Halo Reach Weekly Challenge & Commentary – w/c 8th August

This week’s challenge is below, click Read More to view the commentary:

Ride the Wave – Complete 150 Waves in Firefight Matchmaking – 12000 cR

Commentary follows after the break…

Thank God last week’s is over. I eventually managed to get my 50th win, with an impressive match, but my obstinate self refused to give up the closer I got. Coupled with tiredness that didn’t help my cause very much. Still, it did my credit chase some benefit, especially that 3k bonus that keeps coming up in SWAT. It’ll be interesting to see what happens first, 1 million hits on RDC or me hitting General.

This week though, something easy, but no less of a grind. I know from our games yesterday a couple of people will be happy with the challenge so they can get some commendations up. We only had it a few weeks ago so exactly the same advice for it. The key is that this is waves, not rounds or sets. There are 5 waves to every round, and 3 rounds to every set. In the bottom right by the score and the lives is a dot counter to show you which wave and a number for the round you’re on.

So… Gruntpocalypse and Score Attack are 5 waves. In Corvette I can do either in about 7-10 mins (less for Gruntpoc), this means a little bit of grinding and you’ve got the challenge, plus a bucketload of credits – be careful you don’t hit the daily cap (something like 120k) when you get this if you’ve played a lot that day.

Firefight proper (including Rocketfight, Sniperfight etc) has 16 waves, as the bonus is counted as 1. That means up to 12 games of Firefight and you’re there (depending if you can get them finished or not).

My recommendation – this is a weekly challenge so take the week to do it. We usually get Firefight Thursday challenges so hopefully that will be a massive help. Do any Firefight challenges during the week, plus maybe the ‘any game mode’ types as well and you’ll pick this up without having to do an excess of additional games.

Do you want to know how to get notifications of these challenge commentaries? Well it’s easy… you can follow me on Twitter, join the Facebook group or just subscribe to the site using the email option on the right to receive the challenges and a link to the commentary straight into your inbox.

45 Responses to Halo Reach Weekly Challenge & Commentary – w/c 8th August

  1. Bah Bodenkurk says:

    It kills me that I can’t hook my XBox up to the internet. I haven’t played Reach since I moved at the beginning of July. This challenge is one of the easiest 12,000 credits I’ve ever seen. The last ride the wave took me about a half a day.

    • Theo says:

      If you have an Android phone on 2.2 (2.3?) you can make yourself a wi-fi hotspot and connect it to that. Granted it uses your 3G but Halo is more important. I haven’t tried this but it should work.

      Unless you can’t do it for other reasons? Sorry I don’t really read comments that much so I wouldn’t know 😛

      • kvaele says:

        I’m pretty sure that the “3g mobile hotspot” feature for android phones costs money, something on the order of $20 a month.

      • Beermit says:

        Root your Android phone and you can do it for free, like me 😉

        Now there are other factors at play here such as signal strength and actual throughput of the connection, but if all you wanna do is score attack playlist, this solution oughta work fine. Email me if you can and want to try this!

      • callupchuck says:

        Another option that is more ‘looked down upon’ is tethering. Your Android phone would need to be rooted or your Apple phone would need to be jailbroken. Of course this voids the warranty, but a lot of people have rooted/jailbroken already. I’ve tethered my Mac with my iPhone before, but you might want to look up how to tether an Xbox. Remember to read all disclaimers before venturing forth!

      • iam8up says:

        Don’t forget that $20 feature you’re limited to 5 gigs. Exclusively using Xbox on Reach you should be OK (based on how much I play).

        The latency will be absolutely awful, arguably worse to just not play.

      • Scruff 815 says:

        ^ I have a better understanding of nuclear physics than anything you people just said. Jesus. I am clearly WAY out of the technology loop.

      • John says:

        It’s going to depend a lot on your package, Iphone packages seem to normally to cost more for tethering but over here other systems don’t. I have tethered my Xbox to my Android Galaxy Tab when my ADSL was down, yes the latency is horrible but it means at least you can do Firefight and Campaign challenges without issue. Well technically you could do standard matchmaking challenges but I suspect that would be very frustrating!

        John

  2. Pingback: 8th August – Halo Reach Daily Challenges & Commentary « Halo Reach Daily Challenges

  3. Scruff 815 says:

    Sweet. Nice that it’s less effort than the last FF challenge we had. I’ll be hammering FF Arcade for most of this, if anyone wants to join me so we don’t get spammed with rockets and FRG variants, feel free 😀

  4. MadAmericanTacos says:

    Wow 12k for about 11-12 games of Firefight (because you know sometimes you don’t hit all 15 waves and bonus round) that’s a pretty decent payout, especially since the total return for all the games should net you about 50-60k! Can’t wait to get started.

  5. SG Leroy Brown says:

    Easy peasy this week. Will be playing my usual today (lots of ff arcade), and will hit general in about 40k credits.

  6. Woody says:

    I’m also glad last week’s challenge is over as well. It was yesterday afternoon when I finally got the challenge, though I will add that I missed two full days of playing time. Anyway, there were times when it was looking grim for me, because I had so many quitters and traitors over the weekend.

    This week’s challenge is a breath of fresh air, though it is a little grinder, but at least I don’t have to worry about someone’s actions dictating my outcome. Well, it seems like 80 percent of my time this week will be spent in Firefight.

    • Woody says:

      Oh wait… I forgot there 150 waves and not rounds, like I was thinking in my original comment. That was why I called it a little grinder. lol

    • Project SHAVE says:

      I hear ya Woody. I didn’t finish the weekly until late yesterday afternoon. Grifball is infuriating when you’re playing with Randoms. I’m so glad it’s over. I’m all about FF weeklies!

