2nd August – Halo Reach Daily Challenges & Commentary

Today’s challenges are listed below, click Read More to view the commentaries:

  1. One Spartan Army – Kill 250 enemies in Firefight Matchmaking – 1875 cR
  2. Fortified Court – Kill 150 enemies on Courtyard in Firefight Matchmaking – 1125 cR
  3. Leadership Element – Kill 45 enemy leaders in the Campaign today – 1100 cR
  4. Who’s the Big Winner? – Win 15 games in multiplayer Matchmaking – 3000 cR

Commentary follows after the break…

One Spartan Army – Kill 250 enemies in Firefight Matchmaking – 1875 cR

You get 120 Grunts in Gruntpocalypse, about 100 enemies in Score Attack, 120-135 in 2X SA, and something like 330 in a Firefight Matchmaking game (although split between up to 4 people). If you need to ‘top up’ your FF kills, jump into a game of Generator Defense or Crashsite and once you have your kills give up the defense. Get anything you can twice over in Courtyard today to get the next challenge.

Fortified Court – Kill 150 enemies on Courtyard in Firefight Matchmaking – 1125 cR

Interesting that there’s been a spate of FF map specific challenges. And sad that there’s no Corvette one. Rule 1 for these is take the map the first time it comes up, whatever game type, in case you don’t see it again. If you don’t get it you can quit out, there have been some comments that it doesn’t count in 1 player modes like Score Attack, but I wouldn’t do it too often in case.

As per the previous challenge there’s no game that has the kill volumes unless you can get FF Arcade with one other person max. I say 2 games of Gruntpoc or 2X Score Attack to get through this in 20 mins.

Leadership Element – Kill 45 enemy leaders in the Campaign today – 1100 cR

Nightfall, the first dude with his back to you, either snipe him, beat him down or assassinate him, then restart the checkpoint again and again to get it quick. Other options are the Package or Pillar of Autumn levels (which have loads of leaders), the Target Designator on ONI: Sword Base since you get one or two in that beam and can reset the checkpoint just as the bombs fall.

Who’s the Big Winner? – Win 15 games in multiplayer Matchmaking – 3000 cR

Fitting in really nicely with the Weekly challenge, this is just a little bit of a grind. Go for Team Slayer/SWAT/Snipers/Objective game types so you only have two teams playing and a better chance of winning. I’d also recommend finding some guys you play well with and sticking with them. You’ll get lots of credits from the games and then a tasty bonus on winning your 15th, and you’ll be a good way into doing the weekly. That’s all worth the gravy in my book.

Don’t forget to check out our Game Night hub page for details of the plan for this Thursday. And the Halo: Reach map packs are still on offer online (as is a lot of Microsoft Studios DLC) so I’d recommend picking that up too.

69 Responses to 2nd August – Halo Reach Daily Challenges & Commentary

  1. CrestOfFire says:

    Ooh, these challenges seem fun. 45 enemy leaders… Nightfall vs messing up my cR. farm on ONI.

    I’ll go for the Sword Base; that’s ALWAYS fun for me.

    150 enemies in Courtyard…

    100 enemies somewhere else…

    Gruntpocalypse and Generator Defence… *laughs evilly*

  2. Scruff 815 says:

    Wasn’t going to bother with the Campaign one until your write-up reminded me of how easy it is to do (providing the checkpoint triggers correctly, anyway). A couple of games of FF should be nice, I like Courtyard. And then ‘win 15 games’. Hmm. As usual, if people want to buddy up and get a strong team together, just join me 😀

    And regarding yesterday’s conversation about SWAT teammates quitting on you actually being an advantage: http://www.bungie.net/Stats/Reach/GameStats.aspx?gameid=734216384

    • figures this challenge comes up after a night of playing where i got 19 wins. super.

      i may or may not be around later but one of these days i’m gonna catch you online so we can play NOT in the mayhem that is game night….

      • Scruff 815 says:

        It has happened before… Wasn’t that long ago that you and I were storming through a load of Rumble Pit 🙂

        ‘Tis difficult for me to give definitive times for when I’ll be online during the day, I tend to come and go… Just join / invite if you see me. Unless I’m “playing Campaign co-op” of course, in which case I’m not actually anywhere near my Xbox 😉

      • yes, that was a fun night too!

        i probably won’t be around much today, i’m actually feeling ambitious and i think i’m going to take my kindle and plop my happy ass down at the cafe up the street for the afternoon. :mrgreen:

      • t-rOY (tROYnHI) says:

        man I wish I had at least 9 MM wins last nite. Doesn’t look good for me to get the 15 wins today either. Got a late dinner lined up and I believe I won’t be on until 2 hours before the changing of the challenges.

