11th August – Halo Reach Daily Challenges & Commentary

Today’s challenges are listed below, click Read More to view the commentaries…

  1. Covenant-cide – Kill 120 enemies in Firefight Matchmaking – 1100 cR
  2. Flat Tire – Kill 10 enemy vehicles in Firefight Matchmaking – 1125 cR
  3. A Walk In The… – Kill 1000 enemies on Beachhead in Firefight Matchmaking – 3000 cR
  4. Hyper Lethal Vector – Kill 200 enemies with headshots in Firefight Matchmaking – 1500 cR

Commentary follows after the break including details on the announcements and Game Night…

Covenant-cide – Kill 120 enemies in Firefight Matchmaking – 1100 cR

You could do this in one game of Gruntpocalypse, 2X Score Attack or some of the other variants. 2X is good because you’re likely to get slightly more than 120 so it takes account of TKs from the Covvies. But you’ll get this in the other challenges so no sweat…

Flat Tire – Kill 10 enemy vehicles in Firefight Matchmaking – 1125 cR

Holdout is a good option for this because you’re guaranteed a Banshee each game, and if you take it out quick (Sniper Rifle in the crow’s nest) then you can get several. Another trick is to keep the last Grunt or two in a wave alive to extend the game as much as possible. Note you need to take out the vehicle NOT the pilot, so explosive weapons help, and it seems they don’t count when played in Fiesta Attack. Turrets do count if enemies get on them, again take out the turret not the dude. However… play in Beachhead because there are some vehicles dropped in that map in different modes and it helps count towards…

A Walk In The… – Kill 1000 enemies on Beachhead in Firefight Matchmaking – 3000 cR

2nd Feb we had this, but only for 100 enemies. This will help immensely towards your weekly challenge. I say go to Firefight Arcade because you get a good chance of getting up to about 200 kills, plus lots of waves for your weekly chase. I like Beachhead because the range of weapons and vehicles makes it a commendation chasers paradise. Make sure you get to the Covvie vehicles that are dropped to help with Flat Tire. If you end up with a random amount of kills needed then get into Crashsite or Gen. Defense in Score Attack to get however many you need.

Hyper Lethal Vector – Kill 200 enemies with headshots in Firefight Matchmaking – 1500 cR

Gruntpocalypse and 2x Score Attack are great ways of doing this, you should be looking to get a lot of headshots in a game (using DMR, Pistol, Needle Rifle or Sniper Rifle), as before especially if it’s on a simple map where you can line up the Grunts, like Corvette or Courtyard (although just get anything you can in Beachhead so you can build your headshots in there). If you get to a high number rather than doing a whole game again jump in Crashsite or Generator Defense and only defend until you have your total then give up the goal.

If you missed it there were some announcements yesterday in honour of RDC getting to 1,000,000 hits. I’m still overwhelmed by how quickly and simply we’ve reached that landmark, and I’m excited to see what creations you guys can come up with for the community.

It’s Game Night tonight as well. I’ll be running the Reach MPMM party since my connection isn’t strong enough to support Firefight Arcade generally, especially not in ODST it seems.

And keep your eyes peeled on the site over the next few hours for a further exciting announcement… 😀

68 Responses to 11th August – Halo Reach Daily Challenges & Commentary

  1. porottaja says:

    What does the counter say about his hit amount?

    It’s over 1 000 000!

    What 1 000 000?! There is no way that couldn’t be right. Awesome site.

    • MadAmericanTacos says:

      DANG!!!! I just noticed that! Congratualtions to Matthew and RDC for passign the 1 million mark!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

      • Dogmeat says:

        Only 19 million hits to go before the site reaches Inheritor rank!! 😉

  2. MadAmericanTacos says:

    Not bad for a Fire Fight Thursday, the 1000 will take a while and hopefully I will get the flat tire during the pursuit.

    Hey Matthew, thanks for the update email with future plans, I downloaded that app for my stats but what I thought was funny is that according to it, it will take me another 2 months to hit Field Marshall???? Makes me wonder how they calculate thier data cause I should have it this weekend or Wednesday at the latest. Other than that I now have more info than I know what to do with lol.

    • Sir Galahad 63 says:

      They calculate it on averages, as in if it has taken you 10 months to get to say 3 million credits, how many credits did you get per day, example 3000 cR per day on average, and your next rank is 30 000 cR away, it will say that it will take you 10 days 🙂

      I hope that’s not confusing!
      And Matthew conGRUNTulations for reaching 1,000,000 hits!!!!!

