8th August – Halo Reach Daily Challenges & Commentary

Today’s challenges are listed below, click Read More to view the commentaries:

  1. Gunslinger – Kill 40 enemies in multiplayer Matchmaking – 1200 cR
  2. Blastin’ and Relaxin’ – Kill 180 enemies in any game mode in Reach – 1350 cR
  3. Heroic Overwatch – Kill 100 enemies on Overlook on Heroic in Firefight Matchmaking – 1000 cR
  4. Double Double – Earn 2 Double Kills in the same match in Multiplayer Matchmaking – 1000 cR

These are the first challenges I’ve written up from the halo.xbox.com stats page. The whole page is a wealth of information, I love it. Although I’m sad that my 5 top medal is Assists. Shows I’m a caring sharing guy I guess!

Commentary follows after the break…

Gunslinger – Kill 40 enemies in multiplayer Matchmaking – 1200 cR

Grifball as ever for high kill volumes. You can get 30, 40, 50 and more kills in a good game when you have your timing and eye in with the hammer. Other good options include Squad Slayer and Multi Team, but for the others today I’d definitely go for Grifball.

Blastin’ and Relaxin’ – Kill 180 enemies in any game mode in Reach – 1350 cR

Personally today I’d do a couple of rounds in Firefight, either Score Attack or Arcade, to work on the Weekly Challenge (and the next one). However you’ve got a few choices for doing this really easily and quickly…

  • Forge – make a game with players spawning in one spot and camp it
  • Firefight – Download my Firefight Invincible game type on my File Share, lots of Elites, lots of medals, lots of kills
  • ONI: Sword Base – Use the Target Designator trick (run past everyone at the beginning, grab it, turn around, fire, wait for the killing to stop and restart the checkpoint)
  • Package – There are points where you can get a checkpoint just before a number of Grunts appear in the final battle, so you can gun them down and restart

Heroic Overwatch – Kill 100 enemies on Overlook on Heroic in Firefight Matchmaking – 1000 cR

Quickest way is to get a Score Attack game type on Overlook. We always have debates on these turning up when it’s map specific, some people so them appear a lot less, so as soon as you’re offered Overlook pick something. Gruntpocalypse and 2X Score Attack are easiest, plus give more than 100 enemies so you’re much more like to get this in one sitting.

Double Double – Earn 2 Double Kills in the same match in Multiplayer Matchmaking – 1000 cR

Double Kills are fairly easy to pick up, as before Grifball and Halo Ball Extreme especially. Multi Team will usually see you get 3 or 4, as you naturally get more people, closer together. Grenades and Heavy Weapons are your friend here. Team SWAT can also be good for this, but really it’s whatever game you play well in.

Do you want to know how to get notifications of these challenge commentaries? Well it’s easy… you can follow me on Twitter, join the Facebook group or just subscribe to the site using the email option on the right to receive the challenges and a link to the commentary straight into your inbox.

27 Responses to 8th August – Halo Reach Daily Challenges & Commentary

  1. Scruff 815 says:

    If anyone wants to buddy up for Overlook, feel free. I’d much rather do this in Arcade or Doubles, given what the Weekly is. Although ew, Overlook. Horrible map.

    At least the other three challenges are nice and easy I guess..

    • Marshy 40 says:

      Just got back from a visit to the States, so I reckon that some quality xbox time will do wonders for the jet lag. I’ll probably be on mid-afternoon.

    • Lefty734 says:

      Overlook is actually pretty good I found a spot on almost every map for sniping and the enemies cany shoOt you back.

      • MadAmericanTacos says:

        I have been trying to work on my precision related commendations but keep getting killed, I would love to know where are you parking yourself at and not getting shot?

      • Lefty734 says:

        Well you could friend me and join me and I can show you every maps hiding spot

      • MadAmericanTacos says:

        K, what is your time zone? I’m est and play late night and weekends…

      • Lefty734 says:

        Same I play all day every day

      • Lefty734 says:

        Hey what’s your gt and when will you be on approximately

  2. MadAmericanTacos says:

    Wow 12k for about 11-12 games of Firefight (because you know sometimes you don’t hit all 15 waves and bonus round) that’s a pretty decent payout, especially since the total return for all the games should net you about 50-60k! Can’t wait to get started.

  3. MadAmericanTacos says:

    It’s quiet… A little too quiet…

  4. monkey says:

    anyone notice that firefight has become more difficult in the past week or so. The enemies are more aggressive and more evasive.

  5. MadAmericanTacos says:

    yeah and the elites with human weapons are deadly accurate and attack in force.

  6. Lefty734 says:

    I just got my first perfection! And it was on swat too!

    • Woody says:

      Congrats! Unless I get seven noobs in my party, I’m not expecting a perfection in the nearly future.

      • MadAmericanTacos says:

        LOL! Woody your too hard on yourself

      • Woody says:

        LOL – I just have bad luck when it comes to things like that. I’ve actually had 14 kills in a row to start out and then died at the hands of my niece, of all people.

    • gans42 says:

      yeah my only perfection is on swat too. shame theyre so hard to get, but whats even worse is that they arent that rewarding (credits and commendation wise)

  7. Oreo says:

    My favorite sniping spot for doing score attack games on Overlook is the twin towers on the right side of the structure, as you look at it. I jetpack up there and crouch down, and they usually hit the rim with shots. Make sure you take out heavy weapons carriers before they get close enough to shoot you, though, because the splash damage will get you. You will have to run around on occasion to get some of the further enemies to advance, but I’ve found it to be a solid spot.

    Skirmishers can jump up there, but they give you a free hit when they do, because they can only come up one at a time. It’s also a short run to the ammo crate inside the building from there.

  8. 'Cos says:

    Hello all…

    Hope everyone is enjoying some FF madness. Personally, i love it. I’m gonna rank up some more commendations…Yeay. I’m taking a short break to run some errands, and will be back on in about an hour and a half. If you’re on and wanna play (FF or MM), consider me game.

    @ Scruff – yes, i see you playing. I’m looking forward to playing with you again. Especially since i got some sleep and am not a ‘zombie’. Good luck, sir.

    Wow, what a day…

    – seventh dawg

    • 'Cos says:

      …Oh yeah,

      And to everyone that helped me rank up last night, i give you much thanks…

      Eclipse is sexy!

  9. Anonymous says:

    infection is by far the easiest for 2 double kills i dont know why grifball is forvever recommended im lucky if i can even get 2 kills in grifball

    also the slot machine is very generous today im getting almost 1k every match from it and have already got the 15k jackpot

    • gans42 says:

      infection is good if youre a human, and once zombies start streaming towards you (not 100% guaranteed every game or round). matthew recommends grifball because people generally find it the easiest to get double kills (of my 299 killtacs, only 2 or 3 of them were not gotten in grifball, and ive never gotten higher than a killtac outside of grifball). matthew’s recommendations are not requirements, just suggestions to help you get the challenges more easily

  10. gans42 says:

    guys i posted on yesterdays challenges that i will be doing custom games tomorrow to take a break from the grind that was the last 2 week’s challenges (and to a lesser extent this week), if anyone is interested please let me know (you can just send me a message saying rdc and a friend request on XBL. ill prob be on from 3PM UK time until 7 or 8 UK time. as a disclaimer, i probably wont be on the entire time, ill have to leave every once in a while, in which case ill designate someone else as PL

  11. Lefty734 says:

    Just reached the credit limit but idk if a i can do it again tomorrow I have high school orientation

Leave a Reply

