Halo Reach Weekly Challenge & Commentary – w/c 15th August

This week’s challenge is below, click Read More to view the commentary:

Ride the Wave – Complete 150 Waves in Firefight Matchmaking – 12000 cR

Commentary follows after the break…

Wait… what??

Yep, everything I can see tells me this week’s challenge is exactly that same as last week’s. I’m confused, but happy because it was a good credit return when you throw in the credits for each game, plus the challenges they gave us in Firefight all week.

So… Gruntpocalypse and Score Attack are 5 waves. In Corvette I can do either in about 7-10 mins (less for Gruntpoc), this means a little bit of grinding and you’ve got the challenge, plus a bucketload of credits – be careful you don’t hit the daily cap (something like 120k) when you get this if you’ve played a lot that day.

Firefight proper (including Rocketfight, Sniperfight etc) has 16 waves, as the bonus is counted as 1. That means up to 12 games of Firefight and you’re there (depending if you can get them finished or not).

My recommendation – this is a weekly challenge so take the week to do it. We usually get Firefight Thursday challenges so hopefully that will be a massive help. Do any Firefight challenges during the week, plus maybe the ‘any game mode’ types as well and you’ll pick this up without having to do an excess of additional games.

In case you missed it, we had some exciting stuff going on in RDC land last week. Read this post for my announcements to tie in with having out 1 millionth hit, and this post for Snickerdoodle’s announcement of our first tournament (and yes there’s still time to enter your name for it).

I’d like to also point you to this study on Halo: Reach being done by the University of Colorado. Definitely put your details and do the surveys – the stats output they give are genuinely interesting and it’s all in the name of science (you monster).

Finally, if you want to know how to get notifications of these challenge commentaries it’s easy… you can follow me on Twitter, join the Facebook group or just subscribe to the site using the email option on the right to receive the challenges and a link to the commentary straight into your inbox.

73 Responses to Halo Reach Weekly Challenge & Commentary – w/c 15th August

  1. Pingback: 15th August – Halo Reach Daily Challenges & Commentary « Halo Reach Daily Challenges

  2. Alex Hickman says:

    I just finished the weekly a couple minutes shy of 5:00… When the game was over the new challenges had already loaded. Exact same weekly? I thought something was wrong. Great cr though!

  3. Neverhoodian says:

    Well I for one am happy to see the same challenge posted this week. I had connection issues with my modem last week that prevented me from completing this challenge, so this is like a second chance for me.

  4. MadAmericanTacos says:

    Again? Not that I mind but talk about another week of “really? you just want to go AFK right after the match starts????”

    • Matthew Vose says:

      I had a weird one yesterday (that’s what she said) – 4 person FFA, 1 person quit (probably lagged out of our game). Then my score started being 4-5 times that of the other two. It was taking ages to get through rounds, and a Hunter eventually took me down. When I respawned it turned out the other two were using all the boxes in the map to make a big pile they could hide behind in the spawn room.

      I assume they were trying to stay alive for the whole round. I was tempted to lead the Hunters to them, but then I lagged out so got to play the rest on my own (muchos pointeros). Good luck surviving when no one else is shooting the Covvies, you fools! XD

      • Not once have i had a game where people camped in spawn to ride the waves. Seems if you’re going for lots of credits you’re better off playing the FF game and helping your team finish faster; the credits you get for playing are pretty good too.

      • Scruff 815 says:

        As much as I hate people going AFK in FF… Building a fort is AWESOME. 😀

      • Project SHAVE says:

        What map were you playing when the cowards were building the fort? If I were you, I would’ve used rockets to blow down they’re wall. I huff and I puff and I ROCKET YOUR WALL DOWN!

      • Matthew Vose says:

        I seriously thought about it, but I couldn’t remember if you could TK in whatever I was playing (Arcadfight I think). It was on Corvette, and I decided to leave them so I could get vehicle kills, but lagged out anyway so it would have forced them to do something.

      • Niisama Broham says:

        Now thats creative! Building a wall with boxes so you can go AFK. lol. Reminds me of something my wife said before, “…if they’d just use their brainpower for something beneficial rather than finding ways to manipulate the system; we’d all be better off… asses.”

        The thing I don’t understand is – why take the time and effort to move all those boxes and painstakingly create a wall? By the time you do all that, you could have been halfway through round 2 of the game lol.

        It would be great if there were a way to quit a FF game and spectate. If I find the other player AFK in a Doubles match, I’ll just leave the game. I’d enjoy being able to watch AFK players get creamed by Grunts and Jackels though.

      • t-rOY (tROYnHI) says:

        1st off I’d like to share that I completely mistook FFA as saying “Free For All”. It must be Monday…Anyways I’m guessing this was on Corvette, since I can’t envision any other map where boxes would be adequete protection from the covies. In their defense, its much more difficult to earn a perfectionist medal in FFA now that they throw a Heretic wave at you 2 or 3 times a match, but I can completely understand the frustration, especially when you don’t know these people. These guys should’ve went into doubles and took turns camping every other round.