    • SensoryFour34 says:

      I only got it yesterday evening. It was around 6:00 when I finally got it. Action Sack was pretty good for it, though because you get stuff like Halo Ball, and the people playing actually want to win.

  7. mickoboy90 says:

    if you get good people, and not noobs or AFKers, then you should complete one game of rocketfight on corvette for example, in less than ten mins.. once ive done a game in bout 6-7 mins i think.

    to last night, thanks scruff for throwing grenade at me and helping me commit suicide lol 😀

  8. mickoboy90 says:

    oh, and i have one more star nameplate left, amd i think my brother has another 5, so if anyone would like one,reply here 😀

    • artemi says:

      I would LOVE a star nameplate, if you have any left! It’s one of the last ones I need to complete my set. My gamertag: artemi71

      • xXMaster SoulXx says:

        i have a few extra if you need one…if you’ve not already gotten one!

        my gamertag – xXMaster SoulXx

    • syndragore says:

      if you have any more nameplates left, i would love to have one! thanks in advance!
      gamertag: syndragore

  9. Noobwarrior523 says:

    Thank god….finally an easy weekly that gives out an extreme amount of credits…..will probably just play a couple games a day then wipe it out on FF Thursday.

  10. Matt says:

    I think an all-Arcadefight playlist for a week or two would be neat. I think the variety of starting weapons on offer encourages people to work well together. My heart stll belongs to Sniperfight on Outpost, but I played an Arcadefight game on Outpost yesterday (using the Camo loadout, naturally) and found that it worked pretty well to play with one guy using the Jet Pack loadout and one using Sprint.

  11. Fiddy says:

    So what is the best FF mode to do this in…I got so close to last weeks and failed! I did finnaly get my daily challenge achievement though.

    Ive never messed with FF arcade, whats different about it?

    • Woody says:

      In FF Arcade, you have unlimited lives, so you basically play until the 20 minute time limit is up or you die in bonus round, which comes first. My personally favorite is Corvette, because it’s small and quick to finish, especially with heavy weapons. Each round does become a little more challenging though with added skulls.

    • Scruff 815 says:

      Also FF Arcade has 16 waves per game. Score Attack has 1 wave per game. You could easily do this challenge in one day, it’s amazing how quickly you start shooting through the numbers.

      • Project SHAVE says:

        Score Attack has 5 waves per game Scruff. But playing arcadefight is much mo betta for going towards the weekly. Especially with rockets/fuelrod on Corvette. (Woody knows what’s up)

      • Scruff 815 says:

        Agh brainfail. Thanks for pointing out my stupidity there, I really appreciate it 😉 I really don’t understand waves / sets / rounds. It’s like tennis, only with less grunting.

  12. Beermit says:

    Ugh I am so stoked for this weeks challenge. Anything Firefight and I’m there!

    And I have the next 3 days off, so its a no brainer as to what ill be doing 😀

  13. iam8up says:

    Regarding last week. This is the BS I had to put up with almost every game:

    http://www.bungie.net/Stats/Reach/GameStats.aspx?gameid=744571278&player=iam8up101

    • gans42 says:

      and you still won! props to you. play swat with scruff and me at some point, we play around early afternoon UK time (he’s on and i stalk him and join him), and we hate hate HATE playing with randoms, so all are welcome!

  14. Lefty734 says:

    Just finished the weekly and I’m almost to my credit limit 🙂

  15. John says:

    I’m pleased it’s a FF weekly but disappointing the idling detection is not working because as with last time there’s a lot of people idling which is a real killer in FF Limited. I’d rather if they’re going to have a challenge like this they make sure the idling prevention system is properly working or have it so that you have to do something rather than just get through the waves such as kill X number of Elites or survive so many waves without dying.

    John

    • Noobwarrior523 says:

      I completely agree with you. I just played with someone who went afk…i still made it through the game(barely…the timer went off during the bonus round) he’s lucky we weren’t in doubles (I would’ve left the game if it was just me and an Afk person)

      • gans42 says:

        yeah ive been forced to use heavy weapons (even though im maxed) just to make sure that i will make it through to the end. i played 4 games of FFA today, and in every game i either had AFKers, people quit early, laggers, people who’s main goal was to shoot me and not the covenant, or some combination of any of the 2 of those. the only good games i had today were in doubles with ‘Cos and another friend (obviously at different times lol).

        on that note, if anyone doesnt want to play with jerks, pricks, assholes, etc. in FFA let me know. i still need 4 more games for the weekly and would love to do it in doubles with someone (or FFA with 3 someones)

  16. Will says:

    I love finishing a weekly on Monday. 🙂

  17. Pingback: 9th August – Halo Reach Daily Challenges & Commentary « Halo Reach Daily Challenges

  18. Pingback: 10th August – Halo Reach Daily Challenges & Commentary « Halo Reach Daily Challenges

  19. Finished the weekly last night! 😀 It’s a pain to do it via Score Attack though; only 5 waves a game = lots of FF for me!

  20. Pingback: 11th August – Halo Reach Daily Challenges & Commentary « Halo Reach Daily Challenges

  21. Pingback: 14th August – Halo Reach Daily Challenges & Commentary « Halo Reach Daily Challenges

  22. Pingback: 20th August – Halo Reach Daily Challenges & Commentary « Halo Reach Daily Challenges

Leave a Reply

