26th August – Halo Reach Daily Challenges & Commentary

Today’s challenges are listed below, click Read More to view the commentaries:

  1. More than a Handful – Kill 77 enemies in Multiplayer Matchmaking – 2310 cR
  2. Came From Behind – Perform 3 Assassinations in a multiplayer Matchmaking game – 1200 cR
  3. …Got a Triple Double – Earn 3 Double Kills in the same match in Multiplayer Matchmaking – 1500 cR
  4. It was the Winter… – Complete Winter Contingency on Legendary without dying – 1500 cR

Commentary follows after the break…

More than a Handful – Kill 77 enemies in Multiplayer Matchmaking – 2310 cR

Multi Team Battle or Grifball are the best ways to get lots and lots of kills, you tend to get more than any other modes. If you play Crazy King or Oddball you can get even more as some people who would shoot you go for the objective, and you can take them out. Seasoned Grifball players will also be able to get this in only a game or two, and if you can make an area in an Infection game defensible as a human you can rack up kills quickly. But looking at the other challenges you can get most of this done just with them.

Came From Behind – Perform 3 Assassinations in a multiplayer Matchmaking game – 1200 cR

Not too difficult, easy methods are just to hide around a corner in Sword Base or somewhere and jump guys as they go past. If you’re lucky you’ll find someone who’s AFK and hunt them down during the match (assuming your team don’t decide that it’s fun to try and yoink you every time you do that, huh Goldfinger2?).  It’s cheap but knowing spawn points can help you in regular multiplayer games – the rocks in Asylum for instance, or favourite camping positions like the lofts in Cage and Pinnacle or the lift in Reflection. HaloBall Extreme is great for assassinations since you have a big map you’re running around like crazy people on! Another good tactic is Sniper and DMR game types, since people can’t see their motion trackers when zoomed in you might be able to sneak up on them. Don’t forget that reloading and sprinting make noise so people know you’re there.

…Got a Triple Double – Earn 3 Double Kills in the same match in Multiplayer Matchmaking – 1500 cR

Again Grifball if you have your eye in, or Team SWAT, particularly somewhere like Sword Base. If you’re looking for alternatives, Multi Team is good, particularly Crazy King or Oddball so the round goes on longer and you can take out guys going for the objective.

It was the Winter… – Complete Winter Contingency on Legendary without dying – 1500 cR

This is not particularly hard on Winter Contingency, for the most part you can run the map and stay in the jeep to run things over and let Noble team do a lot of the work. What makes it hard is the base section. I always say take out the Elite with the Concussion Rifle at the beginning, so keep peppering him with shots and take him down. Use DMR and grenades on the Jackals and Grunts, then when you get to the last section use a Plasma Pistol overcharge on the Sword Elite and headshot him with the DMR. If you get really stuck, there is a glitch which can be exploited, by exiting the game and restarting from last checkpoint it opens up the challenge again, and you can continue from where you died. Use Tyrant’s Mythic guide for how to do the most expert path on WC.

Don’t forget to check your groups for the Tournament please. I have a feeling I’ll be staying up late to play with all my American competitors. Gives me time to get some performance enhancing chemicals in me (sugar and alcohol)!!

54 Responses to 26th August – Halo Reach Daily Challenges & Commentary

  1. Scruff 815 says:

    Nice mix today! 🙂 Even though the WC challenge is only 1500 cR I’m probably still going to do it, should only take like 20 minutes. Also when you get to the base section, grab a DMR from the side and then shoot the three gas tanks on the right-hand side of the middle area. Takes out most of the grunts / jackals for you with explodey joy – and then if you’re having problems with enemies afterwards, run up the tunnel on the left hand side. Doing this makes the enemies back off into the next section, so you’ve got time to hang back and recover your health etc.

    As for assassinations, you’ve been yoinked by Lor3t0 as well huh? Shocking 😉 Anyway I’ve found that Multi Team is pretty good for assassinations; in all the chaos people forget to check their motion sensors. Also, perfecting the magical ‘But you were in front of me! How did you do that?!’ assassination technique will help. Won’t it, Snicks? 😉

  2. Braythor says:

    I think I should give MM a break given my spectacular performances last night. For the amusement of others I’ve uploaded a clip of the driving skills that led me to be -2 at one point… To balance that out, me and Snicks pulled off a double air assassination, so I made a clip of that too. Please, nobody mention team snipers.