        To my luck I had a complete opposite of what Matthew experienced. I did one FFA after the new challenges came up, and my group of 3 got matched with 1 random who proceeded to kill anything and everything with the fuel rod. I got 2 deathless rounds out of it, and the spree challenge…unfortunately I could only steal 60-something kills and 12 Elite kills from the torential rain of Fuel Rods, despite having 3 waves of Heretic. 2x score attack or Doubles will be my savior for todays challenges when I get back on. After that I’ll probably go into MM, but if circumstances permit, I can play some ODST if anyone needs help with achievements other than Endure or Campaign Vidmaster.

    • HC Sangheili says:

      The AFK cR/rank resets and 2 week cR bans from May continue to this day. Those that choose to go AFK to leech the cR will get theirs in the end.

  5. digipatd says:

    A friend of mine lagged out of a Firefight Doubles game, and found that their challenges had been reset, but this was on Sunday so we didn’t bother with the weekly again. It’s like that was foreshadowing!

  6. Scruff 815 says:

    Just played a game of FF on Glacier and then this happened… Odd, to say the least. http://www.bungie.net/Stats/Reach/FileDetails.aspx?fid=22389238&player=Scruff%20815

  7. Scruff 815 says:

    This challenge: proof that the Weekly Challenges are randomly generated from a set list? Gah, why couldn’t it have been Dedication/Time, it’s been ages since we had that and it’s my favourite 😦

    Oh well; this week I’m only going to play FF to get the dailies and then hopefully the Weekly will follow naturally, rather than me finishing it all early in the week again. And at least this week has the very exciting RDC tournament which I’m very, very excited about 😀 Are we also having a regular game night on Thursday? 🙂

    Ooh, and thanks for the study link! Very interesting! And further proof that I play too much Halo! 😉 I’m in the top 3% of players, the top 35% of K/D, top 58% of W/L, top 1% of armoury and commendation completion, and my top two weapons are DMR and melee. Oh, and my ‘most played with’ person is porottaja 😀

    • gans42 says:

      scruff i think they did this because maybe not as many people got this last week as expected. this doesnt exactly prove that theyre chosen randomly (for instance, when tey had the LASOs in order every othr week…not so random)

      • mmmmmm no, i don’t think so. i don’t think it has anything to do with how many did/didn’t complete the weekly at all.

      • gans42 says:

        it was speculation snick, hence the maybe. im not sure how 343i is choosing the challenges (not even sure if they know how :p) i figured it was kinda like the reason we have flat tire every single week.

      • t-rOY (tROYnHI) says:

        I think it may the same reason we didn’t have super jackpots the last 2 weekends…something about a Title Update right?

    • porottaja says:

      The pleasure is all yours.

      • Scruff 815 says:

        Yes, yes it is. One day I want to get in a real car with you driving. I’ll be like the dice man or something.

      • just make sure you two come visit me here in naples when you do that. i wanna watch. 😀

      • porottaja says:

        Sure we can come and crash into your party.

        I hope that my joke sounds right.

  8. Tom says:

    Oh well. I like firefight and the challenge is easy.

  9. Really?!? The same exact weekly? I mean i like Firefight as much as the next person but it just seems like were getting the same challenges (mainly dailys) over and over. Oh well, i guess i should just be glad that we even have challenges in the game. Is this the first time we have had two of the same weekly challenges back to back? 😦

  10. Woody says:

    I had to read the weekly four or five times, thinking there was a mistake or that I was perhaps unknownly on some new drug. Then after seeing everyone’s comments, I felt relieved.

    I’m surprised to see this same challenge in back-to-back weeks. Though, I’m not going to complain. It was an easy challenge and last Monday, I had 146 out of 150 waves completed before calling it a night, due to dizziness. This time, I plan on completing all 150 waves before the night ends.

  11. YoSoY says:

    I don’t mind about having the same weekly but it makes me think they probably won’t give us a new one anymore 😦 Hope I’m wrong.
    Have a nice week guys!

  12. Noobwarrior523 says:

    Really….atleast it’s an easy weekly….

    • Actually i was hoping for a LASO weekly this week!

      • Noobwarrior523 says:

        That’s what I wasn’t hoping for…..I HATE THEM….only one I ever did was WC….

      • MadAmericanTacos says:

        I know exactly how you feel! They are soooo annoying and take FOREVER to finish off. I think I am going to start at WC and work my way through saving the games to a usb every time I complete a level so all I gotta do is plug in my drive when they come up and BLAMO 12-15k cR!

  13. Chris McKee says:

    Well its raining here so that’s me sorted for the day :mrgreen:

    Does anyone actually know when this ‘big update’ from 343i is happening??

