21st August – Halo Reach Daily Challenges & Commentary

Today’s challenges are listed below, click Read More to view the commentaries:

  1. One Spartan Army – Kill 400 enemies in Firefight Matchmaking – 2000 cR
  2. Demon – Kill 30 Elites in Firefight Matchmaking – 1200 cR
  3. Flat Tire – Kill 5 enemy vehicles in Firefight Matchmaking – 1000 cR
  4. Better, Closer, Warmer – Earn at 10 kills in a multiplayer Matchmaking game – 1200 cR

Commentary follows after the break…

One Spartan Army – Kill 400 enemies in Firefight Matchmaking – 2000 cR

You get 120 Grunts in Gruntpocalypse, 100 enemies in Score Attack, up to about 130 in 2x Score Attack, and something like 330 in a Firefight Matchmaking game (although split between up to 4 people). I recommend three 2X Score Attack or Gruntpocalypse games (SA first to get the next challenge done), followed by a Crashsite or Generator Defense to get your final few kills.

Demon – Kill 30 Elites in Firefight Matchmaking – 1200 cR

Rocketfight’s usually a good one here, especially since they often up the amount of Elites you get, particularly in the Bonus Round. Fiesta Attack gave a lot more Elites than I’d seen before, but only about 25, and I think there are about 25 in 2x Score Attack too.

Flat Tire – Kill 5 enemy vehicles in Firefight Matchmaking – 1000 cR

Holdout is a good option for this because you’re guaranteed a Banshee each game, and if you take it out quick (Sniper Rifle in the crow’s nest on top of the base) then you can get several. Another trick is to keep the last Grunt or two in a wave alive to extend the game as much as possible. Beachhead and Outpost do have some vehicles dropped, 2X Score Attack has been reported to do well here, although sometimes there are none sometimes there are 4 or 5.

Better, Closer, Warmer – Earn at 10 kills in a multiplayer Matchmaking game – 1200 cR

These are all in one game. That’s the bad news. The good news is, 10 kills isn’t really too hard to accomplish. I’d wager that for a lot of you, 10 is at least as many as you average per game. So with that in mind, I’d say skip trying to get this one intentionally at first and work on the next one and come back to this one if you have to.

That said, my favorites for this challenge:

  • SWAT
  • HaloBall Xtreme
  • Grifball

Of course there are other options like BTB, Invasion, etc. So lots of ways to get this one done too.

Thanks to everyone joining in on the tournament. Once the first round of games are played Snickerdoodle will be planning the next round and letting everyone know who to play then. I’m pleased the majority of people are coming along, and we’re taking on board the comments about how it’s going so far.

43 Responses to 21st August – Halo Reach Daily Challenges & Commentary

  1. Sir Galahad 63 says:

    OMG I HATE MY INTERNET!!!!!

    • Scruff 815 says:

      😦 you lag out of your tourny game?

      • Sir Galahad 63 says:

        I DID AND I WAS LOOKING SO FORWARD TO IT!!!

      • Scruff 815 says:

        So sorry 😦 Is your internet normally this crappy or are you just having a bad weekend with it? It seemed alright when we were playing with you on Bungie Day! If it’s an isolated incident maybe you could join in on the Group 1 rematch, since those guys had some issues too?

      • Sir Galahad 63 says:

        Ha, what a coincidence I was JUST literally reading the Bungie day RDC commentary! uh, o Bungie day I was at my mums house, and she has awesome Internet, but living with my dad is at it’s hardest when there are always 7 devices on the network at once.
        Also, I think it may be the xbox’s positioning relative to the router, I think testing may be in store over the week.

        I would loooovvvee to be able to have a rematch, but if I can’t get my Internet to be working, I won’t worry about it.

      • Scruff 815 says:

        Hm. Obvious answer – temporarily shut down the other 6 devices connected to your dad’s internet. I’m sure he can live without the internet for 15 minutes or whatever 🙂

        My connection’s pretty good (usually upwards of 6 meg) and if I’m going to be playing online I still make sure I’m not downloading anything on the PC at the time.

  2. Will you at least send us a confirmation e-mail to let us know were in the competition?

    • Sir Galahad 63 says:

      Um dude it’s like already over… This weeks round I mean…

    • Scruff 815 says:

      Applications were open until Thursday, which was a day’s extension on the original date. Groups were posted on Friday. If your Gamertag isn’t in the list, then you’re not in.

  3. John says:

    Ah I love Firefight Thursday…wait what? It’s Sunday?!