    • Scruff 815 says:

      Hahaha DUI is *hilarious*. I demand that you send it to Fails Of The Weak at once 😉 I had to rewind and zoom out to watch where the second betrayal came from, that was pretty special 😉

      For the lazy…
      http://www.bungie.net/Stats/Reach/FileDetails.aspx?fid=22867374&player=Braythor

      • Braythor says:

        Haha. In my defence, Snicks could have armour locked…Mind you, if it weren’t for a grenade flipping me right after I killed iam8up, it looks like I would have reversed over her…

      • yes, i COULD have AL’ed…..had i realized what was happening in time. i heard iam8up get betrayed, turned, and there’s a hog blowing up and wreckage flying at me and then i was betrayed. 😕

      • oh but the double assassinations was BRILLIANT! i forgot to save the video. 😦

      • I wanted to join in on game night lastnight but everytime i looked at the partys they were filled with the correct number, 5 for Squad Slayer, 8 for BTB etc. It still said i could have joined but i didnt want to mess anything up.

      • Scruff 815 says:

        Just jump in next time dude; one extra person on 8 makes 9 which is ideal for Multi Team, one extra on 5 makes 6 which is ideal for Invasion! If people want to limit their party sizes then they can do so. 😀

      • Ok, i will do that Scruff. That is the reason i have never joined in on any gamenight. LoL. Well, that and because i get really nervous talking to new people.

    • SensoryFour34 says:

      I won’t talk say anything about team snipers if you don’t 🙂 That game was horrible. Except for my betrayal that it 😉

      • crazybydefault says:

        And me shooting Snicks in the butt 😛

      • callupchuck says:

        That game was disheartening, I had a perfection lined up before Per0 took it all.

  3. Sir Galahad 63 says:

    Why couldn’t we have had the assassination challenge yesterday!! I got 6 assassinations in rumblepit against the same one Legend over and over!

    Anyway, I have certain times from 2 others in my party for our round, 2 others have not replied but had accepted my FR, and the other has just ignored everything… Is 3 enough people to go ahead with? Or would 4 be the minimum?

    • check with Fishmans, i know he’s having a hard time finding a time that works for his group – maybe you guys can work with him?

      but otherwise, go with the 3 that show up.

  4. Is anyone having a problem signing into Bungie.net? The page that you type in your windows live ID won’t let me type anything. I guess they’re either having problems with it or changed it.

  5. Woody says:

    Hmmm… I guess I will only have time do complete two out of four challenges today. Campaign challenge is definitely not getting done, espeically since I can’t ever get pass the part where you first encounter the Zealot with the sword without dying.

    • I could help you out if you wanted to do it Woody. I dont know if it has to be done alone or not though.

    • MadAmericanTacos says:

      Woody, I assume you are talking about the very end where you have to kill the two zeolts (one with sword and one with the c rifle)? If that is correct then the best way to beat him is to get a plasma pistol from one of the grunts before entering the last area, kill the grunts that come out from the door then head down and do an overcharge blast to take out his shields, then switch to DMR and headshot him once his shields drop. Nice and easy way to take care of them both with little risk to yourself.

    • Woody says:

      @Michael: I’m guessing wouldn’t matter if it’s done single or co-op, since it didn’t specify.

      @Tacos: I can’t believe I didn’t think about that. Now, I feel like I just had all my Halo rankings stripped from me. Lol

      • Yeah just send me a message if your on between now and 2pm Eastern Time. (Im pretty sure me and you are on the same time frame.) After 2pm i will have the kids running around here getting wild. My girlfriend gets off work at 7pm so if you cant do it before 2 just send me a message after 7 i guess. I already have the challenge completed but i would be more than happy to help you out! 😉

      • MadAmericanTacos says:

        You just got schooled lol. Seriously though I used to do it your way till I saw a youtube vide and was like OOOOHHHHHHHHH! Plus there are a lot of little tricks out there and not everyone can know them all.

        I will be on at 10pm est tonight, if your warden lets you out we can run through it together?

      • Woody says:

        I know I’m late responding, but job duties call. Anyway, once I get home from work, I may have about an hour to work with of playing time. Between the “warden” and making preps for my father’s birthday, I’m pretty much booked. My best time for getting some decent playing time in will likely be after 12-1am(CST), assuming “warden” is asleep.

      • t-rOY (tROYnHI) says:

        @Woody – I usually start playing around 2am CST. My wife and I will probably get that challenge out of the way first. I can message you to see where you’re at with it when I sign on. Is your gamertag the same name?

