12th August – Halo Reach Daily Challenges & Commentary

Today’s challenges are listed below, click Read More to view the commentaries:

  1. Gunslinger – Kill 150 enemies in multiplayer Matchmaking – 2750 cR
  2. Cook ’em, Clean ’em – Kill 5 enemies in multiplayer Matchmaking while you’re jet-packing – 1000 cR
  3. Oops! All Kills – Earn 7 Multikills in multiplayer Matchmaking – 1400 cR
  4. Foggy Notion – Complete a Campaign mission on Heroic with Cloud and Famine on – 1500 cR

Commentary follows after the break…

Gunslinger – Kill 150 enemies in multiplayer Matchmaking – 2750 cR

Grifball as ever for high kill volumes. You can get 30, 40, 50 and more kills in a good game when you have your timing and eye in with the hammer. Other good options include Infection, Squad Slayer and Multi Team, but for the others today I’d definitely go for Grifball.

Cook ’em, Clean ’em – Kill 5 enemies in multiplayer Matchmaking while you’re jet-packing – 1000 cR

Remember you have to be actively firing the jet-pack when the person dies to register it, otherwise you’re just falling with style. Dino Blasters and Grifball are almost tailor made for this, what with the jet pack load out and all. Normal multiplayer games (Rumble Pit, Squad Slayer, Team and Multi Team) and just firing short bursts when you’re about to kill someone – particularly with grenades or heavy weapons. Some useful places – grenades in Pinnacle when people are in the main loft area, Boardwalk again in the central sniper point. The Hammer and Sword work well with this, just use the equipment and fire buttons at the same time.

Oops! All Kills – Earn 7 Multikills in multiplayer Matchmaking – 1400 cR

As with the first two today, Grifball is one of your top options here, one game should get it pretty quickly. These will stack, so an Overkill (4 people) counts as 3 multikills. The objective variants are helpful because you can aim for people who are going for the objective (ie in the hill in Crazy King) where a natural firefight usually opens up.

Foggy Notion – Complete a Campaign mission on Heroic with Cloud and Famine on – 1500 cR

Last time we saw this challenge? Christmas Day. Since there are no other Campaign challenges today I’m giving exactly the same advice as every optional Campaign mission challenge – run Nightfall, get this done in 10 minutes, tops. As a guide to Nightfall speed run I’ve picked this video off Youtube randomly, but there are hundreds like it. In fact we have further options and details on the time we did it in LASO on this Weekly Challenge page and comments. There are other levels you may be more familiar with, but honestly, you can do this in 5-6 minutes with minimal stress.

Don’t forget if you want to sign up for the very first RDC Tournament then read the details on this post and email us.

A few of you commented on the first commentary page I did back in October, and I realised of course so many readers won’t know how I used to do the posts at the start. Initially there were 4 posts each day – challenges, commentary, outcomes and conclusions. The challenges remained until April when I started doing it all as one post with the break serving to reveal the commentaries. Outcomes was my write up of my attempts to get the challenges, and any associated stories with them. Conclusions was written sometime later and a more general overview, and any thoughts about the challenges that I wanted to make.

As you would imagine Conclusions only lasted a few days, since the posts were easily integrated with the Outcomes posts. The Outcomes lasted 3 weeks or so, and by the time I stopped doing them I was getting a lot more au fait with the challenges and methods to achieve them, plus I wasn’t always going for them so wasn’t able to write it.

Since then the style and methods have changed in a few ways, particularly a lot of standardisation in the way I write these posts. I know it’d be great to write something different each day, but one of the ways of keeping myself doing it is to make it easy and quick to do them. This is actually my 598th post, I’m not sure even I’m creative enough to put some witty or funny banter each day (and make it relevant). But I usually look at the challenges and see if there’s anything different on that day that needs changing, so although the advice remains the same it gets tweaked a lot to make it relevant.

Hope you enjoyed the little behind the scenes in the writing process, and the history of posts on the blog.