  4. Scruff 815 says:

    Learning from last week’s Firefight Sunday = win. Still got 30+ waves of FF left to do for the Weekly, so that’ll be what I’m doing today, on top of watching other people’s tourny videos in a bid to learn how people play and how I can conquer them in future 😉

    • Sir Galahad 63 says:

      My tactic is to grab the sword shortly after initial spawn, kill someone, wait a bit, go hunting, die, then randomly quit… Due to crappy upstream bandwidth

  5. Corporal Alexei says:

    Matthew, the title description for One Spartan Army says any game mode, though as in your notes, the challenge is for 400 enemies in FF. 🙂

    Happy Sunday All!

  6. Has anyone else ever noticed this? When your playing Multiplayer Matchmaking and you get a Double Kill, Triple, Over, etc., it usually gives you plenty of time to keep building up the Multi Kills. But in Firefight it seems like it doesnt give much time at all to collect Multi Kills, even though it says “in the blink of an eye” on both MM and FF. Just wondering.

  7. On the Flat Tire daily challenge; it’s always posted that there is a sniper rifle in the crow’s nest. Is this applicable to Score Attack, because there is *not* a sniper rifle in mine, and I check each time this challenge comes up.

    Also, if you play Firefight Arcade, as I was yesterday, on Unearthed, there were a few ghosts and a Wraith dropped. Does eliminating these count towards Flat Tire?

    Thanks in advance…

    • Matthew just means that if you have a Sniper Rifle on Holdout its easy to take out Banshees from the Crows Nest on the top level, not that there is a Sniper Rifle up there that you can use. As far as the Vehicles on Unearthed, yes, depending on what weapons you use, they will count as Vehicle kills.

    • gans42 says:

      in addition to the crows nest, the sniper can really take it down from anywhere (just make sure youre not in the open), but you gotta be careful, in 2x score attack, unless you use a heavy weapon it wont count as a vehicle kill. and most maps have vehicles dropped, but holdout has them the most frequently (every few minutes). maps like beachhead, outpost, unearthed, etc. have vehicles on the 1st and 5th waves of rounds, and even then are still not guaranteed

    • SensoryFour34 says:

      Your best option would probably be to try to get Sniper Attack on Holdout. Then just stay in the Crow’s Nest until a Banshee appears. I usually get about four per game. Also, I might have to do this alone since gans and I have connection issues or something. I can’t join him and he can’t join me. Maybe I’ll have better luck today.

  8. Noobwarrior523 says:

    In response to the tournament….due to
    The first group never getting starting here is the bracket for the rematch

    Vain Impetus(spelling? Forgot how to spell GT)

    Petethecat1

    Leroy789

    Crazybydefault

    Sir Galahad 63
    And
    Noobwarrior(me)

    This bracket is the 4 people who showed up for the group one and people who missed out on their group with reason (sir galahad ‘s lag issue and crazybydefault’s time converter mishap) please comment so we could possibly organize a time, thank you

  9. Im looking forward to seeing what the new weekly challenge is tomorrow. Im really hoping its something new, (not likely, but we can dream, right?) If not, i hope its a LASO challenge! I know some of you would rather have your eyeballs ripped from your skulls instead of doing a LASO challenge but i like them. Or we might get lucky and it be the same weekly we’ve had the past 2 weeks…BOOOOO! 😉 Lets hope not!

    • Please don’t let it be the same weekly! I go into FF overload at about 80 waves! A LASO wouldn’t be too bad; it’d still suck, but it wouldn’t be too bad!

      • Yeah LoL! I know what you mean about Firefight. I usually play the hell out of it most of the day, then when my girlfriend gets home from work she wants me to play it with her and gets pissy if i say no.

      • Yeah, over this past week I touched multiplayer MM I think twice. I’d like to get back to killing actual people (in video games of course. Not in real life. That would be terrible :P)

    • Woody says:

      I’m hoping for something new as well. Personally, I would like to see some sort of Lonewolf challenge. Knowing my misfortunate luck, the weekly will be win 35 Rumble Pit matches.

      • If that was the case Woody i think i would get some friends together and boost the challenge. A Lonewolf challenge would be pretty cool but for some reason when i play the mission Lonewolf i dont last long, even on normal difficulty. The other missions i never have any problems getting through even on legendary.

      • Woody says:

        I don’t last in Lonewolf either. I usually get pummeled with Phantom and Plasma blast at the opening of the mission. I’ve only had one good run, but it required me to do a lot of running and bubble shielding.

      • Yeah. Its the worst when my helmet starts cracking and it doesnt show me how much ammo i have left. Nothing worse than shooting at an Elite and popping his shields then realizing your out of ammo!

      • A Lonewolf challenge would be awesome! I don’t do too great at it, but it still would be a welcome change from the ridiculous amount of FF I’ve played over the past two weeks (I Onyx’ed five commendations, and put one up to Gold for the last two weeklies)

Leave a Reply

