22nd August – Halo Reach Daily Challenges & Commentary

UPDATE – For some reason challenge 4 changed from Linked Up to Clip It, Share It. I’ve updated the challenge and the commentary, and have sent a message to Waypoint to ask why.

Today’s challenges are listed below, click Read More to view the commentaries:

  1. Gunslinger – Kill 75 enemies in multiplayer Matchmaking – 2250 cR
  2. Explosive Ordnance Distribution – Earn 5 kills with ordnance weapons in a multiplayer Matchmaking game – 1250 cR
  3. Double Nickels – Earn 2 Killing Sprees in a multiplayer Matchmaking game – 1500 cR
  4. Linked Up with Bungie.net – Link your gamertag with Bungie.net and play a game in Halo: Reach Matchmaking – 3000 cR
  5. Clip It. Share It. – Make a clip from your Local files and upload it to your File Share – 1250 cR

 

Commentary follows after the break…

Gunslinger – Kill 75 enemies in multiplayer Matchmaking – 2250 cR

Grifball as ever for high kill volumes. You can get 30, 40, 50 and more kills in a good game when you have your timing and eye in with the hammer. I imagine there are guys out there who will be able to get this challenge in one game.

Explosive Ordnance Distribution – Earn 5 kills with ordnance weapons in a multiplayer Matchmaking game – 1250 cR

EOD weapons include: Rocket Launcher, Grenade Launcher, Spartan Laser, Plasma Launcher, and the Concussion Rifle. The very best mode for this is now DinoBlasters, found in the Action Sack game types. You’re given a Concussion Rifle with an unlimited clip, so these kills should be really simple.

Double Nickels – Earn 2 Killing Sprees in a multiplayer Matchmaking game – 1500 cR

This is two in one game. Try and get a weapon you like and aim to take out 5 guys with it. This is pure kills, not what you use. Of course one option is to play something like Boardwalk and snipe people from far away. Don’t get so engrossed in your scope you miss what’s happening around you though! Close Quarters often works well – so Grifball will be really good for getting this too. BTB works very well from the vehicles, especially the Falcon or Scorpion.

 

Linked Up with Bungie.net – Link your gamertag with Bungie.net and play a game in Halo: Reach Matchmaking – 3000 cR

 

However they still want us linked with Bungie.net, and this 3000 credits couldn’t be simpler. You don’t even need to actually play, just enter the Matchmaking lobby and you’re there, on Firefight, Score Attack, any Matchmaking type. If you’re not already signed up, go to Bungie.net on your computer, and follow the instructions when you click ‘Sign Up’ in the top right, using the email you use for your XBL account to link the two. It’s worth at that point finding the game settings area to change your nameplate, which is a good guarantee that you’re signed up. Some people have reported needing to leave it a while, or play a few games, before the link picks up correctly. In the end though it’s 3000 credits for about 15 seconds work!

Clip It. Share It. – Make a clip from your Local files and upload it to your File Share – 1250 cR

One of the Reach achievements is to recommend a video (note – a clip, not a picture) to someone, this challenge is pretty similar. Press Start, go to Files and Local Store. I had one in there which was the one I’d recommended, so I picked ‘upload to File Share’ from the file info section and voila. If you need to make a clip you can frankly do a whole game, but have a play with theatre mode to capture a good kill or interesting moment in a game then upload that.

Thanks to everyone who participated in the first round of the tournament this weekend, details of games for the next rounds will be posted on the site so keep your eyes peeled.

If you want to know how to get notifications of these challenge commentaries it’s easy… you can follow me on Twitter, join the Facebook group or just subscribe to the site using the email option on the right to receive the challenges and a link to the commentary straight into your inbox.

36 Responses to 22nd August – Halo Reach Daily Challenges & Commentary

  1. MadAmericanTacos says:

    8000 payout for some pretty easy challenges, now that’s what I call a good day! I know Dinoblasters is becoming the prefered game for the EOD challenge but Splockets seems to come up more often for me now a days.

    • Woody says:

      I wish Splockets would come up more often for me. 😦

    • KnexWiz says:

      Me 2, I hate Dino blasters, my controls (bumper jumper) make so I can’t use my ability and look around at the same time. I know what your thinking wtf don’t you use default or recon, because with bumper jumper I can jump around with out takeing my thumb off the analog stick and I find that the the more often you can jump around, a heck of a lot harder of a target you are (mostly in swat)

      • racingmuleldm says:

        I’m a personal fan of BOOM!ball for ordnance challenges, but again that rarely comes up for me. Sadface.

      • I play on Bumper Jumper as well and I know exactly what you mean. I hate Dino Blasters because it forces me to change, and then I often forget to change back. That means I go into the next game hitting LB and wondering why they turned jump off 😛

  2. Sir Galahad 63 says:

    Wow, easy challenges today 🙂
    Everyone should have a look at TheOneInYellow’s file share and download “Chain Reaction”. If you watch it once you will giggle. watch it agin, but more closely at what *really* caused the explosion, and you will fully appreciate how stupid Elites really are 😀

    • V12 Mac says:

      He showed me that last week, was pretty funny 🙂

      • TheOneInYellow says:

        Awwwww you made me blush… ^///^

        I’ve submitted it to Achievement Hunter, so here’s hoping Ƹ̵̡Ӝ̵̨̄Ʒ

  3. Sir Galahad 63 says:

    This is mostly directed to Scruff:
    Yesterday, when I was in a party with other people I lagged out and quit, right? Afterwards I played MM, but not in a party, and everything was fine. No lag at all.
    Tonight, I played a few games in MM, no lag at all, but then TheOneInYellow joined my party, we went into a game and all went to s**t and we were quit out of the game…
    Coincedence or just bad luck? I’m open for theories…..

