23rd August – Halo Reach Daily Challenges & Commentary

Today’s challenges are listed below, click Read More to view the commentaries:

  1. Covenant-cide – Kill 120 enemies in Firefight Matchmaking – 1100 cR
  2. Fire When Ready – Kill 50 enemies in multiplayer Matchmaking – 1500 cR
  3. Short, Controlled Bursts – Kill 100 enemies with automatic weapons in the Campaign today – 1000 cR
  4. Oops! All Kills – Earn 10 multikills in multiplayer Matchmaking – 2000 cR

Commentary follows after the break…

Covenant-cide – Kill 120 enemies in Firefight Matchmaking – 1100 cR

You could do this in one game of Gruntpocalypse, 2X Score Attack or some of the other variants. 2X is good because you’re likely to get slightly more than 120 so it takes account of TKs from the Covvies.

Fire When Ready – Kill 50 enemies in multiplayer Matchmaking – 1500 cR

Don’t shoot for this one on it’s own. You’ll likely get it by working on the last challenge. But if you must go for each one separately, just play whatever you like to get kills. I hear some of you are good at Grifball and can get that many kills in one match so you could always do that. But I really wouldn’t go for this one specifically.

Short, Controlled Bursts – Kill 100 enemies with automatic weapons in the Campaign today – 1000 cR

Automatic weapons are those that fire repeatedly, namely the Assault Rifle, Plasma Repeater, Plasma Rifle, Needler and Spiker. In Campaign you want a mission with lots and lots of enemies quickly. As usual, Winter Contingency’s a good one as it’s not too hard, and the enemies come quickly. Stick to Normal difficulty so you don’t have to spend too long. There are tricks in some places like Rally Point Bravo on The Package where you can get a checkpoint just before a group of Grunts so you can take out 5 quickly, then restart checkpoint and do it again.

Oops! All Kills – Earn 10 multikills in multiplayer Matchmaking – 2000 cR

Grifball is again one of your top options here, one game should get it pretty quickly. These will stack, so an Overkill (4 people) counts as 3 multikills. The objective variants are helpful because you can aim for people who are going for the objective (ie in the hill in Crazy King) where a natural firefight usually opens up.

Yes I will check later in case any of these change. 😉

67 Responses to 23rd August – Halo Reach Daily Challenges & Commentary

  1. Sir Galahad 63 says:

    Wow, a day I may get all of these done…
    A good way to get the weekly would be to get 4 people and go into the 2v2 playlist and just Assassinate a chosen person on the other team, and take it in turns… Anyone want to, because I know that I won’t be getting it otherwise…

    • you can only go into Doubles with 2 people.

    • MadAmericanTacos says:

      Sure I can go for that!

    • Scruff 815 says:

      If you want to cheat the weekly, do Grifball. It’s so very easy to kill the person who killed you, even if you go in by yourself. To make it even easier, in every game find someone on the opposite team with a blue/red flaming helmet (cos they stand out), let them kill you, and repeatedly go for them. 😀

      • Sir Galahad 63 says:

        My Internet isn’t good enough for gifball… Can you go into grifball with 8 people?

      • Scruff 815 says:

        Yes, yes you can. Though a poor connection shouldn’t affect Grifball as much as it would, say, BTB or Invasion. Your internet really needs looking at, you know 😦 I routinely form parties consisting of at least three different countries / time zones and there’s rarely any lag issues.

        You should run broadband speed checks etc, there are plenty of free ones online. Also make sure you turn off other devices connected to your router. My PC is never online when my Xbox is for that very reason, even though I have a decent connection.

      • MadAmericanTacos says:

        On yesterdays page we started to organize a group to do this, we are at 4 people right now, if you want to jump in to make 5 that would be great. Just go to the weekly page and respond so we can start working out a time

      • MadAmericanTacos says:

        Use speakeasy to check it cause it will show your upload and download speed, plus its free!

      • MadAmericanTacos says:

        Hey Snickerdoodle I know you hate griftball but would you want to join up to do the weekly with a few more of us?

      • say whaaaaaaaaat? where on earth did you get the wacky idea that i hate grifball???

        i LOVE grifball!

      • Sir Galahad 63 says:

        Sure I’ll do grifball with you guys.
        But what country are you in… I’ll probably affect the game if your not in Australia. And Scruff my Internet is 120kb per second, but the upstream bandwidth is horrible. That’s why I can’t really play with people from other countries 😦 which is a shame because I really enjoy playing with you guys :,(

      • upstream bandwith only affects FF and campaign co-op. i have god awful upload speed and i can still play MM just fine.

      • MadAmericanTacos says:

        @Snickerdoodle, Maybe its just all the asshats that you hate lol, your still welcome to join in even if you like playing lol.

