The Times They Are A-Challengin’

Did anyone know that Bob Dylan is one of my favourite artists? Well you do now.

This is a slight break in the normal posts you receive from me. As a couple of people have pointed out we’re about to have the 1 millionth hit here on RDC. It’s a pretty impressive feat given it’s only been 10 months since I started the blog. Most of you know it was started to provoke discussion about the challenges since there was nowhere for that on the web. The first day of posts I had 27 hits. Now it’s a quiet day if I get less than 3,000.

As you can imagine it’s surpassed my expectations, with daily discussions on challenges, commendations, achievements, techniques, freezers, 3G connections, cookies… the list is endless. And of course it wouldn’t be possible if it wasn’t for you all coming and reading the posts, commenting and discussing it. Possibly an even bigger achievement is that we’re approaching 10,000 comments (9,781 so far). More than anything that’s my proudest point – that it’s friendly, lively and no one is trolled (unless they truly deserve it XD). For me personally it’s been a real experience, and I’m fascinated by the way the community of visitors has grown and developed.

So I thought it was about time to launch a couple of the new features I’ve been scheming on recently. Only a couple of the new features mind, not all. There’s one particular one from our very own Snickerdoodle that you’re going to wet yourselves over. Trust me.

Twitter

What? Twitter? That’s not a new feature. Well it is when you get a dedicated Twitter feed just for the blog. Okay, mostly for the blog. Starting today you can follow @RDCblog to get my daily challenge announcements, plus any news and information that is relevant to Halo gamers. (Yes, @RDC was gone already) If you were enjoying learning about rugby league through my personal Twitter feed feel free to still follow me.

Community Input

Now this is a new feature, and one that I’m hoping will grow and grow to turn the site into a complete resource for Halo gamers. Amazing how things happen – I’ve had 2 people suggest this to me in the last 2 days, only a few days after I decided to do it. For a while now I’ve wanted to do videos, guides, and informational posts on more than challenges. But I don’t have the equipment, time, skill or patience to do these things. I know some of you do though. What I’m asking is for help from the community putting this part of the site together. If you have an idea for a useful post, maybe a guide to getting commendations quickly, a Nightfall speed run, triggering checkpoints in just the right place, please send them to me. It can be specific on one item (ie getting the Target Designator checkpoint as bombs fall in ONI: Sword Base) or generic (ie how to own in Grifball).

I’m keeping the right decide whether or not to post something, so feel free to check the concept with me first before investing too much time, but it’d be great to build up a repository of articles that people can use. There’s a bit more information in the new pages you’ll see at the top of the page under ‘Guides’ and then the submission info dropping down from there. But if it’s a video I’d like to link to Youtube, if it’s a written guide not too many pictures since we have a maximum space cap on WordPress. I know we’ve got some great Halo players and skilful people out there, I’m excited to see what you can come up with.

To submit ideas and articles email ReachDailyChallenges@hotmail.com. Yep, we’ve got an email address too now.

Mobile App

I never did a formal announcement about this when it was first launched. The clever folk at Aelatis Technology developed a great app called the Reach Service Record, which allows you to view… well everything bungie.net holds, and much, much more. Why am I talking about it here? Well if you go into their challenges section there are links on the challenges to pick up the commentary for it. Go to iTunes or the Android Marketplace to download it now, then leave them a five star review about how wonderful it is (whether you use it or not :D).

That concludes this portion of the announcements. Don’t worry, there are more things planned in the pipeline, we’re not laurel resters here.

So thank you to all the RDC readers out there, whether you joined me in October or you’re reading this for the first time today, you’ve added to the community and experience. I write every post with love and hope you read them with that too. ❤

Picture courtesy of Brigadier Mitch.

40 Responses to The Times They Are A-Challengin’

  1. ZaganZee says:

    I will be hit number 1,000,000. If I have to stay up and watch the counter inch closer and refresh the page constantly, it will be me. 🙂

  2. Lefty734 says:

    Yay sounds awesome!

  3. 'Cos says:

    Damn…Just when you thought it couldn’t get any better!

    I’m speechless, Matthew. You’re baby is all grown up. Major congrats to you, and thank you so very much for your unwavering dedication to the site – and, ultimately,…to us. Best site in the biz.

  4. You’ve created a great community Matthew.
    Congrats!

  5. Beermit says:

    Find a need, and fill it. This blog is a prime example of what one can do if they just try. Keep up the good work Matthew, and if I think of anything to contribute I’ll make sure to run it by you!

  6. HC Sangheili says:

    Congratulations to Matthew, snicks and the rest of the RDC crew.

    I’m a bit dissappointed by the @hotmail address. Isn’t that similar to @aol? 😛

    I for one, look forward to additional RDC community growth in the coming months, and am thankful for all you cool cats I’ve been able to meet and be demolished by.