  14. Don says:

    343 has had control of everything Halo since the 4th of this month and they already give us the same weekly twice. Or is Bungie still in control of the challenges? Either way thank you for the easy weekly for the second time in a row. As soon as I complete this weekly I will be at 49 complete. Yes, I have completed every weekly challenge. I made my own personal challenge to complete every weekly for the first year of the game. 52 weeks in the year, but 53 weekly challenges to connect September 14, 2010 to September 14, 2011.

    • Scruff 815 says:

      Wow, congrats! 😀

    • Dogmeat says:

      I have the same goal! I only wish the servers didn’t glitch out on a Thursday back in June or July (coincidentally during the same weekly challenge as this week and last). I couldn’t join any matches for a little while when they went offline. When connectivity was restored, my final two dailies were only partially completed again. Finishing them a second time to get the credits back that I suspected I lost actually incremented my weekly challenge count by two instead of the daily counter! Now it shows I have 50 weekly challenges completed instead of 48 (this week will make 51). 😦 I was going to skip two hard and/or time-consuming weekly challenges to get back on track. However, I technically wouldn’t have met my goal to FINISH a year’s worth of consecutive weekly challenges. After 9/14 of this year, I’ll rectify the server glitch and just keep plugging away at reaching Inheritor rank. 😀

  15. stuartw099 says:

    Only 100000Cr to go until Colonel 😀

    • MadAmericanTacos says:

      Oh the gold ol days when it only took 100,000 to rank up lol! Just stick with it, and it will actually go by pretty quick.

  16. Anonymous says:

    yeah im pissed off i didnt have the time to do last weeks challenge and it wasnt even worth the credits and now its on again this week just wtf bungie just why…

    • Scruff 815 says:

      It’s not Bungie, it’s 343i… And this challenge only takes 10 games of FF. That’s like less than 4 hours play.

      • Anonymous says:

        10 games of ff? i did roughly that amount last week for ff thursday and got to 20 waves/150 and everytime i say bungie someone says its 343i everytime i say its 343i someone says its bungie make up your mind people

      • HC Sangheili says:

        10 games netted you 20 waves? Was that 2 full Score Attacks with 8 quits, or 2 rounds in Arcade with 9 quits, or 10 Score Attacks with 2 waves each?

        Working through a 3 round FF Arcade match to the bonus round equals 15 waves. 150 waves (required for the Weekly) divided by 15 waves equals 10 games.

        Bungie vs 343i: A simple review of the news, events, sites, forums will show you that 343i took over everything Halo: Reach from Bungie on August 12th (with the exception of stats, file share, etc).

        There is no set of requirements or criteria that define a specific layout for which weekly is selected. There was a method before the summer (LASO, MM, LASO, MM, LASO, FF, repeat), but when Bungie Day celebrations started (including Weekend Jackpots), the weekly was no longer predictable. Finally, in my humble opinion, raging at the intellectual property owner or game developer about a gameplay incentive (read: weekly/daily challenges), is truly asinine.

        Feel free to provide your GT, if you’d like a review of last Thursday’s FF matches.

      • digipatd says:

        HC Sangeili, you just made my day.

      • Anonymous says:

        not 8 quits i play score attack i ran out of lives a few times before all rounds were over no need to put all 20 waves into an average some games i made it to the end others i ran out of lives before the end

        when i last mentioned 343i being in charge of reach someone said it was still bungie and 343i were taking over sometime in the future they never said august and an exact date in august so dont rage at me for not knowing im not interested in reading the news i simply play the game

        raging at the developer? lolwut? im simply annoyed that theyve decided to recycle the same weekly from last week which i couldnt complete because i dont play reach that often i didnt say they should just change it because of me not at all like many others have said id of preferred a different weekly for this week for some its because they just dont have the time to rack up 150 waves of firefight and for others theyd just prefer something else other than this weekly

        as for my gt i dont see how that would help you “verify” my claim of 10 ff games when ive played a few games since last thursdays ff dailys

      • those 2 ?? are the only punctuation things i’ve seen this guy use. ever. 😕

        oh and PS – posting your GT means we could go back in your game history and check out what you played on Thursday, even if you played games since then. doesn’t matter.

        PPS – please for the love all that’s holy and cookies, USE PUNCTUATION.

      • t-rOY (tROYnHI) says:

        @Anonymous – for the record its 343i for anything matchmaking. It’s Bungie for anything in the game….like the crappy spawns or layouts on an original map. Btw Scruff means 10 full games of Arcade FF (1 game FF Arcade=3 rounds=15 waves) not including the ‘bonus round’ or what I like to call the bonus wave. I went for the flat tire challenges and that alone would’ve gotten me the challenge since I had to share vehicle kills with 1 or 3 other people (I have issues going after vehicles in score attack modes).