        @Sir Galahad 63, I’m in America but rarely have problems with lag or bandwidth, even so we can hang back while you “catch up” so to speak so it works out for everyone.

        Trying to play tonight around 10pm est so if your up for it send me a msg Leroy789

      • to clarify: i do despise playing Grifball by myself with randoms because about 90% of the time they act like, well, asshats.

        but with a group? i love it. 😀

      • gans42 says:

        yeah…what scruff said. if you can get someone to hold the bomb the entire time (or almost the entire time) you can rack up revenges. Exhibit A: http://www.bungie.net/Stats/Reach/GameStats.aspx?gameid=768989794&player=gans42
        Exhibit B: http://www.bungie.net/Stats/Reach/GameStats.aspx?gameid=768976517&player=gans42

      • Scruff 815 says:

        120kbs sounds low to me. When I’m.. ahem.. “borrowing” torrents from off the internet it’s generally running at about 300-500kbs. You should definitely try one of the speed-checkers, see what it thinks your connection speed is.

        Stupid technology 😉

      • Paul says:

        I achieved the weekly yesterday with ~35 games of griffball and made Field Marshall with the credit. Took so long because I don’t like dying, quite a few zero Revenge. If you’re willing to take the hits, easily achievable in less than 10 as long as you get closely matched players that aren’t playing to win.

      • Barry Cross says:

        @Sir Galahad, I get that your upload speed is lacking. If I can make a few suggestions/tweaks to your network to atleast slightly increase performance, assuming you have your home network configured via modem>router>clients/end devices this should be pretty straight forward, if your network is configured any other way, these steps will still work but the details will vary depending on your setup:

        1.Set up a static IP for your xbox through your router. Go into your router settings, and set up a static IP address specifically for the xbox. It will not interefere with any other devices connected to your network. Then go into your xbox and manually set the ip address you just made. subnet mask will be 255.255.255.0 and default gateway will be the ip address of your router.

        2. Set up port forwarding or a DMZ for your xbox. If your not comfortable setting up a DMZ, just do port forwarding. Yes, most new routers will have these ports open automatically but just incase, the ports you should open for Xbox LIve are below:
        -Port 88 (UDP)
        -Port 3074 (UDP and TCP)
        -Port 53 (UDP and TCP)
        -Port 80 (TCP)
        -Port 1863 (UDP and TCP). {used for Kinect video chat}

        3.IF you have NAT issues setting your router to enable UPnP should help with that issue.

        4.QOS settings. QOS stands for Quality of Service, most newer routers will have an option to set your QOS settings, if not, try updating your router firmware. Assuming you have the option, you’ll need to go to your xbox, find the mac address for either your xbox’s lan port or wireless card depending on how you connect to live. The mac address can be found in the network settings section on your xbox. Once you have your mac address, log into your router, go to QOS Setup, and set it up so that your xbox has the highest priority for bandwidth on your network. Also go through and look at programs used on your pc that you rarely use or dont care about network performance and set them to ‘normal’ or ‘low’. Its your network configure it how you want, but always set xbox to highest :p

        5. If you a running on a wireless network and you notice the signal bars are not optimal try to reduce interference between your router and xbox. I have top of the line wireless equipment in my house but still prefer a wired connection from router to xbox. If you are running wireless and have the capability to run wired, I would recommend that too.

        6.Last, and most obvious, if you have the extra cash your local internet provider will be more than willing to increase your bandwidth for a small (usually) premium. I pay 40$ a month for a 50/10 connection, which I think is more than worth it.

        Hope this helps you (and others) some.

      • SensoryFour34 says:

        Wow. I’m glad my internet isn’t that bad because reading that whole long post, I didn’t understand any of it. It’s like a whole different language.

  2. Scruff 815 says:

    Just when I thought I was done with sticky tape, they go and include a stupid Campaign automatic weapons challenge. Sigh. Hello, needler near a cliff on Nightfall, you have been missed.

    The other three are decent though, and I shall get all of them, for today I’ve been driving around having a second interview and I deserve the afternoon off anything ‘worky’, damnit.

    I am also looking forward to the other four challenges we’ll get this afternoon.

    Oh, and gans/digi/seventh – 8pm Eastern still good for y’all? 🙂

    • gans42 says:

      yup scruff! i may be like 5 minutes late (at most), so you wont be going to bed too late…only like 3:30am youre time :p

      • 'Cos says:

        Hello all…been a while since i posted, but obviously NOT since i played with any of you. Last night was a blast, as well as rewarding.

