16th August – Halo Reach Daily Challenges & Commentary

Today’s challenges are listed below, click Read More to view the commentaries:

  1. One Spartan Army – Kill 100 enemies in Firefight Matchmaking – 1000 cR
  2. Be Their Huckleberry – Kill 50 enemies in Firefight Matchmaking with the pistol – 1000 cR
  3. There Are Many Like… – Kill 100 enemies with precision weapons in the Campaign today – 1000 cR
  4. Credits for Completion – Complete 5 games in multiplayer Matchmaking – 1250 cR

Commentary follows after the break…

One Spartan Army – Kill 100 enemies in Firefight Matchmaking – 1000 cR

You get 120 Grunts in Gruntpocalypse, about 100 enemies in Score Attack and something like 330 in a Firefight Matchmaking game (although split between up to 4 people). There was a great comment a while ago (sorry I can’t remember who said it) that if you need to ‘top up’ your FF kills, jump into a game of Generator Defense or Crashsite and once you have your kills give up the defense. That’s a great idea in situations like this. For today jump through Gruntpocalypse to try for the other FF challenge then return to this as necessary.

Be Their Huckleberry – Kill 50 enemies in Firefight Matchmaking with the pistol – 1000 cR

Try and get a Gruntpocalypse game in so you can stick to just the pistol, take out the little methane breathers as quick as possible with the Pistol then switch to DMR for easier kills. Some maps are definitely better than others, Corvette and Courtyard are small and easy to see across to take them out. The first challenge and this are a good choice to help on your weekly challenge too.

There Are Many Like… – Kill 100 enemies with precision weapons in the Campaign today – 1000 cR

Precision weapons are the DMR, Sniper Rifle, Focus Rifle and Needle Rifle (anything that can headshot except the Pistol, which is small arms, although you don’t need to headshot for the challenge). Nightfall is good, because you start with loads and loads of ammo for the Sniper Rifle, and you can shoot the first Elite in the head, restart checkpoint and do it over and over (a little dull but quick and easy). Winter Contingency from Rally Point Bravo which has DMRs in the base and lots of guys dropped off to shoot at you. I think ONI Sword Base also starts off with the DMR as well, and a series of Grunts running towards you quickly.

Credits for Completion – Complete 5 games in multiplayer Matchmaking – 1250 cR

This is just completion, not wins, so easy to do. Two good options for this – play Living Dead–Infection for some really fast games, or Grifball and score with the bomb really quickly, once you’ve got your kills.

I have a theory about the Firefight weekly and daily challenges being so consistent – the developers are trying to keep people out of MPMM as much as possible in readiness for the title update/server transfer/new work that’s going on. I wonder if this incentive is being used so that it’s a little easier for them to do the work they need to do at the moment. It’s a shame it wasn’t an alternative Firefight weekly, but there are a high number of FF specific challenges coming through.

54 Responses to 16th August – Halo Reach Daily Challenges & Commentary

  1. mickoboy90 says:

    easy way to do precision kills in campaign:

    load up oni sword base, run past the enemies, and instead of grabbing target locator,grab some ammo for DMR, get checkpoint, kill grunts and jackals, them revert the checkpoint.

    • Scruff 815 says:

      Easier way; set up a checkpoint at the start of Nightfall, sticky tape your RT down and your LS so you’re walking off a cliff, save/quit/resume, leave your console alone to do the challenge for you while you go eat lunch 😉

      • mickoboy90 says:

        that is one way, but takes longer to set up amd complete..but if u do my way, u have challenge done in less then 5 mins

      • MadAmericanTacos says:

        HA! Got that one saved to my usb drive thanks to you Scruff lol

      • lolGTFOplz says:

        if i had a dollar for every time i heard scruff say sticky tape…

      • Scruff 815 says:

        …Then you’d have one weird-ass job.

      • lolgtfoplz says:

        and lots of money…. lol

      • KnexWiz says:

        LMFAO

      • t-rOY (tROYnHI) says:

        well now that I retired a couple controllers with worn out padding on the joysticks, I might set this up. No offense Scruff, but I can’t tolerate adhesive on stuff I handle everyday. It’s like stepping in gum to me.

