19th August – Halo Reach Daily Challenges & Commentary

Today’s challenges are listed below, click Read More to view the commentaries:

  1. Shootin’ and Lootin’ – Kill 400 enemies in any game mode in Reach – 2000 cR
  2. I’m Rubber, You’re Glue – Earn 1 sticky grenade Kills in a multiplayer Matchmaking game – 1000 cR
  3. Neuroscience – Kill 10 enemies with headshots in a multiplayer Matchmaking game – 1200 cR
  4. The Dream Shake – Earn 4 Double Kills in the same match in multiplayer Matchmaking – 2000 cR

Awwww, no Firefight challenges. I’m going to kill 10 vehicles just for the fun of it then!! XD

Commentary follows after the break…

Shootin’ and Lootin’ – Kill 400 enemies in any game mode in Reach – 2000 cR

Best options for this specifically:

  • Forge – make a game with players spawning in one spot and camp it
  • Firefight – Download my Firefight Invincible game type on my File Share, lots of Elites, lots of medals, lots of kills (plus ‘cheevos if you’ve not done the Firefight ones)
  • ONI: Sword Base – Use the Target Designator trick (run past everyone at the beginning, grab it, turn around, fire, wait for the killing to stop and restart the checkpoint)
  • Package – There are points where you can get a checkpoint just before a number of Grunts appear in the final battle, so you can gun them down and restart

I’m Rubber, You’re Glue – Earn 1 sticky grenade Kills in a multiplayer Matchmaking game – 1000 cR

Any Elite Slayer where you’re given Plasma Grenades, although beware Armour Lock dudes as they’ll not give you the kill. Alternatively, Slayer Pro has a loadout that includes Plasma Grenades, or there are some scattered round a lot of maps in normal Multiplayer modes. Some Rumble Pit modes include Plasma Grenades in the loadouts too, Squad Slayer on Zealot is always a grenade frenzy, and DinoBlasters in Action Sack can be useful for grenades since no one expects Plasma grenades in that mode.

Neuroscience – Kill 10 enemies with headshots in a multiplayer Matchmaking game – 1200 cR

Play on Team SWAT for this, where about 96.7% of kills should be headshots with one shot. Don’t forget if you shoot someone in the body you can still shoot them in the head for the headshot. Keep your reticule at head height as well.

The Dream Shake – Earn 4 Double Kills in the same match in multiplayer Matchmaking – 2000 cR

4 isn’t too bad these days, Team SWAT works well, but Grifball probably works better for this one too. This is of course 4 Double Kills, not multikills, so getting a Triple Kill won’t count as two towards this.

29 Responses to 19th August – Halo Reach Daily Challenges & Commentary

  1. Alex Hickman says:

    Good. I was getting a little tired of FF.

  2. Scruff 815 says:

    Today’s a good example of how you can still do all the challenges even if you have hardly any free time. One game of SWAT got me the doubles and the headshots, then two games of Rumble Pit for the stickies (first game didn’t go so well), and my Xbox is now currently doing an AFK run of my current Campaign headshots / Elites / sniper checkpoint for the remainder of the 400 kills while I finish getting ready for some very important IRL stuff! Yay 😐

    Anyway, yay game night! Lame that I had to go so early but next week I’ll be on until the wee small hours and I’m already looking forward to it 😀

    Also everyone, please download this and recommend it, I’m also going to send it to Fails Of The Weak for obvious reasons… http://www.bungie.net/Stats/Reach/FileDetails.aspx?fid=22537319&player=Scruff%20815

  3. Sir Galahad 63 says:

    I’m looking very forward to the tournament!! I’m going own all of you, then teabag Scruff. Twice 🙂

    • MadAmericanTacos says:

      Awww, you always say such nice things to us early in the morning 😉

    • Scruff 815 says:

      Bring it. I’ma teabag you all the way back to Australia. 😉

    • Look, you can beat us all you want. Just no teabag please. It’s just childish.

      • Scruff 815 says:

        Don’t worry, it’s just a bit of friendly smack-talk between two people who know each other on here. No-one on here is a ‘proper’ teabagger; only to friends, or people who did it to us first 😉

      • Sir Galahad 63 says:

        Ha, but it’s true, I’m not a real teabagger, and I am just going to do a *little* bit in extreme cases… Scruff is a very extreme case 🙂

  4. For “I’m Rubber, You’re Glue” would Invasion not be the best option as you’re guaranteed to be the Elites for a round and start with plasma grenades, as well as a lot of the fighting being quite close so one stick should come very easily.

  5. kxzy says:

    Just got finished with all of ’em (:

  6. digipatd says:

    I’m alive again! These challenges are a pretty tame welcome back and I like the payout. Here’s hoping for Eclipse!

  7. porottaja says:

    “[redacted]”

    What is this?

  8. lolgtfoplz says:

    nice challenges. will get me into matchmaking for the tournament. played 2 rumbles lastnight, got 2nd by 1 kill then first, so i figure i was ready enough. lol. after finishing the weekly and being very tired, i decided to keep on with standard issue in campaign instead of setting up the next one on my list. hooray for max standard issue. >.< 6 down, 10 to go. good luck with the challenges today everyone 🙂

  9. John says:

    I was struggling with the four double kills challenge as my team-mates kept betraying me but then managed to get a few double kills and challenge done. Then shortly after got myself a killionaire to my amusement although it doesn’t show on the post battle report for top medals?!

    Anyone feel Reach really hates them at times? I was playing FF Limited on Beachhead and my team-mates all abandoned me which is a bit of a struggle. Reach decided to help by dropping in two Wraiths, two hunters *and* drop pod Elite Ultras at the same time. I worked my way through but Reach wasn’t happy as I got four drop pod Elite ultras in a row…argh!

    I finally made Legend last night (thanks for the congratulations on game night) and on a decent FF match, I’d been having some pretty bad ones where all the lives were gone before the end of the first wave and my progress bar was right at the end and I didn’t want to rank up on one of those. However I got a decent game of Corvette on FF Limited where I made it through all the waves including bonus round without dying once, getting a far higher score and completing all the challenges. It’s that type of game that makes Reach very satisfying 🙂

    John

  10. John says:

    With reference to the double kills, I found multikills did count towards this – I got a triple kill which added two to my challenge.

    John

  11. Fishmans77 says:

    Had some fun playing game night last night. It was nice to meet people. This is the coolest community I have found for Halo. We should be happy about that.

  12. Woody says:

    Neuroscience is going to force me work on my precision skills. I’m definitely up for the challenge. Last time, I barely made the limit in SWAT. If things don’t go well in SWAT, then I will try my luck in Living Dead, since I get about 4-6 headshots per round.

  13. Pillar of Fire says:

    Hey Everyone! I’ve been gone for quite sometime due to a move and lack of internet at new home, but now im up and running and ready to get some challenges done! lol

    I see the site hit over 1million hits VERY NICEE!!! Big props to Matthew and Snickerdoodle.

    I also noticed there is a lot of newcomers to the commentary and that is pretty awesome, as well as some of elders(Forerunners) of the RDC commentary days. lmaoo

    Although I have missed out on the last 3 or 4 game nights, I fully intend to start fully participating again. I also tried to sign up for the Tournament but I think im a little bit too late, well see I hope I can be a part of it!

    Glad to be back!!!

    Pillar of Fire

  14. Brook Harris says:

    OOOHHH MAANNN My Membership Expired TODAY (about 30 Mins ago) I am so gutted, but I did enjoy and fortunately completed all of the given Challenges including the Weekly. Reach 4 L1fe!! Shot for giving the Challenges everyday bro, nice. It helps heaps.

Leave a Reply

