10th August – Halo Reach Daily Challenges & Commentary

Today’s challenges are listed below. Click Read More to view the commentaries:

  1. Gunslinger – Kill 150 enemies in multiplayer Matchmaking – 2750 cR
  2. Heroic Spelunking – Kill 125 enemies in Glacier on Heroic in Firefight Matchmaking – 1100 cR
  3. L.D. Spear – Complete Tip of the Spear, without dying, on Legendary with Mythic, Thunderstorm, Tilt and Tough Luck on – 5000 cR
  4. Credits for Completion – Complete 6 games in multiplayer Matchmaking – 1300 cR

Commentary follows after the break, with lots of extra stuff to discuss today…

Gunslinger – Kill 150 enemies in multiplayer Matchmaking – 2750 cR

Grifball as ever for high kill volumes. You can get 30, 40, 50 and more kills in a good game when you have your timing and eye in with the hammer. Other good options include Infection, Squad Slayer and Multi Team, but for the others today I’d definitely go for Grifball.

Heroic Spelunking – Kill 125 enemies in Glacier on Heroic in Firefight Matchmaking – 1100 cR

If you go in Firefight Arcade you’ll be able to get this assuming there’s only one or two people playing. If you go via Score Attack variants chances are it’ll take two games unless you can get 2x Score Attack where the drop pods up the total enemy count, but that’ll probably still be the same time if not faster. Frankly take whatever game types it offers you on Glacier just to get this done since you can’t guarantee you’ll get what you want, and be thankful it still counts towards the Weekly challenge.

L.D. Spear – Complete Tip of the Spear, without dying, on Legendary with Mythic, Thunderstorm, Tilt and Tough Luck on – 5000 cR

As ever with these I’d recommend checking out Tip of the Spear LASO’s weekly challenge page, then Tyrant’s guide to doing it in Mythic. Both will see you through it well for a tasty little credit bonus.

Credits for Completion – Complete 6 games in multiplayer Matchmaking – 1300 cR

This is just completion, not wins, so easy to do. Two good options for this match up nicely with the first challenge – play Living Dead–Infection for some really fast games, or Grifball and score with the bomb really quickly, once you’ve got your kills.

Right, what else do we have to discuss? First off check out the Game Night hub page for details of what we’re doing tomorrow. I’ll probably be in ODST FF to have a change and do some achievements where possible.

Speaking of achievements, there was an interesting idea yesterday of having an occasional yet regular achievements night across Halo games, separate the party and fun based Game Night (because achievements are a serious business). I’m not entirely sure what’s best for this – perhaps another midweek night every 2-4 weeks? What do you think fits here? I appreciate there’s a limited time span, and it’s only a good idea to those of whose to whom gamerscore matters, which is why making sure it’s of real benefit and people can attend is the way to go. Let me know your thoughts in the comments.

And speaking of ODST, does anyone want to hit it up tonight to both hunt some achievements (either FF 200k, Endure or Vidmasters)? I was thinking of going in anyway just to get some practice (and make sure my connection lets me play it). Again, start a discussion in the comments if you’re interested.

There will also shortly be a poll on the main page, please go give your tuppence worth on it.

Finally, I’ll be posting something later. Something exciting. Well exciting for me. Okay it’s exciting for everyone. You don’t want to miss it!

64 Responses to 10th August – Halo Reach Daily Challenges & Commentary

  1. Braythor says:

    Urgh, these LD challenges wouldn’t be so bad if it wasn’t for tilt; I hate the tilt skull so much…

    As for Glacier, I’m actually warming to that map for most arcade game types. Still don’t like it solo though.

    Re tonight, I might join in but more likely I’ll be in Reach FF as I haven’t even started the weekly yet. Actually I haven’t even played the game for a whole week! Oh dear… Tomorrow I’d be interested in the ODST FF though, as I never got any achievements at all in that while playing it all my lonesome.

  2. Scruff 815 says:

    Today’s a bit of an odd one for me – not sure how much Halo time I’m going to have, as it depends on how the weather affects the builders (true story), and also whether I’m off out tonight (which I probably am). So for the moment I’m re-doing ODST’s Campaign on Legendary (apart from the last level), since I can pause it and leave it for hours if necessary.

