Halo Reach Weekly Challenge & Commentary – w/c 22nd August

This week’s challenge is below, click Read More to view the commentary:

Best Served Cold – Take your Revenge on 77 enemies in multiplayer Matchmaking – 7777 cR

Commentary follows after the break…

I’d be lying if I said I wasn’t tempted to post this whole article about the challenge being Ride the Wave again. 😀

Simply put, Revenge is when you kill the guy who killed you. So to do this quickly you’re going to want a game type that allows you to quickly get back into the thrust of the action and take hard revenge on the dude that took your frag-life (I feel like quoting Johnny Cash – I shot a man in Arena, just to watch him die). My thoughts on this:

  • Grifball – Quick action, lots of kills, and small maps so you can get to people easily. Taking out the guy who took you out is a little difficult because death turnover for everyone is very quick
  • Team SWAT – Depends on the map, but again one shot kills so it can be easy to get back in and take someone out, especially somewhere like Pinnacle or Asylum
  • Invasion – Since there are no kill volume limits in pure Invasion you can keep going at the same people again and again

Is Team Doubles and Doubles Arena still a thing? If so, perfect! Avoid big multi person games when going for this. Multi Team, BTB, Rumble Pit etc. Stick to small teams/numbers so you’ll find it easier to take people out.

I’m sure there’s more types that would work really well – some of Action Sack might be excellent for this. If you know of something please put it in the comments section.

If you want to know how to get notifications of these challenge commentaries it’s easy… you can follow on Twitter, join the Facebook group or just subscribe to the site using the email option on the right to receive the challenges and a link to the commentary straight into your inbox.

63 Responses to Halo Reach Weekly Challenge & Commentary – w/c 22nd August

  1. TheOneInYellow says:

    Good weekly challenge, and one that is somewhat challenging 😮

    Hopefully I’ll get this from my usual Swat, Grifball, Rumble Pit, Action Sack and Snipers playlists this week, but I now have an opportunity to play Doubles, so this is actually fun! 🙂

  2. MadAmericanTacos says:

    Nice weekly! If you are patient you can probalby get this today when working on the 75 kills. Probably just doing a few good games of griftball will get you this one!

    Oh Matthew I finaly got “You Ate All The Chips” last night. Got the variant in SWAT and we were ahead 9 – 2, on the last round my team got all 4 flags in the score zone and somehow I wen’t all Rambo and managed to hold off the other team for 48 seconds practicaly by myself! The crazy thing was that the actual remaining game time was only 51 seconds so if I got dead I would have to start all over again.

    • Matthew Vose says:

      Oh good, I’m so happy for you. Really, I am. No bitterness at all. :p

      Seriously – well done. You monster. 🙂

      • MadAmericanTacos says:

        Thanks! Just stick with it and you will get it no problem!

      • mickoboy90 says:

        hey matthew..if u want help with the stockpile achievement, send me a message,ill help u..maybe a week ago i managed to get my friends thid achievement and we played against inheritor, eclipse. eclipse and nova lol.

        gt= mickoboy90

        im on from 2pm-8pm UK time

  3. Scruff 815 says:

    No Rumble Pit for me this week then! Should get this from playing enough team games, though personally I find Doubles a little boring. Hopefully Thursday night will help in terms of vast amounts of team games? 🙂

    Also, I don’t know how this happened, but my ‘Grumpy Elite hates boxes’ video is currently the 5th most downloaded video on Reach. I guess it’s down to people recommending it, but I’ve already had more than 100 extra downloads than when I checked yesterday. 😕

    • Sir Galahad 63 says:

      Wow! Are you sure you read the number correctly? That’s amazing! Go Scruff!

      Ultimate awesome killionare betrayal video = 2000 downloads.

      Elite kicking box = 999,999,999 downloads.

      Win 🙂

    • porottaja says:

      Nice tags on it:
      wrong reference 2
      fu3king azzface 1
      lol minecraft reference 1
      noob 1

      • Scruff 815 says:

        I gave the ‘wrong reference’ an extra +1 to take it to 2. Clearly it’s a Portal reference, not Minecraft…

    • Fishmans77 says:

      Watched it and gave it a like. Nice vid!

    • KnexWiz says:

      Really, i saw that video yesterday (off your file share when I finally decided to look for the warthog in armor lock video)

  4. HC Sangheili says:

    I’m with Yellow; should be able to get this one through “usual” gameplay this week.

    To estimate the number of games it will take based on current stats, take your browser to bungie.net and login.

    Under the Career Stats banner on the left nav bar, select Medals. This page defaults to All Competitive Medals. Scroll to Weapons & Style, second row; Yellow Sun with a shit eating grin. Hover over the Medal to view the average per game. To drill down to an average by playlist, use the filter at the top of the page.

    I was able to get an average for 2 playlists in particular: Griffball and Team Slayer. Historically I’ve averaged 2.1 and 1,5 per game for those 2. This works out to 37 Griffball and 52 Team Slayer matches to reach the total for the week.