        Goodluck to everyone.

    • Matthew Vose says:

      o.O I reminded Scruff how to do something in Reach? You feeling okay man?? 🙂

      And sometimes you don’t need people to quit, just not throw their lives away needlessly whilst you school the other fools out of their jewels.

      Yes those are my two good games worth commenting on for a while. It doesn’t happen often. Double figure kills that is.

      Anyways, I’ll be around later too, mostly sticking with SWAT because I lubs it so much. I don’t always have my headset in but happy to play in a party when you see me.

      • Scruff 815 says:

        Cool beans 🙂 Just don’t mute me if you don’t have your headset in – I tend to yell out where people are coming from (particularly in SWAT) for the benefit of my teammates. And I swear a lot too, but hey. 😉

      • wait…..you swear?

        dammit.

        i don’t know if we can be friends anymore.

        😉

      • Chris (Insanity Boy) says:

        LOL, Scruff’s “Oh Sh*t” when something goes wrong is hilarious!!

      • Scruff…. why are you never playing when I’m online… LOL

        That’s what headsets and being able to talk is about; telling your teamates where the enemy is and what they’re doing. I’m looking for players like you.

        I don’t understand the people online that don’t use the ability to play as a TEAM! Why don’t they just play Lone Wolves or something? In the last week, I can’t recall 1 game where anyone talked during the game.

        Now mind you, I don’t like when people try to make me listen to their favorite hip hop songs holding their mic to a cheap A$$ radio; or the guy in Chicago in the projects talking to about 30 people in the same room and making me listen to him explaining the game or what biatches he’s doing that night, or the guy with his headset on and on the cell phone talking to some dude……

    • gans42 says:

      ha scruff im jealous…why couldnt i be there for that one. well anyways ill be on in about an hour and would love to partner up with you again

  3. Matthew Vose says:

    And it turns out I was one of those guys who quit (connection issues) and made it easier for someone else:

    http://www.bungie.net/stats/reach/gamestats.aspx?gameid=734464548&player=Loreweaver

    Which is good because that guy had dead eyed me every time we met in the previous game!

  4. Woody says:

    Goodness… now that I’m trying to work on my MM skills, the Halo gods are throwing out a bunch of FF challenges over the last two days. Oh well, it’s just three games at most. Since the 15 win challenge for today will go well for the weekly, I will play a lot of grifball to get those wins quick. If anyone wants to join me for grifball (open for other games), then I will be available between 3-3:30pm (CST). My gamertag for those who don’t know is WNWoodmore.

  5. HC Sangheili says:

    These are proper challenges. Mix up of gametype every day.

  6. Lefty734 says:

    Well I have never posted before so I’ll give an intro. I have been reading this forum for a month or two and it has really helped me (I had no idea how many kills I could get in grifball). I just got credit banned for a week three days ago for playing with an eight year old who repeatedly got zero kills (the worst thing bungie ever did was create the autoban and they have long since sopped caring about those who should not have been banned) so I have been playing halo 3.

    So 343i officially owns Halo now, did anyone else notice when they logged on that a pop up asking to select a difficulty and then take them straight to campaign? Sorry for the grammar issues with the last sentence.

  7. Sir Galahad 63 says:

    New topic. Who has what armor effect??
    I’m happy with my Legendary Flames 🙂

    • first thing i bought – Grunt Birthday Party! hooray! :mrgreen:

    • lolGTFOplz says:

      i have pestilence. it was also the first thing i bought. and one of the few things i have bought. 19% armory completion at almost field marshal ftw? lol.

    • Lefty734 says:

      I have birthday party, I just love the sound of little kids screaming yay when I die lol

    • Project SHAVE says:

      I’m proudly sporting my legendary flames as well Sir. I was saving for Inclement Weather, got up to 780,000 cR…but the siren that is the Security helmet (with the first attachment) beckoned me. Add that to the fact that I’d probably stick with flaming helmet anyway once i did buy IW.

    • Woody says:

      I’m still waiting to get my first and there’s a good chance I won’t be playing Halo Reach as much to even get the one that I really want…. increment weather.

      • 'Cos says:

        Hello all. Good day to you each of you.