    But assuming I *do* get some Reach action today/tonight, then feel free to join me for Doubles to get Glacier (cheap sniping spot here we come!), and then I’ll just bang out some multiplayer for the others. As usual, the Campaign challenge can go die.

    Also thanks to gans for last night’s impromptu Customs session – honestly, the likes of Rent-A-Car and particularly Shark Infested Waters are better than half of the ‘proper’ game modes in Reach.

    I’m down for achievement hunting nights, though definitely not every week… For me, the timing is going to depend on what’s happening in any given week. Some weeks I have loads of free time, others hardly any. I guess if you just set a time/date then I’ll do my bestest to make it, though personally Friday / Saturday / Sunday nights are no-no’s for me unless it’s just for an hour or so 🙂

    • digipatd says:

      Sorry to be off topic, but what timezone are you in? You’re online at strange hours.

      • Scruff 815 says:

        UK. I am currently between jobs, hence the daytime play.

        Evidently you are also online at strange hours, otherwise you wouldn’t know that I’m online at strange hours! 😉

      • hmm if you play at strange hours I’d hate to see what he thinks of my playing…. 😉

      • digipatd says:

        Ah, cool! Then we’re on the same page. I sign on anytime there’s people to play with and I’m not busy, which since it’s still the summer for me, is about all day.

    • gans42 says:

      thanks for the shoutout scruff, it was definitely loads of fun, and if i ever have a slow week in college ill probably do another one of those (this way you actually get to see mongoose madness 2.0 lol). also if i see you on when im on id love to join you for some doubles (followed by some grifball?)

      • Noobwarrior523 says:

        We only did mongoose madness about 10 times……

      • gans42 says:

        last i checked that was your recommendation lol, plus we did some good infection game types. and poor old scruff only got to see the first ten checkpoint or so mongoose madness lol

    • Oreo says:

      Scruff, the Nightfall checkpoint worked great to get the daily in just short time. After that ‘a friend of mine’ tried to set his controller up run that all night for the commendations. His move was straight right, off the cliff next to the Jackal. 5 hours later he got up for work and found he had over 1,000 deaths, but less than 200 kills, because he used rubber bands instead of tape, and the trigger came free. He didn’t want to get adhesive on his controller.

      It doesn’t look like it counted on b.net, because he also disconnected from XBL sometime in the night. Could have been 3,000 kills in 5 hours…

  3. digipatd says:

    I’m missing some 200k FF’s that I’m sure are needed, and Heroic as well! We could probably combine the two on a map that works best for four. I should be up for anything, my GamerTag is my username and my rank is my Gravatar. (Don’t worry though, I love the whole game, not just competitive.)

    • I also realy want to do the 200k FF done so i am game. Gamertag is CanadianDwelf.

      • Matthew Vose says:

        I’ll be on around 8-8.30pm UK time. If you want to try for one or more of the 200k’s (they seem best given we’re not sure of times) then add me, gt is Loreweaver.

        If my party’s full look at anyone else who wants to play on these comments and see if they’re on?

      • 'Cos says:

        Hey! A fellow Canadian. “Welcome.”

      • My time zone is MST so when I get home from work it will be 5pm MST which is 1am UK time.

      • 'Cos says:

        I am Canadian. (From Montreal). Living out of Atlanta, Georgia. All times i reference are EST, and i’m usually on at midnight my time. Hit me up if the timing works out for you.

      • Woody says:

        ‘Cos, you’re not too far from me. I’m right outside of Nashville.

  4. Woody says:

    I think I may just do grifball for the MM challenges and call it a day. For some odd reason, I don’t feel much for Reach today. Between that and it being Wednesday, the “warden’s” day to take up my playtime, I may just put in two and a half hours at most on Reach with most of it probably creating custom game variants for the kids.

  5. TheOneInYellow says:

    I am down with ODST Achievements, as I want to get the FF and Vidmasters done; what time are you thinking for tonight Matthew?

  6. lolGTFOplz says:

    ooooo something exciting! i can’t wait! as per todays challenges, 3/4 are on my “too do list” (forget you LD) lol. today is going to be a long work day, big bossman is coming in. BLECK!

  7. Project SHAVE says:

    Just finished LD Spear and only need 5 more kills for the FF challenge, now off to work.

    Good hunting everyone!

    By the way, I don’t have ODST, but I wouldn’t mind getting it and partying up to get the achievements, sounds fun!