      As fOr yesterday’s Tip of the spear challenge, I died as much as I wanted, but forgot to save and quit before the level finished, and so didn’t get my 5000cR 1 hour and a half later. I was too frustrated to do it again :/

      • MadAmericanTacos says:

        Makes sense to me, seems like a neat but depressing tool to use for predicting when you will rank up lol.

    • gans42 says:

      yeah, as sir galahad said it goes by your average credits per hour (or day), but the nice thing is, if you play a lot (assuming not customs) youll get it much faster than they predict which makes it seem like youre that much better. for instance when i hit legend it said it would take me over 3 months to get mythic, and just 5 weeks or so later im 35k away from it

    • LoL! On Halocharts.com it says i only have 250 days til i hit Inheritor. Myself, i think it will take a bit longer since GOW3 comes out next month! 😉

      • callupchuck says:

        That’ll definitely steal some Reach players. And then comes November… Modern Warfare 3 and Battlefield 3. I’ll be playing the latter.

      • and CEA. November could cost some people a very pretty penny.

        ps, did you get mail yet? 😛

      • callupchuck says:

        *sigh, don’t think so. Unless it’s Fedex which I missed yesterday.

      • darn. no, no FedEx – USPS. harrumph. 😕

      • Scruff 815 says:

        Well technically Halo: CE’s matchmaking is in Reach anyway, so it should still count towards our Reach ranks 😉 Halo 4 is another matter though…

      • SensoryFour34 says:

        I know Gears is gonna steal me away for a little while. Anniversary is gonna bring me back for sure if I’m not back before it.

      • Woody says:

        GOW3 will definitely pull me away from Reach as well. Though, I have to say, the GOW series have never kept me away from the Halo series long. When it comes to GOW series, usually I won’t play it for a long while once I beat the campaign.

  3. Tom says:

    Well… looks like I’ll be getting the weekly today no problems and Hyper Lethal Vector will get me up to Onyx for precision weapons.

  4. 'Cos says:

    Good morning all.

    You know…
    Bungie should honestly just make the challenge “Play two games in firefight on Beachhead”. Six games into Score Attack, and i have yet to even see it as a map option. Pathetic. This will be the biggest grind today. NOT the 1000 kills. So glad i’m going to do ODST firefight later today. Now that is awesome…

    @ Matthew, Snickerdoodle, (et al.) : Congrats again on a million hits. Here’s to a million more…

    Good luck to all today…

    • Woody says:

      That seem to always be the case with doing challenges on specific maps. Times prior you’re tormented by maps you may or may not want. When the time comes for the need of a certain map, it run and hide under a rock somewhere.

      • MadAmericanTacos says:

        Except for yesterday! I couldnt get away from glacier even in Score Attack it kept comming up lol.

      • Woody says:

        Now that you mentioned it, Glacier did pop-up for me in my first two games. I was shocked.

    • gans42 says:

      ‘Cos im going to try to do the dailys before our 3PM EST ODST date night (you bring the wine and ill bring the scented candles), if you (or anyone else on RDC) wants to join me for doubles so i dont have to play score attack all by my lonesome let me know

      • lolGTFOplz says:

        pssst gans, sorry for not accepting your game invite this morning, i realized it was 3 minutes before i had to leave for work. lol

      • gans42 says:

        haha no worries, ill just get you another time. as for now ill cry in a corner because of my loneliness

      • lolGTFOplz says:

        lol, in the corner on the top of beachhead? 😛

      • gans42 says:

        actually for once not lol…im raising my automatics and vehicle kills a bit

  5. MadAmericanTacos says:

    OK, this is going to be really noob of me but I need to ask anyway… I have been going after achievements the past couple of days and decided to play invasion, my question is this “What the heck is the point of the game?!!!!!!!!!!!” I mean I played 3 seperate time and had no clue what was going on except for one game where we had to try and steal some core, even then after I got it I had no idea where to take it… Lastly, how do you get the skunked achievement??

    Anyway, I am only about 6 away, only need top get the invasion and flag achievements before I am maxed out!

    • the ultimate goal of Invasion is to steal the core and bring it to the hill/destination. (there’s a way point over where you’re supposed to take it.) the defenders are trying to keep the attackers from doing that.

      the Skunked! comes in the very first wave of Invasion. the defenders have to prevent the attackers from getting past the first checkpoints. if that happens, that’s how you get the Skunked achievement.

      which flag achievements do you still need?

      • MadAmericanTacos says:

        Well that makes sense lol, now all I gotta do is work on keep the invaders out so I can get that one…

        Sadly I need ALL of the flag achievemetns, but that is mainly cause I really havent played many games in that variant. I need to find time to jump in a game night when it comes up so I can knock them out, but any advice/tips would be greatly appreciated!