And yes, I did post even on Christmas Day. And my birthday. And Valentine’s day. Although little lonely me had nothing else to do on V-Day so that’s not surprising!!

97 Responses to 12th August – Halo Reach Daily Challenges & Commentary

  1. PeteTheCat1 says:

    Congratulations again Matthew, and to everyone else who has helped this site grow!
    I’ll be playing a lot of MM today so if anyone wants to join me feel free to do so.

    • gans42 says:

      ill probably hit you up for that..seemed to work for when we had this challenge earlier this week

      • Matthew Vose says:

        Definitely – get into Grifball and make someone hold the ball. We had a great game with me holding it, and JustHawkeye managed almost 80 kills. I got about 30 just from the ball! 😀

      • Project SHAVE says:

        I’m so down for some drawn out grifball.

      • MadAmericanTacos says:

        I’m in! Will be on at 10pm est gt Leroy789 send me a friend request and I will gladley hit some people with a hammer lol

  2. Sir Galahad 63 says:

    I won’t be able to do the MM challenges because my Internet is s**t, a mere 7kb per second 😦 but the campaign one is doable. Can commendations and challenges be done on easy? Or is it like achievements where it has to be normal or harder?
    Again, thankyou and well done Matthew 😀

    • MadAmericanTacos says:

      7kb???? Man thats barely dial up speed, you need to get a really long cat5 cable and run it in the window of a neighbors house to hook into thier router for more bandwidth, just don’t let them find out what your doing and everythign will be fine lol.

    • Sir Galahad 63 says:

      Ha, it’s 7pm because we went over our limit (all blame piled onto me and my beloved Halo). When it’s fresh it is around 100kb per second, so not too bad.

      • Sir Galahad 63 says:

        7kb not 7pm —- damn iPod touch!!

      • MadAmericanTacos says:

        I know right, I was trying to look up Snickerdoodle last night on the iPad and it kept changing it to “Snicker Doodle” lol

      • my iPhone apparently thinks i mean Slicker Noodles a lot of time. 😕

      • MadAmericanTacos says:

        LOL thats the best one yet!

      • Sir Galahad 63 says:

        I’m going to a friends house tomorrow, and I want to take my gamertag on a USB. How do I go about that? As in what files do I copy from where?

      • t-rOY (tROYnHI) says:

        @Sir Galahad 63 – usually I just port over my gamertag when playing on another box (my wife’s xbox 99% of time), but if you want to be thorough and bring everything you have for Reach then you will find them using this route:

        System Settings->Memory->Hard Drive->Games->Halo Reach

        I think it will give you an option to copy all files…maybe hit the ‘x’ or ‘y’ button to transfer all or something to that effect. If not then you can go into Halo Reach and copy the files you need…like the mappacks or custom maps/gametypes.

        Hope this helps. Sorry, my directions might be a little off since I’m doing it from memory. I can’t get to my xbox until 11 hours from now.

        @everyone – yes Auto-Correct sucks. There’s actually a site that shows some of the funniest messages that resulted from auto-correct going wrong. It’s called damnyouautocorrect.com.

    • gans42 says:

      its gotta be normal or harder sadly

  3. MadAmericanTacos says:

    Nice way to finish out the work week, I like the Foggy Notion one cause even though I am still going to speed run it, it is still fun to do it with no radar…

    Oh last night was epic for me with achievements, I played one game of invasion and got the Skunked achievement, then played BTB and got Cross Mappin just before hitting my armour lock to blow up a ghost to get Popin and Lockin. Seriously Cross Mappin was still up when I hit AL and got the other one! Down to 6 now, just need all the flag ones, Totaly Worth It and You Blew it Up to get to 100%

    Super Happy Today 🙂

    • Matthew Vose says:

      Very nice.

      I only need the ‘Who Ate All The Chips’ achievement for all the flags in Matchmaking Stockpile. We came close to getting it twice in SWAT Stockpile last night, but both times were only a couple of metres short with the last flag.