    Again, I’m going to approach this one without thinking, but it’s good to have a ballpark number of games to complete.

    • gans42 says:

      yeah, i used your method HC, and grifball gave me 2.2 a game, others 1.7, so i played a lot of grifball (and some swat and action sack) and im already at 73/77 😮

    • digipatd says:

      I love the way you described the Revenge medal. xD

  5. Woody says:

    Three straight easy weekly challenges… I like it! For a moment I was wondering if we were going to get a “3-peat” of Ride the Wave.

  6. mickoboy90 says:

    hi. could anyone check out my fails videos that i have on my fileshare?? thanks

    gt= mickoboy90

  7. JustHawkeye says:

    LOL I’m already at 41 revenges. I expect to be done today/this morning. Grifball is the way to go for this since no one can hide and you can just follow who you need to kil, sort of. Oddly enough, I would reccomend grifball evolved or evolved blargball simply because evade helps you avoid people you don’t want kill/want to kill you. But normal grifball works too. 🙂 I got 14 revenges in one game of evolved and 16 in vanilla grifball. It’s amazing what you can accomplish when no one scores the ball right away. I avoided a few folks who insisted on scoring in 10 seconds or less.

    I didn’t sleep again, but I blame caffiene this time.

    • JustHawkeye says:

      By the way, I like the weekly, i even mentioned that I wanted to see it again. I think avenges would be a better challenge, might be harder to get, but it doesn’t require you to die.

    • JustHawkeye says:

      hehehe weekly done. Now I’m sad. I also thought that there would be a 3 peat of ride the wave.

  8. clutch1965 says:

    rumble pit with friend. take turns killing each other. easy peasy lemon squeezy.

    • Project SHAVE says:

      Now THAT’S a good idea.

    • Bart fultz says:

      Some friends and i got a party of 8 together last time this was a weekly and went into grifball, partnered up and spent all 5 rounds assassinating our partners, got our assassin commendations up as well as finished the weekly. My gamertag is EPYON ZERO if anyone is up for this drop me a message with a mention of “RDC” in the message field so I will know where you are from. I’m in U.S. eastern time zone.

      • MadAmericanTacos says:

        I will be on tonight probably around 10pm, if your down I will shoot you a message.

        All we need is 6 more if anyone wants to join!

      • Shane says:

        Heheh. I’d do this but unfortunately I won’t be online much today.

      • MadAmericanTacos says:

        Well there is no rule saying we have to do it today, we can always try and go for it tomorrow. Might give us more time to to get people together anyway.

        How about this, anyone who is interested just post on this thread with you gt and if you can make it tonight, tomorrow etc then we can do groups based off of that.

        My gt is Leroy789 and I can be on pretty much any night starting around 10pm est and almost all day Wedneday. If you want to join up post here or send me a message.

      • Bart fultz says:

        @MadAmericanTacos, sounds good i will shoot you a message as well, i have a possible 2 or three more i can send messages to so they can get it too, i will update this post when i have more info. if we get more people than the game allows we can always split the group up.

      • Noobwarrior523 says:

        I’ll join go that and I might be able to get one or two friends to come too! I am usually on most nights in est.

      • Noobwarrior523 says:

        Oh my GT is Noobwarrior523

      • Noobwarrior523 says:

        Almost forgot, my GT is Noobwarrior523

      • Shane says:

        My GT is OG 667. This week I’ll mostly be on after 10pm PST since I’ve got family in town but I’m up for this any other week. Let’s do as Bart says and put “RDC” in the message field – I ignore most all friend requests.

      • MadAmericanTacos says:

        Looks like we have 4 people including myself so far, half way there!

      • Sir Galahad 63 says:

        I’ll join, around 4pm Wednesday EST, which is 7am Wednesday GMT. Is that good for anyone? Probably not…

      • Bart fultz says:

        ok I’m back! due to a last minute change of plans, the time I’m shooting for doing this challenge in grifball is going to be around 10:00AM EST on thursday. if anyone is interested drop me a line on xbox live with RDC in the message body so I will know you read it here. My GT is EPYON ZERO . I would be also available to help others some nights this week, I usually get on around 9:30 pm EST, but with that time on thursday I’m trying to help a friend with a very busy schedule get his challenge done as well.

      • Gengo23 says:

        GT: Gengo23

        I’m in Texas, play mostly between 10pm and 12am CDT (GMT -5)

  9. John says:

    Anyone having trouble with Griffball today? I’ve yet to see/hear a single explosion when the bomb has been taken to the goal although it still counts as scoring and my lag indicator is green.

    Also on a similar note, how do you kill the bomb carrier in Griffball? I’ve never been able to work it out, the hammer clearly doesn’t work at all so the sword seems to be the way to go but I can never get it to kill the carrier who instead kills me every time I lunge. I assume there must be some trick to it as I see other people killing with the sword but nothing I’ve tried has let me kill the bomb carrier which gets pretty annoying.