      • MadAmericanTacos says:

        Oh and I gotta say that Rocket Hog Race is SUPER FUN!!!! I mean one second your blasting everything in site then the next your flying through the air spinning in circles lol, it might just be my new favorite game lol.

      • i can help you with the ones that are the Defiant map pack ones. (i assume you have the map packs, yes?)

      • MadAmericanTacos says:

        That would be great! My main game night is Friday starting at 10pm est and going till I am dead to the world. I can also get on Wednesday during the day time cause I am home with my son.

        If anyone else wants to jump in and work on snagging these up that would be awesome!

        Oh and yes I have both map packs (thanks to the half price sale lol)

      • okay, shoot me a friend request and when i catch you on, i’ll set up some custom games for the Defiant achievements.

        (the first person to ask me if i’m sure i know what i’m doing or says “but they say MATCHMADE games!” is FIRED. just FYI. 😉 )

      • MadAmericanTacos says:

        Look for one from Leroy789 tonight 🙂

      • lolGTFOplz says:

        snickerdoodle, would you like to help me out on getting the flag ones as well? lol. 😀

      • Project SHAVE says:

        I need them flag achievements as well! And that friggin’ If They Came to Hear Me Beg achievement I still haven’t gotten.

      • MadAmericanTacos says:

        i “FINNALY” got “If they came to hear me beg” last week, it took me like 400 trys and I had to mute the tv cause I got so sick of hearing Carter say “stay low, let me draw the heat, just deliver that package” lol. The trick I found was to turn off sprint before you get half way down AND you need to land just behind the elite so you actually hit the ground right before the assisnation so that way you actually take damage… Sounds wierd I know but jsut stick with it and you will have it before you know it!

        I still need to get popin and locking and crackin skulls, probably going to work on those tonight/tomorrow..

      • Scruff 815 says:

        ^ sprint is the main factor in that achievement. You have to sprint, jump, *stop sprinting at the peak of your jump*, then perform the assassination. You can also get it from jumping off the spire 😉

      • Matthew Vose says:

        Assassinate forwards too, if you do it downwards it changes your fall so it’s no longer a fall that would kill you (apparently).

      • YoSoY says:

        I got that achievement with a normal assessination. It was in WC. Don’t remember exactly, but I think I jump (I mean, a “normal” jump) and then I assessinate an Elite. I have a video of that. The title is in spanish, I think it’s: “Si vinieron a escuchar mis ruegos” or something like that if you want to check it out…

      • John says:

        I think that’s about the only challenge I don’t have along with using Armour Lock to blow up a vehicle, I tried the hear me beg one a couple of times then decided I couldn’t be bothered!

        John

  6. Woody says:

    I don’t know if time will allow me, after work, but I’m going attempt to get 1,000 kills on Beachhead, which will also be great for the Flat Tire challenge.

    Oh, gans, I will be sure adding you is the first thing I do after I turn my XBox on. lol

    • gans42 says:

      when will that be? im well on my way to the 1000 already lol then im playing odst

      • Woody says:

        Well, I’m not sure what time zone you’re on, but I will likely be online around 3pm (CST).

      • gans42 says:

        im EST, by then ill be doing ODST with scruff, ‘Cos, and a lurker

      • Woody says:

        Oh okay… well, you’ll get the add-on regardless and I may join game night fiasco after I finish at least two or three challenges.

    • Ted(Air Phantom) says:

      Woody, if this works for your schedule, I’ll be on @ 9:00 EST if you want to do FF doubles and work on the Beachhead and Flat Tire challenges.

      • Woody says:

        Unfortunately, by that time, I will be serving time that’s enforced by the “warden” (girlfriend). That’s usually the case on Wednesday, Thursday and Fridays. Mondays and Tuesdays are usually my best days for playing Reach all afternoon and night, without dealing with her.

      • lolGTFOplz says:

        got to love the wardens….

  7. I got bored waiting for Beachhead to come up in voting so I caught up on about an hour of Fails of the Week :mrgreen:

    Tournement, you say? I had a feeling this would come up eventually! 😉

  8. mickoboy90 says:

    i will probably pass on the 1000 kills and vehicles because when i play arcade firefight, it lasg way to much as my grans house internet in only about 3mb, and half way of game, it disconnects all players from me, so i dont know if i can get banned for that.. does anyone know??