      One day… it will be mine. Oh yes, it will be mine.

      • MadAmericanTacos says:

        Not sure if you need to be in a specif game type but Snicks is planning on helping me out sometime soon so maybe you can join and get it knoced off the list?

        I read a lot of post on the web about that achievemnt and everyone basically hates Bungie for making such a hard to get achievment lol. I mean it’s not supposed to be easy so when you do get it victory tastes all the more sweet lol…

      • Matthew Vose says:

        This one has to be done in Matchmaking annoyingly, not in custom games. The best way is a group of 8, a buttload of SWAT games and hope the game type comes up, with an agreement to let each side get the achievement.

      • MadAmericanTacos says:

        Hmmmm…. I think we might need a special game night.

        Does anyone else want to get in on this? If so we can play for it tonight or this weekend? Looks like all we need is 6 more players to make this happen.

      • Matthew Vose says:

        Yep, should be on tonight. I pretty much stick to SWAT or Grifball anyway so happy to keep trying. Usually other people online who want to play anyway so we’ll rope them in XD

      • MadAmericanTacos says:

        Cool, I will friend you tonight when I get online. gt Leroy789

        Again open invite to anyone else who want to get the “Who Ate All the Chips” achievement.

      • Scruff 815 says:

        ^ the way I got it was by being a douche in a game of Stockpile. Hang out at your flag capture zone, and every time someone brings a flag back, wait until they leave the room, and then move the flag out of the circle. Wait until all 4 are there, then put them all back in. Works pretty well, just be ready to defend! 🙂

      • Matthew Vose says:

        Yeah that’s what we tried. And both times we pushed our luck getting all 4 in just before time ran out, and the blasted area took them just before we got the fourth in there.

        Aaaaargh!!! So close.

      • MadAmericanTacos says:

        Well hopefully we can make it work tonight…

      • it’s actually a team achievement, IIRC. meaning that, as long as your TEAM gets all the flags in and get captured, the achievement will unlock for everyone on that team if they don’t have it yet. i got mine with some friends on SWAT Stockpile on Anchor 9 and i certainly don’t go for flags in that. i do defend though! (whether i defend my capture zone or theirs is a different story. 😉 )

        so scruff, you don’t have to be camping your capture zone being a DC. 😉

      • Scruff 815 says:

        It is indeed a team achievement. However I got mine done when my team were composed of randoms without mics who were all playing ‘properly’, i.e. just trying for ANY amount of flags, let alone 4, and they were whacking me when they saw me taking flags out because they thought I was being a douche. So I just did it sneakily so they didn’t notice instead 😉

      • Bart fultz says:

        A group of 8 friends and I went into “Team Objective” and got “You ate all of the chips”, and we came up with some nifty tips to make it easier to make sure everyone to got “Candy from a Baby” too. If you need help with achievements, I would be willing to help, i need help on some of the matchmaking commendations, “Wheelman” for example.

      • really?? because i was under the impression that Stockpile was only available in BTB and SWAT now. how long ago did you find it in TO??

      • MadAmericanTacos says:

        @Bart look for me tonight, and I will be happy to help you out, honestly I can use it myself so we can add it to the list.

      • Bart fultz says:

        it was a while ago when i got that in TO, i guess now it is only in swat and btb, you can get candy from a baby in custom games now, from what i h ave read. @MadAmericanTacos tonight i may not be on, I’m in U.S. Eastern time, GT: EPYON ZERO . I would be willing to help people get achievements and commendations.

      • MadAmericanTacos says:

        K, I will send you a request, just look for this weekend cause I will be on…

      • SensoryFour34 says:

        You can count me in for sure! After last night I just have to get that achievement since we were just so close.

      • MadAmericanTacos says:

        I got a work friend that wants to join in for the achievemetn hunting tonight so I think we are up to 5 total potential people??

    • Noobwarrior523 says:

      I recommend rumble pit for double kill from the grave,if you play a game of slayer pro like me,you stick 10 people a game,you just gotta get lucky a get a double kill.