      • 3py0nz3r0 says:

        @MadAmericanTacos, Michael (DR HIGGLESTEIN) and Woody, Hey drop me a message on xbox live and i will join up with you and be a bullet sponge/ target to help you out.

      • 3py0nz3r0 says:

        sorry completely forgot, GT is EPYON ZERO ,

      • MadAmericanTacos says:

        Look for a FR from Leroy789 tonight, and we can run through it. I am pretty good at WC cause its my go to map for spped runs etc but it’s always fun to play with other kids in the sandbox lol

    • Scruff 815 says:

      Sword Elite – kill the Grunts first, then get the attention of the Sword Elite. Run back to where you entered the room and hide up at the top of the steps. The Elite will go and attempt to kill Jorge, leaving his back open to you. Sprint down and assassinate. Works every single time 😀

      You should watch Tyrant’s Mythic guide if you haven’t already. Most of the level can be skipped very easily.

      • Corporal Alexei says:

        Hmmm, on “regular” legendary its much easier to hit the elite with an over-charged plasma shot then a quick headshot with the DMR. However, if playing with mythic and thunderstorm skulls, retreating to the stairwell and letting Jorge assist is best.

      • Woody says:

        I keep forgetting about Tyrant. I guess I need to post it on a note in my cell as “Things To Do” list.

  6. MorningGlory321 says:

    so how do you join the tournament?

    • Scruff 815 says:

      Travel back in time to two weeks ago when the tournament was open for business 😉

      In all seriousness you’re too late this time, but keep checking back, I’m sure there’ll be a second one done at some point in the future 😀

  7. lolgtfoplz says:

    ok challenges. 3 assasinations is easy, multi team for that, sit up on pinnacle tower, drop down, bam bam bam. but i am a big assasination guy, so i may make it easier than it seems. lastnight, was fricken great, had good time with snicks, callup, im8, and the cheese guy. lots of fun 🙂 great time haha. anyway, good luck everyone 🙂

  8. leroy getz says:

    Hey guys, details of halo anniverary and the title update for reach are up on Videogaming 247. Armour lock and camo are nerfed and bloom is toned down. Happy days 🙂

    • xXMaster SoulXx says:

      hey leroy ill be getting on my xbox tonight…cuz i still dont know our official tournament time

  9. SensoryFour34 says:

    I just looked it up and it looks like we won’t be getting flood in Firefight anytime soon. 😦 We do get friendly AI, though, which could be pretty good. The new map is Installation 04, and it’s based on the second mission of Combat Evolved. It should be fun. 🙂

  10. crazybydefault says:

    I just looked up the details and saw this, “… the ability to block sword attacks using any weapon other than another sword has been disabled”

    Crap. I’ve prided myself on being able to sword block people, and now they’re taking it away 😦 Oh well, looks like I’ll be running away from sword people more often!

    • keep in mind this is all for the Classic* playlist. my understanding is that the normal Reach game variants will still work the same as usual. which means you an sword block and i can AL. 😉

      *by that i mean the playlist that will be for the CEA maps.

      oh and anyone catch the Headlong video? 😉

      • SensoryFour34 says:

        I sure hope so. I’m not a big fan of dying if you get stuck in Armor Lock.

    • Yeah i read that earlier. Sounds cool but it kinda sucks that it won’t be a drivable vehicle. I guess its for the best because im sure it would be hard to handle that thing on those tracks!

  11. Johnny Vinyl says:

    Can someone explain exactly how the “leave game, come back at last checkpoint” glitch works?

    • 3py0nz3r0 says:

      if you are playing by yourself and you die, you quickly hit start, and save and quit. when you resume the campaign mission you will be at the last checkpoint you registered before you died and you will still be able to complete the challenge like you didn’t die at all, and you can do it as many times as you need in a game. unless you get lucky enough to die as you get the checkpoint like i did on “Long night of solace”. hope that helps. 🙂

  12. Jesse says:

    Time to hang up the ole xbox controller for awhile. I am finding, that after about 20 minutes of Reach, I get mild than excruciating headaches.
    Not sure what brought that on, so I am curious if anyone else has experienced anything similar to this.

  13. Woody says:

    Sorry for the late responses to those of you asking questions directed towards me. It has been a rough evening, dealing with preparations for my father’s birthday and fighting the “warden”. t-rOY, my gamertag is WNWoodmore.

  14. 3py0nz3r0 says:

    @Woody, i sent you a message on xbl, i would be happy to do some games with you sometime if you want! 🙂

Leave a Reply