        @ gans42, Noobwarrior, & Woody : Last night’s griffball adventures was fun as hell. Between the scenery, the revenges, and getting the other teams to do what we were doing (and checking out the scenery)…i had much fun and laughs. Then after you left, Digi and i did the same thing with randoms. Well, that is before Digi went all out on classic slayer with me again. Damn, he’s so good…

        @ Scruff815 : Oh i hope so. I will be on before 8 pm EST to get my dailies done, but @ 8pm you will see ODST loaded for the Endure challenge. For sure. Can’t wait for that achievement. (As well as Annual and 2 for 1 achievements, but 1 at a time.)

        By the way, Digi and i had a cool thought last night. Anyone here create their own map(s)
        in Forge? Anyone think their map is good enough to be on XBox live? I showed Digi a map last night that my roommates made and we thought about a gamenight in which we play customs on RDC made maps. Cool idea, and it would be a way to test out any maps we have made. I would really love to play a game on my map especially with a big group of people. Thanks to Digipadt for this thought…

        Good luck to all, and i can only hope today’s Halo adventures are nearly as fun as yesterday’s. Thanks all, you rock…

        – seventh dawg

        By the way…good luck to all those competing in the tournament. Wish i could have played. Some good players out there…

      • 'Cos says:

        …Oh, and to 10 dolla…thanks for last night as well. So quiet, yet so good. Sorry ’bout that!

      • Scruff 815 says:

        ‘Cos – yes to your customs! I’ve never really played around with Forge but have a couple of ideas that I’ll get to at some point, but in the meantime, I’m totally down for testing maps / gametypes / etc. I’m sure another Customs evening will roll around soon enough, I also want to replay some of the really good Customs we’ve done before, like Shark Infested Waters, that sniper alley one, etc 🙂

    • digipatd says:

      I might be a little late because I’ll be playing Big Team with a party, but I’ll try to cut it short right on the hour!

      • 'Cos says:

        …Ready to rumble…ODST style?

        Let’s do this!

        …and sorry, Digipatd, for the common misspelling of your handle earlier. Yours truly, fifth dawg.

      • SensoryFour34 says:

        Wait, since when are you fifth dawg? I thought you were seventh dawg. What happened to the other two dawgs?

      • 'Cos says:

        i had to give them to Digi as penance for getting his name wrong earlier. Damn, i loved those dawgs, too.

  3. Woody says:

    I’m glad these challenges are quicker to complete than yesterday’s challenges. I had three out of four completed early yesterday… only needing Double Nickel. I had a rough time getting that one and finally got it in my very last game before going to bed. Thanks, Cos, Noob and Gans for the invite, which helped me get the challenge.

    • gans42 says:

      my pleasure woody. its always so much more fun playing grifball without randoms. it means i can look out the windows in peace without worrying about being betrayed or the teammate scoring quickly 😉

      • MadAmericanTacos says:

        Wait, windows? in griftball? man I gotta slow down and check out the scenary

      • gans42 says:

        only on bloody grifball really, but its a gorgeous view overlooking the canyon, or across forge world, depending on which side you face. hey, i needed something to do while i held the ball so woody cos and noob got their revenges in

      • Woody says:

        Yeah, gans was being very observate of the beautiful scenary on Reach, while the rest of us were on a “Revenge Rampage”. LoL

        I think gans was inspiring opposing team members to look out the window as well, which was funny.

      • Noobwarrior523 says:

        Gans what do you mean “without being betrayed”….I was in the game…..

      • Woody says:

        LoL – Noob, your betrayals are worth it. I’m willing to take a death for the team. So, if you have to kill me to successfully stop the other person, then by all means go for it. All I’m going to do is laugh about my death anyway. Lol

  4. porottaja says:

    It would be great if we had forum to discuss about all kinds of things.

    • Paul says:

      yeah, like why XBL is now banning FAIL as my Service Tag

      • Sir Galahad 63 says:

        Really? Thats weak

      • Matthew Vose says:

        I’m going to look at forums as an option over the BH weekend, but no guarantees as I’ve not been convinced by anything so far, and the last things I want are a poor implementation or for this to become another b.net/Waypoint area, with the associated discussions.

        Paul – This is probably a good discussion for the Waypoint (halo.xbox.com) forums rather than here anyway.

      • Paul says:

        I agree Matthew – had already had a quick peek there and looks like a general issue with the XBL censor system. Seems to surface every so often. I’ll be quiet now. 😉

      • Matthew Vose says:

        I just reckon you have a chance of someone giving you a ‘proper’ response there (ie someone with the 343 team).