  7. digipatd says:

    Re: Community Imput
    I would love to work on that Checkpoint Guide I talked about on the Facebook page! I don’t have a capture card or Bungie Pro, but there are a ton of useful places in Reach’s campaign to trigger checkpoints for commendations, easter eggs, challenges, etc.

  8. Nice job Matt. Its well deserved.

  9. This is the first gaming community that I’ve actually enjoyed being a part of! You’ve done an awesome job Matt (and the rest of the crew!) and I hope to see this site continue to grow! 😀

  10. gans42 says:

    cough cough its matthew not matt cough cough

    anyways, thanks for everything matthew! i found out about this site from the aforementioned app, and was instantly hooked. youve done a smashing job! keep it up!

    • i didn’t realize that you cared so much about his name.
      Sorry did not mean to offend you. COUGH!!

      • gans42 says:

        no, he cares about his name. hes asked many people (myself included) to not call him matt or vose, i was just trying to let people as to not annoy our gracious host. and tbh im not entirely sure why you even replied to that because you didnt say matt…not entirely sure why id be offended by you…

      • My apologies! I guess I’m just so used to people shortening my name (Nicholas -> Nick) that I automatically do it for other people without thinking!

  11. Attyred says:

    I noticed the link in the app long ago. Well done.

  12. Mister Shhhhhhh says:

    Congratz!!!

  13. Woody says:

    Congrats to you, Matthew, with the growth and success you’ve had with the site.

    Also, I like to personally thank Matthew, snickerdoodle and the entire RDC community for your contribute to the site. I have to say that finding this site several months ago was the start a much better gaming experience and it was one that I have never experienced before. I’ve learned a lot and met some very cool people on here and in the gaming world. Before, I only had one trusted friend to play Reach with. Since discovering this site, I have many who are great and trusted.

    Thanks once again to all of you!

    • gans42 says:

      woody im still waiting to play with you! can i be added to the list of people you play with…pretty please? i promise that ill try unsuccessfully not to bite

      • Woody says:

        LOL – Sure, gans… you can be added to the list. I will be sure you are added one way or another when I get off work later on.

      • gans42 says:

        sweet now ill have more people to play FF with…dont have enough of those. (dont worry MM is included too…im willing to play games aside from grifball, so its your lucky day lol)

  14. Scruff 815 says:

    ❤ RDC. The third 'forum' in the history of my life on the internet that has managed to keep my attention for longer than a week. And what's more, there's no utter douches here. Take THAT, bungie.net! 😉 And game nights! Where would I be without game nights! I'd still be without loads of Halo 3 achievements, I wouldn't be constantly spammed with game invites all the time, and I'd be going to bed at sensible times! 😉

    Anyway, onto content matters – the obvious choice for me would be to do a Campaign commendation boosting guide, given that I've worked out methods to do all but two of them faster and more efficiently than those provided by Butterz or Orphan. However – I don't know how. If anyone's got any tips, they'd be much appreciated; I know next to nothing about capture cards or whatever, so I'm walking blind here. I guess the alternative is Bungie Pro but then I'd be missing out on recording everything I'm doing, plus I guess it's harder to do a voice commentary via Bungie Pro? HALP!

    • Matthew Vose says:

      Perhaps the first guide should be someone who can do guides, doing a guide on how to do guides? Like a meta guide?

    • digipatd says:

      What are the two slow ones?

      • Scruff 815 says:

        They’re not slow as such – they’re Heroic Cowboy & Demon. There is no way to do them AFK – you *have* to do the ‘save and quit at the end of WC and then repeatedly reload the game’ thing. Still easy to do if you memorise the button combination and just press them while watching something on TV or whatever.

      • Sir Galahad 63 says:

        I did it with a constant beep every 44 seconds from my phone, then would press B B A, and keep watching television until the next beep, press B B A, then the next beep and so on.

    • gans42 says:

      if you dont have a capture card, you can always record it by hand with a digital camera or video camera…i know it wont be the best picture quality, but it’d suffice, plus we’ll get to hear your lovely english accent!\, unlike with using bungie pro

      • Scruff 815 says:

        Don’t really fancy trying to record it by hand – the picture quality will suck, and I don’t want to be ‘the guy with the crappy videos’. Any recommendations on capture cards? If there’s one that’s reasonably priced then I might invest, if it’s a lot of money then it’s not really worth it. Etc. And you leave my accent alone 😉

      • t-rOY (tROYnHI) says:

        I have a Pinnacle Video Transfer. It was about $100 USD but I’m sure its cheaper now. It’s great for simplicity, but the downside is you can’t view what you’re recording unless you route the A/V hookup through a digital box or VCR which might compromise the quality. I used it to transfer clips from my favorite tv shows so I can watch it on my PSP or iPod, but my dvr box seems to have some compatibility issues after the cable company “upgraded” the software (functionality for the dvr controls is also crappy now…I hate you Time Warner). The device still works great when transferring video from my dvd players, and I’m assuming it will still work with the Xbox too. I uploaded a clip from Halo 3 to my youtube (goalienhi) if you want to check out the quality for yourself. Sorry I can’t hyperlink it here. I don’t have access to youtube at work.

