one.

    • gans42 says:

      this happened to me every time they had dedication/time. if i was home just one more day i would have been able to get the 4 dailys that would have helped me to get the challenge each and every time lol…you learn to live with it

  11. Woody says:

    I’m curious, how many of you have reach the daily credit limit and how many times have you done it? Also, approxiamately how many hours did it take to reach the limit? I’m just wondering, because I was thinking about going for the limit today and/or tomorrow, since those are the two best days I can spend the most time on Halo and wanted to know if it is even possible with the other things I have to do in between time.

    • i’ve done it once and it was this weekend, actually.

      but um, i was on for uh, a long time. 😳

    • Scruff 815 says:

      I’ve never done it, not even on Bungie day (though I’m fairly sure the ceiling was increased for that day). I believe it’s 120,000 cR – how fast you get there will depend on what you play and what rank you are already. A Forerunner playing lots of FF Arcade will get there a lot quicker than a Warrant Officer playing Action Sack, for instance.

      • Woody says:

        Yeah, I had to explain the whole rank and credit thing with my girlfriend over the weekend. She complaining about me getting more credits than her. She’s just a Warrant Officer.

    • Beermit says:

      Did it for the first time a few weeks back. I think I played about 8 hours straight, with a mix of MM and FF Arcade. Ah, summers in college 🙂

      • Woody says:

        Well, if it took you approxiamately eight hours, then there’s no need in me going for it. At best I’m working with seven hours and I doubt I will get that fully, due to errands in between time.

    • YoSoY says:

      Hey!

      I’ve done that like 6 or 7 times. Up to 8 hours playing FF and MM, mainly. Last time was last Saturday. It was a mix of upgrading commendations, super jackpots and fat rewards on weekly and daily challenges.

      HTH

  12. Anonymous says:

    i get more credits than this challenge gives in just 5 games which i dont even need to win id get that amount in 5 games regardless if i win or lose so bungie/343 need to make the credit rewards worth the time it takes to complete the challenge

    • Matthew Vose says:

      But…but…but… you said yourself in the past ‘i mean why skip them if theyre such easy credits?’ [sic]

      You don’t even need to actively play at this one, just have a few games a day over a couple of hours and unless you’re really unlucky you’ll eventually get there.

      • Anonymous says:

        yep when there were easy challenges for a weekly and took a short amount of time this one would take a very long time for little reward its all well and good saying to do it over a few days with several hours playing time but not everyone has the free time for that myself included

  13. Garr Komtaree says:

    Win 50 games in matchmaking, woohoo? maby.

    But who ever said arena had some of the best players be wrong, Its a collection of rocket wh0r3s
    2 shot sniper failers and DMR noobs. test the DMR for yourself its full of auto aim, its a whole lot more skillfull to betray a team mate with it then to kill a player, even the needle rifle is more skill filled because it doesnt have as much auto aim.

  14. Noobwarrior523 says:

    I just got on if anyone is up for some team games for the weekly(pref. Grifball, SWAT, or team slayer) my GT is Noobwarrior523. Also, I WONT play team snipers, I can’t snipe, at all.

  15. SensoryFour34 says:

    I’m getting kinda tired of randoms. If anyone wants to join me for some Grifball, please send me a friend request. It’s a lot easier with other people. My GT is the same as my name here.

    • MadAmericanTacos says:

      I’m down for Friday (the wife lets me play as long as I want after 10 pm est) so if you want to join up I will send you a request tomorrow night. Also if JustHawkeye would like to join that would be 3 so we will only have one random…

  16. callupchuck says:

    For the weekly, I’m definitely sticking with some kind of slayer game type. I’m the kind of guy that hunts people in objective games ergo I usually lose the game – unless I have good teammates that go for the objective when the opposition is occupied with me. Considering this type of play style, multi team and objective playlist might not be a bad idea for this weekly if you don’t mind dying.

    Side note. Just purchased the discounted defiant and noble map packs. Excited to try them out!!

    Side note2. So I have an Xbox360 S with only a 4GB flash memory. This actually affects more of a game’s features than I thought. Theater and online cooperative are missing. I’m looking at HDD’s sold separately and was wondering if these harddrives unlock these features. I’ve tried external harddrives via the USB port, but it’s still considered “flash memory.”

  17. JustHawkeye says:

    You need a hard drive to play firefight and campaign on xbox live too.

    I’m a Buck voice all the way, although I also think Stacker and Johnson are funny.

    Anyone want to play grifball, swat, slayer, or action sack just send me an invite or friend request. My name is my GT.

Leave a Reply

