15th August – Halo Reach Daily Challenges & Commentary

Today’s challenges are listed below, click Read More to view the commentaries:

  1. Covenant-cide – Kill 120 enemies in Firefight Matchmaking – 1100 cR
  2. T-Hug It Out – Kill 4 enemies with close quarters combat in a multiplayer Matchmaking game – 1000 cR
  3. Survivor – Earn 5 Sprees in a Firefight Matchmaking game – 1000 cR
  4. Demon – Kill 40 Elites in Firefight Matchmaking – 1400 cR

Commentary follows after the break…

Covenant-cide – Kill 120 enemies in Firefight Matchmaking – 1100 cR

You could do this in one game of Gruntpocalypse, 2X Score Attack or some of the other variants. 2X is good because you’re likely to get slightly more than 120 so it takes account of TKs from the Covvies. With the weekly as it is just rock through FF Arcade a couple of times to pick up lots of waves and three of the four challenges today.

T-Hug It Out – Kill 4 enemies with close quarters combat in a multiplayer Matchmaking game – 1000 cR

Close Quarters is a kill using melee, assassination, Shotgun, Energy Sword, Hammer and Golf Club. Infection can be useful, as that’s all CQC. If only there was a game type where you only used hammers and swords though? I say Grifball, as that’s all CQC as well, and easy to get lots and lots of kills. For other mode options, Action Sack’s Halo Ball Extreme is great, and Infection is almost all CQC bar the Pistol. Maps like Sword Base, Countdown and Reflection give you the Sword, Powerhouse sometimes the Hammer and Asylum the Shotgun. I tend to melee a lot anyway so this should come in one game.

Survivor – Earn 5 Sprees in a Firefight Matchmaking game – 1000 cR

You get 120 kills in Gruntpoc so it’s an easy way to do it. If you can get kills using weapons (ie 5 grenade sticks, a shotgun, sniper rifle etc) then you get nearer the total – use Score Attack to get a range of weapons. Beachhead is quite good as you can use the vehicles to get more sprees – and now on Firefight Arcade you’ve got a good chance of using a variety of weapons, lots of killing sprees and grenades and the like. I like hitting up Gruntpoc then getting the 5 killing sprees.

Demon – Kill 40 Elites in Firefight Matchmaking – 1400 cR

Rocketfight’s usually a good one here, especially since they often up the amount of Elites you get, particularly in the Bonus Round. Fiesta Attack gave a lot more Elites than I’d seen before, but only about 25, and I think there are about 25 in 2x Score Attack too.

So as I’ve said before, Firefight Arcade for a couple of games and you should get your sprees, kills, Elites and up to 32 waves to set you nicely on your way to the weekly.

In case you missed it, we had some exciting stuff going on in RDC land last week. Read this post for my announcements to tie in with having out 1 millionth hit, and this post for Snickerdoodle’s announcement of our first tournament (and yes there’s still time to enter your name for it).

I’d like to also point you to this study on Halo: Reach being done by the University of Colorado. Definitely put your details and do the surveys – the stats output they give are genuinely interesting and it’s all in the name of science (you monster).

Finally, if you want to know how to get notifications of these challenge commentaries it’s easy… you can follow me on Twitter, join the Facebook group or just subscribe to the site using the email option on the right to receive the challenges and a link to the commentary straight into your inbox.

28 Responses to 15th August – Halo Reach Daily Challenges & Commentary

  1. digipatd says:

    It’s Firefight Monday!

  2. MadAmericanTacos says:

    Yeah an excuse to move away from Fire Fight, if only for a game or two lol. Speaking of which, I want to give a special shout out to Snickerdoodle and 8up for the help with getting the CTF and Oddball achievements! I had a great time playing premium slayer afterwards! Oh and Happy Monday 😦

  3. Scruff 815 says:

    Easy credits; marginally better challenges than yesterday with marginally better payouts. Got 2 of them done in one game of FF, will get the other 2 done after lunch!

  4. HC Sangheili says:

    Quite a few (majority maybe) of the MM dailies from last week I was able to complete in Griffball, including Cook ’em Clean ’em.

