18th August – Halo Reach Daily Challenges & Commentary

Today’s challenges are listed below, click Read More to view the commentaries:

  1. One Spartan Army – Kill 250 enemies in Firefight Matchmaking – 1875 cR
  2. Demon – Kill 40 Elites in Firefight Matchmaking – 1400 cR
  3. Survivor – Earn 7 Sprees in a Firefight Matchmaking game – 1000 cR
  4. A Heroic Breach – Kill 150 enemies on Corvette on Heroic in Firefight Matchmaking – 1125 cR

Commentary follows after the break..

One Spartan Army – Kill 250 enemies in Firefight Matchmaking – 1875 cR

You get 120 Grunts in Gruntpocalypse, about 100 enemies in Score Attack, 120-135 in 2X SA, and something like 330 in a Firefight Matchmaking game (although split between up to 4 people). If you need to ‘top up’ your FF kills, jump into a game of Generator Defense or Crashsite and once you have your kills give up the defense. Get anything you can twice over in Corvette today to get the last challenge.

Demon – Kill 40 Elites in Firefight Matchmaking – 1400 cR

Rocketfight’s usually a good one here, especially since they often up the amount of Elites you get, particularly in the Bonus Round. Fiesta Attack gave a lot more Elites than I’d seen before, but only about 25, and I think there are about 25 in 2x Score Attack too.

Survivor – Earn 7 Sprees in a Firefight Matchmaking game – 1000 cR

If you can get kills using weapons (ie 5 grenade sticks, a shotgun, sniper rifle etc) then you get nearer the total – use Score Attack to get a range of weapons. Beachhead is quite good as you can use the vehicles to get more sprees – and now on Firefight Arcade you’ve got a good chance of using a variety of weapons, lots of killing sprees and grenades and the like. I like hitting up Gruntpoc then getting the 5 killing sprees.

A Heroic Breach – Kill 150 enemies on Corvette on Heroic in Firefight Matchmaking – 1125 cR

Gruntpocalypse, 2X Score Attack, Fiesta Fight… whatever’s your preference for quick and easy game types. You’ll probably have to go through it twice, unless you manage to go through Arcade on your own or with one other teammate. Perhaps worth recommending to just take whatever variants it offers you on Corvette straight away, as it can be hard to get map specific challenges to come up.

And sign up for the Tournament is now finished (and wow you folk are eager for it). Look out for a post in the next day or so listing groups and play times.

55 Responses to 18th August – Halo Reach Daily Challenges & Commentary

  1. Scruff 815 says:

    Guess I’m playing Corvette today then. If anyone wants to double up later on, join me, I’ll be online for a bit at about 1pm my time, give or take 🙂

    I take it there’s no game night tonight? Probably just as well really, I need an early night. Job interview & assessment day tomorrow. Agh. 😦

    So the latest 343i update then. Love the idea of revamping the old maps but giving us the originals as well. And are we getting ALL the Halo 1 maps? Including that massive snowy one with Scorpions on it? Also, one new FF map? Gotta be Flood Firefight, right? Probably set in the Library? Yay 😉

    • MadAmericanTacos says:

      Flood fire fight would be AWESOME!!!!! As much as they can creep me out that would be a lot of fun.

    • Matthew Vose says:

      Don’t forget Bungie said the concept of Firefight is based off the opening battle inside the Covenant cruiser (even though they only added it to the games after GoW2’s Horde mode), so they might do something like that.

      I’d personally love to see the docking bay of the cruiser turned into an FF map, multiple levels, explodable items, huge numbers of doors.

    • Sir Galahad 63 says:

      Is there anywhere I can read about this new update from 343?

    • Project SHAVE says:

      Im so down for that snowy horseshoe shaped map w/ the scorpions. That was one of my favorite maps!

      • John says:

        Same here,my favourite map alongside blood gulch although I hope they use the Xbox version rather than the PC version – the latter had the fuel rod cannon and allowed teleporting back to the bases which destroyed the map

      • xXMaster SoulXx says:

        Sidewinder

    • Noobwarrior523 says:

      Don’t remind of the library scruff, past time I played it I lost guilty spark and i couldn’t get out of the room…..

    • SensoryFour34 says:

      I was actually looking this up yesterday, and I seem to recall something saying it was going to be on Halo. I could be wrong, though.

  2. Woody says:

    Since these challenges are quick and easy, I’m going to complete all them and then make an attempt to complete as many campaign missions on H3, ODST, and Reach as possible on Legendary. I still have three more items from the armory to unlock through Waypoint.