      • stuartw099 says:

        I managed to get You Ate all the Chips in the first stockpile Game I think I have ever played lol

      • MadAmericanTacos says:

        I have been trying BTB cause I can nail a falcon with the Plasma Launcher as its shooting me, hasn’t worked yet though lol. I will give RP a try and see if I can’t make it work though.

      • Scruff 815 says:

        Incoming 2 person Warthog splatter at your face + plasma grenade = double kill from the grave.

      • Lefty734 says:

        I f ind it is easiest on multiteam. I was trying to get it for so long and then I played it once and got it without even trying.

  4. Noobwarrior523 says:

    I won’t be around all weekend but Sunday night so no challenges for me except possibly Sunday night (then hopefully grade 2 on Monday!) wanted to play for the jet pack challenge, gives me an excuse to go into action sack and play Dino blasters( I love it, dont play action sack often due to me hating some of the gametypes…)

  5. Best History lesson ever!! :mrgreen:

    I’d say Christmas was the most important day to post the challenges because think of all the kids getting Reach as a present! 😉

  6. HC Sangheili says:

    Jump and Jet Pack variants in Griffball as well for Jet Pack kills.

  7. Scruff 815 says:

    Having FINALLY just got the 100th coffee thermos in Alan Wake (unfinished achievements bug me, and ODST put me in the mood for getting old achievements), I’ll be getting on to do these as quickly as possible in the next half hour or so. Yay time efficiency! 😀

    Quality game night last night, though this one seemed to end a lot quicker than normal! Probably down to the separation over two games and a heavy emphasis on FF though. Got a bunch of achievements done with gans, ‘Cos and Sharkbait, then moved on to some Reach MM with Braythor and The One In Yellow et al. Fun times 🙂

    Quality story of the evening – briefly going AFK to go for a pee during a 4-person run of one of the ODST Vidmaster Campaign achievements, and I said “I’m going AFK, I’ll be back in a minute, I’m just going to stay on the Mongoose”. My wife overheard that wrong, as “I’ll be back in a minute, I’m just going to drain the Mongoose”.
    I encourage all of you to now use this as your new expression for taking a pee.

  8. Woody says:

    I was wondering, is there a particular map I need to be on to achieve cross-mapping? I have yet to achieve that one and I was thinking about trying to go for it sometime over the weekend.

    • MadAmericanTacos says:

      I did it on BTB on Hemmorage, just remember it needs to be with the DMR and the reticle needs to be white. It took me a few tries cause you need to be really far away, what I did was zoom in and wait till I saw group of enemy getting attacked by a vehicle, once I noticed shields popping I started firing and got it.

    • DESTROYER says:

      Without even realizing, I shot a banshee in BTB and blew it up. I got the achievement. Also remember, you can’t zoom in for this achievement. 🙂

      • MadAmericanTacos says:

        I used zoom when I got mine yesterday, the reticle needs to be white and you need to make sure your target is on the other side of the map. The guys I was focusing on we so small that the reticle was bigger then they were. Ended up just spraying the area hoping to get someone.

      • Woody says:

        Oh wow! The reticle was larger than the players?! I guess I’m in for a very long weekend. Oh well… it’ll also give me some practice with precision weapons.

      • you can definitely zoom in for Cross Mappin’…i was on Hemorrhage as well when it popped and i was definitely scoped in because i was behind my base and they were just in front of theirs.

      • MadAmericanTacos says:

        Does anyone have any advice on how to get the “You Blew It Up” achievement? I havent had much of a chance to look into it but figured this would probably be the best place so any help would be appreciated.

      • that’s the one where you have to blow up Breakpoint, right?

        Premium Battle is the only place you’ll find this, really. there *might* be a chance in Invasion but you’d have to get lucky and all 11 other people have the maps AND the game to come up. go to PB and look for Invasion on Breakpoint.