    • Scruff 815 says:

      If it happened really often, you COULD be banned. I very, very much doubt it though. Worst case would probably be a 15-minute matchmaking ban / 24 hour credit ban.

      • KnexWiz says:

        Thanks I had no idea wtf he said until you responded scruff 🙂 (btw that happens to me a lot usually when internet is slow

  9. Scruff 815 says:

    1000 kills – no. Vehicles – no. The other two – mebbe. Today’s another odd one in terms of free time and stuff; thankfully the builders are going to be finished today, yay 😀 That means I have to pay them. Boo 😦

    If I don’t get any of these done and don’t join up with anyone for them, then I’ll see y’all – or at least three of you – tonight for some ODST goodness 🙂

    • gans42 says:

      lookin forward scruff…though upset that we cant do doubles today. why do you not have ample free time?! you can be so selfish sometimes! jk, congrats on construction being done

  10. lolGTFOplz says:

    for the game night tonight, is everyone jumping on the odst train? or will there still be some reach going on? (my odst disk is about as gone as the suicidal marine in H3) -cracks open a monster import- as for today -sips- i got about 8 more hours at work, but i got a promotion and a pay raise, of 2.5X of what i was making, so let the good times roll! (matt has me on a classic rock kick now!) anywho, challenges today seem not too bad, and i think i got 3 vehicle kills this morning, not sure though. good luck everyone 😛

  11. Niisama Broham says:

    Over 1,000,000 hits in less than a year – Rating: Awesome+1

    Congratulations!

  12. Project SHAVE says:

    I’ll be on at 6:30 EST if anyone wants to play Doubles. You’ll easily get Flat Tire while we’re going through Beachhead.

  13. Anonymous says:

    i think im skipping the dailys most are too much of a grind i can get better credits and have fun playing infection

  14. gans42 says:

    got the dailys in 6 games of score attack and 2 of doubles…sooooo much beachhead

  15. Zak says:

    Just a suggestion… For any challenge requiring you to get a certain number of kills on a map, FF doubles seems to work best especially if you have a friend to do it with. In doubles, it lets you vote for none of the above quite a few times before you have to pick, so you have a lot of chances to select the map you want. Also, you have only two people to get as many kills as four people would be getting in firefight arcade.

    • John says:

      Definitely, it’s a pain in the neck that the map may not come up at all in Score Attack and in FFA on FF Doubles you can get a decent number of kills plus Beachhead has the advantage of Wraiths/ghosts

      John

  16. Noobwarrior523 says:

    Found my phone!!!!!with 4% battery, anyway, congrats on 1 million hits!! I might join in game night (reach…odst I dont have) as for firefight….in playing some gruntpocalypse for the headshots and 120 enemies….flat tire….I only work on that commendation when the challenge isn’t around so there is no competition. I like beachhead but I am not trying for all those kills…..

  17. 'Cos says:

    gans42 says:

    11/08/2011 at 13:32

    guys ‘Cos (seventh dawg), digipatd, and I need a 4th person at 10PM EST to go for the vidmaster endure challenge. send me a message on XBL, we’ll bring in the person that sent me the message first.

    Reply

    ‘Cos says:

    11/08/2011 at 14:05

    ODST

    This man speaks the truth!

    We do need a fourth player, and i’m hoping it won’t be a problem. We’ve come so far today, and it would be an ‘epic fail’ to not get this achievement as well tonight. But, yes, there won’t be a problem with doing this another time…we’re just on a roll is all. And not to mention that a coordinated effort has been put into this by a good bit of people who would like to keep going tonight. One more can’t be THAT hard, right?

    Anyways, i do hope everyone is having a rewarding day. Good luck to all, and happy haloing…

    – seventh dawg

    P.S. : …and a quick shout out to gans42, Scruff 815, and digipatd for their “awesomeness”! Great players, respectful people, good times, and some achievements. Thanks again, and looking forward to the rest of the “challenges”. See ya later

    • digipatd says:

      Awesome! I’m amazed at how quickly I went from a lurker to contributor. (Seriously, it was like two days.) You guys are the best Halo community.

  18. SensoryFour34 says:

    Finally got all the challenges done! It took forever to get A Walk In The… but I did it. It probably would have been faster if I hadn’t stopped to join in on a bit of Matchmaking, and I would definitely be in a better mood too. The past few hours I’ve just been so mad because we actually played SWAT Stockpile, and we were literally seconds away from getting “You Ate All The Chips” but we had one of the flags stolen at the last possible second, so we didn’t get the achievement. It was so frustrating. Why did Bungie make an achievement that’s so close to impossible to get?

Leave a Reply