    • MadAmericanTacos says:

      Yeah I got two more to unlock, all that I need to do is beat ODST on Heroic to get them. Probably going to run through it tomorrow night.

      • Woody says:

        Oh, I forgot the ODST could be done on Heroic. I was thinking Legendary for some reason… perhaps because the others require it.

    • FOREMILES says:

      I need to complete several campaign missions on Legendary in Reach myself. I’ll be on later tonight (9 CST US) if you want to join up (gt same as Name).

      • MadAmericanTacos says:

        Just a tip if you still need to complete POA, on holdout before you get to the zelots and you are fighting off all the waves of Brutes, try not to use the sniper rifle. It might be painful but it will help for the last section cause you have just enough ammo to take out 3 of the zelots which will take about 3 headshots each if you are quick enough. Then all you gotta do is wait till the Field Marshall retreats back toward the MAC to take him out!

      • Woody says:

        By 9:00, I will be serving time with the “warden”.

  3. MadAmericanTacos says:

    Oh yeah, I finnaly broke through into Field Marshall yesterday!!!!! I am super excited, at least I was till I completed the weekly and got about 16,000 cR only to watch the bar move like a 1/4 inch lol. Makes me wanna keep playing though cause now I gotta get to Hero!

    • gans42 says:

      congrats tacos. just be warned, youll be noticing that bar moves less and less every time you rank up. personally i stopped even looking at the bar lol

      • MadAmericanTacos says:

        Thanks Gans! I am around 73k right now and when I looked at that number I just thought “Wow I got a long way to go” lol guess thats why you see people with like 3000+ games completed.

    • Woody says:

      Congrats! LoL

      I know what you mean about the bar move really slow. It’s really that bad as you think. If you pretend breakdown Field Marshall into grades, like the previous ranks, then ranking up doesn’t seem too bad. I just moved up to Hero two days ago and it doesn’t seem too bad. It’s slow… don’t get me wrong, but it’s not too bad, yet.

      • t-rOY (tROYnHI) says:

        The bar moves slowly indeed. I think that’s why I started focusing more on achievements and commendations after I reached mythic. Completing legendary campaign solo was a grind but it felt great that this was the first game I ever completed a campaign on the hardest difficulty solo without doing a runthrough on normal. Also this is the only Halo franchise game where I earned all achievements. Halo 3, ODST, and Halo Wars are all missing at least 2 achievements. I’m not sure if I’ll try to get them anytime soon, but I’ll keep an eye on the comments for potential ODST teammates.

  4. gans42 says:

    guys so apparently there is no game night tonight (unless snick decides to surprise within the next few hours), and Scruff 815 backed out of doing endure tonight because he has an interview and assessment tomorrow (best of luck scruff!), so digipatd, ‘Cos (seventh dawg), and i need a 4th person to go for endure at normal game night time (8 UK). additionally, if i cant get a 4th (or after we get endure), i will most likely be hosting a bunch of customs games. feel free to join me

    • go check the page, i think you’ll like it. 🙂

    • SensoryFour34 says:

      How many of the Firefight Achievements do you have on ODST? All this talk about them has made me want to get them too, so if you’re willing to help, I should be able to get it from my cousin tomorrow or Sunday.

      • gans42 says:

        I’m missing 2 plus endure. I’ll play even when I get the achievements because I love odst ff

      • SensoryFour34 says:

        Thanks. I meant to say Saturday or Sunday. I keep thinking today is Friday for some reason.

      • gans42 says:

        alright, well now all im missing is endure for ODST FF, but id love to help you snag some 200kers, especially lost platoon and alpha site

  5. MadAmericanTacos says:

    Is anyone else getting tired of FF? I mean it feels like all I have done in forever is play FF and it is getting kinda old, especiall since now I have pretty much all the waves/enemies memorized lol. I think I am going to swith to BTB or Team Objective for a while so I can have a break…

    • Matthew Vose says:

      Nope, we’re halfway through the week, I’ve got 75/150 waves done, and I’m diong a couple of Arcade or Doubles games a day to keep working at it, the something else competitive.

      Which is why you hear me screaming ‘Gaaaaaaaarrrrrrrrhhhhhhhh [censored] SWAT you [censored] [censored], give me Stockpile NOW!’

      • MadAmericanTacos says:

        SWAT? I thought stockpile comes up in Team Objective? No wonder why I havent seen it yet!!!!

      • Matthew Vose says:

        SWAT Stockpile or BTB Stockpile, only places to get the achievement. I’m hunting for it in SWAT, we all know that I don’t play BTB.