      • MadAmericanTacos says:

        Wow! I have ben trying to get that map for days now, no wonder why it dosent come up!!! I will jump in PB tomorrow and give it a try. Its kinda funny that since I have started going after achievements my daily cR total has dropped drastically. I used to average about 40-50k per day now I’m down to about 15-20 😦

      • Matt says:

        Re “You Blew it Up”: In my experience every 3rd game in Premium Battle is Invasion on Breakpoint because people feel it’s a safe default option versus some goofy gametype on Tempest. Just bide your time until you link up with a good team and you’ll get it no sweat. Generally, being able to harass the Spartan team with the Wraith makes planting the bomb on the “downhill” bomb plant location easier (you’re also more covered from snipers on that side). The Falcon is basically made of paper and the Rocket Hog won’t be worth much unless they have an exceptionally skilled driver, so the weakness of the Spartan vehicles makes up for the lack of Elite power weapon spawns.

    • Matthew Vose says:

      You can get it on most maps if you boost for it – I got it on Powerhouse standing by the gate shooting someone by the rocks at the end. I’ve seen it attained in Pinnacle too, from landing through to Blue spawn tower.

      Hemorrhage is probably easiest, although some of the new ones are good too.

    • Matt says:

      It’s easy to do on Boneyard. Go upstairs on the frigate area and shoot someone down below over near the building where the Banshee spawns. With the height plus map width distance it’s easier to do than on a flatter map. Spire will also work and the top level will give you a good vantage point to see enemies who are currently engaged by a teammate. Just don’t expect to get a headshot often at that distance 🙂

  9. Thanks for this as usual. Handy 1500cr’s from the 5mins of nightfall.

  10. mickoboy90 says:

    two days ago when this challenge was on, i got it in two games of griffball which was good i believe 🙂 my most kills in one match still stands at 110 kills lol.. whats your best??:-D

  11. MadAmericanTacos says:

    Any word on weekend jackpots yet???????

    • it’s looking like there are none. from what i can gather, 343i are working hard on the Title Update and it’s taking up pretty much all their time. and jackpots are not a priority for them right now.

  12. MadAmericanTacos says:

    I was looking at my rep yesterday and noticed that like 63% of people want to AVOID me! Mostly cause they say I am too aggressive?? Funny thing is I play mainly Griftball and FF, so my question is this: Am I not supposed to be aggressive? Or any the people I play against just crying cause they lost?

    • ehhhh don’t worry about it. just remember that it’s only 63% of people who bother to leave any kind of feedback at all. it’s not 63% of everyone you’ve ever played against.

      plus, it’s a flawed system. one of my girlfriend’s plays and almost never, ever has a mic in. and yet, she’s got an absurd percentage of people who avoid her for trash talking. it’s rather amusing sometimes.

      • Scruff 815 says:

        I think the trash talking thing is because it’s the first one on the list – people just hit avoid, then hammer the A button. It’s more of a ‘avoid this person because I don’t want to play with them again’ thing for lazy people. I have a bunch of trash talking negative feedback too, and I only actually started trash talking recently 😉

        I’m at 60% avoids, most of mine is for Unsporting Conduct. Which I like to call “winning”.

      • MadAmericanTacos says:

        Now that’s funny! (In a good way)

    • LoL…63% of people want to avoid me too. Funny how its the same percentage.

    • Woody says:

      I must be the slowest person on the entire planet, because I had no idea you could check your rep stats. I’m curious to see what I have and I figure myself to be a veeeeery mild manner individual. So how do you check it?

    • KnexWiz says:

      how do you check how many people avoid you???? And scruff thats probably b/c of the stockpile thing 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 😦 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂

      • Woody says:

        Yes, how many people are avoiding me… I would like to know how to check it. I’m guessing I could figure it out on my own, but I’m not at home to try.

      • MadAmericanTacos says:

        Bring up your dashboard and I believe you go to profile and under there is the section for view rep.

      • Woody says:

        Thanks, Tacos! I will be sure to check mine out and post it on here. My jaw will hit the floor if I get anything over 10% avoiding me.