        As for the armor effect, i’m rocking out the blue flames. i know, i know. How original, right. i do like it, yet i do find the legendary (red) flames to be of a cooler effect. i, however do not own that copy of the game. Makes me sad. I am not, on the other hand, sporting either the star or bungie nameplate; Although both are at my disposal. I am using the Durandal nameplate, currently. Otherwise, i ‘own’ no other armor effects in the armory. I have over 5 million credits to my name, but i am only spending credits when i rank up in commendations. I want to keep my armory and commendations equal. (Currently at 85% for both.) It was my original intention with my first 2 million credits to purchase inclimate weather…and then i found out about the then up-coming release of the bungie flames. That’s my story…

        By the way, another topic of discussion :
        I saw snickerdoodle post earlier that she had a good night, and is at 19 games won. All wins, of course, going to the weekly challenge. That’s impressive. What gametype might i ask? And that goes for everyone. How far along are you, and what types of games are you focusing on for the weekly; And now the daily challenge of 15 wins? Just wondering, and wanted to kinow if any one could use some help late today. Good luck to all.

        – seventh dawg

      • Project SHAVE says:

        Hey ‘Cos, I’d be down for a new partner in Halo crime. All of mine seem to be MIA the last few weeks. As my name suggests, I’m Project SHAVE. I’ll be on around 3:30ish Pacific.

        This comment goes out to everyone in this thread! Let’s play some Reach!

      • Woody says:

        @ ‘Cos: I noticed your armory and commendation percentage being the same. I thought about doing that at one point, but I lost patience in waiting on my commendation to move up. **Mr. Miyagi voice** I lack focus. lol

        @ Project: What are some of your favorite MM games?

      • 'Cos says:

        @ woody,

        *laughing*…

        …”don’t worry woody son, i will teach you the ways”. Now go wax my car…and…paint my fence…

        Good luck today, friend.

      • robotperson says:

        “Increment” weather – is that when you get a little bit of weather at a time? 😉

      • Woody says:

        @ robotperson: Leave me alone. lol I noticed that immediately after I made the post. I smack myself on the forehead and said, “I can’t believe I just did that”. Well, hopefully that will be my last embarrassing moment for the day. lol

      • ‘Cos – the wins are from a good mix actually. some SWAT, some Multi Team, some Team Slayer, and even some Squad Slayer.

      • Project SHAVE says:

        @ Woody- is it lame if I say I love infection? It’s the most fun, infuriating game. Actually, I love grifball, but I hate the betrayers and people that don’t try to win. I’ll gladly play Grifball with ya!

        I enjoy swat in moderation, but it’s incredibly nerve wracking!

      • Woody says:

        @ Project: I agree that SWAT can be a little nerve wrecking. Sometimes I make it a little more nerve wrecking than it has to be, because I can be a little hard on myself in defeat. Knowing my precision skills are not great, I may blame myself for a lost, especially when my teammates are of much higher rank and experience with precision weapons.

        No, I don’t think infection is lame. I play it sometimes and use it to help work on my aim with the pistol.

        As for grifball, I definitely don’t play around. Once I get my hand on the ball, I’m going for the score as soon as I see a good opportunity. You will never see me play around with the ball like some random people I play with. Nothing drives me crazier than clearing a path big enough for a train to run untouched and then seeing the ballcarrier on your team is at the other end, goofing off and taunting.

      • Project SHAVE says:

        Good to hear Woody! I’ll join you if you’re on tonight!

      • lolGTFOplz says:

        @cos, after picking my old roommate up from his house and bringing him over i won 13 in a row on squad slayer (until they paired us with all extremely good upper ranks http://www.bungie.net/stats/reach/gamestats.aspx?gameid=734703467&player=LolGTFOplz) squad slayer may take a few minutes longer but if you have a few good people on your team, it is very easy.

    • Sir Galahad 63 says:

      Grunt birthday party was the first thing I bought too.
      Funny story, I bought the Legendary edition of Halo Reach, and forgot all about Legendary Flames until about 3 months ago 😀
      Forgetting about distinguishing armour effects… WIN!!

      So in Swat I swap from Flames to birthday party to make me less of a target for headshots, but other wise I am faithful 🙂

      • Project SHAVE says:

        Speaking of distinguished effects, how stoked is everyone for Combat Evolved Anniversary? Grunt Funeral looks awesome!

      • Sir Galahad 63 says:

        Grunt funeral? What’s that? Probably a noob question but I have never played Halo CE, therefore am not researching anniversary that much… I’m a Reach boy 😀

      • Sir Galahad 63 says:

        I get it now, just did some research. Looking forward to Halo 4 though, shame they had to release the trailer so early, now we have to wait longer for it 🙂

      • Woody says:

        I’ve played Halo CE and I don’t even know what Grunt Funeral is. I am soooo looking forward to the anniversary. I’m also drooling for Halo 4, though that’s a long wait.