    • Sir Galahad 63 says:

      Wow, I have never thought of doing that…

      Scruff, I had a look at your campaign assist farming video, and I can never get the second player to line up the headshot before the checkpoint, Jun always has o shoot randomly and f**k the whole process up, any tips?

      • Scruff 815 says:

        It’s all just about speed really. You just need to get it all done as quickly as possible, because Jun does have an annoying habit of deciding to go on the warpath. Charge the first player up the hill, jump over that little gap on the way to save yourself a second, line your shot up as quickly as possible and then switch controllers as quick as you can. When you’re actually running with the second controller, just fall off the cliff rather than jumping; if you fall straight down you won’t take any damage and won’t be subject to that half-second where you can’t do anything. Sprint towards the tree, turn around, zoom in, aim quickly, then start walking backwards very slowly.

        It takes a bit of getting used to but once you’ve got the hang of it you’ll be able to do it every time 😀

      • Sir Galahad 63 says:

        How many tries did it take you?

      • Scruff 815 says:

        A good few, initially. For a while I tried to find methods of killing Jun to stop him from interfering 😉 Now I can get it done pretty much every time without Jun ruining it. It’s just a matter of getting used to the speed / checkpoint location / etc 🙂

        Oh, and you know that when you get the checkpoint, pause / sticky tape / revert to saved, right? Because if you don’t fire, Jun usually fires just after the checkpoint triggers, which might give the impression that the checkpoint is ruined; but it doesn’t matter as long as the checkpoint has triggered with you aiming at Mr. Elite’s head 🙂

      • SensoryFour34 says:

        How do you stop the checkpoint from reverting automatically? I had everything set up, and I left for about 30 minutes just to find out it had sent me back to the beginning.

      • Scruff 815 says:

        For these single player ones? Or the assists? If it’s the single player ones, you just need to save & quit, then resume. Prevents the ‘5 deaths’ thing. If it’s assists, you need to die slower. If you take long enough to die then it doesn’t come under the ‘5 deaths to revert’, which is why in my video, the guy furthest from the cliff takes a nice leisurely walk off it.

    • Woody says:

      Interesting. I’ve never thought of doing that and it’s a nice change from the Nightfall reverting that I usually do. I will definitely give it a try.

  2. Scruff 815 says:

    Two down already, one going as I write this, the 5 games this afternoon. Pretty easy, all in all 🙂 54,000 cR to go to Legend…

    Super excited for the tournament this weekend! 😀

  3. HC Sangheili says:

    Solid theory. Perhaps the upcoming Halo Festival activities is also a factor?

    • Scruff 815 says:

      Halo Festival?

      • HC Sangheili says:

        Autocorrected to include “ival”.

        Halo Fest* at Pax in Seattle.

      • Scruff 815 says:

        Ooh I’d completely forgotten about that. Exciting times to be a Halo fan 😀

      • HC Sangheili says:

        No doubt! 🙂

        There is only 1 title this Fall I’m looking forward to that isn’t CE:A – Mass Effect 3!

        ME3 will be my mistress to my Halo wife.

      • Matthew Vose says:

        Sadly ME3 isn’t out till March. I will be replaying ME2 once or twice before then. 🙂

      • Niisama Broham says:

        Wooo! ME3!! Can’t wait! I really hope they don’t screw it up. Quite fearful they’ll jackup the story, characters or gameplay (we got enough pure shooter games out there thanks!) somehow.

        The reviews for DA2 had me worried but I’ve been reading bits here and there that Bioware took the time to understand where they failed for DA2 to prevent a repeat with ME3.

        I wish ME3 would be coming out in the Fall but if Bioware needs until March to deliver a solid, clean & epic climax; thats fine with me

      • HC Sangheili says:

        Thanks Michael! I stand corrected.

        ME is such an epic story, certainly worth the wait.

      • Niisama Broham says:

        It is. I normally don’t finish most games because I lose interest. I can safely say I’ve finished ME1 five times. Currently on a sixth playthrough to prepare for ME3.