      • Mitch (SnarwhaL) says:

        I think “avoiding” is lumped in with “no response” so everyone ends up at 50% eventually.

    • Matthew Vose says:

      29% avoiding me, 75% of those saying because of unsporting behaviour. My theories:

      1 – 71% of people preferred me because of the easy kills
      2 – 75% of 29% of people avoided me because they were on my team and consider me unsporting for giving so many kills to the other team

      • 'Cos says:

        Good day all!

        I knew the reputation bit was a joke quite early. The reason people “avoid me” it says is because i quit. I have NEVER quit a game in my life. Been dropped for sure because of connection issues. But that hasn’t happened enough times to be the top reason given. A grain of salt…

        Great day yesterday, and it’s only the beginning for us. Still looking for a fourth to join us for the ODST ‘Endure’ and Halo3 ‘Annual’ achievements. Anyone?

        Have a great day all.

        – seventh dawg

    • Woody says:

      I just checked mine and I have a 50% avoid. Wow! Oh well… life goes on. Now back to my regularly scheduled program….. Reach.

  13. KnexWiz says:

    I think the easy way to do the campaign one would be on winter, most action can be skiped

    • Oreo says:

      Have you tried a Nightfall speed run? I usually finish it with around 10 kills in about 8 minutes, except now I have a LASO checkpoint right before the cutscene trigger, and it only takes about 10 seconds.

      WC usually takes me 20 mins or more, and I hate having to go through those long helo rides.

      • MadAmericanTacos says:

        I think I am going to go through and get a few LASO’s on usb that way I can just breeze through the weeklies as they come up for an easy payday. My question is this, for a saved game, can it be used only for me or can lets say my wife use it if she is logged in and needs the challenge?

      • t-rOY (tROYnHI) says:

        @MadAmericanTacos – the saved game is only for you. The file is linked with your gamertag. Also Co-Op is a seperate file, but it is temporary. There’s no way to save progress on a Co-Op game and continue it in another session.

    • Scruff 815 says:

      Nightfall can be done in under 4 minutes. Without having to fire a single shot.

      • HC Sangheili says:

        ^this. Exactly

      • gans42 says:

        i actually prefer firing a single shot (at the grunt on the turret just past the first settlement, in the area before the gutas)

    • KnexWiz says:

      K, I’ll try night fall, I’ve never seen a walk though for it so I wouldnt know 🙂

  14. callupchuck says:

    If anyone wants to play, ahem-practice for the tournament, today, I’ll be on for a few hours.

    • lolGTFOplz says:

      i’m down, i get out at 5 eastern time, home by 530. if your still on 😀

      • lolGTFOplz says:

        and hopefully i do a LOT better then i did yesturday, i was doing horrible.

  15. lolGTFOplz says:

    did i get my gravatator thing working? test. 😛

  16. Will Cline says:

    Is anyone thinking about changing their gamer tag to include RDC? I’d love to know when I run across some of you all.

    • digipatd says:

      Just send us friend requests! There are always people online.

      The clan thing does give me an idea though. How about a Silver Xbox Live account called ‘RDC Community’ or something, and everyone that wants in on Game Nights or tournaments, or just likes playing with us can be on that Friends List, which can be viewed on Xbox.com and the Xbox 360 Guide on console. This way we don’t have to all be friends with everyone (I’ve heard a couple people are very near 100 now) but we can check who’s online and what they’re playing. I can make the accounts tonight and send whoever the username and passwords.

  17. Bart fultz says:

    I think i might have accidentally deleted someones friend request when they sent it to me, “EPYON ZERO” sorry about that, i had just deleted a bunch of messages from a random i got teamed up with in matchmaking. I think the gt was”leRoy…” or something like that…sorry. if you confirm this for me i can send you one back, ok?

  18. KnexWiz says:

    Boston Red Sox won tonight 🙂 !!!!!! If anyone cared 🙂

Leave a Reply

