27th August – Halo Reach Daily Challenges & Commentary

Today’s challenges are brought to you by the letter C, for Cocktails, and the letter H, for Hangover.

  1. Light Fare – Kill 100 enemies in any game mode in Reach – 1000 cR
  2. The Dream Shake – Earn 4 Double Kills in the same match in multiplayer Matchmaking – 2000 cR
  3. Sticky Icky Icky – Earn 3 sticky grenade Kills in a multiplayer Matchmaking game – 1250 cR
  4. Un, Deux, Trois – Win 3 games in multiplayer Matchmaking – 1450 cR

Commentary follows after the break, then it’s time for more coffee…

Light Fare – Kill 100 enemies in any game mode in Reach – 1000 cR

If you want to do this specifically (as you’ll probably getting it just playing for the other challenges) then jump into something on Score Attack, maybe Gruntpocalypse, 2X Score Attack or Fiesta Attack to get it done quickly and rack up the kills.

The Dream Shake – Earn 4 Double Kills in the same match in multiplayer Matchmaking – 2000 cR

4 isn’t too bad these days, Team SWAT works well, but Grifball probably works better for this one too. This is of course 4 Double Kills, not multikills, so getting a Triple Kill won’t count as two towards this.

Sticky Icky Icky – Earn 3 sticky grenade Kills in a multiplayer Matchmaking game – 1250 cR

Slayer Pro has no armour lock and one loadout with Plasma Grenades. Invasion is excellent too since it’s really good for sticky grenades in the first round. DinoBlasters can be surprisingly good since no one tends to look out for the grenades, especially when you’re in Zealot type maps.

Un, Deux, Trois – Win 3 games in multiplayer Matchmaking – 1450 cR

If you play a Team Slayer/SWAT/Grifball/Snipers/Action Sack etc you’ll get this easier, since only two teams gives you a higher chance of winning than the 6 person multi team (for instance). Make sure you read this Weekly Challenge commentary for more hints on doing it quick.

In case you didn’t see it I recommend reading this post from Major Nelson about the changes coming in the Reach Title Update and some other exciting Halo news. I’ll try to post details from Halo Fest each day. Sadly I’m not there – I was going but had to cancel my trip. The upside is I get to go to Wembley and watch my team in the cup final. Those of you in the UK I implore you to watch – BBC1, 2.30PM.

26 Responses to 27th August – Halo Reach Daily Challenges & Commentary

  1. Scruff 815 says:

    Today’s episode is brought to you by… *whispers* Mexicooooo.
    +10,000 cookies to anyone who can name that reference without having to resort to Google.

    Anyhoo, Invasion today then. Longer games = higher chance of getting the double kills and stickies in one game. And then onto some other fun modes for wins and kills, yay. As usual, people feel free to buddy up if you see me online. Though if I’m in a one-player Custom Game and you join in with all your friends and you’re in party chat, it’s only polite to send me a party invite. If you don’t, and the amount of people you bring in ends up breaking my hosting and ruining my Masta Challenge run, then you might find that the game ends halfway through and that you’re no longer on my friends list.

    Ahem.

    Anyway, good luck to anyone participating in the tournament today! 😀

    • I noticed you in the Custom Game yesterday doing the race, i also noticed about 5 other people jump in there with you. For a second there i thought you might be having a Masta Challenge party. LoL. I thought about jumping in but i decided not to. Glad i didnt. LoL. 🙂

      • Scruff 815 says:

        Haha you’d have been most welcome to, providing you didn’t invite in a load of people I don’t know and spend the whole time in party chat! 😉

  2. porottaja says:

    • Scruff 815 says:

      Ooh the maps look gorgeous! The new pistol is going to make the DMR fairly pointless though, isn’t it? Also is that Snickerdoodle at 1:49? 🙂

  3. Austin says:

    I’m at 52/77 on the weekly revenge thing, and I have 1 1/2 hours to do it today. (Hurricane irene might knock out the power tomorrow) Any suggestions?

    • Scruff 815 says:

      Grifball.

      • Austin says:

        It does get tiring playing 25 games of grifball

      • Scruff 815 says:

        I know, which is why you should play Grifball. Just aim for one person the whole time, and every time you kill him, run to him and let him kill you. Rinse and repeat. You should easily get your remaining 25 revenges in like 3 games at most.

    • theodore214 says:

      Action Sack is where I got most of the revenges. Haloball Extreme is your best bet.

  4. Sir Galahad 63 says:

    I hosted my group for the tournament, and only 2 people turned up. Should I post the game or is it not worth it?

  5. SensoryFour34 says:

    After yesterday, I officially HATE assassination challenges! It took me two or three hours to get it. Even with people staying in place and letting me, something went wrong. I finally got in in Slayer Pro on Pinnacle, and ended up getting EIGHT assassination.

    • Usually for the assasination challenges me and my son get into a game of Rumble Pit and boost it. I just meet him at a designated place and let him assasinate me. Its pretty hard to get 3 in one game unless a lot of people are AFKing. 😉

      • gans42 says:

        i got it easily in multi team. there are so many people on maps meant for 8 people, plus if they’re distracted by an objective its even easier

  6. theodore214 says:

    I don’t know about you guys but I find Living Dear to be the easiest for double kills, especially on Sword Base. Just camp the elevator (the top one, not the tunnel one). I got about 10 double kills in one round 😀

  7. Zidane says:

    Excuse the question but does this update need to be purchased?

  8. Zidane says:

    Hi Snickerdoodle, big fan of your blogs 

  9. gans42 says:

    well, that witch with a b irene forced me to disconnect my xbox. i probably wont have it set up until im back at school (afternoonish monday est), so i f you dont see me on for my normal 10 hours a day, dont freak out that im avoiding you. its nothing business. its personal

  10. 'Cos says:

    Miss ya already, gans. Be safe with all that’s going on. Good luck in school. And looking forward to playing again with you soon. – seventh dawg

    • gans42 says:

      thanks ‘cos. i should be up and haloing in no time…though i dont remember the last time i went an entire sunday without playing xbox 😦

Leave a Reply

