25th August – Halo Reach Daily Challenges & Commentary

Today’s challenges are listed below, click Read More to view the commentary:

  1. Light Fare – Kill 100 enemies in any game mode in Reach – 1000 cR
  2. Survivor – Earn 7 Sprees in a Firefight Matchmaking game – 1000 cR
  3. Who’s the Big Winner? – Win 15 games in multiplayer Matchmaking – 3000 cR
  4. Grunt Spelunking – Kill 100 enemies on Glacier in Firefight Matchmaking – 1000 cR

Commentary follows after the break…

Light Fare – Kill 100 enemies in any game mode in Reach – 1000 cR

If you want to do this specifically (as you’ll probably getting it just playing for the other challenges) then jump into something on Score Attack, maybe Gruntpocalypse, 2X Score Attack or Fiesta Attack to get it done quickly and rack up the kills.

Survivor – Earn 7 Sprees in a Firefight Matchmaking game – 1000 cR

If you can get kills using weapons (ie 5 grenade sticks, a shotgun, sniper rifle etc) then you get nearer the total – use Score Attack to get a range of weapons. Beachhead is quite good as you can use the vehicles to get more sprees – and now on Firefight Arcade you’ve got a good chance of using a variety of weapons, lots of killing sprees and grenades and the like. I like hitting up Gruntpoc then getting the 5 killing sprees.

Who’s the Big Winner? – Win 15 games in multiplayer Matchmaking – 3000 cR

This is just a little bit of a grind. Go for Team Slayer/SWAT/Snipers/Objective/Grifball/Action Sack game types so you only have two teams playing and a better chance of winning. I’d also recommend finding some guys you play well with and sticking with them. You’ll get lots of credits from the games and then a tasty bonus on winning your 15th, and you’ll be a good way into doing the weekly. That’s all worth the gravy in my book.

Grunt Spelunking – Kill 100 enemies on Glacier in Firefight Matchmaking – 1000 cR

If you go in Firefight Arcade you’ll be able to get this assuming there’s only one or two people playing. If you go via Score Attack variants something like Gruntpocalypse or 2X Score Attack will help since they have more than 100 enemies. Frankly take whatever game types it offers you on Glacier just to get this done since you can’t guarantee you’ll get what you want.

If you’re in the tournament check out the groups and discussions to arrange your play times, and come join online for some social play tonight.

38 Responses to 25th August – Halo Reach Daily Challenges & Commentary

  1. Scruff 815 says:

    Waaaait a minute… It IS Thursday, right? What’s with the non-FF challenge?! Oh well, easy enough; normally I would very much doubt my chances of getting 15 wins but given that it’s game night it’s looking a bit more plausible. Yay 😀

    • Woody says:

      No Firefight Thursday?! Oh well… I’m not too surprise to be honest.

      • MadAmericanTacos says:

        Me neither, seems like ever since 343i took over it has been one problem after another. The biggest thing I noticed is that on most game (doesent matter the type) we are constantly stopped during the game to connect to a new host, that and there are A LOT of load failures once a map has been selected by the group 😦 Oh well I guess it can be attriuted to growing pains…

      • Scruff 815 says:

        ^ that has absolutely nothing to do with Bungie / 343, and everything to do with crappy connections / discs from people in the lobbies you’re playing in.

      • MadAmericanTacos says:

        Well then they need to get thier act together cause I hate lag lol

    • Shane says:

      Whutwhutwhut? A MM challenge on Firefight Thursday? Our new insect overlords have no sense of tradition, sir!

      (Plus that’s an awful daily challenge)

    • JustHawkeye says:

      I had to ask myself what day it was too after seeing the challenges. I’m not happy with winning 15 games. What a grind.

      • Woody says:

        I’m not happy about 15 wins, either. I’m definitely passing on that challenge. I can play 15-20 minutes of FF doubles/arcade and get more credits.

  2. jussy117 says:

    Has anyone else noticed that the total number for completed challenges has not been rising in the past few days???

    I have got every challenge on every day for the past 2 or 3 weeks, but just recently noticed that my total has not changed this week. It may have been since 343i took over, but I can’t be sure as I’ve only just spotted it.

    Any thoughts?