    • digipatd says:

      I’m willing to play through the campaign again–it looks like I’m one of few that loved it!

      • Project SHAVE says:

        I remember playing it and not being too impressed, except for the voice acting of course, being the Firefly fan that I am!

        I’m definitely up for beating it on Legendary though. Same with Halo 3. And I REALLY miss Halo 2’s campaign!

      • Noobwarrior523 says:

        Shave I would gladly play the 3 campaign (I have…..1 achievement? Lols) I guess send me a friend request and we could start anytime my GT is noobwarrior523

      • digipatd says:

        Oh yeah, and I can speedrun Halo 3 on Legendary still… I think. So send me an invite if you need a fourth player for that.

  8. Lefty734 says:

    Hey does anybody want to play some reach ff limited. I keep getting randoms that die so often that when I die once I can’t respawn cause were already out of lives. On another note what armor should I buy I am brigades g3 and I have 650000 cr.

    • Woody says:

      Man, you shouldn’t have to ask us what you should purchase. You worked hard for your credits and surely you have your own opinion of what you like and dislike. I would simply go for what you like, if I were you. Like I said, it’s your hard earned credits and it should be your decision. Another option, since you’re not too far from General, you could save your credits for whatever will be available at that point. That’s just my thought on the matter.

      • Lefty734 says:

        Well I just had a few preferences but I didn’t have enough to buy all of them so I wanted to narrow it down a bit but I already bought stuff now.

      • Woody says:

        I will admit, I couldn’t wait to get Master Chief’s helmet once I ranked up to General. It was the first thing I purchased once I was able. I felt so accomplished afterwards. lol

      • Matthew Vose says:

        o.O

        You can buy the Chief’s helmet? Why did no one tell me this when I hit General yesterday??

        For the very first time, I’m tempted by something from the armoury.

      • Woody says:

        Oh wow, Matthew! I had no idea that you didn’t know anything about that. I just assume you and everyone else knew.

  9. Project SHAVE says:

    I was so stoked when I bought the Mjolnir Mk VI helmet. My Spartan looked like the chief for a month or more, although I never bought the Mjolnir shoulders because they look terrible. The Para shoulders look better IMO. Now I’m sporting a lady Spartan with armor I used to hate…Security helmet (w/1st attachment), security shoulder w/knife, and I got that baby arm cuz!

  10. Lefty734 says:

    Hey I’m doing the commendation faking in campaign and I’m wondering how to do the super soldier.

    • digipatd says:

      Most people just get it from resetting the Target Locator checkpoint on ONI–if you do it right you should get 10 kills no problem each time.

      • Lefty734 says:

        Oh oops I had a typo I meant to say afking not faking and the ONI thing won’t kill you every time

      • 'Cos says:

        There’s no afk for supersoldier. I know because i spent half my day finishing it off. Target locator on ONI is the best way. Period. Sorry, and good luck.

      • gans42 says:

        wouldnt it be possible to do call the airstrike, then throw 2 grenades in to a corner as youre getting the checkpoint? also cant you get 1 kill away from a spree, find a checkpoint where you can kill a guy then walk off a cliff? those are just some ideas i have

      • Lefty734 says:

        No cause when you die it resets I was thinking get check point tie my controller so I shoot the located and run into the blast

      • Lefty734 says:

        Yay it works and if the blast doesn’t kill me the surviving elites do 🙂

  11. Oreo says:

    Got in some Griffball last night for the 77 CQC kills, and though I was rusty to begin, I got my first MM Killtacular. I also got 2 3000cR jackpots in just 6 or 7 games, so it was a profitable couple of hours to do all the dailies.

  12. 'Cos says:

    One game of griffball yesterday = 79 kills. Daily done…

    I like…

    • Woody says:

      Wow! I think the most I’ve managed in one game was 45-49, somewhere in that area. My girl manages to get more than me, but in my defense, the split screen messages up my timing.

      • gans42 says:

        doesnt she have to deal with the split screen too? also woody everyone has their games where they shine (or fail to)…you should see me in invasion. i absolutely suck at that playlist, and everyone goes off saying how many kills they get and all im thinking is “what the hell?! how do they do that?”