      • gans42 says:

        snick dont diminish his question marks, at least there was a minute semblance of punctuation. also he didnt seperate his mammoth sentence into structures resembling paragraphs, so it wasnt all that unreadable

      • Anonymous says:

        to snickerdoodle:
        no i wont this isnt an english class i dont have to use proper punctuation if i dont want to

      • wow…really?

        you’re right, it’s not english class and clearly i’m not the most picky person in the world. (see: lack of capitals) but have some consideration for people that have to read your inane run on sentences and try to make heads or tails of it. if you expect us to take you seriously and actually read what you write, i highly suggest that you start using punctuation.

      • t-rOY (tROYnHI) says:

        In support of snicks I had a hard time figuring out that he was saying this:

        “no i won’t. This isnt an english class. I dont have to use proper punctuation if i dont want to”

        Please dude, do us a favor and use punctuations or don’t post anymore. Unless you enjoy being immature, in which case I think you need to be banned.

      • Anonymous says:

        i do not “expect” you to read my posts i just give my opinion on the challenges its entirely up to you if you read what i post nobody is forcing you to and i could care less if you do/dont read what i post

        but yeah im not using punctuation here if you want to lecture someone on their punctuation kindly train to become an english teacher

      • Scruff 815 says:

        *won’t *isn’t *don’t

      • Scruff 815 says:

        And it’s still just 10 games of Firefight Arcade – which you can’t run out of lives in. You could die non-stop for four hours and still get the challenge. Though I agree that it’s annoying that this weekly is exactly the same as last week’s, it’s probably automated rather than ‘chosen’ by anyone, and it’s still a much, MUCH quicker challenge than “win 50 games in Matchmaking” or “kill 1000 enemies in Matchmaking” or “complete 20 Daily Challenges this week” etc.

  17. gans42 says:

    i decided i hate this challenge, and also like a record baby. sure its easy credits after a bit of grind, but it means i have to play firefight arcade, which i now absolutely abhor. im always stuck with someone that quits early and/or someone that goes AFK. although, on the plus side, i figured out a way to punish AFKers, check this out http://www.bungie.net/Stats/Reach/FileDetails.aspx?fid=22401529&player=gans42

    sorry i didnt render it, i dont have bungie pro 😦 also, its 7 minutes, so just watch it with RT down, youll get the same effect while fast forwarded

    • HC Sangheili says:

      I still play Arcade, but really prefer Doubles or even Singles (Score Attack). The banhammer will get them, eventually.

      • gans42 says:

        i generally only play score attack (or doubles with a party), im only playing arcade because youre more guaranteed to get through all the waves. i just hate that the best option is the most frustrating (unless you have a full party and you get to watch HC struggle, and succeed at killing heretics with a magnum)

    • HC Sangheili says:

      And oh yeah. Waterfront AFK push into oncoming traffic: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=l5VJ0nFhGzA

    • Niisama Broham says:

      lol I watched the whole 7 minutes and have to say, thats some single-minded well focused hate there gans. I never tried it, but maybe a FRG would work better to push?

      And I like how the guy came to life at the end took aim and started charging his plasma launcher. Why is he mad?!

      • gans42 says:

        ha thanks niisama! i know a FRG prob would have been better, but it was fiesta fight, so i didnt have a choice of weapons. and yeah, my patience has been worn thing by AFKers

    • SensoryFour34 says:

      And when they’re not AFK, they’re complaining the whole game about us choosing Sniperfight instead of Arcadefight. At least he got what he deserved with all those deaths. 🙂

      • gans42 says:

        who would have thought that sniper fight on corvette was such a terrible thing? i for one wouldnt have, the guy must have been high at the time

  18. Jez WarriorPoet says:

    One of the things I really hope 343i do is introduce some kind of automatic afk kicking, people who go afk in both FF and MM really annoy me.

    • gans42 says:

      well at least in MM you can kill them. lets say youre playing grifball and people on the other team are AFK you can really stick it to them by ruining their spread and upping yours

  19. Noobwarrior523 says:

    Weekly done…….on Monday…….again. I’m off of xbox for the night, even if it is 8:30, been on all day.

    • gans42 says:

      you were on all day, and i missed you? damn! oh well. i got the weekly done today too lol…customs tomorrow?

    • Brook Harris says:

      Hay dude I was on from 0:900-19:00 yesterday-a beautiful 10 hours, thought I’d make the most of my 1 Month as it expired yesterday at about 19:00, hence why I got off. I must have played about 20+ games. So don’t feel bad dude…

  20. Pingback: 16th August – Halo Reach Daily Challenges & Commentary « Halo Reach Daily Challenges

  21. Brook Harris says:

    This Challenge is da bomb!! 🙂

  22. Pingback: 20th August – Halo Reach Daily Challenges & Commentary « Halo Reach Daily Challenges

Leave a Reply