        Unless some very pretty lady invites me to.

        Yes I’m hoping you read that and it entices you into commenting. Yes, you. 😀

      • MadAmericanTacos says:

        Yeah I just looked it up and your right about it being removed from TO 😦 Looks like its back to BTB for a while.

      • yeah it’s been out of TO for quite a while now. why, i have NO idea since Stockpile is, well, an objective gametype. but hey, i don’t maintain the game hoppers so whatevs.

      • Chuckle, Yes Matthew I read your comment, point taken… it is about time that I rejoined the blog and got my ass back online to play 😀 I will be online tonight & will certainly do my best to persuade you to play some BTB… c’mon you know you wanna 😀

      • Matthew Vose says:

        Just don’t flutter your eyelashes at me, you know it’s my weakness!! It might also have been you running around copying the noises your Spartan was making that helped. 😉

        Although if we’re in BTB and get the opportunity to do Stockpile we damn well do it!!

      • aww, I even changed my Avi because you prefer this one so quit your bitching! yeah, i’m up for helping out with the stockpile one.. I’m guessing you need to nom some chips huh?

      • Michael (DR HIGGLESTEIN) says:

        Glad to see your back V4Volcanicity. It hasnt been the same without you here.

      • MadAmericanTacos says:

        My plan for tonight is to finnaly get the Chips achievment! Matthew if I see you on I will probably try and join up with you, if you don’t mind that is.

    • John says:

      Bored of most of the FF types but still enjoy limited, 90 waves done for the weekly without trying

    • gans42 says:

      ive been tired of FF for a while, i only play it for challenges now, and the only time i actually have fun is with a full party in doubles or arcade

  6. lolgtfoplz says:

    Dear Challenges,
    Your so easy today, and i love it.
    Sincerely,
    LolGTFOplz

    on a side note, yesterday, at 430 (in the morning), i got the bungie link challenge done. that was the first and last challenge of the day. i got my “Young & Reckless” decal on the side of my car though!!!! heck my day was the best. lol. oh yeah, and at 430 in the morning, it was nice to see scruff, callup, snicker, and someone else on my friends list in a party. playing action sack. though it was like 10am over the pond. lol. well i’m gonna shut it now. 😛 good luck on challenges everyone.

    • Woody says:

      I’m loving the easy challenges as well, especially the weekly. I’m hoping for another easy weekly next week. Knowing my luck though, we will get a challenge wanting us to survive a solo campaign mission on Lonewolf for 20 minutes on Legendary for a whopping 80,000cR.

    • callupchuck says:

      I’m going to call you Drama from now on.

  7. Robotperson says:

    Well Corvette came up on under FF Arcade at the first two times of asking. The first game I landed the 3k slot machine as well as Survivor for >6k cr, and the second I cleaned up the other three challenges for >8k cr. Very happy with that lunch time effort. Lots of Elites going mental with rocket launchers though.

    My favourite tactic for Corvette is to stand on the right hand, opposite upper platform at the elbow of the walkway. You’re close to the spawn door on that level and you can also see down through the gap to the door below.

    When you hear “reinforcements” you can lob a grenade into the lower spawn room as soon as the door opens, then quickly spam the nearer spawn room, on your level, with the FRG (we all go for the jetpack loadout, right?). Killionaire ker-ching.

    I missed the ODST firefight last week and fancy snagging some of those Achievements if anyone wants to have a crack. I’ll be on 8pm BST. GT: Robotperson

  8. lolgtfoplz says:

    >:I
    i have a story for everyone.
    So i’m sitting at work, and my gf texts me, asking how i’m playing firefight if i’m at work. (she’s mad) i go, i’m at work, and then i go onto bungie, and i have played custom firefight and then matchmaking which i go -5 and -22. i almost crap myself, so after having my gf recover my account onto her box, i call my house, and my 9 year old brother took it upon himself to play some reach for me…. when he should know all he can play is the Sega classic game that i own. moral of the story, never leave a controller left in your room with little kids home. -sigh- 100 more minutes of work. see ya’ll on reach. (i really wanted to say ya’ll ^.^)

  9. MJOLNIR Tester says:

    Survivor – Earn 7 Sprees in a Firefight Matchmaking game – 1000 cR

    By far the easiest way to do this during 2x Score Attack or Gruntpocalypse is to thrown down a grenade and commit suicide right after you hear “Untouchable” when you get your 5th kill spree. Then you just have to kill 20 more enemies without dying to get the last two sprees.

Leave a Reply