    • Scruff 815 says:

      On b.net? To be honest I haven’t checked mine in a long time, I’ll keep an eye on it over the next couple of days and get back to you 🙂

    • MadAmericanTacos says:

      I noticed it yesterday after finishing the weekly, kinda sucks cause I am addicted to checking my progress and everything 😦

      • jussy117 says:

        Me too 😦

        I made a thread on the Waypoint forums, but it’s sinking like a stone (not surprised)

    • Woody says:

      Now that you mentioned it, I’ve noticed my challenge numbers from yesterday are still the same as the day before. I hope it gets fix soon and when it does, I hope we don’t have to continue from whatever current number we are stuck on.

    • Scruff 815 says:

      Just refreshed my b.net page having done 3 of today’s challenges and it HAS updated on my page. Don’t know about previous days though.

    • disturbeddaddy says:

      I noticed this too; mine has been stuck on 600 for a day or two . . .

      on another note, I wish I was going to Halo Fest!

  3. Tomozaurus says:

    15 games?!

    I hate these winning ones when its 5… I never get put coherent teams when these come up.

  4. MadAmericanTacos says:

    Hey does anyone know who CP Prof is? He is in my group for the tournament and the gamertag is comming back as invalid????

  5. gans42 says:

    15 wins? i really dont have the patience for that (still checking out the new DLC for CoD…heresy, i know). I may be on later for game night to do it though if people wanna squad up with me

    • Noobwarrior523 says:

      I got the call of the dead Easter egg last night,(had to do It twice, we messed up and got attacked by George and the new round at the same time.) I will definitely be on halo though today and get some firefight in(really? 15 wins,on THURSDAY) but yeah I will be on halo for some game night and my tournament game (4:30 EST/EDT, whichever one is in use, still a little confused about that)

      • gans42 says:

        noob you were supposed to do that with me today, no worries, you can still help me grab that achievement in CotD because i helped you grab the romero one. ill be on in a bit, first i gotta go hurricane prep shopping. joy.

  6. porottaja says:

    This is something I want to share, my Vehicle collection in Tip of the Spear. That should be the most vehicles you can have in same spot in that level solo. It wasn’t quick to get some of them through mining facility.

    Screenshot:
    http://www.bungie.net/Stats/Reach/FileDetails.aspx?fid=22841828&player=porottaja

    Video:
    http://www.bungie.net/Stats/Reach/FileDetails.aspx?fid=22841850&player=porottaja

  7. CrestOfFire says:

    What’s with the MM challenge?

    Firefight Thursday does not equal matchmaking!

    Me no gusta…

  8. JustHawkeye says:

    Blah can’t do ODST vidmasters this afternoon. It’s my Mom’s birthday today and I forgot. Maybe later tonight I can do some gaming.

    On a different note, my campaign data was reset. I wish they would fix that glitch.

  9. TheChrisD says:

    A non-Firefight challenge on Firefight Thursday? What is this madness?!?!?!

    • gans42 says:

      Madness?!?!?! This is RDC!!!

      • CrestOfFire says:

        Nu-uh. This is madness.

        Firefight Thursday was meant to be about firefight…

        and thursday. ¬.¬

        But still! Firefight Thursday is the embodiment of Firefight everywhere!

        This… is HERESY.

  10. Rabbidmaster says:

    Wow! I completed all 3 FF challenges with one game of scoreattack on Glacier. No challenge whatsoever. That sucks.

    • gans42 says:

      why does it suck? its extra credits. no reason to complain, especially because you can do it in one game. and the 15 wins is more difficult if you want more of a challenge.

  11. @MadAmericanTacos, I’ve noticed that too, to an extreme amount. The changing of hosts has gotten ridiculous. Maybe its just my network, but it is happening all the time, and lately ive been getting dropped from games during host resets. Five mins ago i got a temp ban from matchmaking for “quitting” too many games. I’m livid.

    Now that bungie has washed its hands of us, does anyone know how I can get in touch with 343 to complain about this/ point out that prior to a few days ago when this started happening, I’d NEVER quit a game in my life.

  12. gans42 says:

    so in the end i decided to go for the daily, thanks noobwarrior523, ‘cos/seventh dawg, sh4rkb41t, and l0 dolla bagel for the games, the good times, and the great conversations (especially the ones had with bagel)

Leave a Reply