    • JustHawkeye says:

      Killing ball carrier with the hammer. You have to either do it from behind or when they’re not paying attention, but most times you just wind up taking down their shield and pushing them half way across the map.

      Sword is the best. Aim the reticle at them until it turns red to lunge. They can sword block you and it sometimes takes 2 hits wioth a sword to kill the ball carrier, one hit if their back is to you. You could also try an assassination or ninja, but that’s pretty rare.

      • John says:

        The problem is you only have time for one hit so if it doesn’t kill in one go you’re stuffed as they’re a one hit kill with the ball and their ball counters the sword. Any time the reticle turns red I click the trigger immediately but the ball carrier then has an easy kill on me.

        John

      • JustHawkeye says:

        It really is about timing. You want to be able to hit them before they can swing at you or have them swing first and then sowrd lunge before they can recover. It takes some practice and the odds are always in favor of the ball carrier. Teamwork is key.

      • John says:

        There’s no need for them to swing first though as they know their swing will block the sword every time and even if I lunge the moment I’m in range that’s still more than enough time for them to hit back with the ball. I see people doing it regularly even in matches where I’ve got more kills than the rest put together but still I cannot kill the ball carrier.

      • Robotperson says:

        Aha, so that’s how you do the lunge. Thankyou. I’ll get my coat.

  10. Woody says:

    Since everyone is talking about Grifball, how do you bounce really high in the air? I see some people doing it often and it has been bugging me for a while.

    • JustHawkeye says:

      Turn around and hit your hammer on the ground while jumping as you strike the ground, or have a “friend” hit behind you as you jump, not close enough to kill you though.

      • Woody says:

        Thanks!

        I don’t know why I bothered to asked, since I feel I have a decent game without the extra leaping.

  11. Noobwarrior523 says:

    ….is it wrong that i was hoping for ride the wave again?

    • John says:

      No, because I was as well!

      John

    • Woody says:

      LOL

      Not at all… a small portion, very small, of me wanted the Ride the Wave challenge again. Oh well… it’s a breath of fresh air seeing another easy challenge.

    • gans42 says:

      im so happy its not…im all FFed out after the last 2 weeks lol

      • crazybydefault says:

        Ditto. The first week I had it finished on Monday. This last week, it took me until Saturday before I finished it. I don’t think I’m going to touch FF for a few days 😛

      • Noobwarrior523 says:

        I did it on Monday, both times

      • gans42 says:

        i did it monday both times too, but they still had a lot of FF dailies because of the weekly, so i was playing during the week too…

  12. John says:

    Team doubles is still on the go and seems a good bet for this challenge as I get far more revenges there even when killing a decent amount in Griffball my revenge count is low per game.

    John

  13. gans42 says:

    well, after about 5 hours of gameplay i got the weekly (though it would have been faster if i stuck with grifball all day instead of doing swat and premium

  14. Woody says:

    Okay, this revenge challenge is not going as well as first thought. Any other time, revenge could come falling from the sky, all over… but now that there’s a challenge for it, I can’t get even if the other person let’s me.

    • crazybydefault says:

      Same here! But it probably doesn’t help that I spent half my day playing Infection 😛 That’s the worst playlist for this weekly!

    • Jesse says:

      It’s a grind challenge – designed to get more people away from FF that’s for sure.
      It’s very difficult if you only play with randoms. (I think I’m at 18/77, and I’m a good player..not quite c*cky and enjoying the view, but still good).

  15. gans42 says:

    well i had fun completely screwing around in grifball helping noobwarrior and ‘cos to get the weekly. who would have thought that there was such a nice view from the windows in bloody grifball? i found this out by staring out the window while holding the bomb all game lol (oh and punching people in the face that tried ruining my appreciation of the digital landscape).

    in all seriousness guys, if you see me online this week, send me a message, i have no problem holding the bomb for 5 rounds until the clock runs out just so you can rack up your revenges. let me know

    • l0 Dolla Bagel says:

      I had fun listening to 2 hours of your guys conversations. Ahahah! >;D

      • gans42 says:

        haha we kept forgetting you were in the party because youre sooooo quiet. i love it how you were in a party with us even though you were in a team with other people lol

  16. l0 Dolla Bagel says:

    I reached the credit limit today. Why do I mention it, because when I was in a game of SWAT I get my final revenge for the weekly challenge and I notice I get 1993 soon after I finish the game then it let’s me know that I reached me online limit. It sucks that they couldn’t tell me during the game because then I would have just hid in a corner. Eh, whatever I had fun doing it. 😉

    • gans42 says:

      yeah…that must have absolutely sucked. well, if you had ditched your friends and played with me 7th and noob you would have probably maxed out credits before getting the weekly. serves you right :p

  17. Pingback: 24th August – Halo Reach Daily Challenges & Commentary « Halo Reach Daily Challenges

Leave a Reply