    I dub this Fireball August, or GrifFight. Nah Fireball rolls off a bit better.

  5. Woody says:

    Wow… easy daily challenges to go with an easy weekly! At this rate, I will rank up to Hero by tomorrow, possibly even by the end of the night, if I can endure staying online long enough to get 84,066 cR. It will be interesting to see if I can do it by tonight, since I’ve never hit over 50,000 cR in one day.

    • Project SHAVE says:

      Good for you Woody! I myself am 195K away from Hero. But…I’m sad to say, yesterday I was starting to lose interest in Reach…I found myself sitting in the lobby and not wanting to play ANY of the game types! As Vader would say, “NOOOOOOOOOOOOOO!”

      • KnexWiz says:

        Me 2 but that’s b/c I was pised at one of my friends

        Ps I’m not the only one seeing the same weekly as last week, right???

      • Sadly, thats what i do every day after i finish all the challenges…:(

      • Woody says:

        @SHAVE: You’re not the only one losing interest in Reach, slowly. I told my girlfriend that I would likely tone down my playing once I ranked to Hero. What bit of time I may use will probably be spent on custom matches and custom firefights.

        @KnexWiz: You’re not the only seeing the repeat weekly. We all have been talking about it.

  6. gans42 says:

    you gotta give 343i props for being so good to our environment the way they recycle these challenges… :-/

  7. TheOneInYellow says:

    Again, just like yesterday, finished this within one hour. Easy challenges.

    Also, the weekly. o_O
    …sigh…

  8. Project SHAVE says:

    With all this Tourney talk, I’m reminded of the Reclaimer I played with yesterday, one “puppy just”. Dude has a 5.039 K/D ratio. I had to do a triple take.

    • lolGTFOplz says:

      eh, we all can play BTB all day if we wanted to, we just choose not to. from the looks of it that’s all he plays lol.

    • Niisama Broham says:

      Inconceivable!

      But yeah, he plays a lot. My total Reach time combined in all modes is 10 days and some change; his is 45 days in competitive alone. I would hope he’d be damned good putting in time like that!

    • digipatd says:

      Dude, I’ve played puppy just! That’s pretty cool!

      He has played nearly 7,000 games of Living Dead though, with 114,908 kills in it. That still leaves him with an impressive 3.26 in Big Team though.

  9. KnexWiz says:

    Okay wtf this is the same weekly challenge as last week (I’m pretty shure today is Monday and the weekly has reset)
    I went to bed last night praying that it would be a campaign challenge, maybe something new like play all campaign levels or kill 1000 (or so) covenant with covenant weapons (maybe with famine skull on for added difficulty (but we all now we would just farm the kills any way))
    Sigh….time to stop dreaming and startup firefight again 😦

  10. lolGTFOplz says:

    well. after reaching the credit limit online for the first time yesterday, i am so pumped to start back up today. 70% commendation progress too! (passed my best buddies who was at 69) great way to start off the week is with the same weekly, and some nice dailies! good luck everyone!!!! 🙂

  11. Me likey ! Now if only there was a Grifball tournament >=]

    • gans42 says:

      well if youre a member of achievementhunter.com (or roosterteeth.com for that matter) they are hosting a grifball tournament. here is what was posted on the home page of AH

      “August 20th at 2pm CDT Halo: Reach Grifball Tournament
      -Come challenge Team AH in Halo: Reach Grifball as we duke it out on a custom court designed by the one and only, Nokyard. Winners will receive Avatar Items as prizes!
      *More details coming Wednesday!*”

  12. Locklear66 says:

    I went all week with out tryen for the weekly challenge and hoped for a better one but it’s the same gah it’s madning

  13. SensoryFour34 says:

    Easy challenges today. I got all the Firefight ones in just one game of Doubles. I’m kinda disappointed that there isn’t a new weekly, but there are definitely worse challenges to repeat. I’ve already got 121 out of 150 waves from all the Firefight I’ve played today.

    • gans42 says:

      thanks sensory for helping me minimize the amount of randoms i played with…already got the weekly today lol

Leave a Reply