      • Noobwarrior523 says:

        Grunt funeral? I love CE and I don’t know what that is, won’t be buying CE anniversary. I’m not spending 60$ on a game I still have( even though I’m buying a 3DS just for the starfox 64 remake….I can’t resist, I grew up with the game and played it so much that I just have to buy it and play it again)

      • CEA is only going to be $40, not $60.

    • Scruff 815 says:

      Grunt Funeral is a skull you get for pre-ordering the new/old Halo – it makes Grunts explode as if they’re made of plasma grenades 🙂

      I have Birthday Party – my first armour effect, as of about 3 days ago 😀

      • and it’s only the best one there is! good choice! 😀

      • t-rOY (tROYnHI) says:

        I just pre-ordered Halo Anniversary & Halo 4 the other day, but I didn’t have time to see what bonuses were included. Clerk charged me $5 each.

    • MadAmericanTacos says:

      I saved up all my creds for Inclament weather, when my wife and I play she says that my spartan looks depressed cause of the dark cloud following me around lol.

      Does anyone know if there is a way to get the Legendary Flames(red not blue)? I feel like I missed out on them since Reach was a gift from my wife and she didn’t get the LE version.

      • Project SHAVE says:

        You can buy Legendary edition at your local best buy for around 70 bones. I just recently bought it for 60, the price of a regular copy!

        All I wanted was legendary flames. But I like all the extra stuff that comes with it.

    • Noobwarrior523 says:

      Birthday party! I like the effects that go off when you die better than ones that have something around your helmet(such as IW)

    • t-rOY (tROYnHI) says:

      I usually equip Inclement Weather. I just bought Heart Attack and Pestilence over the last week to get my armor completion up to 97%. The only stuff left for me to buy is the GUNGNIR Helmet and the attachments plus the Right Shoulder Security Armor. I take myself too seriously to equip Grunt Birthday Party all the time.

  8. lolGTFOplz says:

    awesome challenges today! 15 more wins, will put me at 35! should be good. =S

  9. xXMaster SoulXx says:

    13% armor completion and i have right at or over 5,000,000 cR

  10. xXMaster SoulXx says:

    Im almost a Mythic…got about another 100,000 cR to knock out

  11. biodrumr says:

    Doubles Attack has become my new favorite firefight variant. If you go into an arcadefight, you still get the 330 enemies you would get in a 4 player game, but obviously only split between 2 people. Just make sure you’re playing with someone who’s willing to go balls out, so you manage to get through all 330 before you run out of time.

  12. 'Cos says:

    @ Project SHAVE,

    …around 5:30ish EST. Sounds good to me…should be home from ‘my chores’ by then. What oh what shall we play?

    @ everyone,

    Happy hunting, many cookies (& steak dinners!) to be earned. Soooo Yeeaaahhh…

    • Scruff 815 says:

      Me, gans, Petethecat and Vast Archangel: 11 games, 9 wins. Ooh yeah 😀

      Need another 4 wins for the Daily, so if any of you fine people see me online later, join me and let’s go play some SWAT 🙂

      • define “later”….

      • Scruff 815 says:

        At some time between now and tomorrow… 😉

      • gans42 says:

        scruff i found you a party to complete your wins 🙂

        and guys if you ever wanna play swat just send me a message (not just a random friend request…ill decline those if you dont tell me youre friending me). before pete joined scruff vast archangel and me our random 4th teammates averaged spreads of around -10

    • Project SHAVE says:

      Sounds good ‘cos. I’ll friend you when I get home and we’ll bust some heads.

      • 'Cos says:

        …Didn’t see you on, buddy. Getting a bite to eat, and will be online again later. Would be willing to ‘party’ then, if you are willing. It’s 6:45 EST now.

  13. d3uc3isup says:

    just got leadership element in 1:30 game time

  14. Wow, Scruff! You and I are on similar Halo schedules… although mine is anytime after my shift and before tomorrow. SWAT?

  15. Marc says:

    I don’t know if I wanna continue the 15 win challenge today. I already got three today and it’s a grind from here on out. I got the other two FF challenges out of the way with the Leadership challenge I’ll save for tonight.

  16. 'Cos says:

    …i’m back!

    Thanks for sharing your answers with me, with us. I got a few wins yesterday after ditching big team battle. I racked up a few nice wins yesterday, all in regular slayer. Found a groove, i did. And hoping to get into another here shortly. See you soon.

    @ snickerdoodle,
    Now, how did i know you were playing SWAT? No way…

  17. Woody says:

    The Halo gods must hate me all of a sudden. I’m trying to get one more round for this Courtyard challenge and now I can’t get it. I have left the game four times and during all those rotations, no courtyard. Usually, I have no problem finding it.

Leave a Reply

