13th August – Halo Reach Daily Challenges & Commentary

Today’s challenges are listed below, click Read More to view the commentaries.

  1. Covenant-cide – Kill 120 enemies in Firefight Matchmaking – 1100 cR
  2. T-Hug It Out – Kill 4 enemies with Close Quarters Combat in a multiplayer Matchmaking game – 1000 cR
  3. Eyes in the Sky – Kill 10 enemies with the Designator in ONI on Heroic – 1000 cR
  4. Participation Counts – Complete 4 games in multiplayer Matchmaking – 1200 cR

Commentary follows after the break…

Covenant-cide – Kill 120 enemies in Firefight Matchmaking – 1100 cR

You could do this in one game of Gruntpocalypse, 2X Score Attack or some of the other variants. 2X is good because you’re likely to get slightly more than 120 so it takes account of TKs from the Covvies.

T-Hug It Out – Kill 4 enemies with Close Quarters Combat in a multiplayer Matchmaking game – 1000 cR

Close Quarters is a kill using melee, assassination, Shotgun, Energy Sword, Hammer and Golf Club. Infection can be useful, as that’s all CQC. If only there was a game type where you only used hammers and swords though? I say Grifball, as that’s all CQC as well, and easy to get lots and lots of kills. For other mode options, Action Sack’s Halo Ball Extreme is great, and Infection is almost all CQC bar the Pistol. Maps like Sword Base, Countdown and Reflection give you the Sword, Powerhouse sometimes the Hammer and Asylum the Shotgun. I tend to melee a lot anyway so this should come in one game.

Eyes in the Sky – Kill 10 enemies with the Designator in ONI on Heroic – 1000 cR

From the start of ONI: Sword Base, sprint past everyone by sticking to the right all the way down the ramp to where the Target Designator is. Turn around and fire it fairly centrally at the first of the barricades on the ramp. If for some reason you don’t get the 10 kills in the first two blasts, reset the checkpoint and do it again.

Participation Counts – Complete 4 games in multiplayer Matchmaking – 1200 cR

Complete 4 games. Don’t drop out. Get to the end of each. Just play through them. Doesn’t matter if you win or lose. Sorry, I can’t drag out this explanation any further. Is there a way of doing this quickly? Infection is a very fast game type so you’ll probably get it done in 10 minutes using that, or Grifball if you want to just go after the bomb score.

21 Responses to 13th August – Halo Reach Daily Challenges & Commentary

  1. chrisllama says:

    how funny is it that even bungie realizes peoples boosts :l

  2. Scruff 815 says:

    Well, these are nice and easy. Should be able to hammer these out quickly and then play some more MM for the lovely cR, had a poor return on cR the past few days thanks to other games getting in the way, and I’m 130,000 away from Legend! If anyone sees me on and wants to join me for some random MM, feel free 😀

  3. eltorro52 says:

    Is there a weekend jackpot this weekend?

  4. Lefty734 says:

    Haha I woke up this morning with the eyes in the sky challenge complete lol. I love how specific it is.

  5. l0 Dolla Bagel says:

    I am not sure if they even are going to do Super Jackpots because they have never done any since that server change. (I don’t know if it was aserver change but that is what some people on b.net said)

    Oh and I will do some matchmaking with you guys aswell if I get the chance.

    For challenges I think I could do what I usually do, haha do not have to go out of my way for any. It’s nice.

  6. SensoryFour34 says:

    Yesterday, I was trying to do the assist commendation farming AFK, but no matter what I did the Elite would move usually because of Jun. Any advice?

    • digipatd says:

      If you do it exactly the same way as the YouTube tutorial, there should be no problem.

      • SensoryFour34 says:

        I did and no matter how closely I followed it, Jun would always shoot before I could get the checkpoint.

  7. KnexWiz says:

    Tried the nightfall speed run I feel stupid

  8. SensoryFour34 says:

    This is the reason I hardly ever quit!
    http://www.bungie.net/Stats/Reach/GameStats.aspx?gameid=754425660&player=SensoryFour34
    You can’t tell, but everyone else on my team quit about halfway through the game. No matter how unlikely it is, there’s always a chance you can win.

    • gans42 says:

      certain gametypes its even advantageous to have fewer people on your team (i.e. swat), though grifball its a death wish

      • 'Cos says:

        Slayer games are fine with (a certain amount of) players quitting, because one still has a chance to play smart and get the win. Any objective gametype, it’s gonna get rough. I’ve had too many of the latter. I’m sure we all have at this point in our Halo careers.

        Good luck to all, my friends.

        – seventh dawg

Leave a Reply

