20th August – Halo Reach Daily Challenges & Commentary

Today’s challenges are listed below, click Read More to view the commentaries:

  1. Blastin’ and Relaxin’ – Kill 180 enemies in any game mode in Reach – 1350 cR
  2. Explosive Ordnance Distribution – Earn 3 kills with ordnance weapons in a multiplayer Matchmaking game – 1000 cR
  3. Eyes In The Sky – Kill 10 enemies with the Designator in ONI on Heroic – 1000 cR
  4. Just a Shower – Complete any Campaign mission on Normal or harder with the Thunderstorm skull on – 2000 cR

Commentary follows after the break…

Blastin’ and Relaxin’ – Kill 180 enemies in any game mode in Reach – 1350 cR

Personally today I’d do a couple of rounds in Firefight, either Score Attack or Arcade, to work on the Weekly Challenge (and the next one). However you’ve got a few choices for doing this really easily and quickly…

  • Forge – make a game with players spawning in one spot and camp it
  • Firefight – Download my Firefight Invincible game type on my File Share, lots of Elites, lots of medals, lots of kills
  • ONI: Sword Base – Use the Target Designator trick (run past everyone at the beginning, grab it, turn around, fire, wait for the killing to stop and restart the checkpoint)
  • Package – There are points where you can get a checkpoint just before a number of Grunts appear in the final battle, so you can gun them down and restart

Explosive Ordnance Distribution – Earn 3 kills with ordnance weapons in a multiplayer Matchmaking game – 1000 cR

EOD weapons include: Rocket Launcher, Grenade Launcher, Spartan Laser, Plasma Launcher, and the Concussion Rifle. The very best mode for this is now DinoBlasters, found in the Action Sack game types. You’re given a Concussion Rifle with an unlimited clip, so these kills should be really simple.

Eyes In The Sky – Kill 10 enemies with the Designator in ONI on Heroic – 1000 cR

From the start of ONI: Sword Base, sprint past everyone by sticking to the right all the way down the ramp to where the Target Designator is. Turn around and fire it fairly centrally at the first of the barricades on the ramp. If for some reason you don’t get the 10 kills in the first two blasts, reset the checkpoint and do it again.

Just a Shower – Complete any Campaign mission on Normal or harder with the Thunderstorm skull on – 2000 cR

I’m giving exactly the same advice as every optional Campaign mission challenge – run Nightfall, get this done in 10 minutes, tops. As a guide to Nightfall speed run I’ve picked this video off Youtube randomly, but there are hundreds like it. In fact we have further options and details on the time we did it in LASO on this Weekly Challenge page and comments. There are other levels you may be more familiar with, but honestly, you can do this in 5-6 minutes with minimal stress.

Good luck to everyone in today’s tournament opening rounds, I’d love it if all 33 of you posted something about your game, even if it’s that you learned not to throw a sticky grenade at someone right in front of you!

24 Responses to 20th August – Halo Reach Daily Challenges & Commentary

  1. Sir Galahad 63 says:

    You posted double of how to get x kills in any game mode… Just putting it out there 🙂
    I can’t wait for my round, still 23 hours and 17 minutes away (yes I’m counting) 😀 but I really hope my internet doesnt quit out on me, It has been causing me to randomly quit games all day, thus giving me a 10 minute ban from matchmaking 😦

  2. mickoboy90 says:

    I still have checkpoint save from yesterday for the target locator,so 1st and 3rd challenge will be easy,then speed run on Winter Contigency with my brother and then action sack for dino blasters.

    really easy challenges for low pay out.

  3. Scruff 815 says:

    All daily challenges done, and a new personal best on Masta Challenge (just over 49 minutes). Not a bad morning, really 🙂

    And now to rest up on the Halo so I’m fresh for tonight 🙂 Good luck to everyone else playing today! 😀 I’ll probably be online up to an hour earlier than my game time, so if I’m on then feel free to join in for some team-based shenanigans 🙂

    • Sir Galahad 63 says:

      I tried the masta challenge, and got up to the 5th checkpoint in 12 mins, the just gave up because I could not STAY ON!!! oh well.
      And scruff Please win your round, and I will win mine, so then we can verse each other next week and I can TEABAG YOU! A LOT! 😉
      Ah good times.

      • Scruff 815 says:

        5th checkpoint in 12 minutes is REALLY good! There are only 12 checkpoints you know! 5th is the one on the tube with the soft kill zone / gates, right? Or is it the one after, with the little maze?

        I expect we’ll be versus each other at some point regardless of the result. I look forward to it 😀

      • Sir Galahad 63 says:

        I got past the one with the curvy track and the soft kill zones gates, to the one after with the banking rectangles… Too hard :S

      • Scruff 815 says:

        Tip: Take the low slopes slow, the high slopes full throttle, and enter the downward slopes backwards. Well easy if you go into them backwards 😀

      • gans42 says:

        he one with the angled ramps is actually the 4th checkpoint, you get 1 extra point when youre in first. and scruff congrats on the time. i refuse to touch masta challenge unless i want to torture someone, or if someone beats my 35:43 time (looking at you noob)

    • Jesse says:

      um, maybe a dumb question: what is the “Masta Challenge”?

      thanks.

      • Scruff 815 says:

        It’s a super-hardcore Mongoose “race” track made in Forge. It’s like an especially sadistic Trials HD Extreme track. Let me know if you want it and I’ll put it in my fileshare 🙂

  4. digipatd says:

    Eyes in the Sky is always fun… =_= I won’t let the 1k cR go to waste!
    Anyway, the tournament starts today! I’m sorta hoping there’s MLG or Rooster Teeth style coverage of the first game, that’d be exciting hahaha

  5. Noobwarrior523 says:

    First game of the tournament(mine) is in 2 hours!!!

    • digipatd says:

      Man, I wish Halo Reach had a spectator mode.

      • Noobwarrior523 says:

        I don’t have a reference point of how anyone plays, never played with anyone in my bracket

      • digipatd says:

        I friend requested all my opponents!

      • i’ve been wishing this for a while too! how fun would it be???

        i have a custom map from H3 that has an observer (different team color) area but it’s a team game. 😦

      • Noobwarrior523 says:

        Tbh….Im happy I’m in bracket one, from What I’ve heard the other brackets have some really skilled players.(no offense to anyone in my bracket)

      • SensoryFour34 says:

        Skill doesn’t matter if nobody shows up. We had five out of nine people show up, and only one sent a message telling me.

  6. Woody says:

    I know this is off topic, but I had to share a gaming experience that happened this morning. My girlfriend’s son and I were playing Firefight Doubles on Holdout and he was in a lot of trouble with swarm of Grunts and Jackals around him. I was posted in a clear and safe spot with my sniper rifle, ready to rescue him from a distance and a first time and unthinkable finally happened. Before I could take the first shot, I died without warning, wondering what on earth could’ve killed me, because I knew the area was clear. I had the scope zoomed in, so I could see what hit me and due to the ugly camera angle after death, I still couldn’t see what killed me. Anyway, I had finally respawned back into action and happen to walk back over to where I had met my last demise and then noticed a damn drop pod had landed on me. LOL

    I believe it was Tacos who had the same experience recently and I laughed about it, thinking perhaps I shouldn’t have laughed or it would happen to me one day. Well, today was that day. LoL

  7. Brook Harris says:

    Shot for the update on Daily Challenges, I still have access to 3 of the four, through Campaign(since My Gold Membership Ran out), and I completed the Weekly yesterday. So I’m getting lucky : )

Leave a Reply