    • JustHawkeye says:

      I’m guessing that you’re being matched up with people who have host closer to Austrailia, but when in a party with people from england, the host is probably in Europe.

      • Scruff 815 says:

        ^ this. It can’t be a coincidence that going into games solo, I usually come up against people from Europe, rather than the US or elsewhere.

        That said Galahad, I’ve been in a party with you and 6 other people from around the world and that worked fine. I’m guessing it’s something to do with your dad’s internet again? Make sure all the other devices connected there are turned off, or at least aren’t doing anything online. PC / other consoles / etc. They’re all going to have an impact on your Xbox connection.

      • SensoryFour34 says:

        I know what you mean. I think gans and I have the same problem. It will never let us join each other.

    • TheOneInYellow says:

      I’m sorry ಥ_ಥ

    • What’s your upload speed? I don’t even hit 1 meg upload yet I never lag out of MM games, even in a party where everyone but me is from Europe.

  4. mickoboy90 says:

    ill get a game for griffball for a lot kills, my record stands now at 160 kills in onr game 😉

    • Holy crap o.O I thought my record of 97 kills was a lot!

      • SPARTAN-501 says:

        I’m nowhere near that… my record was 60-something I think. And for some reason people are more interested in winning the game rather than getting kills these days.

      • Yeah, I noticed that this morning while I was trying to get my two killing sprees. In the first few games I would on my 4th kill about to go for my 5th when a team would score. My final game I ended up getting it though, as well as 64 kills and 34 deaths; so it wasn’t a bad game for me! 😀

  5. Cyph3r 314 says:

    For the two sprees I suggest a game of Infection. If you intensionally play without using the pistol (foolish if you want to last much longer) you can usually get 5 shotgun kills before joining the horde. Those 5 kills should then count for 3 sprees: killing spree, shotgun spree, and zombie killing spree. I used this method for all the spree challenges and usually knock them out in 1 to 2 games.

    • mickoboy90 says:

      actually,its 2 killing sprees,not any 2 sprees lol

      • Scruff 815 says:

        Yeah, I got a laser spree in Action Sack and it definitely didn’t count. It has to be two Killing Sprees. Though admittedly, this is still pretty easy in Infection. You’ve just got to be human at least twice.

      • Cyph3r 314 says:

        Isn’t zombie killing spree a killing spree?

      • SPARTAN-501 says:

        Has to be an actual Killing Spree. Killing Frenzy doesn’t add to it either.

  6. syndragore says:

    can you still get the last challenge if you’ve already linked your account in the past?

    • MadAmericanTacos says:

      Yep, just sign in and start a game and it will pop right away.

      On a side note Epyon Zero and I are trying to get people together for a objective based game of grift ball aimed towrd the weekly. If anyone is interested hop over to the weekly page and follow the thread.!

  7. Matt Alston says:

    didnt see anyone else post about this, but when i signed into reach, i’m not getting the linked challenge, instead i’m getting the clip it, share it challenge in its place. everything else is the same

    • Mitch (SnarwhaL) says:

      It’s Clip it Share It on the Bungie page too: http://www.bungie.net/stats/reach/globalchallenges.aspx

    • kxzy says:

      My friend said his is the clip it share it challenge. But mine is still the linked up with bungie.net.

    • Scruff 815 says:

      Well… that’s weird. It’s got a different reward value, too. Maybe they changed it during the day? I got the bungie.net one earlier, but it’s definitely Clip It on b.net now. We did only have the Link one the other day I guess, but changing the challenge DURING the day? That’d be a first, wouldn’t it?

      • gans42 says:

        yeah, i got linked up when i first signed in for 3000, later i was checking my weekly’s and i saw that i had gotten clip. it share it.

    • Matthew Vose says:

      I don’t know what’s going on there, I’ve sent a message to BS Angel and Waypoint to ask why, and I’ll update if I find out. I’ve corrected the post though. Weird.

  8. Woody says:

    I noticed the challenge change once I got home. I was like, “Whoa… this is not what I read this morning”. Anyway, it’s strange, but no big deal to me. Since some people still have the original challenge, I’m guessing perhaps it changed for those who have already registered with Bungie in the past…. just my guess.

  9. SensoryFour34 says:

    Of course the challenge changing was on my first day of school, so now I’m gonna be playing a lot less Halo. If that challenge had been yesterday I would have gotten it. But no, they had to do it the first day in months that I wouldn’t actually be able to get it. Oh well. I guess I’ll just have to wait for the next time it comes up. It is really strange that they would change the challenge in the middle of the day, though.

    • Tom says:

      Umm.. They had the b.net challenge last week. And if you would have logged in before school u could have got it. I saw it before work this morning and thought.. Hmm… Load it up while getting ready for work. Bam! 3k cr. Came home and it had changed but still showed completed. Weird..

  10. SensoryFour34 says:

    So I was looking around for info on Anniversary (mostly out of pure boredom) and finally found this site I had been trying to find for a while. It’s got pretty much everything we know about the game so far. It even has some stuff about the Firefight map.
    http://www.g4tv.com/thefeed/blog/post/715011/halo-combat-evolved-anniversary-edition-details-343s-frank-oconnor-talks/
    This is probably all we’re gonna know until Halo Fest, but the problem is, it makes me want this so much more!

  11. I still managed to get both challenges some how. I got the Link Up and Clip It. Share It 😀
    Im not bitching though lol

Leave a Reply