      • Scruff 815 says:

        Paul – the same reason that “Scruff UK” wouldn’t let me upload videos. The MS sweary filter is waaaay over the top unfortunately, and they keep adding to it, but not making people change their Gamertags (e.g. my old one). I know “epic” isn’t allowed in new Gamertags either 😕

        As far as forums go, I can’t imagine an RDC forum becoming like b.net or Waypoint. Those two are massive official forums (with the accompanying internet idiots coming as standard) whereas this is more of a smaller, niche site. I’d imagine that the people posting would be the same people as from here, who are all a nice bunch of people. Also if we’re lucky we can get giggysquire to come join in 😀

      • i’ll bring the pie.

      • gans42 says:

        also scruff, whats good about managing a private forum, you get to activate all the accounts, so you can choose not to activate an ass hat (or deactivate someone once you find out that they are closet ass hats)

    • Jesse says:

      Bungie forums seem a little “elitist” at times. So many far flung references, acronyms and noob bashing, it gets irritating. This format seems civil and respectful.

      I felt my self esteem bashed due to the fact I couldn’t leap half way across a field in grifball, or lounge on one of the ledges as my mates destroyed the other team (kidding about the self esteem). I think some players forget it’s a FAKE world!!

      Yep, I goaded them on by saying I’m an avid AFK’er (which I’m not). That would illicit, “you are being watched”, “this has been recorded and REPORTED!”, etc. Funny actually.. you could almost sense the veins in their forehead bursting!

      • gans42 says:

        wait…are you saying halo is a fake world?! what?! no!!!!!!!! everything i know…RUINED!!!!! now if youll need me ill be crying in a corner

    • I think that’d be a great idea! Often times this comment section turns into a giant forum anyway!

  5. Scruff 815 says:

    So now my ‘Grumpy Elite hates boxes’ video is up to 789 views. 25 people have made screenshots from it (which are helpfully popping up in my ‘screenshots of you’ section), most of which are utterly pointless. And now it’s just been tagged with “i’ve got candy in me van”.

    Halo people are weird.

  6. MadAmericanTacos says:

    HOLY S#*T!! WE JUST HAD A 5.8 EARTHQUAKE HERE IN VIRGINIA! According to the news it pretty much went from Virginia all the way up to New York!

    • 'Cos says:

      Damn, you okay? i live in Atlanta and that scares me. So close…

      Hope you and yours are well. Best of luck.

      On a side note, guess it didn’t affect your internet service at all! 🙂

      • MadAmericanTacos says:

        Yeah I’m OK, cell service is boned and everything related to traffic is messed up but I am OK. The really scary thing is that I work in a certian Government building that was subject to a terroist attack almost 10 years ago, so when the building shook everyone FREAKED OUT and assumed the worst.

        But yeah the internet still works great lol

      • Oreo says:

        I guess there are certain benefits for working in a certain 5-sided building that needs to have comms at all times.

    • Woody says:

      I just heard the news on the radio. I hope everything is okay, your way.

    • Noobwarrior523 says:

      Yea…. I live in NY and I felt it

      • gans42 says:

        i read it went all the way to canada actually. strange thing is i didnt feel it in NJ. i never thought id say this, but be jealous of new jersey :p

      • Oreo says:

        I’ve got a friend who works for News 12 in NJ, and he said he didn’t feel it much outside, but people in buildings felt it more.

      • gans42 says:

        i was in my basement and didnt feel it at all. i was actually playing the new CoD Blops maps and was pissed because my teammates thought an earthquake was a valid reason to go AFK and ruin the game. how dare they

      • gans42, dont you ever speak of COD Black Ops again! Nah im just messin with ya. I have the game too. I dont play it much though. I beat it on Normal and i tried to do another playthrough on the hardest difficulty but after about 10 min. of getting shot twice and dying, i gave it up. Man, that game seems like the toughest game ive played on Vetran difficulty or whatever its called. The multiplayer i just couldnt get into at all for some reason.

      • gans42 says:

        michael i bought it mainly for zombies (do not regret it whatsoever). i did the campaign on normal (yeah its insanely hard on harder difficulties) and got to a 50 in multiplayer and didnt bother prestiging. if i play now i do wager matches (mostly sticks and stones and gun game)

    • It shook us here in Delaware too.

      Weird, I’ve been to California numerous times and never felt anything, and here on home turf we get a quake.

      Waitin’ for the aftershocks now…

    • We felt it all the way down here in East Tennessee too.

  7. Biggles 266 says:

    I don’t know if there’s a reason for not suggesting it, but Short, Controlled Bursts was pretty straightforward on Lone Wolf as there’s a plentiful supply of plasma rifles and repeaters, plus an assault rifle and a bunch of ammo kicking about. It took me something like 15-20 minutes and I’m pretty gash 🙂

Leave a Reply