      • 'Cos says:

        @ Woody,

        I moved from Montreal…to Nashville…to Atlanta. Small world! Whereabouts? I used to live in Brentwood, and went to school at M.B.A. I like Nashville, and frequent there often. Love walking down music Row downtown. Next time i’m in town…

      • mickoboy90 says:

        My best is about 110 kills 🙂

      • Woody says:

        @Gans: Yes, she having to view with split screen as well, but the difference between my girl and I is that when she is playing her first game is with split and in my case, I may have played 15-20 games on full game by the time she decides to play. So I have to readjust my eyes and timing for the split screen.

        @’Cos: I’m living in Hendersonville. I was born in Nashville and spent the first 26 years of my life there. It’s definitely a small world, indeed. I visit Atlanta from time to time, though I will probably be there more often, since my best friend is moving there in September.

      • gans42 says:

        fair point woody…not entirely sure why i didnt consider that considering i had the same problem when id have friends come by my dorm in college to play splitscreen MM (3 people playing swat on a 22″ tv is not exactly easy lol)

  13. l0 dolla bagel says:

    I am a lurker, aha.
    I would love to play firefight ODST whenever to get achievements.

  14. Matthew Vose says:

    I’m going on to play ODST Firefight in a minute (after it’s installed on the new xbox), come join me. If I’m a full party already put your GT and see if you can form more squads to play. 🙂

    • l0 dolla bagel says:

      What is your gamertag so we can play right now? Unles you are done. Aha.

  15. SensoryFour34 says:

    It’s weeks like this that I wish I actually had Halo 3 and ODST instead of just borrowing them from my cousin. I think it sounds like a lot of fun to play the original Firefight again. Sadly, it won’t happen because even though I *want* to buy 3 and ODST, I can’t because I have about four games coming out pretty soon that I want to buy, so I’ll probably just be finishing the weekly. If anyone’s up for Doubles or Arcade, let me know.

    • gans42 says:

      yeah i dont have H3 (just the multiplayer disc that came with ODST), i borrowed it from a friend for the campaign, but now i feel like im gonna miss out on all the achievement hunting. and im up for doubles arcade even though i got the weekly…easy credits to reach mythic, if youre on ill send you an invite

      oh and lemme see if i can guess the 4 games youre going to buy soon. AC: Revelations, Halo : CEA, Batman Arkham City, and Skyrim (or whatever is the name of the new Elder scrolls). oh and as a back up guess if any of those are wrong is MW3

  16. 'Cos says:

    I can’t believe my luck. I mean…how is my luck this bad? Is this even possible? I’m doing the LD challenge, and i got to the part where you man the gun on the falcon. One problem though…there’s no pilot! You here his voice over the sound of the engines taking off, yet you just sit there – unable to exit the falcon. Nothing works, which means i am to start the whole mission over again because of this. Aaaarrrrrgggghhhhh!

    I’m off to work now, so i guess i won’t be getting this one. Not MY fault, Bungie…

    • Noobwarrior523 says:

      That…….blows………I feel bad for you man,that sucks……you could send it into fails of the weak though 😉

    • Oreo says:

      I’m sure you did this already, and it probably gave you a checkpoint when you climbed aboard, but did you save and quit, or revert?

    • 'Cos says:

      *hear*

    • I have had this happen to me when i was doing the LASO run. I was defending the Falcon from the 2 Hunters and the Elite. I was in a Revenant and was shooting at the Hunters when somehow one of my shots missed and instead hit the Falcon. The Falcon flipped over on its top, the driver hatch opened, and the Elite hopped in, then jumped out. Of course i got a checkpoint as soon as the Falcon flipped. I too had to restart the mission which was terrible considering i had spent around 2 hours or more up until that point. 😦 Its been so long ago that i dont remember if the Elite killed the driver or if there were no driver to begin with, kind of like the Banshees on New Alexandria.

  17. Noobwarrior523 says:

    …..reverted one two many times on LNoS…..accidentally restarted the mission….war machine is onyx but I wanted it maxxed….oh well….I got the checkpoint once…..I’ll get it again….

  18. Noobwarrior523 says:

    if anyone wants to try to beat a custom with me please message me…..I am trying to bet darth humans ‘halls of balls’ and it is REDICULOUS… the armor lock doesn’t help at all.

  19. callupchuck says:

    I am the 1,000,000 visitor!!! RAWR!

Leave a Reply