      • Scruff 815 says:

        I’ll be doing a second run of ME2 before ME3 to get my character all in proper shape. And the story back into my head. And to get a bunch of missed achievements.

        However I’m going to play ME3 *without* looking at any of the achievements first. Playing for achievements along the way has messed up my character. She never would’ve hooked up with Garrus if there wasn’t that stupid ‘romance’ achievement; she would’ve waited faithfully for Liara 😦

      • Michael (DR HIGGLESTEIN) says:

        Is anyone looking forward to Gears Of War 3 as much as me? I like Mass Effect 2, but the first Mass Effect wasnt as good in my opinion. 🙂

      • SensoryFour34 says:

        Since I don’t really know anything about Mass Effect, I’m not really looking forward to it. I’m also excited for Gears 3. So excited, that I’m not sure if I can wait another month for it to come out!

      • Niisama Broham says:

        I’m big on RPG and strategy games since they tend to be involving. Also enjoy scifi so Mass Effect is a win/win in my eyes.

        @ Scruff – Yeah, I do that same thing; check achievements. The games that hide them from you are great but few. And luckily didn’t cheat on Liara so think I’m in the clear on that bit.

        I’m *kinda* looking forward to Gears of War 3 as well. Problem is I never finished the first one! And I can’t play games out of order or I’ll be pissed off the whole time. I have 1 and 2 in the library though so one day lol.

        Would be nice to get a job as a full time gamer…

      • Michael (DR HIGGLESTEIN) says:

        Yeah it sucks we have to wait another month for GOW3. Im also interested in Skyrim. I have Oblivion but i just cant get into it.

  4. Woody says:

    Wow… more firefight challenges?! Too bad I’ve already finished the weekly last night.

  5. gans42 says:

    more reused dailys…yay! just when i thought these challenges were gonna get stale they throw these über exciting used challenges at us…

    • Project SHAVE says:

      It’s like Goodwill all up in this biatch!

    • lolGTFOplz says:

      gans what ya doing tonight? i feel like doing some more of those impossible race things, then maybe something else, idk lol. you down?

      • gans42 says:

        ha sounds good! i actually just finished a lap on that impossible race…took me an hour (and yes, i was right at the end when you ended it last night lol)

      • Noobwarrior523 says:

        Gj gans, how did everyone else do? Actually just finishing my last errand now, should be back on soon

      • lolgtfoplz says:

        @gans, omg that sucks!!! i’m sorry haha. atleast you finished a lap. lol

    • SensoryFour34 says:

      They would be a lot better if we hadn’t finished the weekly yesterday. Also, where do you find all those custom games?

    • Dogmeat says:

      Whatever happened to daily firefight challenges like ‘ That Pink Mist’, ‘Points, Points’, ‘Supporting Role’ *cringe*, ‘Killagruntjaro’, ‘Orbital Assists’, ‘J.H. Death Machine’, ‘A Satisfied Thirst’, ‘ The House of Blue Leaves’, ‘ One Game, One Spawn’, ‘Blast Radius’, ‘Katanarama’,

      • Dogmeat says:

        Whoops! Hit ‘publish’ on accident before I was ready. *sigh* I would much rather have some brand new challenges as well, but even the recycled challenges could have more variety!

  6. lolGTFOplz says:

    chewed up, spit out dailies. -sigh- why…. i guess reach isn’t what it used to be. the monotony of all of this firefight has kept me away for Monday, so we will see what tonight brings.

    • Scruff 815 says:

      As a man with a mullet once said, “keep the faith”! I have high expectations that the upcoming title update from 343i is going to bring much joy to the Reach community 😀

  7. Noobwarrior523 says:

    New challenges, yay!

  8. l0 Dolla Bagel says:

    It is all good, I still need some commendations so blast some music and play score attack by myself. (unless someone wants to do doubles) 😀

  9. Woody says:

    Speaking of doubles… I just need five or six games of doubles or arcade to go (19,257cR) before ranking to Hero! Woohoo!!

Leave a Reply