      • gans42 says:

        well you can just put the camera on a table thats level with the tv (you can even tape the button down if your heart so desires), and a passable video is always better than none whatsoever. and i wasnt insulting your accent lol…i love english accents!

        also ill talk to my neighbor about capture cards, he has quite a bit of experience with that

  15. Pingback: 11th August – Halo Reach Daily Challenges & Commentary « Halo Reach Daily Challenges

  16. Braythor says:

    Matthew, a big congratulations and an even bigger thank you. This is one of the only forums I regularly visit online and it’s been great watching it grow and evolve into a real online community. As such, the idea of community input is fantastic. I’ve been thinking of what I might be able to offer, and in terms of guides I think I could knock up one for grifball, as I do tend to dominate when I play that mode (in complete contrast to most other modes). Sharing my FF tactics is another possibility, but I don’t know if that’d be adding much (mind you, based on how some people play FF…). Though it’s likely they’d just be masses of text, I could structure them to be easily readable.

    If it’s not outside the realms of possibility, a section of video highlights of game nights would be great – there’s many moments that are now only memories that I’d love to watch, Porottaja’s driving (for want of a better term) and Snicks’ dirty, backstabbing grenade betrayals are but two examples and I’m sure everyone has many more. I don’t really know how this would work, other than someone would need bungie pro to render them first of all, but thought I’d throw it into the mix.

    • Scruff 815 says:

      Love the idea of game night highlights. I see how it’s a bit tricky in terms of organising it, but it’s do-able. If I end up getting a capture card / Bungie Pro to do a commendation guide then I could always pull out some game night highlights…

  17. KnexWiz says:

    Wow 1,000,000 hits I just started reading this form a week ago (though the app mentioned (it is my favorite app ever, sorry roster teeth)) I was debaiting wether or not I should start leaving my own coments and in onhor (sp) of there 1,000,000 hits I decided to leave my first post 🙂

  18. TheOneInYellow says:

    Congratulations Matthew and team for your successful blog, I am extremely happy that our little community has gone from strength to strength, and that you have given a huge amount of help, fun, noob mocking and NSFW conversations on our weekly RDC Game Nights.

    I, personally, have never formally joined any group, be it clan or community based, in any games at all. EVER. Until I saw your blog. It was the little things that got me attached, good posts, witty banter, extremely good people (I really mean this), and above all, meaningful Xbox Live friends who are open and fun to play with (I, too, have streamlined my friends list just so I can have room with those who want to play games).

    I cannot wait in anticipation on how the blog moves forward, and I am very excited about the prospect of a tournament. So, cheers for all the fun, to the future, and to less noobs using microphones (srlsy :/ )

    Thank you ^_^

  19. Noobwarrior523 says:

    Maybe we could make a guide for the best playlists to get a certain commendation (ex. Heavy weapons- Dino blasters) since some of the commendations are UNFAIR(downshift) and also I do get here by the app, and I check the app every day to come here and see the challenges. Now I wonder…..should I spam
    Comments to be number 10,000……..

  20. t-rOY (tROYnHI) says:

    Thanks Matthew for creating such a great blog. I stumbled across RDC one day at work just to see if I could find a list of the daily challenges. Coincidentally I soon found out that this is the only Halo-related website that I can access at work =) Your tips have been excellent and if it wasn’t for them I’d probably have only half as many challenges completed as I do now. The advice not only helped me attain certain challenges that were a pain, but also sparked inspiration on how to create some tips & strategies of my own.

    RDC community, you are certainly the best group of people that I’ve had the pleasure of meeting and interacting with online. I hope to contribute to you as much as you have contributed to me and my wife. She may not make an appearance here, but believe me she’s appreciative of your help, since she almost always use what I learn here to help get the challenges.

    I was this close -| |- to playing RDC Game Night today, but alas I was not sick enough to stay home from work today. =( As always, I hope you have a great evening and good luck on the challenges.

    • t-rOY (tROYnHI) says:

      Forgot to also thank Matthew for the great suggestion on the App. I have my wifes old iPhone (1st gen I believe) and most Apps for Reach are not compatible with the older iPhones. However this one is and I’m finding its much better than using Bungie’s mobile site. Thanks again Matthew for a job well done.

  21. Pingback: Halo Reach Weekly Challenge & Commentary – w/c 15th August « Halo Reach Daily Challenges

  22. Pingback: 15th August – Halo Reach Daily Challenges & Commentary « Halo Reach Daily Challenges

Leave a Reply

